We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bandara Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
ibis Samui Bophut(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$43
$30
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$139
$117
Amari.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort(Choeng Mon)(Great Value!)
$221
$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melati Beach Resort & Spa(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$168
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Briza Beach Resort Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$444
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waterfront(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$66
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Dance Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$145
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Chaweng Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$141
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,903)
Filter reviews
1,903 results
Traveler rating
1,055
609
181
41
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,055
609
181
41
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfisherman's villageplunge poolchom daobeach barmain pooloutdoor shower and bathkoh samuiday beddeluxe roombophut beachhappy hourbeach bagegg stationour honeymoonbusy roadfamily martspring rolls
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
851 - 856 of 1,903 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had a fabulous family and friends holiday at Bandara and I can highly recommend the resort. The location is perfect on the beach (and with beautiful gardens) and only a 5 minute walk to the Village for restaurants and shops. The pools are excellent, the breakfast selection good and the deluxe rooms over looking the pool were a good size.

We were fortunate to be staying for Songkran - Thai New Year and celebrations included an offering to the Monks, games and one big water fight - all the children (and quite a few adults) had water pistols and the staff joined in the fun too!! The hotel staff also provided Easter activities for the children. The complimentary guest cocktail function in the garden on Monday evening was a lovely way to mingle with staff and other guests.

Some of our group participated in the Thai cooking class run in-house, which they thoroughly enjoyed, including a trip to the local market.

The staff were all excellent, often going above and beyond to assist with requests. We had a special birthday dinner for 20 on the beach and it was very capably organised by Ram and overseen by Tang and his team (Yod, Bun, Ban and Nart).The table setting was beautiful, including flowers, and the food delicious. The evening culminated with lantern lighting and our fireworks. Unforgettable - thanks to everyone involved.

I have no hesitation recommending the hotel - a perfect holiday destination.

Room Tip: Deluxe ground floor rooms for easy access.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May K, Front Office Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing Bandara Resort & Spa for you holidays in Thailand.
It is a pleasure to read your feedback on our resort. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed Songkran and Easter's events with our team as much as we did.
We also appreciate that you recommend our cooking classes as our Chef is always very glad to teach our guests the Thai cooking methods.
Thank you also for noting the good work of our staff.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Best regards,
Bandara Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I travelled alone so I was a bit concerned with staying at a resort. Although it's more family and couples oriented, I never felt strange or bored. Mainly because of the fantastic guests' relations manager Kristina. She was so helpful and involved with all guests. She is super helpfull in an honest way (telling you how it is and not making things up). Always kind and talking with everyone. She made me feel at home and whatever you needed she would arrange it. Also the French intern Matti is very kind and great in introducing people to each other. They both made my stay at Bandara very pleasant.
The resort of course is also great! Clean and big rooms, the gardens are beautiful and being maintained with love every day. The pools are nice to, in the gardens and at the beach. Plenty sun beds, so no need to rush early in the morning. They also have a PADI diving shop, with a free try-out in the pool!! The breakfast is also great! So much choice; from Thai to Western food. Always fresh and plenty of it. They even have their own Egg Station!
It's also very safe, 24/7 security and even walking on the beach alone wasn't a problem. Within 10 minutes you're at the Fisherman's Village with small restaurants and shops. Friday nights are Walking Streets, with a lot of street food, music and people selling stuff. Def. try the coconut ice cream!
For travelling around the island I would recommend a scooter. Taxi's are quite expensive and the bus doen't take you everywhere. Just never leave your passport anywhere.
I would def recommend Bophut Beach; it's clean and quiet and the water is good for swimming. Though the sea is not clear (but nowhere on Samui; go to Ko Tao for diving and snorkling).

Room Tip: My room was on the right wing on 3rd floor with view on the pool. Very quiet. Every room has a huge balcony. No complaints here.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May K, Front Office Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Natasa,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa,

We are pleased to hear that you had a great time in our resort and would recommend it.
It is always very nice to hear good feedback and we are very happy that our resort's facilities and staff made your stay very pleasant.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I totally enjoyed Bandara and the helpfulness of the staff ... some people who review don't seem to take into account that English is not 1st language for staff just as thai is not one of my spoken language .... however their manners and graciousness is something that perhaps COULD be absorbed and taken home!
The only complaints I would have would be about some fellow Australians with manners and obnoxious behaviour that should have been confined to their own house or backyard whose children were allowed to free range and shriek at the top of their lungs unreprimanded.

Room Tip: top floors facing sunset .... great view!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May K, Front Office Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa.

Thank you also for being understanding with the English of our staff that we keep on trying to improve by regular training. It is very pleasant to hear that you appreciate their manners and graciousness.
We would like to apologize about the inconvenience of other guests' noise and hope it did not decrease too much the quality of your stay.

We hope to welcome you again soon,

Best regards,
Bandara Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just came back from an 8 night stay at Bandara resort . As always there were mixed reviews from posts that we had checked before we went . We in no way could fault this hotel from the greeting to the departure . We were met by Kirsty and she was very pleasant and got us drinks ,ice cold towel etc , we were then offered a room on right side of pool looking from hotel lobby (328) . This was perfect ,sun into your balcony in the evening . As I only had 1 day to organise my wife's 50th birthday surprise , I interrupted Kirsty at her lunch as asked for her help , she offered various things and we chose the Red Baron sunset cruise . My wife totally loved all about the cruise and Kirsty organised free bubbly for the cruise ( made us feel very special) as everyone was asking what the occasion was . That was a highlight set against all the other great nights at fisherman s village for dinner , drinks etc .a few great chill out bars at fisherman s village . Coco tams , cabanas bar that uses old LP album covers for your menu and the records from inside have all the drinks listed ( great cocktails ) . Wine is the most expensive drink everywhere ,nothing less than average £20 bottle , cocktails are £3 - £4 some a lot cheaper . Friday night market is very very busy but great fun . Average a third of asking price and you won't be disappointed . Hotel breakfast is excellent , dinner on the beachfront restaurant is amazing . Tum at the cocktail beach bar would put TGIF cocktail makers to shame ,Few bits of tiles , masonry etc needed sorted but nothing major , all in all a great hotel ,with great staff . Cabanas at pool are great as there is no way you will be in the sun all day , ( must be out by about 8.30 to get one )

Room Tip: We had heard front of hotel next to road may be noisy but they seem far enough away not to be affected . Private villas were stunning but you have no outlook as all are permanently private .couldn,t faulty deluxe rooms on right side of hotel where we were .
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbeattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May K, Front Office Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing Bandara Resort & Spa for your stay in Samui,

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, in our lovely resort.
Thank you also for letting us be part of your special day and we are pleased to hear that your wife loved it.
We also would like to thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review with good tips for our resort and its surrounding.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Kindest Regards,
Bandara Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This resort was recommended by andrew at travel world gold coast australia. We left it up to him to send us somewhere we could relax, shop if we wanted , gorgeous beaches and lovely room and not be hassled..! Koh samui and bandara resort has lived up to all these expectations and beyond !Manager Cristy goes above and beyond for first class service and friendliness, nothing is a problem and she is an asset to bandara ! Tang has greeted us each morning for breakfast and makes sure everything is running smoothly, his english is impeccable and is always smiling, we enjoy speaking with him! We are staying in a private villa with own plunge pool and outside bath and shower, lovely place to come back to after day on beach. Fish markets are walking distance for shopping, many places to eat and enjoy some entertainment. So, book a flight and get over here, its magic xxx

Room Tip: Any private pool villa
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May K, Front Office Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Bandara Resort & Spa.
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review, giving good tips and noting the good work of our staff.

We hope to see you again soon at Bandara,

Best regards,
Bandara Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews