We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bandara Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong Victoria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restful Experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We recently stayed at this resort and found it to be very peaceful and quiet. With Fisherman's Village just 200 metres away and a large choice of places to eat with excellent food. Nice change from the hustle and bustle of Chaweng. Room was spacious and clean. Buffet breakfast was provided with our deal and a large choice of food which was yummy. The staff were very polite and friendly. Highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on ground floor or 2nd floor as sometimes the lift doesn't work and a long wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chanel1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art C, Operations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will let our staff know of your compliment. We do apologize for the elevator being out of service for a couple of days for maintenance. We hope to welcome you and your family back to our lovely resort!

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    560
    161
    34
    14
See reviews for
343
949
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
christchurch
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

A lovely beach hotel with superb pools and gardens. This was our second visit to the Bandara and it did we enjoyed everything about our stay. Close to the Fisherman's village with it's range of resturants and bars. The staff are very helpful, always friendly. Rooms are good, the rooms close to the road would be noisy but ask for a room over looking the pool area if you want quiet. There is small covienience store and pharmacy across the road the lovely people who "man ' the hotel entrances will ensure you cross safely, slowing the traffic for you. we had lunch in the resturant overlooking the beach or you can oder food at the pool. Did not have dinner at the hotel preferring to eat at one of the many excellent places at Fishermans village.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilandbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art C, Operations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for coming back and staying with us again at Bandara Resort & Spa!

We are really happy to know that your second trip was absolutely lovely. We will let our team in all department know of your compliments. We hope to welcome you and your family back for a third return with us. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your wonderful memories in Thailand.

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife and I spent 14 days here from 15th March for my 60th Birthday and we were not disappointed. The comments on Tripadvisor are by and large, fairly accurate and I do tend to read up on a place before I visit and the one thing that persuaded us to go here, was the proximity to Fishermans Village where we could experience the local cuisine and evening life.

The Hotel was clean and tidy and the grounds are a credit to all the gardeners and staff.The Hansar, which is not too far away, seems to get wonderful reviews and perhaps rightly so but it is right on the front next to the road and beach and there seems to be no privacy whereas The Bandara has a couple of swimming pools at the front but the huge main pool, is back through the large gardens and only overlooked by its own rooms. At times, we found ourselves to be the only people in this lovely pool which has its own little shelters with a fan above and the pool bar close at hand.

On arrival, we were offered a villa for 3000 bahts per day which over 14 days worked out at £840 and thank goodness we didn't go through with this as our Deluxe room which was on the second floor(number 525), was excellent with a pleasant view of the gardens and pool. I am sure some people would like to tuck themselves away with absolute privacy in these villas but frankly, we found it lovely sitting round any of the three pools occasionally chatting to any of the other guests and being looked after by all the bar staff who were very friendly and courteous. The king size bed was comfortable and the fridge/bar was always adequately stocked.

The breakfast ,as most people have pointed out, is a delightful experience and there is an excellent choice of fruit, cereals, croissants cooked breakfasts and an egg station where you can have any kind of omelette, scrambled, fried, poached and boiled eggs. There are meats, Thai style noodles and I am sure whatever you want, they will do for you.

The only downside to the holiday were the following:-

1) If the hotel is not full, let the villas go for a cheaper price and offer to show them to the customer and let them make you an offer. Surely, this would generate extra monies for the hotel but £60 is a bit too much.
2)The beach is lovely and clean however, the sand is large grain and not very supportive and when you walk on to Fishermans Village, it is hard work in 95 degrees both on going out at night and on your return so be prepared to sweat a little.
3)If you like a bottle of wine with your meal in the evening, most of the restaurants charge around £30 a bottle so again, be prepared for this although the cost of eating offsets this and we ended up paying around £40 to £50 per meal for the two of us.I am sure that if you go off the beaten track, it will be considerably cheaper.

To finish on a positive note, the boat trip around most of the island was excellent and good value and lasts around 6 hours, stopping to snorkel and have lunch in a French beach bar. You can also get a taxi for yourself for around £60 per day and our driver Tok was very helpful and knowledgeable.

All round, it was a great experience and whilst they only score this hotel 13th out of all the local hotels, we found it to be more than adequate and my only real criticism of the hotel was that the bathrooms were in need of some upgrading. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would not hesitate coming back here. Thank you Bandara.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NigelMenston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art C, Operations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your 60th Birthday!

We always love to hear from our guests. First of all, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for spending the time for this feedback. It is very kind and helpful for other guests as well as the Bandara Resort & Spa itself. We take pride in our main pool being one of the largest fresh water pool on the island at 10 x 40 Meters. Alongside the two beach pools, the children's pool and our large beach, we are confident to be able to provide a great experience!

As for the downsides, we will look into improving those points. We will see if we can develop a more flexible system for the room upgrade. As for the route toward Fisherman's Village, we are looking into building small stone paths from the hotel toward the end of the property line. As for the wine, there is a very high import tax as wine is considered to be "luxury items".

Thank you again for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa! We hope to welcome you and your partner back again krup.

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Hinterland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We spent 8 nights from 21st of March in villa #714. Originally booked cheapest room & upgraded to villa with pool when we arrived which was 14,000 baht extra for the 8 nites. We took the older style villa as it was more traditional than the newer ones & of course cheaper. The bed & pillows were quite comfy & the villa was large. It was great having a dip before going to bed. There is an inside bathroom with 2 basins, a shower & toilet while outside there was a shower with a rain head & a sunken bath. Our villa was about half way between the beach & reception. The turndown service with little gifts was nice & we found all staff excellent. Loved the breakfast with lots to chose from. There were plenty of beach lounges & the 4 pools were lovely. The free cocktail nite was great & also enjoyed the all you can eat beach BBQ. The resort is close to the Fishermans Village & recommend you to go on Friday nite when the market is on. Cheap food & drinks. We didn't use the spa facilities so didn't rate it. We would recommend the resort and would go back again. Thank you to all at Bandara for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Walk along the beach to the Fishermans Village as much quicker than by road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triplover57Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art C, Operations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

It is a big pleasure to see that our guests had a great experience at our lovely resort. We hope to welcome you back to our resort soon! Thank you for the review.

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

My family had been living in Thailand for about 6 months before going south for vacation. Bandara felt like such a break from daily life in Thailand. The bathrooms in the rooms are clean and updated, the bed was actually pretty comfortable, the patio looked out on to the pool, and the rooms were completely quiet at night. They provided a portable crib for our baby. Huge breakfast available in the mornings - go for the chocolate croissants and the coffee. If you time it right, you can get happy hour 2 for 1 from afternoon into evening, between the three bar locations. Just get a good look at the flavored mixers by the pool - some had ants heading up the bottle.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art C, Operations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

Great to hear that we were able to provide you and your family with a great break from daily life! Thank you for the review and we hope to welcome you and your family to our lovely resort again!

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed at the Bandara Resort & Spa Samui in Feb to celebrate my partner's birthday. Overall the resort was fantastic, great facilities - they even give you a beach bag to use as part of the hotel amenities and 95% of the staff are fantastic, especially the F&B staff who looked after us well.

Unfortunately, the reception staff was not very helpful. We tried to make some restaurant bookings and each time it was a hassle. One evening, we were told to call ourselves. My partner was really offended by the tone in which he was spoken to and insisted that a call be made on our behalf due to the language barrier we had with contacting some of the restaurants. Imagine our surprise when we were checking out, the cheeky reception staff billed us for the phone call. Not happy.

However, although I would never stay at this hotel again based on principle, this hotel is very family friendly and they do things very well in terms of the weekly free cocktail party for hotel guests, the fantastic buffet dinner on the beach and the three times daily turn down service they provide, the daily token gifts and even to the games and balls they provide near the pool. They really do think of everything.

Their breakfast buffet is fantastic as well - great variety and love their pancake machine. The chefs are friendly and cook a few things to order.

I would have had a great, memorable experience if it were not our bad luck to experience such terrible attitudes from the reception staff for 4 days of our 8 night stay. We also learnt that the day staff are much nicer than the afternoon / evening staff.

Also, in the hotel book, they state that they spray for mosquitoes on a weekly basis. We were there for 8 days and not once did we see a notice for spraying. I am prone to mosquitoes as well so I had to spray every time I left the room and had to request electric mosquito repellant as they are rampant there and I was bitten whilst in the room as well. Just make sure you bring insect repellent and you will be fine.

Room Tip: The plunge pool room is worth the extra cost, especially if you are there for some R&R and inten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art C, Operations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

We apologize for any inconvenience and any negative experience you and your partner felt while staying with us. We will work on improving the service provided by our Reception Team. However, we will let our FB Team know that they did a good job providing fantastic service. It's great to know that the activities we provide are being appreciated. We will continue to offer more and more interesting events at our lovely resort! As for the mosquito spraying, we normally spray on Thursday afternoon/evening time. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have travelled widely and can honestly say this is one of the best places for a beach holiday ever. The grounds are lush and border directly onto the beach, the food is great, service wonderful, staff unfailingly pleasant. The only thing I would say is go for the upgrade as the standard (superior) rooms front onto a very busy road....we took the upgrade at a bargain price and glad we did, very spacious, twin queen beds and terrace overlooking the garden, great. Oh and it happened to be our birthdays during stay so bed decorated specially and birthday cake provided with candles!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larissabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art C, Operations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

It's a pleasure to hear such a kind feedback. Thank you very much for the pleasant review. Thank you for letting us be a part of your wonderful memories in Thailand.

We hope to welcome you and your partner back to our lovely resort again for the next Birthday!

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 186 in Bophut
2,298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#17 of 186 in Bophut
972 reviews
4.2 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
4.1 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 186 in Bophut
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandara Resort & Spa

Property: Bandara Resort & Spa
Address: 178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#17 Family Hotel in Bophut
#19 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bandara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandara Hotel Bophut
Bandara Resort And Spa
Bandara Resort Koh Samui
Bandara Hotel Koh Samui
Bandara Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing