We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bandara Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Bandara was the perfect location for our stay in Samui! The hotel is beautiful and the staff are second to none. The main pool is a delight and you are well taken care of. The breakfast buffet is impressive and sets you up well for the day. I have to also give a bug thumbs up the the cheeky, happy security staff who ensured that we got the the other side of the road with all limbs in tact. Food and drink in the hotel (aside from breakfast) is a tad on the expensive side and I have to say we did find the food a little bland in comparison to what we had become used to, in saying that there was nothing wrong with the quality just not for us! All in all though a brilliant choice for was has to have been one of the best holidays I have ever encountered! Thank you!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art C, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing Bandara Resort & Spa!

We will definitely let our Security Team know that they are doing a great job. With regards to the food, we are sorry that the taste is not what you were hoping for. We tend to prepare our Thai food toward the balanced side. The great thing about Thai food is that you can always add more flavors with the various sauces and spices available. We will train our staff to pay more attention to the preferences of each guest in order to have a great dining experience.

Thank you for your constructive comment, we look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to Bandara for amazing food!

Warmest Regards,
Bandara Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 1,844 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

We loved our stay here and will go back here before we go back to Phuket. Lovely rooms with balconies but none with a view of the ocean I'm afraid. The resort is clean and landscaped beautifully and the staff are very friendly. There is a convenience store across the road but the main village, Fishermans Village, is about a 500m walk down the beach or by road. There are many shops and beautiful restaurants and a market there on Friday nights with the most delicious street food. There isn't any need to go to Chaweng for shopping, prices are cheaper in the village.

The resort has a lovely dining area and it serves one of the best breakfasts we had on our 8 week tour. There is a main pool with day beds, lounges and elephant fountains and then a kids pool with their own fountains. This path leads to the direct beach access and another pool that is 2 level with a water fall and more fountains. There is a beach bar here that serves refreshing drinks and a restaurant that serves scrumptious food - they have theme nights too so book early for them; very tasty food! We dined there a few nights. During the day you can also buy food that is prepared on beach bbq's by the locals - that's pretty tasty too. The water sports area is on the other side of the restaurant.

We had such a relaxing time here and have such fond memories of the hotel and the staff that we dream of going back. One day, hopefully one day soon.

Room Tip: Closer to the beach is further away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saggital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art C, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your stay at Bandara Resort & Spa!

We are always happy to receive such a positive review. I think you have just about summed up the whole hotel in your review. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have been to Koh Samui many times and Bophut is most definitely the place to escape the hustle and bustle with enough choice to keep most tastes satisfied. If you are after a nightclub type holiday, this place is not for you. If however you like a variation of pubs, thai local restaurants, dinner at a quiet beach then you are at the right place here.
The room we had though was in the 100 number bracket and on the fourth floor facing a busy road. If you are a light sleeper this could pose a problem. Earplugs will deal with this though. The room was comfortable and kept clean. Sadly the bathroom showed signs of neglect and had mould on grout of the tiles and the net curtain met with lots of grubby fingers. This is the worst over with and for all the good points this hotel has its negligible in the bigger scheme of things.
The grounds are vast with 3 infinity style pools, lots and lots of sun beds and shades and all kept beautifully. Some renovation was in progress when we stayed there and the hotel gave is a very generous voucher towards our food/beverage or treatment. This worried us at the beginning but as it turned out we never noticed any construction noise to the point of thinking we may have misunderstood on arrival.
If you need to use a hairdryer bring your own as the hotel one is not very powerful.
The balcony has a fan and nice seating which is great for staying out and sit and chat.
The breakfast buffet is second to none, i have never seen such a variety of different foods for different cultures than here. All fresh and hard to choose as all is so yummy.
The food and drink are very reasonably priced and very good. Happy hour is a generous 50% off drinks between 5 pm and 9pm. A great opportunity to meet other guests as also is the managers drink reception. Other guests varied in age from honeymooners to families to retired.
If you like lunch on the beach turn left and go to the Cactus. The food is great (garlic chicken or pad thai) and the beer is the most reasonable priced on the beach apart from a little local bungalow shack across the river past the Zazen (the nicest resort).
If you like massages on the beach the ladies at the Sandy Beach resort are very good, the place is clean and well kept and is also good for lunch.
Friday night is market in Bophut which is fantastic. Its only a 5 minute walk down the road turning left out of the hotel. Food is good and you can take it, buy a beer at Big Mama, listen to the band and eat.
Also turning left out of the hotel is Addy siam restaurant and cooking school, its on the opposite side of the road and the best Thai food, try the glass noodle with giant prawns or the sun dried fried beef.
Joachim's, a german eatery also serves very good food and has genuine Weissbier. The hairdresser near by called my hair will give you the best wash and straightest blow dry I have ever achieved in a humid country.
Turning left out of the front of the hotel is a place called K Siri. This is another fab place for dinner and also well priced. The food is prepared in an open kitchen, all fresh and perfect.
On a rainy day a local bus taxi set us back 100 THB each way per person to Nathong. Great place to visit for a stroll and still mainly unspoiled by us tourists.
Maeenam is also worth a visit for dinner. A local bustaxi is 50 THB per person each way. Beware prices will vary after sundown. Negotiating what you are prepared to pay is essential.
Eat at The Twins on the main road. The restaurant is very hygienic, the service fantastic and the food excellent, also You and Me deserves a mention. There is so much more everywhere but these are just our favourites that we go back to again and again
Sadly there are also some monkeys and other animals dragged onto the beach possibly sedated at the best of time to make them easy to handle for tourists to have their picture taken with. Desist and these guys hopefully stop this unsavoury habit. There are tours where you can visit animals in a better way.
Beach food is cheap and we had no heath issues. The papaya salad is freshly prepared and we also sampled the prawns, mango and spring rolls. Worth a try.
All in all I would not hesitate to recommend the Bandara to anyone and we hope to be back.
The beach vendors are friendly and will accept a no, but will check every day weather you like to buy. Great boutiques in Bophut too.........

Room Tip: Try and avoid the 4 storey building on the main road, I think the rooms are numbered in their 100s
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank charize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art C, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

Thank you for the lovely review and tips to other guests. We do apologize for the shortcomings of of our bathroom. We will ask the Housekeeping Team to be more attentive to all the little details. The 100s rooms are all our Superior rooms. As they are at the front most of the hotel, they are most vulnerable to outside traffic. If it is possible for your next trip, we would like to recommend you to stay with us in our Deluxe room, far away from the traffic noises.

Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your memory.

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were due to stay at the Bandara for 10 days but this ended up being 3 weeks due to a medical emergency. We were there in quiet season and found the resort relaxing.
We were so glad to have a villa, the bed was very comfortable and great to be able to sunbathe and cool off in privacy. The gardens of the hotel are beautiful and we enjoyed the pools and beach. We enjoyed the long happy hours at the beginning of the holiday and the fresh coconuts. Great selection at breakfast and enjoyed a number of lunches and dinners at hotel, great to sit and watch the light change about 5.30pm. If you have a sweet tooth try the sticky rice with mango dessert. The beach bar service could have been a bit faster. We could hear some construction noise at times but we knew that was a risk when we booked. Close to walk to fishermans village along the beach, the sand is a little coarse so it's a mini work out. We got quite a few mosquito bites despite sprays and plug ins but as it was going into rainy season that's to be expected. The spa is more reasonable than home and a lovely experience.
We found the Bandara team to be very kind particularly when one of us was travelling to and from the hospital every day, they provided a car for free which was of enormous help. Art in particular helped with translations, came to visit us in intensive care, sent a fruit basket and secured our room for us for an extra week. The illness was absolutely nothing to do with the hotel or Thailand. We found the Bandara team to be very helpful and can recommend the Bangkok Samui hospital if the worst should happen- check your travel insurance today- you never know when you'll need it!

Room Tip: Great to have the space and privacy of a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art C, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

We are all very glad that you and your partner have arrived safely back home. The transport and all the arrangements were the least we could do to assist. Please feel free to come and have your vacation again! We look forward to welcoming both of you back to have the "perfect vacation". We are just really really happy that everything turned out fine in the end. Thank you for the positive review, we will definitely pass your message to the rest of the hotel.

Warmest Regards from Bandara Resort & Spa,
Bandara Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Beautiful resort, spacious rooms with big balconies, great breakfast buffet and very long happy hours at the beach bar. The only thing was the front desk staff could have been better.
On the morning that I left, the front desk staff told me that the port was an hour's drive away and that they would arrange the taxi which would cost 600bht. I thought this was odd as it only took about 20mins drive to get there when I arrived and had cost me 150bht (although it was a minivan), but thought that I must be leaving from the other port for it to be that long a drive. Anyway, it took 20mins max! And was the same port I arrived at. Very strange!!?? So, my advice would be to be careful with taxi negotiations - I understand they don't have taxi meters on the island so you have to do a deal with them.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art C, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

We apologize for the misinformation that you have gotten from our Front Office Team. There are two main ferry ports in Koh Samui: Nathon and Lipa Noi. Normally we will inform that Nathon's ferry is approximately 20 - 30 minutes away while Lipa Noi is approximately 45 - 60 minutes. With regards to the price, THB 600 is our standard Taxi price from Bophut to Nathon Pier. It is quite expensive if you compared to the public transportation available from the pier. However it is the standard price of taxi on Koh Samui. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for taking the time to give us this constructive feedback. We will definitely strive to improve our communication skills. We would like to welcome you back to our Resort anytime. Please let us know when and if you will be coming to Samui!

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to Bandara in less than 12 months, this time taking my daughter to celebrate her 30th birthday. There was only one downside to our stay. On arrival we had been allocated a room with only one king bed. We certainly didn't want to share a bed, so I had to pay extra to upgrade to a room with 2 beds. I had queried with my travel agent whether we would get 2 beds and was assured by her we would, but was told on check in they didn't even have any superior rooms with 2 beds. Apart from this glitch we had a wonderful holiday, once again well looked after by all the staff. We also received 7500 baht for the inconvenience of the building works which we didn't see or hear. Couldn't put it towards our room upgrade though. Loved the 4 hour happy hour, new favourite cocktail is a mai tai. Yum. The pools were a little bit murky but didn't stop us from swimming everyday. Loved the little extra touches like a bowl of bananas left in the room one day, and long kong another. We also had a massage at the spa which was lovely. The food was excellent again, we only ate elsewhere a couple of times. Wouldn't hesitate to come back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank jubyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art C, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

We apologize for the mix up with regards to bedding configuration. We sadly do not have any Twin Bed Setup in our Superior room. With regards to the pool, it is now fixed and clear. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back too Bandara Resort & Spa. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your memory.

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Me and my family recently stayed at the Bandara resort (2 kids aged 3 and 7 months). We stayed in a villa and were really able to relax. The pools were excellent (a little murky of the first couple of days but were fixed and crystal clean after a couple of days) . Really enjoyed the large offering at breakfast and staff were excellent. They were all very friendly to not only us but our children. We were always greeted with a smile. A special mention to the guys out the front who were always wiling to help us cross the road and would wait for us to get what we needed and then help us back. The food at both the restaurant and room service were good quality and tasty. Traveling with 2 young children we really enjoyed the Bali type huts around the main pool, they were perfect for our family to stay for the day whilst swimming and enjoying some food and drinks. Having been to Samui 3 times in the past and staying at Chaweng we decided on a change. This was the perfect place close walk to the fishermans village with strollers. I would recommend this hotel to both families and couples. Any questions let me know.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a pool villa definately worth it. Loved having a bath outside and watching the geckos on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunbagsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art C, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

It is always nice to hear that our guests had a nice time at our resort. We will definitely let our staff know that they are doing an excellent job. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your memory.

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 184 in Bophut
2,455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 184 in Bophut
1,687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#32 of 184 in Bophut
1,664 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Samui Resort
Mantra Samui Resort
#15 of 184 in Bophut
1,853 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 184 in Bophut
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandara Resort & Spa

Address: 178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#14 Family Hotel in Bophut
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#17 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $124 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bandara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandara Hotel Bophut
Bandara Resort And Spa
Bandara Resort Koh Samui
Bandara Hotel Koh Samui
Bandara Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing