We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and so friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bandara Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very clean and so friendly”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We found Bandara on Trip Advisor and can say the resort lived up to all expectations. The hotel was very clean; the staff were always very charming and responsive; the breakfast was one of the best we have ever had; the beach was very clean, which is more than can be said of other resorts on the island; the sun loungers were very comfortable (at least twice the thickness of other hotels). Small complaint is that the lighting in the room was quite dim. Fishermans Village is nice with many restaurants so you can choose to fine dine (Nivarna and The Shack) or eat cheaply (Starfish). This was our first visit to Thailand and we found many places like a shanty town with bad paving, etc, although Bophut/Fisherman's Village was better than other resorts. Visited Chaweng which had a litter strewn beach and hundreds of bars playing loud music for the beer swilling young tourists. Overall the Bandara was excellent and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side of the hotel get the afternoon sun. Probably best to avoid rooms at the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    559
    161
    34
    14
See reviews for
343
948
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We have just completed a two week stay at this brilliant resort. We started in a deluxe room, but changed after a few nights to the new style villas with your own plunge pool. The deluxe rooms are great, but the villas are just fantastic . You have a massive room and a huge bathroom, with a double bath and separate shower wet room. In your private outdoor area you have a terrace with massive orange bean bags to relax on, a very decent sized plunge pool and three waterfall features (noisy at night). We negotiated a really good rate for the upgrade, so would advise you to do that locally.

The real plus to this resort is the amazing staff (there sadly is one notable exception). You are always greeted with a smile and a greeting. Nothing is too much trouble. The staff in the restaurant get to know you,and seem genuinely pleased to see you. Our room was kept immaculate, and everyday there was a scented oil burner in your bathroom wafting lemongrass fragrance. A small but great touch.

The resort is brilliantly located on the beach. The public areas and pools are attractive. Despite having a lot of rooms,it never feels crowded.

The only downside to our whole holiday here was one member of staff called Bell,who works on the pool bar. His name is half right, but its missing the other half of his name "end". He made being by the pool unpleasant. He is rude if he cannot understand you,mutters under his breath and is a total contrast to every other member of staff. My partner wanted a cup of tea on our second day here. He did not comprehend tea, and got nasty. For the rest of the two weeks we both got ignored and smirked and sneared at. This idioit should not work in this hotel. It really was such a shame. Without doubt we would have come back here in a flash if it was not for him. You don't spend thousands of £ to be treated like it.

Room Tip: We loved being in 745
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benapollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We are currently staying here in a villa room, very spacious, clean and a very relaxing way to spend our holidays. The staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is amazing great selection considering they have to cater for various nationalities.

We have enjoyed sitting at the pool bar of an evening a getting to know some of the guests from around the world.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend a pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brasso2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May K, Front Office Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear valued guests,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara and taking the time to write a review,

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

No Complaints - perfect place for a holiday with the lil ones.
3 Pools - Beach Access - Bar by the sea side.
Events once a week - Super Sea Food Buffet
great breakfast.
The word perfect should have summed it all up.
All they would need to add in , is a bit more Thai Hospitality.
Which is so much in abundance everywhere else.

Room Tip: Avoid First Floor Rooms - unless ur a fan of climbing up and down all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardeep-ksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art C, Operations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

We are happy that you and the little ones had a great time at our resort. With regards to Thai Hospitality, we will definitely make sure that everyone is keeping the high standard you expect.

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently for 7 nights. When we arrived we choose to upgrade to a pool villa for a small amount. Room was large with separate plunge pool, outdoor cabana, outdoor shower and bath tub. Glad we choose this option as it gave us a lot of privacy. Rooms are a bit dated but had everything you needed and were clean. House keeping were very good making sure the room was serviced in a timely manner.
Pools are good. Mostly used the beach pool, plenty of sun lounge chairs to be had.
Staff are friendly always stopping to say hello.
Service, is a bit hit and miss. Staff at beach bar and lobby bar were sometimes really slow to serve you. Reception staff sometimes couldn't understand a lot of English.
Adequate breakfast selection with Staff that were very quick to clean away dirty plates.
Food at beach bar and room service was good and served hot.
Short walk to Fisherman village via the beach.
Probably would not stay here again

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank keentraveller79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art C, Operations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

It's good to hear that you enjoyed your time in Koh Samui. We apologize for the slow service at the bar area and the misunderstanding our staff may have given you. We will surely improve on those matters. Thank you for taking the time to give us constructive criticism. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at Bandara for 8 nights over Christmas and New Year, as a group of four couples. On the whole, I'd say it was a rather average hotel, and a little tired in places.

On arrival we were not at all happy with our rooms, which were booked through Kuoni as 'superior' ones - but in fact these are the most basic the hotel has, and not only backed on to the noisy ring road, but had balconies overlooking the reception and bar area. The staff were great about letting us upgrade (at a reasonable cost) to private pool villas, but had the resort been fully booked we would not have had this option, and would have been very unhappy with our accommodation. Once relocated, things were better, and although rooms still showed some sign of their age (gaps in window seals, etc), this was offset by the private garden and plunge pool for each couple. The pool and beach areas were nice, though not spectacular, and the resort as a whole caters more to families than expected, so the pools were often noisy.

The breakfast buffet was very good, with a wide range of hot and cold options every day. The beach/pool bar served average food and snacks in the day on a rather limited menu, but the offering in the restaurant was much better in terms of presentation and quality - perhaps to be expected. From Bandara it is only a 10-minute walk along the beach to the Fisherman's Village, which gives you many more options for eating, drinking and shopping.

The best thing about Bandara was the staff - everyone from housekeeping to reception and the man out the front who helped you crossed the busy road to the shops - all were incredibly friendly and very helpful. Bophut in general was a much more relaxed and less seedy location that other resort strips on the island, but we would recommend doing a lot more independent research on the resorts than your tour operator might provide!

Room Tip: 'Superior rooms' are the basic, and whilst generously proportioned, they are accessed along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcf679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art C, Operations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

We are happy to hear that the Villas you and your group upgraded to made your stay with us satisfying. Thank you for your praise with regards to our staff. We are very proud to be able to provide you and your group with Bandara Service.

We look forward to welcoming you and your group again!

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at Bandara for 2 weeks in the beginning of January and here is my detailed review

Check in: we arrived at about 10 pm and everything went smooth, we were offered a cold drink while having our voucher and passports checked and then we were escorted to the room and shown how everything works there. The bags arrived in 5 mins, however I wish my suitcase was treated better as it was missing a handle when it came to our room (and yes, the handle was still there while at the airport).

We did write the hotel in advance asking for a higher floor room and our request was met, we had a room on the third floor (or 2nd if you count it as ground, 1st, 2nd). We also asked for an airport transfer and it was arranged with a hotel car, however at a higher price than we had our return transfer from a neighboring 5* hotel.

Breakfast: big choice, most of the things you can think of. Designated egg area with lovely omelettes cooked in front of you. Yummy pastries. There were even dishes you might find more appropriate for lunch or dinner, such as dumplings, potatoes, noodles and rice. Wish there was a better choice for fruits though.

Service: everyone is very friendly and there wasn’t a single person who wouldn’t say “hello” while we walk past them anywhere on the hotel premises. However I suggest the hotel arrange English classes for the staff as at times I had no idea what they were trying to say. Also on 3 occasions we were disturbed in our room while we had the sleeping monkey sign out there. I mean what’s the point of putting it out then? First day after we arrived the maid came as early as 9.20am to clean the room.

The guys who help you to cross the road are worth a separate mention. Before we came here I was reading the reviews never realizing how in fact busy the road is, believe me it is very busy, so a little help to cross the road is very much appreciated.

Room: the room is of decent size but the furniture is quite dated. Bedsheets had holes in it. And don’t even ask about the curtain which had a scary giant yellow stain on it.

I suggest you take the top floor room if you prefer higher ceilings. Same goes for those who prefer some privacy as the ground floor rooms have people walking in front of them at all times.

The fruit in the room was a nice gesture but they tend to attract many ants. I even had quite a few of them swimming in my open bottle of water which was left on my bedstand overnight.

The bathtub in the room is nice, but quite small and have no shower head over it, so you can’t wash off whatever might be on you after taking a bath. The shower cubicle is nice too, albeit a bit small and the throne is facing it directly, so a use of both at the same time is highly unadvisable. J. Despite to what many previous reviewers written, we had no problems with towels. There was a full set of them at all times.

If you are a light sleeper (and if you’re not too) do go for the deluxe rooms instead of superior which (superior) are in the building adjacent to the busy road in front of the hotel. The difference in rate is almost non-existent and you will be so much happier without the sounds of cars and mopeds all day and night long.

Another complaint is the sockets in the room. There was one above the desk and another one in the bathroom and that’s it. In our age of gadgets this is seriously not enough.

Speaking about gadgets… the wifi signal is very weak and the connection is very slow. We had to go outside on the balcony or to the lobby to get a decent signal.

Territory: the hotel owns a giant well-kept territory (we did stay 3 last nights at Hansar with a barely there territory, so I have something to compare). Aside from a big family of cats we’ve also encountered at least 5 different species of birds, frogs (careful not to step on them at night), lizards and even a squirrel.

Pools: we just loooooved the big pool. To be honest I thought it was a mistake on the website, sizing it as 50x10 meters, but it is indeed 50 meters long. Sadly, despite many signs asking not to ‘reserve’ the sunbeds, the towel game was in full bloom. Unless you come to the pool before 10 am there was no chance of sunbeds available. Round the big pool there are not many sunbeds which lets you stay a bit away from the fellow guests hence allowing a little privacy. Buuuut… the hotel tends to attract many families with children, so the complete relaxation is non-existent as there are always someone screaming, splashing, diving bomb-style, playing ball or whatever kids are up to…

We also felt a couple of times that the pool gets a bit smelly in the part that is closer to the restaurant.

There is a pool bar and guys do go around the pool once or twice a day with the menu offering you to order drinks and food, however at times it took really long to get what you wanted and then remove the dirty glasses. Also I personally think the level of English of the pool bar staff was the worst.

Location: is very nice, close to the Fisherman’s village, which is reachable either by the beach where you basically have to only walk in the sand along the territory of the neighboring Anantara, and then there is a paved road past the territory of Hansar. Or exit to the main road, walk along it and turn left before Hansar, that way no sand will be in your way.

Spa: we’ve read many reviews saying “the spa is pricey, better use one across the road”. Personally I think in order to not have to leave the hotel territory, have far more comfort and level of service is worth paying extra. And as we planned to have some serious treatments, we’ve found the offer of paying 30000 baht and having treatments for 60000 baht very worthy. As a result we had treatments on 9 days of our 14 days stay, two of those days we had 2 treatments each. This nice offer equaling to 50% discount is highly advisable! Most of the days we were able to have the treatments we wanted at the time range we wanted. Some days it tend to be very busy. What surprised us is that it really depends on the specialist how your massage will turn out to be. We had oriental blend massages several times and each time it was different. All the girls were very good but Ao and Kung really stand out, so we tried to be booked with them as often as possible.


Gym: don't count on it, at least much. Free weights, one elliptical, one treadmill, one bicycle. Treadmill didn't work for all the time we were there.

Beach restaurant: was a bit of a let down. Comparing to the restaurants in the Fisherman’s Village it was nothing special, all the same stuff but a bit more pricey. We had lunch there a couple of times and also took advantage of the Thai night, which at 600 Baht was worth it. However I was really disappointed to spend 10 mins choosing the wine only to be told that it is not available. This kind of ruined the evening a bit. I mean, why would you have something unavailable on the menu and if it’s a temporary thing not inform the guest in advance.

We did love our cooking class which we decided to take one day. As per receptionist advise we choose two different menus and ended up having 6 different dishes to share. It was very interesting and amusing to see whats inside those famous Tom Yum, Green curry etc and try to cook them ourselves under a watchful eye of the chef. I strongly advise that you skip the breakfast on the day of the class otherwise there will be no chance for you to eat all you get for the lunch. Going to the market before the class was a nice experience too. We loved to see all the fish, seafood, veggies and spices being sold there and we also enjoyed explanations from the chef who accompanied us.

Happy hour at the hotel bar was appreciated, being 2 for 1. And as we later realized was also especially good cause you didn’t have to take two same drinks as in some other places. The choice of the cocktails is good enough, though here I came across another encounter of a cocktail being not available. Also the cocktails were a bit watery, don’t know if it was always or a certain happy hour thing. We liked the cocktails at the lobby bar more as opposed to the beach bar.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe, not superior. Or a villa if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stina1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art C, Operations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed comment. We are really happy to receive this type of comment as it deals with just about every aspect of the hotel!

We apologize for the missing handle. We will inform our Bellboys to be more careful of guests' belongings. Thank you very much for the compliment on our Breakfast. It is our pride and joy. We truly apologize for the disturbance our Housekeeping Team caused to you and your partner during your stay. We will definitely be more careful of entering a guest's room. Yes, our Security Team is doing a great job. We will let them know of your compliment. Your review with regards to our Bandara Spa is much appreciated. We believe that our treatments are second to none for the price we are offering. As for the gym, everything is fixed and ready to go. We are planning to invest in renovating the whole gym: equipments, carpets, etc. We are sorry that the restaurant was a bit of a let down. We will work hard to make it better, however we are sure that the Thai Food being served at Chomdao is as good as any restaurant in Fisherman's Village if not better.

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate the effort and we hope you will come back to visit us again and see if we have improved.

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 186 in Bophut
2,298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#18 of 186 in Bophut
972 reviews
4.2 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
4.1 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 186 in Bophut
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandara Resort & Spa

Property: Bandara Resort & Spa
Address: 178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#17 Family Hotel in Bophut
#19 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bandara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandara Hotel Bophut
Bandara Resort And Spa
Bandara Resort Koh Samui
Bandara Hotel Koh Samui
Bandara Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing