We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as always, You cant go wrong!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bandara Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have stayed in Samui for the last 20+ years and have stayed in most of the top 10 hotels in Bo Phut.

It was my fifth stay in the Bandara. the reason we keep going back to this hotel are:
I have stayed in most of the top 10 hotel (trip Advisor) in Bo Phut.
some of the top ones might look better on first impression but are located far from the center of Bo phut and the Fisherman Village(which is the main area for Restaurants, Bars, shopping and the famous Friday market).
be careful when you choose an hotel far from the center unless you are planning to spend alot of time in the hotel or spend alot of money on cabs.

There are 5 hotels in Bo Phut (out of the top 10 hotel) that are within 5-10 minutes walk from the fisherman Village and that are also located right on the beach with a private beach.
4 out of the 5 are very good.

all of them are right one next to each other.
Bandara has the best private beach setting unlike the others.
There is no roads (small or big between the hotel and the beach.
Bandara has a beach Bar /Restaurant on the water
Bandara has 2 (out of the 4 pools they have) pools right on the water.
the surrounding is much nicer, because they left the trees and the surrounding natural.(which is not the case for the other top 2 hotels!)
Bandara has the best service and staff
Bandara is always the best value for money out of all the hotels.
If you look carefully you will always find a discount of up to 50% online for the Bandara all year around. i have never paid full price.
the other hotels might look more impressive on first look but don't be fool. Once you will see the grounds of Bandara you will love it.
It is nearly half price from the other hotels next door but just as good.
Tips:
Choose dlx rooms or Villa with a pool. they much more nicer than the basic rooms.
I travel with my wife a 4yo and an Infant. Some website will tell you that you cant have a fam of 4 in a room. i book direct from the Hotel. That is where they are GREAT! they will work out something to accomadte you. they always did for me.
You can now pay the hotel in your local currency which saves the international credit cards fees!!!!

During our stay on the last week of Aug and first week of Sep we were 4 adults and 2 children in 2 DLX rooms.
One of our rooms had a problem one morning around 9 am with the plumbing. i reported to the reception and by 10 am a person checked the issue explained that some work will need to be done and the staff has moved us to a private villa with a pool asap. in fact they also moved to a private Villa our family from in the second room (although the 2nd room was all good).
We have been told that the move is until the end of our stay! you cannot ask for better that that.
I noticed that they worked on the old room started ASAP and by the end of the day it was all done.

The construction at the back end of the resort is still going but unless you get out of the resort and go to the back of it you will never know and you cant hear any work in all areas of the resort.
I have recommended the hotel to few friends and families and all of them were very happy.

If you looking for
Location
Staff that will resolve any issues you have
One of the best breakfast in Samui
Great setting and facilities (4 pools 2 right on the beach)
Privacy
and the best value for money
Bandara will tick all the boxes above.

Special thanks to Nui the guest manager for all her help :-)
we will be back there again next year.

Room Tip: Choose DLX room right on the pool or the Villa with a private lap pool and an amazing outdoor shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tuedomoon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Writer,

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive and helpful comment after your fifth stay in Bandara Resort and Spa Samui.

I am happy that you enjoy our 4 pools,tended gardens as well our location nearby fishers man village and etc.
We try to pay a lot of attention in keeping the resort in a very relaxing and calm atmosphere I am very happy that you enjoy this fact!

I will pass on your positive feedback to all departments and I am sure everyone will highly appreciate your comments and improve their skills.

We do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and thank you again for choosing Bandara Resort and Spa Koh Samui for your holiday in Thailand.
Always welcome to your second home!

Best Regards,
Cristina & Bandara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 908 of 1,813 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Staying at Bandara for our honeymoon for 8 nights was perfect. From the moment we arrived, we were warmly greeted by the staff and our room was quickly prepared, even though we arrived hours before check-in. It seemed nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. The gardens and pools are beautiful. We stayed in both a deluxe room and the villa room. Both were clean and spacious with great air-conditioning and the cleaners added little touches such as rose petals on the bed and left bags of thai sweets. A highlight was the seafood buffet BBQ and free cocktail hour on Monday nights. We were entertained during dinner on the beach by resident duo Val and Candi who were talented singers and guitarists. Bandara's location is ideal for couples and families wanting a bit of quiet yet a short walk to the fisherman's village where there are many restaurants and bars to choose from. The buffet breakfast each morning was also fantastic. We'll be back to Bandara for our wedding anniversary!

Room Tip: Pool villa rooms are great but deluxe is good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnholsfromMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear OnholsfromMelb,

Sawadee Kha!
Thank you to share your beautiful experience regarding your staying at Bandara for your honeymoon for 8 nights. This type of thoughtful feedback is extremely helpful and important to us in delivering the highest levels of quality and service to our valuable customers.

Thank you one more time and we hope to see you again at your wedding anniversary!

Sincerely Yours,
Cristina and Bandara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in Bandara for about a week. Room was a good size with a huge balcony - it was nice to sit out there especially in the evening. Both a tub and a shower in the room, although we wish the shower was a little more updated/modern (in general, if we had to choose, we would prefer only a really nice shower and no tub at all). Two bottles of drinking water each time the room was serviced which was appreciated. There was an issue with our bedding when we first arrived in the room, but a quick call to the reception and it was resolved in a timely manner. (Service during our stay was great!).

The pools areas were very nice - huge pool in the main area of the hotel grounds, just behind the large sitting area for the breakfast buffet. Also a nice pool area just behind the beach. It was a nice walk from our room to the beach as we walked through the landscaped grounds to get there.

The breakfast buffet had a lot to choose from: breads, meats, cheeses, an egg station, a noodle soup station, pancake maker, small selection of dim sum, and other hot items (baked beans, fried rice, etc.).

The hotel is really close to Fisherman's Village which was great, especially during the Friday night market. One thing to note is that the sand here at this part of the island is a bit rockier than Chaweng.

We did run into a few issues. One: the food at the restaurant is hit and miss, and because of the rain one night it was packed and service was slow. Two: Not that big of a deal, but one morning we had to wait an hour to get towels for our beach chairs, even though we were told they would be ready in ten minutes. Three: The wifi was not the greatest, although it may have just been our room location. (We noticed the wifi worked really well in the lounge area near the reception though). The wifi passwords only work for 24 hours, so if we wanted to access the Internet again, we needed to return to reception to get a new password. Maybe that just encouraged us to head to the beach for longer. ;)

Overall, good value on this side of the island.

Room Tip: Large balconies on second and third floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lm2329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Sawasdee Ka!
Warm greetings from Koh Samui and thank you for having chosen Bandara Resort & Spa, Koh Samui as your accommodation of choice for your recent stay in Thailand.

It was such a pleasure to hear that you felt incredibly comfortable and rejuvenated during your visit and you have had such a wonderful time in Thailand. Bandara is committed and strive to create memorable journeys and holiday experiences for all of our guests, it is been a pleasure for us to hear that our guests are being well taken care of with the aspect of service excellence we have delivered to you.

We deeply appreciate and delighted to see your positive review of our resort and we would like to thank you once again for sharing your very wonderful experiences on Tripadvisor. We are looking forward and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at Bandara Resort & Spa, Koh Samui.

Sawasdee Kha and Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager and Bandara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We recently stayed at Bandara Resort & Spa. We found the room to be comfortable, clean and the air conditioning was fantastic. The service was great and the pool and beach surrounds were fantastic. Pool and gardens were extremely well maintained and the gardens are just gorgeous. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the traffic controller at the front gate who greeted you with a smile and helped you cross the street. The food from breakfast through to dinner was exceptional. The free cocktail party in the garden on Monday night was a lovely idea and staff mingled and talked to guests. The dinner on the beach was a monster buffet with beautiful food and a beautiful setting. The compensation for the work going on in the resort was fantastic and really, we hardly heard a thing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MurrayRiverHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Writer,

I was very pleased to read that your overall impression of the hotel was satisfactory and that you enjoyed your stay in Bandara Resort specially that you enjoy the most our monster BBQ Buffet in Monday with a free Cocktail Party on the beach . :)

Thank you for taking the time and share with us your impressions.
I will pass on your positive feedback to all departments and I am sure everyone will highly appreciate your comments and improve their skills.

We hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back in near future and thank you again for choosing Bandara Resort and Spa Koh Samui for your holiday in Thailand

Best Regards,

Cristina & Bandara Team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Bandara for our honeymoon for nearly 2 weeks , the hotel is even better than we could have expected . Everything about the hotel was top class , the service and maids were what u would get in a 5 star hotel ! We were compensated for work that was supposed to be going on but never heard a thing ! If we ever go back to Thailand we would definitely go back to the Bandara .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank B18sav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear B18sav,

It is always a thrill to get fan mail, particularly when it is as positive as your experience was.

We strive every day to ensure our guests have a wonderful meal and a marvelous time at our restaurant and it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us. It really means a lot to me and to everyone on our staff.

While compliments are always appreciated, we also hope that you would tell us if we ever disappoint you. If you have a chance, please ask for myself or the manager on duty the next time you visit us so that we may thank you personally.

Thank you again for your kind comments and patronage. We look forward to serving you again soon, namely at your 1 year anniversary!!

Best Wishes,
Cristina and Bandara Team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great hotel and resort complex. Rooms a bit dated but very comfortable with great air conditioning. Pool areas fantastic, particularly the beach infinity pools. Great selection for breakfast in the main restaurant and fabulous food all day at the main beach restaurant. Only complaint would be the painfully slow service at the beach bar, although probably just down to the laid back Thai feel. Overall, great hotel, great location and great staff. Well recommended and we will probably return for longer next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevefindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear stevefindlay,
Sawadee Kha,

Firs of all i would like to apologize for the service at Chom Dao not meeting your expectations. Pleas receive my apology for that. Thank you for your kind feedback, glad to know that in generally you had a great holiday here on Koh Samui and that you liked our Resort.

We do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and thank you again for choosing Bandara Resort and Spa Koh Samui for your holiday in Thailand.

Best Regards
Cristina & Bandara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at Bandarra Resort in August 2013, this is not a five star resort, however, from a value for money standpoint, it's hard to argue with it....firstly the room was clean and on the ground floor, easy access to the pool and the restaurant...I will say the reception staff were not as friendly as I'd hoped, however the rest of staff more than made up for it. The pool was fabulous, I should say pools... as there were 4 of them. Happy hour at the beach lasted for 3 hours, and a great memory is buying a couple of beers and standing in the very warm water of the beach and watching the passing parade each night. Breakfast was great, a huge selection of food, the restarant at the beach was also good. We really enjoyed this place and will go back...special shout out to the guys who act as guards and traffic controllers out the front, they never failed to smile and were patient with us farangs, it's not the world's best job, but they do it with style!!

Room Tip: take a walk through the fishermans village on friday night, they block it off and everyone goes ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KennyBOYSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear KennyBOYSydney,

Thank you for your review post and letting us know about your experience at our front desc (reception). We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and did not live up to our own high standards.

We would like you to know that we value your comments and will take whatever steps are necessary to ensure that incidences such as this do not happen again in the future.In the Front Desk our reputation and success is built in Asian Hospitality and smile, your continued patronage is very important to us.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely Yours,
Cristina and Bandara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 185 in Bophut
1,670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.2 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 185 in Bophut
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#34 of 185 in Bophut
1,640 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Samui Resort
Mantra Samui Resort
#14 of 185 in Bophut
1,833 reviews
3.7 mi away
Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandara Resort & Spa

Address: 178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#14 Family Hotel in Bophut
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#18 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $123 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bandara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandara Hotel Bophut
Bandara Resort And Spa
Bandara Resort Koh Samui
Bandara Hotel Koh Samui
Bandara Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing