We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault this in any way, excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bandara Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Can't fault this in any way, excellent”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have travelled widely and can honestly say this is one of the best places for a beach holiday ever. The grounds are lush and border directly onto the beach, the food is great, service wonderful, staff unfailingly pleasant. The only thing I would say is go for the upgrade as the standard (superior) rooms front onto a very busy road....we took the upgrade at a bargain price and glad we did, very spacious, twin queen beds and terrace overlooking the garden, great. Oh and it happened to be our birthdays during stay so bed decorated specially and birthday cake provided with candles!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larissabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art C, Operations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

It's a pleasure to hear such a kind feedback. Thank you very much for the pleasant review. Thank you for letting us be a part of your wonderful memories in Thailand.

We hope to welcome you and your partner back to our lovely resort again for the next Birthday!

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    543
    156
    34
    14
See reviews for
329
914
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at Bandara Resort and Spa for our honeymoon in March, we had such a fantastic time. When we arrived to our room our bed was covered in petals, our towels were made into birds, we had a delicious honeymoon cake on the table with fresh fruit waiting for us. The staff are so friendly, the food is great and happy hour is pretty good to! Oh and breakfast is amazing and so so much variety. I am now convincing our family and friends to come back with us next time because there defiantly will be a next time. Highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Genevieve07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art C, Operations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family & friends back at the resort! We are happy to hear that the Honeymoon setup pleased you. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of the wonderful memories in Thailand.

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed in the Bandara Resort and Spa in February on our first visit to Thailand. We found the hotel very clean and the staff incredibly friendly. The breakfast choice was superb there was something to suite everyone’s taste in a nice dining room overlooking the gardens. The hotel has 3 pools and a small children’s pool, the main pool is beautiful quite large with large elephant water features. The short walk to the beach is through a quiet garden which is very well maintained. Bophut beach is located in a bay and is very clean with golden sands no seaweed or stones and the sea is lovely and warm. There a few friendly beach sellers but they do not bother you as they are not allowed to approach your sun loungers unless you call them over, there is also a security guard on the beach at all times. The hotels location is very close to Fisherman’s village where there is a large selection of restaurants and a few bars, most restaurants over- look the beach or you can sit on the beach to dine, on Friday nights there is a Street Market from 5-10pm with a large selection of items all very cheap.. Fisherman’s Village is about a 5 minute walk on the beach or a 10 minute walk along the road from the Bandara.
The Bandara is located on a very busy road but if you need to cross the road to the shops opposite there are very friendly security guards who stop the traffic to let you cross. The superior rooms at this hotel are the closet rooms to this road. We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms overlooking the gardens and could not hear any traffic noise at all. The area around the Bandara and Fisherman’s Village is quite with no loud music etc. at any time.
We can thoroughly recommend the Bandara Hotel and would certainly stay there again if in the Bophut area

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms are further from the Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmjfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there two weeks and were not disappointed. The room was spacious and a bathroom with one bathtub and one shower. The only downside we found was our room (129) was pretty close to the road. I would guess 90% of the property is not close to the road so we was a bit unlucky. But the pools, beachbar, staff and breakfast was all great. We where even late (came to the breakfast 10:30 when they close) and the manager emedietly asked if we wanted anything at all, so they even made us omelettes then. I would give the hotel 4 stars but all service and staff gets 5 stars without hesitation.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Nice resort with beautiful main swimming pool, hotel grounds are large and well maintained. The room was great, good size, very nicely furnished, nice bathroom and large balcony.
Breakfast buffet was ok.
Resort is right on the beach, the sand is coarse so its very hard to walk, there's no high/low tide so its possible to swim all day long however the water is not clear, its murky. Visited Chaweng and the sea there was amazing crystal clear and beautiful colour, much better then Bo phut. As well if you drive up north the sea there is so much nicer and if you continue to the other side of the island its complete paradise with deserted beaches and corals and fish.
Lot of people rent jet-skies in front of the resort so its not completely quiet. You can rent kayaks for free from the hotel.
Do not eat in the beach restaurant, the food there is miserable, thai chicken with cashewnuts came soaked in orange coloured oil and there was not a sigle cashewnut in it, when questioned the waiter the answer was "ah maybe they forgot", chicken satay was the worst ever, they sell tastier ones on the beach (and three times cheaper).
Some of the staff were weird, the waitress in the dinner buffet appeared as if it was bothering her to work there.
You can get fruits and some food like salads and satay right on the beach prepared by local vendors, its cheap and tasty, we were eating in every day (and got no stomach problems whatsoever). As well we found a great local restaurant if you drive up maybe 5 min from the hotel, huge variety of thai dishes including dumplings, fruit shakes and ice creams and very very cheap.
Fishermans village is a short walk from the resort but its boring after one or two visits, if you want bars,loud music and big crowd go to chanweg and places like Ark bar. Its about 7km away but taxi will charge you 400bhts one way so better rent a bike for 200 bht a day.
One disturbing thing was that the hotel right next to Bandara has a big electricity generator and one day it was fully operating and the noise was unbearable, just like the noise of A/C engine and we could hear it in our room at night and the following morning, its located close to the breakfast area so the breakfast that day was suffering with all that noise, definitely not peaceful.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pipa_KE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

A very clean, quiet resort on a fantastic stretch of Koh Sumui, rooms were large with all facilities although we heard some of the upper floors had trouble with hot water. We had a ground floor which opened out to the garden areas that were beautifully maintained. Service and staff were fantastic, extremely polite and helpful, with all speaking very good English. Breakfast was superb and the Monday night cocktail/BBQ banquet the best beach dinning spread I have seen. Bophut area is not as busy as Chewang or Lamai which was perfect for our family but still had some very nice dinning, shopping and Friday night street markets in Fishermans village only a short walk away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jez-n-Aims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

we just arrived home from a 10 night magnificent holiday at bandara , they gave us 5 star service at a 4 star price , they really should be 5 star hotel .we would like to thank all the staff from the reception right through to the bar staff and house cleaning everybody was so friendly and charming nothing was too much trouble for them to make sure you had a wonderful time.the breakfast buffet was superb with a great variety of selections ,chom dio restaurant was superb food ,great choices and great value. the room we stayed in was a pool suite which was fantastic well maintained and always clean and fresh.the resort pools where fantastic as well being well maintained and clean , pool bar was great value and the staff were prompted and well trained.
the cocktail party was fabulous , followed by a beachside all you can eat b.b.q which was awesome.the reception staff was very efficient and friendly with check in and check out and the welcome drink and cool towels where very welcome after a long flight.
I cant say enough about this wonderful hotel from the happy hours for drinks everynight to the small snacks they prepared for you in the turndown service everynight. I would love to thanks all the staff by names but it would be too many to mention thanks too all of them. also would like to thank the hotel for the 30th wedding anniversary flowers , cake and champagne we were greeted with when we arrived that little touch started a fantastic holiday. do your self a favor and book a stay at bandara you wont be disappointed .we will be booking them again when we come back to Thailand. the resort is nice and close walking distance to fishermans village for great shopping and restaurants . I would also love to thank the awesome traffic staff out the front of the resort who help you cross the very busy road out front they do a great job.
all in all thank you bandara for a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: pick a pool suite they are very private and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
3.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
3.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#4 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandara Resort & Spa

Property: Bandara Resort & Spa
Address: 178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#17 Family Hotel in Bophut
#20 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bandara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandara Hotel Bophut
Bandara Resort And Spa
Bandara Resort Koh Samui
Bandara Hotel Koh Samui
Bandara Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing