We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bandara Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2008

I have just returned from a trip to the Bandara Resort, staying for just three nights split between two visits at the start and end of my holiday.

The hotel is beautiful and the staff are very professional and helpful in all that they do. I stayed in a third floor deluxe room the first time i stayed, which was very spacious and had a great view of the pool. I was upgraded by the hotel on my return to a fantastic Villa with its own pool.

I dined at the Chom Dao restaurant during my stay which was very good. Prices are in line with the hotel rates and so do look comparably expensive compared with other restaurant’s located outside the large resorts.

Overall a great hotel, situated on Bophut beach, away from the noise of Chaweng and yet within easy travelling distance - only 10mins by cab.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HewiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,377 - 1,383 of 1,811 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Bandara in mid June for 5 nights. From the moment we arrived we felt extremely welcome. Our room was exactly as we requested - on the top floor of the Sunrise wing overlooking the pool. As we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, our bed was decorated and the bath filled with rose petals. We also received a bottle of champagne and a cake.
Our room was spacious and the balcony was large with a daybed and overhead fan, perfect for sitting sipping champagne while listening to Madeline Peyroux on the excellent sound system. Loved the little extras like the peanut toffees next to the bed on our return at night and the beach basket which was SO handy. The rooms are very solid and we heard no noise from surrounding guests.
Met some lovely people at the Managers Cocktail Party including Steven (the Manager) who is a wonderful guy. It's easy to see why the staff seem so happy, relaxed and friendly when they have such a great boss!
The grounds are well established and beautifully maintained. We loved the choice of pools. We used the 47metre one for laps each morning and the two beach pools during the day. Tried swimming in the sea but was completely turned off by the slimy muddy feel on the bottom.
The hotel is ideally situated in the middle of Bophut beach. A ten minute walk either to Fishermans Village or to the Zazen Hotel. Mind you, it is not an easy walk as the sand is like fresh, deep snow. Your feet sink in and it really is a great workout for your calves! There is also no need for a foot scrub from one of the massage huts as the sand is so coarse your feet become very smooth and soft!
I celebrated my 50th Birthday while there and was surprised at the pool by a procession of staff singing Happy Birthday and carrying another bottle of champagne and an even bigger cake! I felt very spoilt! Sharing the cake around was a nice way of meeting other guests afterwards.
Breakfasts were fantastic. A great selection of cereals, pastries, fruit, waffles, pancakes, eggs cooked for you, noodles rice etc etc . We didn't eat at the hotel restaurants as there are so many to choose from in Bophut. Had the most amazing and romantic dinner at the Zazen. The food was divine and quite reasonably priced.
Had a look at both Anantara and Bophut Hotels and were so happy with our choice as they both lacked the beautiful grounds, space and pool choice and felt a bit claustrophobic.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Bandara to couples, honeymooners or families. It was a beautiful beginning to our Koh Samui holiday and it was definitely a hard act to follow when we moved around to Chaweng Noi.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vilagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

we stayed at this hotel for 8 days, choosing it on the strength of other reviews on trip advisor. we celebrated out wedding anniversary whilst we there, they decorated the room for us on arrival, and ran a bath which was sprinkled with flower petals. later they brought us a compimentary bottle of chilled sparkling wine and gave us a complimentary meal in the restaurant-what a superb start to the holiday! the gardens are beatiful and our room had fresh flowers every day and in the bathroom-it's the little touches that mean so much. the buffet breakfast was great, we ate so much that we rarely needed anything else until our evening meal! we ate in the hotel a couple of times and found the food only slightly more expensive than along at the fishermans village but it was worth it for the service and the quality. we loved the hotel my only moan was beyond the hotels' control and that was the beach-the sand is VERY coarse and because of that,very difficult to walk on firstly because it hurts your feet but also because you sink into it as you walk making it very hard going. we did visit chaweng beach which was busier but it has lovely white, fine sand. if you are quite happy around the pool then this hotel cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank warmwaterdiver123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

I arrived home from Koh Samui about a week ago.
When we first arrived at Bandara we were welcomed with a cold drink and towel. It was very refreshing. My b/f and I shared a standard room on the 3rd floor over looking the pool. It was great, air conditioned, clean and comfy and it had a great balcony. The only bad thing was when leaving our room and heading down the stairs there is a terrible smell. Next door there is a wet garbage room. It was a dry reachable stench but least the smell didn't come into our room.
My b/fs parents had a villa with their own private plunge pool. They wernt to impressed with their room and thought that is wasn't worth the extra $300. We had a maid come around to our room every day and give us clean beach towels, they didn't.
They also had a big square metal grate in the ground in the back of their garden near their plunge pool, we thought it may a pump or something underneath. It made the garden look really ugly and i tripped over it a couple of times.
There was also a little swamp/river out side of their room, which meant there was a heap of mozzies.

The service in the hotel was pretty slow . The pool bar near the main swimming pool never had any one there. After waiting about 15 mins for someone to come to the pool bar I called reception. They advised someone would come down. We waited another 15 mins, still no one. I had to walk into the restaurant and get someone there to take our order then it took a further 20 mins to get our drinks. The hotel restaurant on the beach also had really slow service and pretty expensive food.

Room service wasn't too good either. I was in the lobby and asked for an adapter to be sent to my room, they said no worries. I waited 2 hours, still nothing so i called reception and had to ask them again!

A couple of mornings i saw dishes left out on the footpath around the resort from when people ordered room service the night before. it sat there half a day attracting the ants.

The gardens and pools were very nice, at night time there are frogs everywhere. The spa was pretty expensive but it was top service.

Overall we had a nice holiday but Koh Samui isn't as good as what Phuket was in the last 2 years i have been there.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank robboyobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Stayed here on a family holiday at Easter for a week. We had a villa whilst my two daughters shared a twin room on the ground floor in front of the main pool. Both rooms were great - spacious, very clean. We chose the location and hotel for its ability to cater both for teenagers and a romantic couple wanting some sun and tranquility. It met all our requirements with room to spare! We simply had the best holiday ever! The hotel has a lovely grounds, superb pools, plenty of sun loungers, a great spa, DVDs in rooms and internet access (for those downtime moments and obligatory facebook renderings), free watersports (windsurfing off the beach for an hour every morning), a dive school, hotel speedboats etc etc. The hotel staff are excellent - very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast and lunch in the hotel and ate out in the village every evening. In short, this is a excellent hotel at this price point - not in the luxury category but first class for most things.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank William18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

We just returned from a 4 day stay at Bandara.
The grounds were beautifully manicured, the pools excellent including inifinite pools along with waterfalls, fountains. Sun chairs available. The staff overall very good. The breakfast pretty good.
The beach was quiet, rough brown sand.
Great location with short walk to Fisherman's Village for excellent restaurants. 1 visit to Chaweng was plenty given it's noisy and crowded.
Used the dive shop and found them to be good, not cheap and be aware diving is a good 1 hr to 1 1/2 hrs away at Koh Tao.
Did not like the room, smelled and had mold on the shower curtain.
The spa was nice but overpriced, found great massages on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank zanColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

We stayed at the Bandara for 8 nights during May/June.

Arrival:
We were impressed straight away when on arrival we were seated by the friendly staff for a refreshing welcome drink and a treat, whilst they got our paperwork in order. We were then escorted to our room and given a quick tour and explanation of the room and the resorts facilities.

The Resort:
The building itself, the restaurants, pools, and the rooms are all modern, clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. The resort grounds and gardens are also immaculate.
The spa looked lovely, however we could not justify getting a massage or spa treatment from it, when you could get the same thing in Bophut village or Chaweng for a third of the price. You can find cheaper food at the restaurants outside the resort also. In saying this, it is to be expected that the prices of things are slightly more expensive at such a nice resort.

Rooms:
The rooms are clean and spacious, and the large balconies were lovely. The only thing we found annoying was that there was no clock in the room. However this is very minimal complaint.

Staff:
The staff were all FANTASTIC. I cannot speak highly enough of them. Always polite, friendly, attentive and willing to go out of their way to help you, even when not asked.

Location:
The resorts location is out of the busy main tourist areas, but close enough to walk to the restaurants and bars in the Fisherman's Village. Also, a cab can easily be taken into Chaweng for shopping and partying.
There is a 7-Eleven directly across the street which is super handy for extra water, toiletries and groceries, etc.

Overall, this resort deserves a 5 out of 5 and two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank K1-n-K2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 185 in Bophut
1,670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.2 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 185 in Bophut
2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#33 of 185 in Bophut
1,635 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Samui Resort
Mantra Samui Resort
#15 of 185 in Bophut
1,831 reviews
3.7 mi away
Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandara Resort & Spa

Address: 178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#14 Family Hotel in Bophut
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#18 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $126 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bandara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandara Hotel Bophut
Bandara Resort And Spa
Bandara Resort Koh Samui
Bandara Hotel Koh Samui
Bandara Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing