We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bandara Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2009

We stayed 10 days in March and had a very nice time there. Location of the hotel is good, it is a short walking distance to Fisherman village and the free shuttle to Chaweng is very convenient. Rooms are comfortable, but I think the best asset of the hotel is its beautiful garden and the 3 swimming pools (+ 1 for babies). Staff was very kind and always willling to help. Internet connection could be improved as not always good in rooms.
We would definitively go back there again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margounette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,348 - 1,354 of 1,790 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved it. The hotel has an amazing pool and location. The beach is beautiful. The rooms are large and comfortable. The breakfast was great. Everything about the hotel is wonderful. Our only complaint was the very small fitness room with old equipment. But with the wonderful pool compensated for that. Free internet access in the recreation room was great. The service at the hotel is wonderful. However, transportation around the island is a rip-off. The taxis charge you 500 baht to go 15 min to the airport. The hotel will charge you even more even if they're bringing other people to airport as well. If you want to go anywhere on the island, it's at least 300 baht. No one uses the meter here. We found the best way to see the island is to rent a scooter for 200 baht/day.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JGCSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

My husband and I spent 3 nights here in Jan 2009. We decided to splurge and stayed in one of the villas with a private swimming pool. It was AMAZING! The room was absolutely beautiful, with lots of room, a very comfortable bed, and a gorgeous indoor and outdoor bathroom. The indoor bathroom was huge, with 2 sinks, and separate rooms for the toilet and shower. Outside there was a large stone tub and a shower. It was so wonderful to shower outside in such a gorgeous tropical setting! There was also a large patio with a table and chairs and a small swimming pool. We loved every last detail about the villa.

The resort itself was very lush and tropical. There were 2 swimming pools, the main pool and one overlooking the beach. It was very windy when we were there, so it was too cold to swim in the pool by the beach for very long. The main pool was huge and lovely. My only complaint is that the main pool closes at 7, so you can only swim in the beach pool at night - and it was too cold to do so.

The resort is right on Bophut Beach, which has beautiful views when you are on the beach. The beach itself is rough though - very grainy sand, and the waves are downright scary, at least when we were there. It is quite far and expensive to get to Chaweng, where all the nightlife is. There is a free shuttle (not well advertised though) from the resort, so you can get there one way for free. The last shuttle returns to the resort quite early, so you would have to take a cab or red songthaew to get back.

The Fishermen's Village is really close by, about a 10 min walk either along the beach or the main road. There are many cute restaurants and cafes in this area.

Breakfast was wonderful! There were so many items, and everything was fresh and tasty.

We also booked facials at the spa, but I would not recommend it. The description of the facial included a consultation, facial, and arm and hand massage. There was absolutely no consultation! I was surprised when she just started applying things to my face without inquiring about allergies, sensitivities, etc. They also only cover you with a very thin towel, which made me a bit self-conscious. There is also no respect for your privacy - they watch you get settled before covering you! I couldn't believe that, and was very uncomfortable. Finally, there was no arm or hand massage, which I had been looking forward to. Instead, she made me sit up (and I had to hold on to the thin towel covering me or it would have fallen) and then before I could stop her, started giving me a neck massage. The next morning I had pain in my neck, and then was unable to turn my head to the left for the next 2 weeks!!! I was pretty upset about the whole spa experience, but there were no apologies and nothing was done to compensate us for it, despite me taking the time to write down everything on the feedback card and including multiple suggestions for improving the experience.

Overall I would recommend the hotel but not the spa.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teenab79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

Great location if you don't want to be in the thick of it, but still has plenty of facilities nearby including a 5 min walk up the beach to Fisherman's Village which is full of places to eat and drink. Hotel is lovely, beautifully laid out with plenty of room for the kids to let loose without bothering anyone. (4 swimming pools!!)We had originally booked the pool suite but on arrival, we found with 2 girls that adjoining deluxe rooms were much better for us. The pool suite is just perfect for a couple though. As usual restaurants in the resorts were a bit expensive but good quality food and the restaurant on the beach front was delightful. Breakfastt buffet was also very good in a relaxing setting. No absolute beachfront rooms but the beautiful grounds of the resort more than made up for that.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LesleyU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2009

What a lovely hotel! We stayed for 13 nights in a deluxe king size room overlooking one of the two large pools. The hotel has a really calm atmosphere and our room was lovely with perhaps the most comfortable bed ever. We ate most evenings in Fishermans Village (a 6 minute stroll away) (Smiles Restaurant is excellent and very very good value). The hotel spa is a real treat - more expensive then local massages - but well worth the extra costs. At all times we felt safe walking around. The hotel offers a compliementary shuttle service to local Chaweng Beach (that area is a bit tacky and busy) the Ladyboy cabaret at the "Star Club" one evening is a fun experience. We were unlucky with the weather -especially as one of us went to dive (by the way there is an excellent dive centre attached to the hotel - "The Dive Academy" run by a very nice and sensible husband & wife couple. The hotel has a discrete but hands on management style and at all times the staff were charming, polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Freddie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Having recently spent 10 nights at the Bandara Resort and Spa in Bophut, Koh Sumui, my wife and I unreservedly recommend this 4 star resort (rating deserved) to those considering Koh Sumui as a holiday destination.

First impressions of this modern, reasonably priced, well-equipped resort were lasting impressions. We found the staff to be genuine, caring and most helpful.

Our unit was on the third floor, overlooking the pool at one end. Pool noise was never an issue, possibly due to the location of our room. The unit was excellent; spacious, modern décor, kingsize bed and effective air conditioning. The balcony was large, complete with daybed, table and chairs and a ceiling fan. Fresh fruit and bottled water and large beach towels were delivered daily to the room free of charge.

Free Internet service with 2 computers was available for guests.

Excellent buffet style breakfast (available until 10.30am) catering for all nationalities was included in the package. We were impressed with the extensive range of foods – a wide variety of cooked breakfasts, cereals and yoghurts, a bread station with various types for toasting or fresh eating, salad bar with a range of cheeses and meats, an array of Asian type foods, various types of fruit juices, teas and coffee. The food was always fresh and plentiful.

Fishermans Village is only 5-10 minutes walk along the beachfront or by road. It contains a large number of reasonably priced restaurants, catering for all nationalities, along with bars and retail shops. We ate there most evenings.

My wife and I lead busy lives; consequently, much of our time was spent relaxing by one of the numerous pools or on the attractive beach fronting the resort. The picture of the main pool on the Internet is a true image. Food and drinks could be ordered from the pools or at the beach, at a reasonable charge. Bandara allowed us an opportunity to relax and get relief from hectic lifestyles, with the only disruption being the local sellers on the beach who were persistent in attempting to sell you items of clothing, sunglasses, foods, manicures and massages. These people were never on the resort’s grounds.

We were at Bandara in October, which is considered 'low season'. Therefore occupancy rate was only moderate. This along with the fact there was little rain contributed to a very pleasant stay. We found the temperature to be 'comfortable' with little difference between air and water temperature.

One of the attractions for us was the resort’s location. Bophut is only 10 to 15 minutes by taxi from the more populated area of Chaweng. This provided for a more restful stay, knowing that a busy populated centre with associated facilities; shopping, restaurants and nightclubs, was just a short drive away. The resort runs a free shuttle service to and from Chaweng twice daily. Taxi service is very good and reasonably priced.

We have unreservedly recommended Bandara Resort and Spa to our travel agent and also have family members staying at the resort later in 2009, on our recommendation. If we should return to Koh Sumui, we would have no hesitation in booking in at Bandara.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank T-Rev-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2008

The Bandara is a lovely resort located in Bophut Beach. We stayed in a deluxe room (3rd floor overlooking the pool) booked on www.agoda.com, and was able to upgrade closer to arrival due to all of the mass cancellations from the closing of the Bangkok International Airport.

Location:
The hotel's location is excellent. It is near lots of conveniences, such as laundry services, scooter rental, restaurants, and spa services just on the road. Bandara also offers twice daily free shuttles to Chaweng Beach - which is very convenient as many taxis may charge up to 500THB (~13USD) one way to Chaweng. It is about a 10 min walk to Fishermans Village, which is a very cute road with lots of small (well-priced) restaurants, bars, and stores. We rented a scooter for 200THB per day (without petrol); it is possible to rent a scooter for as little as 150THB per day, but those places are located closer to Chaweng. We highly recommend renting a scooter as it's convenient and inexpensive -- just wear a helmet and drive safely.

Hotel:
The hotel itself is quite nice. It's probably between a 3-4 star hotel, than a full 4 star hotel. All public areas are clean, and the gardens are very beautiful. Upkeep of the pools is very good and overall the hotel has a pleasant atmosphere. There is a clean and modern (but small) fitness room, free internet (including wifi), a beauty salon, and a spa on site.

There are lots of families that stay here, so bear that in mind if you are looking for a quiet retreat.

Deluxe Room:
Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool. It was a nice location, though the pool could get a little noisy with all the kids at night. The room is comfortable if a little bit cramped. The decor is nice but not high quality and slightly kitschy. The fruit left in the room was already getting old, so that wasn't the best welcome basket. Bottles of water and fresh beach towels were brought to the room everyday. The balcony is a good size with a daybed and a table/chairs and ceiling fan.

Restaurants:
Breakfast was very good and overall the variety was just right. Lots of fresh fruit/juices, salad bar with cheeses/meats, egg station, french toast/waffles, English breakfast (sausage/baked beans), bread station, cereal/yogurt station, and dimsum/Asian station.

The food at both the Leelavadee and the Chom Dao restaurants was very good and always satisfying. There is also a spa menu at Leelavadee (with steamed foods, macrobiotic dishes) but apparently the staff didn't realize that this menu existed (though it's printed). The staff try very hard to meet the needs of the guests, but they are not quite up to snuff with a 4 star hotel expectations. Food service can be very sluggish and detracts from a nice experience in the restaurants. But the food is very good so it makes up for the service. Prices are better than at other hotels but still a little bit more expensive than going to an outside restaurant.

Spa:
The spa is very nice and offers a good selection of services for standard hotel prices. The actual service is excellent though value for money is not great.

Beach:
The beach is nice in that it is a longer strip. The sand is course and brown and is not as pleasant as Mae Nam, Chaweng or Lamai. If you are looking to spend more time on the beach, best to look at other beaches. The pools more than make up for the beach.

- - - -
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. Unless we can a very good deal, we probably will not stay here again. But we would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a well-located, higher-end hotel with all the usual amenities of a 3-4 star resort.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank c000g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 185 in Bophut
2,408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#4 of 185 in Bophut
1,647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#34 of 185 in Bophut
1,612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Samui Resort
Mantra Samui Resort
#16 of 185 in Bophut
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandara Resort & Spa

Address: 178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#14 Family Hotel in Bophut
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#18 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $91 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bandara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Bandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandara Hotel Bophut
Bandara Resort And Spa
Bandara Resort Koh Samui
Bandara Hotel Koh Samui
Bandara Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing