We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but dont book a "suite"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Saboey Resort and Villas
Ranked #43 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Boput
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice but dont book a "suite"”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We only stayed at this hotel for 2 nights after booking it on the internet. The description of "suite" is very misleading - there is only the bedroom with a sofa and chair in it - not a separate room. The floor looks like unfinished concrete, it may be a style thing but was weird. The sheets had holes in them and had dried blood stains - ugh.

On seeing the bathroom we almost walked out - it's tiny and very basic. The toilet seat was very badly stained with years of use. Not a pleasant experience!! The shower was luke warm and not very powerful and had a hole in the wall to let in light with a metal mesh over it - anyone on the balcony next door could see in at night as there is no blind.

The hotel is on the main road, literally, with no drive. "Suites" are located above the reception and restaurant, right on the main road. There is a little balcony, the width of one person that looked over the kitchen and was totally open - no privacy from the other so-called suites' balconies.

Once you wander down to the pool/garden area things greatly improve. The bar area is smart as is the pool and sun loungers. Drinks are expensive but happy hour between 5 and 7pm gives 50% off. The villas looked nice and all had a good view of the beach/gardens which was right in front of the pool. We enjoyed drinks on the terrace watching the sun go down.

Both nights we ate at a restaurant just over the road called U2 Restaurant. Don't be deceived by its look - the food was fantastic and was amazing value. The owner was friendly and provided great service - we cannot recommend it highly enough for good Thai food. There was also a Seven Eleven across from the hotel.

Taxis to the airport are 350 Baht and Chaweng beach 400. They can charge the cost to your room.

Breakfast is basic with a choice of fruit, toast/pastries and cooked. The cooked selection consisted of bacon, hotdog sausages and 2 Thai dishes. There was also an egg station but the chef was rarely there so ask the waiter if you want something.

We wouldn't stay here again in a so-called "suite" but maybe in a villa if the price was right.

Room Tip: Avoid the "Suites", choose a villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gracie_Grey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaboeyManager, Manager at Saboey Resort and Villas, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
I would like to thank this guest for her feed back and her stay as she booked two nights and stayed with us for two nights.As for the description of "suite" being very misleading,I fail to understand this,as we show at least five photos from all angles of the Suite and also of the bathroom plus have a full written description,as I fail to see how this guest felt mislead.
The shower area does have an insect grill covering the air vent ,but these suites are on the second floor and there is no way anyone can see into the shower area at night or anytime.The toilet seat are 100% clean,but some maybe discolored and these are in the process of being replaced.
The dried blood on the sheet is impossible,as every piece of linen is sent to a professional laundry service here, maybe it was discolored,but I shall meet with the laundry service .But I am surprised the guest did not report this to us.As if a guest is able to report any problems to us,we are able to solve most problems right away.My staff and I pride ourselves on this.

For the comment the drinks are expensive,our drink prices start at 55 baht which is not expensive,but of course we are not as cheap as the 7/11she recommend.

For breakfast we offer a selection of Thai,western and vegetarian breakfast ,as for the chef rarely at the egg station and having to ask a waiter to place your order ,this is correct , waiters are there ,waiting to take the egg orders to save the guest having to wait at the buffets and bring the eggs to the guest table when finished
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    142
    26
    19
    18
See reviews for
82
270
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Average is a bit harsh but don't think this place deserved a very good. Represented less value than all of the other places we stayed in Thailand during our trip, however, I believe that's Koh Samui - Less bang for your buck!

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean but maybe needed a spruce up in my opinion but adequately comfortable and spacious.

We found the pool and beach area very pleasant, although the drinks were extortionately priced, as was the food, which was a little average but ok.

We really enjoyed hanging out around the pool, it's very quiet and tranquil and the grounds are well kept.

All in all a good introduction to Thailand but not outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

When you pull up outside, you have little idea that such an oasis of calm is just a few steps inside the doorway. Ultra friendly staff under the stewardship of the hugely capable manager Jonathan attend to your every need.

The hotel is entirely private with great villas with fantastic views of the sea. The pool area offers another very private experience with the bar handily placed for any refreshments you might seek.

A really excellent and fabulously run place.

Room Tip: The villas right next to the beach seemed pretty good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuffnGuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

we were absolutely lucky to book the last villa available for the high season period, and we planned our trip ten weeks in advance! i had a little concern regarding the proximity of the airport, but in fact it didn't bother us at all. the staff is so friendly and polite, i remember a nice lady named rose, very helping and kind!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Pristine beaches........private beach with pool........very big rooms.........comfortable bed............very nice complimentary breakfast.......located on the main street.......take a scooter to move around in koh Samui.....will cost u 200 baht per day.....

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jagshan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wongan hills
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

What a wonderful resort made all the better by the wonderful staff, who are so accommodating. We were fortunate to be upgraded to the Beach Villa and it just made our trip. The room was large and spacious, The breakfast was good, we were pleaseantly surprised by the fresh fruit prior to receiving your breakfast but it was a lovely touch. The GM Jonathon was extremely helpful and went out of his way to assist you in any way he possibly could. We will be back. Plenty of little family run cafes with delicious food around the resort. I had the best Thai Beef Salad at the bar. Wonderful Place will be back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks,England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

On arrival we were booked in by a lovely polite receptionist who promptly dealt with us and showed us to our room that was going to our base for the next 14 days.
The staff at The Saboey were some of the nicest,polite people you could possibly meet,especially One and Fon who entertained us for the duration of our stay.
A conversation at the poolside with John the manager ,i said i room did not have the greatest of views over the kitchen,with that we were promptly offered another room with fantastic views looking over the garden looking out to sea.Getting out of bed to that view will be with us for a long time.John is making big improvents to this hotel and i can only sing his praises.
Breakfast was very relaxing listening to thai low level music in what is the restaurant,very enjoyable breakfasts.
Jacuzzi,infinity pool and directly onto small white sandy beach with palm trees,sounds great?? IT WAS!
Numerous bars and eating places within walking distance and very reasonable..Chewang has to be visited to see,but i still prefer to come back to Bophut.A good base to travel to and from as the Fishermans Village and Big Buddha are close by.Transport apart from taxi is cheap,you could even hire a scooter(not as scarey as you may think).
John and his staff will give you any amount of good advise to assist in you in enjoying your stay at Saboey,would recomend...Tony and Sue

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TONYANDSUE2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#17 of 186 in Bophut
972 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
#5 of 10 in Choeng Mon
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Privilege Hotel Ezra Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
711 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baywater Resort Samui
Baywater Resort Samui
#4 of 10 in Choeng Mon
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 186 in Bophut
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saboey Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saboey Resort and Villas

Property: Saboey Resort and Villas
Address: 51/4 Moo 4 Bangrak Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Bophut
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saboey Resort and Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saboey is a beautiful, secluded resort, designed to maximize serenity, space and privacy. Nestled amidst lush tropical gardens and landscaped around a double-infinity freshwater pool and Jacuzzi, allowing stunning beach and sea views. A contemporary Asian design, offering 14 spacious villas and 6 suites. Saboey is an intimate retreat, with personalized and attentive service. Indulge with the ultimate in relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saboey Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saboey Resort And Villas Hotel Bophut
Saboey Hotel Bophut
Saboey Resort Bophut
Saboey Resort And Villas Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing