We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Beautiful Bandara” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bandara Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bandara Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Beautiful Bandara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

We have just got back from the Bandara Resort and would definatley go back.We are experienced travellers and always stay at very good hotels and resorts.Our family had 3 rooms.
1. Upper level my sister and husband with queen bed and day bed,huge balcony with day bed also on balcony.They were very happy with there room and was better than expected.
2.Lower level (ground level) Myself,husband and our 8 year old son.
2 queen beds,large garden terrace with big day bed,spacious room love the sliding wall into bathroom made it easy to have a drink on terrace and still see our little one.Very happy with our room and service.
3. THE VILLA Our parents ! Well this is where we had happy hour every 5-6pm.Beautiful villa with pool and cabanna out the back.The private front of villa had a gorgeous out door stone bath and seperate shower.This villa also has shower in the inside bathroom.

We had read not to expect too much on arrival of first apperance and I agree with that statement but once you are in the grounds and pools (4 of them plus the beach) it is beautiful.
Friendly staff ! My husband commented on a CD that was playing at breakfast and they had him a copy by the afternoon.
Back to breakfast YUM and have everything you could possibly want.
We are all glad we stayed here and not in Chewang Beach as it was quieter with wonderful restaurants,good shopping and NO hasselling.
The Bandara is great value for money,clean,friendly and highly recommended by our family.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    530
    149
    32
    14
See reviews for
325
875
51
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

Fantastic room & bathroom great breakfast, swimming pools, food at resturants,
close to the fishermans village, and a free bus to Chawang when you need something more happening than Bophut
A wonderful experience.

We've stayed at the Zazen and Bandara, both are high quality, but if i was to return it would be the Bandara every time, because closer to the village, better bathrooms, and quality of sleep, although the views at breakfast are unbeatable at the Zazen.

You can't go wrong at Bandara

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

We have just returned from 7 wonderful nights at the Bandara and loved it.

We (or should I say I as our trip was a surprise for my wife, so she wasn't worried about anything) were a little worried about the construction work that I was advised about next door at the Anantara, but there was nothing to worry about at all. We were in a Villa (#705) which was right by the construction site and while sure there was a little nopise from time to time, we didn't really notice it at all.

We were greeted on arrival wth a nice cold facecloth and a glass of flavoured water which was much needed - this was provided after immediately being escorted to the bar area by reception (much better and more relaxing than being forced to stand at reception).

The Villa itself was simply fantastic. A large king sized bed (I'm sure it was bigger than the king size we have at home), an outdoor rain shower (we didn't use the inside shower at all during our stay), a large outdoor bath (only used once the day before left) and the most wonderful patio area with the plunge pool (just what you need to constantly cool off). If you are going to the Bandara, you simply have to try and splurge and have a Villa - it is well worth it.

I really only have 2 grumbles about the villa. The first is that we never really knew when housekeeping was coming. One day it was while we were at breakfast, mainly though it was between 1pm and 3pm (although one day it was 4pm). Does make it a bit of a problem when you're in a private villa (mad scramble for towels to cover up on a couple of days). Second was when I thought (incorrectly as it turns out) that our pool towels hadn't been changed. When I rang guest services they ended up ringing back challenging me that they had been changed. Almost ended up in a stand up argument with them over the phone. Sure, I was wrong in my assumption but the first rule of a hotel is that the guest is always right. The second rule is that when the guest is wrong, refer to rule number 1. Still, if these two things are our only gripes, then that's pretty good.

The Family Mart convenience store over the road was brilliant. Anything you want really, including alcohol, and at pretty cheap prices . We stocked up there and just emptied the mini bar out and put our stuff in.

Eating - breakfast was pretty good. The omelettes each day were fantastic. Appreciate the thought with having the coffee machines but became a pain in the butt when the resort was more full as the queue became long waiting to use them. Would be better off just doing what the other hotels do and have the serving staff pouring tea and coffee at the tables (the espresso from them wasn't that great anyway). Only had dinner once in the resort (the night we arrived as we go there at dinner time). Meal was lovely but being in the resort was a little pricey. It's only a short (romantic) stroll along the beach to the Fishermans Village which has anything you want at a good price. The pick for us was Krua Bophut. Beautiful location (try and get a table on the beach) and fantastic food. My wife and I were both well fed and watered for about BHT800. You must also make sure you have a pancake from the street vendors (particularly the Bangladeshi chap who makes an art out of making a pancake - reminscent of the 80's movie Cocktail).

Also had 2 great suits made by the guys at Majestic tailors in Fishermans Village. Would recommed them also.

The resort pools are wonderful. The main pool is simply fantastic although if you want a sala poolside, you have to get up pretty early. We were up for breakfast at 7 one morning as we were off on a tour and all the salas were already "reserved" by towels and bags (man, that practise annoys me). Didn't use the beachside pool at all but it did look very nice. The beach itself was excellent. Seemed to be plenty of sun loungers, the hawkers didn't bother you too much, and the sea was like a bath it was that warm. Don't think that it's going to be crystal clear water though because it isn't. The sand (which a number of people have commented on) is coarser than I'm used to but is lovely (just really hard to walk in).

So, would I recommed the Bandara to others? You bet I would! Would I go back there? Heck yeh!

If anyone has any questions, I don't mind answering them.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beaneedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

I stayed at hotel Bandara with my husband in the beginning of Feb 2010 for a week.

The hotel and its area are really nice. We stayed at a superior room which was really nice with big balcony, tub and a huge bed. The only negative thing in the room was the television, which was really old and small, but it didn't matter because we didn't use it that much. The breakfast at the hotel was good, lots to choose from and a nice breakfast room.

Hotel Bandara has a really nice garden and 4 pools. The pool areas are well maintained and clean. But the pool bars... slow service and often there was nobody there to serve you. Sad, especially in a hotel this nice.

We had also other problems with the staff: check-in lasted almost 5 hours (they had not cleaned our room and we got no compensation - not even welcome drinks). Some of the staff at the reception also had really poor language skills.

But overall I have to say that I really loved our stay - the room and the pools were so nice that we didn't let the service to ruin our holiday. So in the end I would recommend this hotel also to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milli78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford,England
Level Contributor
156 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

Stayed at this hotel in a deluxe room from the 21/02/2010 to the 01/03/2010 as part of our Bangkok, Koh Samui. Phuket, Bangkok trip. Room very nice but could do with a bit more storage.
Hotel is very good living up to its 4 stars with a good selection at breakfast. Both the main pool and beach pool are lovely. Staff are very helpful and efficient. We spent time around the main pool as it was much quieter in the day then moved down to the beach about 15:00. Evening meals at the hotel are expensive but very good as a treat. Bophut is only 12 minutes walk by road if you want to avoid the steep and loosely packed sand on the beach which several people have mentioned. Exit the hotel through reception go left past the Anantara turn left at the Full Moon restaurant sign and follow the road to the end of the beach road in Bophut by the new hotel. Time to nearest bar 12 minutes. Taxis and Song Taew are now very expensive on the island.
The hotel had a very nice bar by reception with views over the main pool but this was always quiet which was a shame, particularly as happy hour was 21:00 to 22:00 but we would have been sat there on our own.
Koh Samui is now much more developed than it was in 2004 on our last visit. Bophut was a very small resort then but now it has a good selection of restaurants and bars. Emerald and Billabong are good as is The Smile House restaurant. Chaweng is much more developed but we only visited in the day as there was ample selection in Bophut.
Hired a car for 2 days for approx £40, the island is small enough to explore fully in this time and roads are safe although a bit busy in Chaweng. Koh Samui was much better than Phuket our next stop and I will certainly revisit again in a few years.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gensi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

Some of the previous reviews are surprising and almost read like reviews of other hotels. From what we saw this was a well run hotel, with staff that genuinely appeared to care and who were interested in their guests. The Hilton chain could learn quite a few things from the Bandara!


The staff at the hotel are really friendly and helpful, and to be honest when I'm on holiday in a foreign country I don't expect the staff to be fully fluent in English - they try their very best to help and most importantly are happy in their work and want to help however they can.

The hotel room we had was clean, tidy, had the usual facilities and some nice additional touches (e.g. beach bag and flip flops). Nothing really to fault, but our room is probably due for a lick of paint in the next 12 months.

The hotel also offers a Thai cookery course and trip to a local market. While we'd visited similar markets in other countries, overall the cookery course is really worth doing. The head chef and the restaurant manager are both characters, and certainly made the few hours we had with them.

The hotel is in a great location,located directly on the beach and approximately 10-15 mins stroll to the Fishermans "Village". The village has similar setup to other Thai seaside resorts (T-Shirts shops, clothing shops, CD's/DVD's,bars, restaurants, etc.) but the advantage over other resorts on Samui is that there is much much less hassle compared to the awful Chaweng! Everyone seems to be pretty relaxed.

All in all a vvery nice relaxing place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Round_t_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights in jan including new years eve.We had to have gala evening at this hotel which was just ok.The food was great an outstanding buffet from around the world.What let this evening down was a live jazz singer who was good but really singing to her self which is ok when we are all eating but needed to up the beat for the new year count down.The fire works on the beach were fab though.
This hotel is a great place to stay and we love the fishermans village which is a short walk along the beach its so much nicer than chenwang beach.
The hotel provides cute baskets for your orange beach towels nice touch.There is a dvd player in the rooms and you can rent dvds from reception or bring those films you have always wanted to watch. really relaxing here great to visit in jan when weather in the uk is cold!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank airmiles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.2 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#12 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
3.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
6.8 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#3 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandara Resort & Spa

Property: Bandara Resort & Spa
Address: 178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#17 Family Hotel in Bophut
#20 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bandara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Bandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandara Hotel Bophut
Bandara Resort And Spa
Bandara Resort Koh Samui
Bandara Hotel Koh Samui
Bandara Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing