We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good staff, accomodation and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saboey Resort and Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saboey Resort and Villas
Ranked #38 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Hammarö, Värmlands Län, Sweden
1 review
“Good staff, accomodation and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

For our first visit to Thailand we choose Saboey. It was apparently a good choice. For best total experience use the Samui airport (we used Suratthani airport).
The resort is located at the Bangrak/Big Buddha beach, a calm a nice beach. The resort has a nice pool with a view out to the sea. The massage services at the beach are reccomended.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and makes sure you will get what you need, towels, drinks and food.
We lived in a suite appartment that was quite ok.Good standard and a nice small balcony.
The resort is located in a small community with some local restaurants and shops.
Some noice are ferequent from the departuring/arriving planes from the very close Samui airport.
Pick up services and different kind of trips can be arranged by the resort. I can really recommend the Red Baron day cruise to the close by island of Koh Pangan.

Room Tip: The suites are located in the main building and some noice can be heards from outside traffic. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    129
    23
    17
    15
See reviews for
69
231
22
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights! Loved it. Stayed in the beach view villa. The rooms were super comfy and spacious. And the view was amazing!!! Oh, and we were right next to the massage ladies on the beach...like two seconds away.
The staff know how to make you feel welcome and they know how to make a great cocktail.
I highly recommend this place for anyone staying in Bophut. Its not to far away from Fishermans Village or Patong Beach.
The resort is rather small so not super busy which is really nice.
The GM Jon was very helpful!!
This will definitely be our stay every time we go to Bophut!

Room Tip: Go the beach view villas if you can! But the whole place is wonderful. You won't get a bad room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mezza72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The Saboey is the place to come for a quiet recharge. We loved it.
I guess the biggest plus is that the staff make you feel part of the family. They are attentive, yet unobtrusive.

We stayed in a garden villa, the room was well appointed and serviced daily to an immaculate standard. We thought the bed was a little on the firm side, but that is a personal preference.

The half price cocktail happy hour between 5 & 7pm daily was very welcome. The average full price for a cocktail is around 200 baht... needless to say we had more than our fair share watching the sunset from the outdoor spa.

Breakfast each morning is adequate and costs 300 baht, but see if you can get it included in your room rate when you check in. We only had breakfast during our stay as there are street stalls and restaurants just a short stroll away. However, I did take a cooking class here one evening, which was a highlight of my stay... highly recommended!

The front office staff are very helpful and are very happy to organise tours and motorbike rentals and the like.

If you are looking for cheap Thai massage, there is no need to go any further than the beach. While not a part of the resort proper, I have to say that a massage there is the ultimate in luxury. 200 baht for one hour.

All in all, we are very happy with our one week here. I will come back here should I visit Koh Samui again. I can't give a higher recommendation than that. The Saboey Resort and Villas is excellent!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The resort provided good value for money. We had a spacious and clean room,that had just been renovated . The design is simple and classic Thai.The view when you arrive is not great with a big wall and small entrance. But once inside it is a different world.The is a fish pond wth some of the nicest fish, our son loved playing with them ..The staff were all very helpful and we felt very special our whole stay due to the treatment we received from the staff and also Jonathan and Mr Att at reception.. Breakfast is a very standard hotel breakfast ,but lots of it and we enjoyed it .The selection of dvds and books were also good.

Room Tip: we booked the two bedroom family villa,which is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wongan Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is our second stay at this wonderful resort and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. we stay in the beach villa's and it is wonderful to just look out over the ocean. Jonathon and the staff are just lovely, they are all helpful and courteous. We wouldn't even contemplate staying elsewhere, and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamisons_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Saboey Resort is a peaceful place offering a relaxing and intimate vacation experience. The Ocean Room was steps from the beach, and the pool and the bar/dining area, and super quiet. Jon and the staff were really friendly, accomodating and helpful. The massage tables on the beach were relaxing. While the airport close location, and the proximity to the road for the building rooms created noise - you really didn't notice it much of the time by the beach. The departures for snorkeling trips nearby - made the beach really not desireable, but the pool was so nice, it really didn't matter. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Beach or Ocean rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The pictures are not accurate . They make it look like an idyllic resort . In fact it was in need of renovation . The bathrooms needed updating and better lighting . The furniture had been around the block a time or two . The breakfast was not good .. in fact inedible .. tho the dining room for dinner was good . I wanted to leave immediately but did not want the hassle for so short a stay

However the very Charming manager Jon , offered some good advice and good cheer .

That said , i did enjoy my time and it was clean and acceptable . This place was not bad ... but some tweaking could take it to super .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaboeyManager, General Manager at Saboey Resort and Villas, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We would like to thank Joan for her review, but I do find it strange that I spoke to them in the mornings at breakfast and asked if everything with breakfast and the rooms were ok and received the answer everything was very good???
If there was a problem I find it strange that the guests did not inform me.
I meet our guests at breakfast to help solve any problems that may arise and our many 5 star reviews speak for themselves .
The points raised about the bathroom in the room they were in ,is partly correct, it is clean, but it has yet to be renovated, but was fully repainted less than 1 year ago.
As for the photos on our web site,90% have been made by myself in the last 5 months since we have our new web site. The others will be changes, as soon as possible, but our photos DO reflex our resort .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#42 of 184 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 883 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
#5 of 11 in Choeng Mon
4.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#20 of 184 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Secret Garden Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Villa Tanamera
Villa Tanamera
#40 of 184 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samui Pier Resort
Samui Pier Resort
#64 of 184 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saboey Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saboey Resort and Villas

Property: Saboey Resort and Villas
Address: 51 4 Bangrak Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Bophut
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saboey Resort and Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saboey is a beautiful, secluded resort, designed to maximize serenity, space and privacy. Nestled amidst lush tropical gardens and landscaped around a double-infinity freshwater pool and Jacuzzi, allowing stunning beach and sea views. A contemporary Asian design, offering 14 spacious villas and 6 suites. Saboey is an intimate retreat, with personalized and attentive service. Indulge with the ultimate in relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Saboey Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saboey Resort And Villas Hotel Bophut
Saboey Hotel Bophut
Saboey Resort Bophut
Saboey Resort And Villas Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing