We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bandara Resort and Spa - a memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bandara Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bandara Resort and Spa - a memorable stay”
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Having recently spent 10 nights at the Bandara Resort and Spa in Bophut, Koh Sumui, my wife and I unreservedly recommend this 4 star resort (rating deserved) to those considering Koh Sumui as a holiday destination.

First impressions of this modern, reasonably priced, well-equipped resort were lasting impressions. We found the staff to be genuine, caring and most helpful.

Our unit was on the third floor, overlooking the pool at one end. Pool noise was never an issue, possibly due to the location of our room. The unit was excellent; spacious, modern décor, kingsize bed and effective air conditioning. The balcony was large, complete with daybed, table and chairs and a ceiling fan. Fresh fruit and bottled water and large beach towels were delivered daily to the room free of charge.

Free Internet service with 2 computers was available for guests.

Excellent buffet style breakfast (available until 10.30am) catering for all nationalities was included in the package. We were impressed with the extensive range of foods – a wide variety of cooked breakfasts, cereals and yoghurts, a bread station with various types for toasting or fresh eating, salad bar with a range of cheeses and meats, an array of Asian type foods, various types of fruit juices, teas and coffee. The food was always fresh and plentiful.

Fishermans Village is only 5-10 minutes walk along the beachfront or by road. It contains a large number of reasonably priced restaurants, catering for all nationalities, along with bars and retail shops. We ate there most evenings.

My wife and I lead busy lives; consequently, much of our time was spent relaxing by one of the numerous pools or on the attractive beach fronting the resort. The picture of the main pool on the Internet is a true image. Food and drinks could be ordered from the pools or at the beach, at a reasonable charge. Bandara allowed us an opportunity to relax and get relief from hectic lifestyles, with the only disruption being the local sellers on the beach who were persistent in attempting to sell you items of clothing, sunglasses, foods, manicures and massages. These people were never on the resort’s grounds.

We were at Bandara in October, which is considered 'low season'. Therefore occupancy rate was only moderate. This along with the fact there was little rain contributed to a very pleasant stay. We found the temperature to be 'comfortable' with little difference between air and water temperature.

One of the attractions for us was the resort’s location. Bophut is only 10 to 15 minutes by taxi from the more populated area of Chaweng. This provided for a more restful stay, knowing that a busy populated centre with associated facilities; shopping, restaurants and nightclubs, was just a short drive away. The resort runs a free shuttle service to and from Chaweng twice daily. Taxi service is very good and reasonably priced.

We have unreservedly recommended Bandara Resort and Spa to our travel agent and also have family members staying at the resort later in 2009, on our recommendation. If we should return to Koh Sumui, we would have no hesitation in booking in at Bandara.

  • Liked — Modern tiday resort, size of rooms, friendly accommodating staff, pools and beach,
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank T-Rev-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    536
    152
    32
    14
See reviews for
326
895
52
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2008

The Bandara is a lovely resort located in Bophut Beach. We stayed in a deluxe room (3rd floor overlooking the pool) booked on www.agoda.com, and was able to upgrade closer to arrival due to all of the mass cancellations from the closing of the Bangkok International Airport.

Location:
The hotel's location is excellent. It is near lots of conveniences, such as laundry services, scooter rental, restaurants, and spa services just on the road. Bandara also offers twice daily free shuttles to Chaweng Beach - which is very convenient as many taxis may charge up to 500THB (~13USD) one way to Chaweng. It is about a 10 min walk to Fishermans Village, which is a very cute road with lots of small (well-priced) restaurants, bars, and stores. We rented a scooter for 200THB per day (without petrol); it is possible to rent a scooter for as little as 150THB per day, but those places are located closer to Chaweng. We highly recommend renting a scooter as it's convenient and inexpensive -- just wear a helmet and drive safely.

Hotel:
The hotel itself is quite nice. It's probably between a 3-4 star hotel, than a full 4 star hotel. All public areas are clean, and the gardens are very beautiful. Upkeep of the pools is very good and overall the hotel has a pleasant atmosphere. There is a clean and modern (but small) fitness room, free internet (including wifi), a beauty salon, and a spa on site.

There are lots of families that stay here, so bear that in mind if you are looking for a quiet retreat.

Deluxe Room:
Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool. It was a nice location, though the pool could get a little noisy with all the kids at night. The room is comfortable if a little bit cramped. The decor is nice but not high quality and slightly kitschy. The fruit left in the room was already getting old, so that wasn't the best welcome basket. Bottles of water and fresh beach towels were brought to the room everyday. The balcony is a good size with a daybed and a table/chairs and ceiling fan.

Restaurants:
Breakfast was very good and overall the variety was just right. Lots of fresh fruit/juices, salad bar with cheeses/meats, egg station, french toast/waffles, English breakfast (sausage/baked beans), bread station, cereal/yogurt station, and dimsum/Asian station.

The food at both the Leelavadee and the Chom Dao restaurants was very good and always satisfying. There is also a spa menu at Leelavadee (with steamed foods, macrobiotic dishes) but apparently the staff didn't realize that this menu existed (though it's printed). The staff try very hard to meet the needs of the guests, but they are not quite up to snuff with a 4 star hotel expectations. Food service can be very sluggish and detracts from a nice experience in the restaurants. But the food is very good so it makes up for the service. Prices are better than at other hotels but still a little bit more expensive than going to an outside restaurant.

Spa:
The spa is very nice and offers a good selection of services for standard hotel prices. The actual service is excellent though value for money is not great.

Beach:
The beach is nice in that it is a longer strip. The sand is course and brown and is not as pleasant as Mae Nam, Chaweng or Lamai. If you are looking to spend more time on the beach, best to look at other beaches. The pools more than make up for the beach.

- - - -
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. Unless we can a very good deal, we probably will not stay here again. But we would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a well-located, higher-end hotel with all the usual amenities of a 3-4 star resort.

  • Liked — location, food
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank c000g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

Great honeymoon! Great hotel! Great stay!
the pics will tell you more than me. just one advise: look up in the nearest beach restaurant, just on your right side from bandara from the beach view. great food, good prices, excursions are cheaped and better than in other places. good luck!

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NatBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

After deciding on a relaxing holiday in Koh Samui I chose the Bandara Resort & Spa based on its great reviews on Trip Advisor and other review websites! The resort exceeded my expecations by miles (which were already high based on the reviews I had read)!!

We stayed for 12 nights in a Cottage-Villa, definately the room of choice and worth the extra! The room was beautifully furnished and spacious, the outdoor shower was a beautiful touch and the plunge pool the perfect indulgence! One night we even had room service by the plunge pool - amazing!

The spa is fantastic, particularly the 2 hour thai massage. We booked in for when we arrived and it was the perfect start to the holiday. Although it costs alot more than the massages on the beach (which are also great) its definately worth the extra $$ as the service is fantastic and we walked out so relaxed!

Happy hour at the beach bar is great (2 for 1 from about 5pm until sunset) and became a bit of a regular for us! The Chom Dao restaurant is fantastic. While you can get cheaper meals in Fishermans Village the view, service and food definately make it worth while and a lovely treat. The thai themed friday nights are must as well, free cocktails and a chance to meet the staff as well as a great buffet giving you the opportunity to try lots of thai foods and experience the culture with the dancers and music.

I did the cooking classes with Edmond, and was lucky enough to be the only student in my class! Definately a must for anyone who loves thai food - I can't wait to hold my first dinner party. Edmond's enthusiasm and genuine interest made it one of my favourite experiences on the island...

We are already planning our next trip back and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway!

  • Liked — Cottage Villa - amazing!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank claireb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

Having just returned from 6 nights at the Bandara, and having had such a great stay there, I simply have to report on how fantastic this resort is!

My wife and I just spent 6 nights at Bandara, and from the moment you arrive, and are greeted with a complimentary cool drink, until the time you leave and taxi away from Bandara, we were totally impressed by the hospitality and kindness shown by ALL staff.

We booked a Pool Villa, it was private, spacious, luxurious, peaceful and very recommended!! The room was changed/cleaned/refreshed so well, and so beautifully each morning, as expected for such a fine resort.

Breakfast buffet selection was massive, with huge variety, we couldn't imagine a person from any part of the world not being satisfied with it! We have stayed in Hotels in Copenhagen, Taipei, Queenstown, Sydney, Rarotonga, Singapore and Munich already this year, as we travel frequently, and I have to say that the Bandara offers one of the best breakfast buffets.

On 3 of our nights we dined at the local BopHut Fisherman Village, just a 5 minute stroll along the beach,,,,prices are very reasonable, food is mainly seafood of course, and excellent!! One night we took the FREE Bandara shuttle to Chaweng, and found it was also good value to eat there, but if you want a quiet, beautiful, and more authentic Thai beach experience, then you would be so pleased to be staying where the Bandara is (ie,, Chaweng is not too flashy!!) On one night we dined at the Chom Dao restaurant in the resort, also very good food at great prices. Chef Edmond is at your service ! Next door to the resort we dined at Gecko, low low prices, nice food, and tables on the waters edge, beautiful.

Pools at Bandara are very clean, not at all heavy with chlorine, but not deep !! Only 1.5m at most!! The Thai Cocktail evening on Friday, complimentary, is recommended, as you will be well fed and watered , and get the chance to meet some of the staff.

We usd the free kayaks, windsurfers, and the Hobie cat (small charge, but bugger all)...and also enjoyed the happy hour at teh pool bar 5-7pm, 200 Baht for Two drinks, very reasonable!

Taxis were easy to get from outside reception, 1 minute wait,and only 300 baht to Chaweng. Cheap.

We could not fault any part of the Bandara experience, such friendly staff, so reasonably priced, and a resort set in beautiful grounds. Can't wait to return!!!

  • Liked — Pools, and Villa, fantastic!
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elliot749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eden australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We have just spent 8 nights at Bandara. After arriving we were shown to a room backing on to the main road. At the risk of becoming a pain in the bum, I asked to be moved to a room away from the road. After about 30 mins we were shown to a room overlooking the pool, on the second floor..The hotel was obviously far from full, i wonder why the noisier rooms are even used.
We were happy with our room, they had some nice touches such as coffee maker, beach bag and dvd player.
The balcony was huge with a big daybed and fan on the roof.
We loved the beachside atmosphere, alternating between the beach and fantastic beach side pool. We had no trouble getting pool lounges at any of the pools.
Breakfast was OK, not the same variety as we had enjoyed on previous trips to Thailand, but more than adequate. we didn't eat at the restaurants instead we either walked up the beach to the Fishermans Village or caught a songathew in to Chaweng Beach.
The service was fairly ordinary. We felt that we may have put them off side from our original impression, but inreality we had little to do with front desk. If you needed something whle around the pool you had to go and ask for it. Our room was kept lovely with fresh linen when ever you wanted. Every day if thats what you want.
Our only real complaint with staying at Bophut was the transport. We used the local songathews when ever possible(and loved it) but the taxis really have the place stitched up.They charge exhorbitant rates in comparison to other parts of Thailand.We had enquired on rate to the airport and was told 400 baht from rank right out the front. On the day we were leaving we went to go and hail the cab, the staff jumped up and said they would do it. Because the same taxi (from out the front) was hailed by the Hotel they wanted 500 Baht!!
I would definitely stay at the Bandara again. we had a stay 8 pay 4 deal so it was good value.(and also an apparent upgrade if available!)

  • Liked — the pools and location on the beach
  • Disliked — slow service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank insulbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

All the fab reviews were spot on for Bandara! We have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Resort & it was beautiful.

Highly recommend a pool villa, so private, huge room, bathroom, outdoor shower & bath, your own sunbed, outdoor setting & to top it off the 4x4 metre pool (complete with spa jets!)

The villa, coupled with the magical beach pools were the highlight of the resort. In addition to the beach pool is another 40m pool - so it never felt crowded anywhere in the resort.

The staff are fantastic, as they are in most Thailand resorts & service was impeccable.

It truly is a wonderful place in a magic location - Bophut is much quieter, yet still pretty compared to other beaches. There are heaps of great places to eat nearby in Fishermans Village (10 min walk on beach). The Chom Dao restaurant in Bandara is also very nice.

The breakfast is good - I wouldn't say excellent - mostly due to lack of variety.

The Spa is wonderful too - worth the extra compared to street massages.

All in all - highly recommend this resort & this location!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank saady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
2,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
3.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,516 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 187 in Bophut
452 reviews
2.0 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 187 in Bophut
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandara Resort & Spa

Property: Bandara Resort & Spa
Address: 178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#17 Family Hotel in Bophut
#19 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bandara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandara Hotel Bophut
Bandara Resort And Spa
Bandara Resort Koh Samui
Bandara Hotel Koh Samui
Bandara Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing