We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bandara excells again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bandara Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is my 3rd visit to Bandara Resort and Spa.
When the reception people met me and realized I was returning for the 3rd time they greeted me with "Welcome home" - which was a nice touch and it was exactly how it felt.
The Resort is actually going through some renovations - although you would never know - however they provided compensation to the value of 7,500 Baht (A$250) per room which could be used up for any Resort expenses (food, drink or massage). The renovations did not affect the stay at all - being out of sight and I only very rarely heard a nail gun being used - so it was a very good PR exercise by the Resort.
The Resort had a very good buffet and market beach night on Thursday night for only 650 Baht (A$32 approx) - the food was very authentic - cooked on the spot at each stall - ranging from entree to main to sweets - almost Thai Tapas style - well worth it!
I love this resort being only a stones throw basically from the Bohput Fisherman's Village shopping, restaurant and bar precinct - which has it's own (now expanded) outdoor market on Friday evenings.
I will definitely return to this resort ("home") next time!

Room Tip: Pool side rooms on the ground floor are best, but if you don't mind walking up stairs the room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredster57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Koh Samui and thank you for having chosen Bandara Resort & Spa, Koh Samui as the preferred accommodation of choice for your recent stay in Thailand.

It's been a pleasure for us to welcome our returned guests back to the resort once again. It was such a pleasure to hear that you felt comfortable during your visit and you have had a wonderful time. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed beautiful settings and the concept of our Thai Theme Night. Bandara is committed and strive to create memorable journeys and holiday experiences for all of our guests, it is been a pleasure for us to hear that our guests are being well taken care of with the aspect of service excellence we have delivered to you.

We deeply appreciate your positive review of our resort and we would like to thank you once again for sharing your very wonderful experiences on Tripadvisor We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at Bandara Resoert & Spa, Koh Samui.

Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager and Bandara Team

Pure Bandara Pure Asian - At your service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

928 - 934 of 1,787 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently spent five days in a villa here. Was lovely and clean the staff were great, when we booked in they advised that they were doing renovations and gave us a 5000 baht tab to compensate. We were a bit concerned as this was a total relaxation holiday, but we needn't have worried we heard nothing and we got to eat and drink for free. The grounds were well kept would recommend to anyone looking at koh samui.

Room Tip: If you can go for the villas was not at all overpriced was great to have your own pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, General Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Sawasdee Ka!
Warm greetings from Koh Samui and thank you for having chosen Bandara Resort & Spa, Koh Samui as the preferred accommodation of choice for your recent stay in Thailand.

It was such a pleasure to hear that you felt comfortable during your visit and you have had a wonderful time. Especially that, having enjoyed the Voucher we have offered to you as a complimentary to complement your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service of our restaurant and the Villa.

Bandara is committed and strive to create memorable journeys and holiday experiences for all of our guests, it is been a pleasure for us to hear that our guests are being well taken care of with the aspect of service excellence we have delivered to you.

We deeply appreciate your positive review of our resort and we would like to thank you once again for sharing your very wonderful experiences on Tripadvisor We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at Bandara Resoert & Spa, Koh Samui.

Sawasdee Ka and Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager and Bandara Team

Pure Bandara Pure Asian - At your service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Be aware that there is building work taking place at the Bandara for 6 months starting 1 may 2013 - we were told about this less than 2 weeks before travelling via a letter from kuoni and was not best pleased to say the least. However am pleased to say there is no visible construction work and we only heard slight drilling on a few days from both the beach and room, they are building 16 new villas on land adjacent to the hotel, our room was 528 and all kuoni guests have been moved to that area so if you are around there you should be ok however we did hear other guests complain. Also if you do stay during this time the hotel offered us 7500 baht roughly £150 credit on the room because of building work and I believe this is a standard offer so check before travelling and at least enjoy a few nice massages in the spa with the money! Anyway, building work aside pros and cons of the hotel as follows -
Pros -
great location - 5 mins from fishermans village, spa over the road as well as on site, shop and pharmacy directly opposite
Rooms are very nice and decent size, very clean, nice decor, separate daybed and balcony with sitting area

Cons -
Missing lots of things we would expect as standard for a 4 star hotel ie evening turndown service which we didn't have or were offered once during 2 week stay (although if you have your do not disturb sign on the daytime and miss the room service they leave you a letter saying to call if you want them to come back)
No poolside or bar drinks waiter service everything is help yourself ie towels and drinks but other 4 star hotels this is standard - stayed at rockys hotel on koh samui last year which is a sister hotel and they offered much better service including free water while around pool and beach
We were also annoyed when we asked the concierge to look into booking a boat trip for us and the price they quoted was £16 more expensive then when we went to a local travel agent in the village - this type of service is meant to recommend best places to visit and get good rates not mark up prices...
Final con for us is that the hotel attracts lots of families and large groups of friends for weddings etc so there were often quite noisy, large groups at breakfast and around the pool, not the hotels fault at all but just pointing out its not really a hotel for couples
As mentioned above we stayed at rockys last year which is a much nicer hotel with better service but they have hardly any beach hence the name! So if you want a nicer note and not bothered about a sandy beach and being near to fishermans village choose rockys, if you want a nice beach and good for fishermans village bandara is ok but I think there are nicer hotels in the same area.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the D block as further away from construction work, second floor is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Sawasdee Ka!
Warm greetings from Koh Samui and thank you for having chosen Bandara Resort & Spa, Koh Samui as the preferred accommodation of choice for your recent stay in Thailand. And thank you for taking time to share your feedback in Tripadvisor relating to your stay in May with us.

We are sorry to hear that your experience at our resort did not fully meet your expectations. We thank you for your objective and thorough comments, which will help us in our quest to constantly improve so that all our valued guests will experience the best possible standards of product and service at our hotel.

Bandara is committed and strive to create memorable journeys and holiday experiences for all of our guests. We do hope to see you return as we look forward to welcoming you back at which time we look forward to serving you in the manner you have rightfully come to expect.

Sawasdee Ka and Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager and Bandara Team

Pure Bandara Pure Asian - At your service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from staying at Bandara. Overall our stay was enjoyable but we did have a few issues. I will start with the positives.
Absolutely beautiful grounds, well maintained. Three lovely pools. A children's pool, an infinity pool right on the beach and a huge pool within the inner courtyard of the hotel. The room that we were eventually allocated was good, overlooking the gardens with a good size balcony and daybed. Staff were friendly and the location is perfect. Good eating places on the doorstep and 10 minutes from Fishermans Village with a good variety of bars and restaurants. Breakfast was very good with a great selection to suit all tastes. We ate in the restaurant on the beach a couple of times and the food was very nice. We also attended the weekly BBQ on the beach, this was very enjoyable and although quite expensive it made a nice change, we both really enjoyed it.

Our main problem for a hotel of this class was the lack of poolside service. We were only asked on our last day after staying for a week if we would like a drink. Pob the pool bar attendant was the only bar staff member to seem to want to be proactive and promote and offer drinks around the pool to guests whilst on their sun loungers. We also noticed that the cleanliness around the pools was not good. We observed dirty tables and glasses not being removed for hours on end. In fact we never saw a damp cloth being used to clean tables. Especially the beach pool that needed a good hose down not just a sweep that it appeared to get once a day. Their didn't seem to be any members of staff allocated to keep an eye on things around the pools. We observed guests on one occasion drinking in the infinity pool with glasses of drink and actually smoking whilst in the pool. For a hotel of this class we expected better and things could be improved so easily.

On arrival we were offered a room which was what they call superior but its actually their standard room and they apparently all back on to the busy road which can be heard. Our main problem with the first room was that the wardrobe was only 6 inches deep so was totally impractical. We were tired and annoyed at being offered a room with useless storage when we were staying for a full week. If you are offered a room at the end on the road side beware of this as it is only the end rooms which have this useless wardrobe! We eventually got a deluxe room overlooking the garden, its the same room actually but in a better position so they call it deluxe. If road noise doesn't bother you then go for their standard( superior ) room as long as its not the end one. I can never quite understand how the basic room can be described as superior but there you go? When we eventually got a room that we were happy with we did have a really nice week at this hotel. Air conditioning could be better, we found it necessary to leave the card in and the ac. on whilst were were out or it would never have been cool enough.

Mosquitos are a problem because of all the water and shrubbery, a price you pay for beautiful grounds. We used very strong repellent but my husband was still badly bitten. Spraying around the grounds would improve this problem but it didn't appear to happen or we did not observe this.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to others and with some improvements particularly around the poolside areas it would be fantastic. May I add that I feel its more a shortage of staff that seemed to be the problem rather than staff not doing what they should.

Room Tip: If noisy road bothers you then avoid standard (superior) rooms on road side. The rooms overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BettyBoopTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Sawasdee Ka!
Warm greetings from Koh Samui and thank you for having chosen Bandara Resort & Spa, Koh Samui as the preferred accommodation of choice for your recent stay in Thailand. And thank you for taking time to share your feedback in Tripadvisor relating to your stay with us.

We are sorry to hear that your experience at our resort did not fully meet your expectations. We thank you for your objections and thorough comments, which will help us in our quest to constantly improve so that all our valued guests will experience the best possible standards of product and service at our hotel.

The lowest category room in our resort is called "Superior", and this type of room is what you have booked to stay with us during your holiday. Like any other resorts throughout Thailand, Superior room offers the least standard of amenities in comparison to other room/villa/pavilion categories.

Consequently, Superior room is being located on the main wing where the lobby is located. Some may find that roads traffic in front of hotel can be bothered some, with this, we have taken all measures to make our best efforts to lower noises from traffic affected to our Superior rooms as much as possible. On top of that, the differences between Superior and Deluxe rooms are the location and some premium in-room amenities provided, including state-of-the-art bathroom decor, direct garden and pool access and premium bathroom and comfort amenities for all Deluxe rooms and beyond. For further information about the room categories, please visit www.bandarasamui.com

Bandara is committed and strive to create memorable journeys and holiday experiences for all of our guests. We do hope to see you return as we look forward to welcoming you back at which time we look forward to serving you in the manner you have rightfully come to expect.

Sawasdee Ka and Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager and Bandara Team

Pure Bandara Pure Asian - At your service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at Bandara for two nights on the front end of a trip to Ko Tao as well as one on the back end.

The rooms are nice, with a large terrace facing into the center courtyard where the pools and gardens are located. A small table and chairs along with a daybed make it a comfortable place to relax. There are several pools and they are all well maintained. They were a bit warm on our second visit. It had been hot while we were in Ko Tao, so likely they will continue to get warmer as the heat continues to cook them.

Breakfast is included for all rooms it seems as we were never asked whether we were on a B&B package nor were we asked to pay. The breakfast was very good and served in a pleasant terrace.

They should think about adding a door to the terrace that is lockable from the outside making the lower level rooms direct garden access rather than having to leave through the front door which is towards the outside of the resort. They would be much more attractive.

There was some construction on our second visit and the sound of grinders cutting metal at 7am was not a great way to wake up. If we had been told about construction, we may have stayed somewhere else for the last night. It wasn't a train smash, but we should have been told.

Overall, I really liked the hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dice367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Sawasdee Ka!
Warm greetings from Koh Samui and thank you for having chosen Bandara Resort & Spa, Koh Samui as the preferred accommodation of choice for your recent stay in Thailand. And thank you for taking time to share your feedback in Tripadvisor relating to your stay with us.

We thank you for your comments and suggestion, which will help us in our quest to constantly improve so that all our valued guests will experience the best possible standards of product and service at our hotel.

It was such a pleasure to hear that you felt comfortable during your visit and you have had a wonderful time. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed beautiful settings and the concept of our Thai Theme Night. Bandara is committed and strive to create memorable journeys and holiday experiences for all of our guests, it is been a pleasure for us to hear that our guests are being well taken care of with the aspect of service excellence we have delivered to you.

Concerning the construction areas outside hotel premises, we complies to all standard of excellences and quality of comfort, by taking every possible care and measure to ensure that constructions will interrupt our guest as less as possible throughout your stay.

Bandara is committed and strive to create memorable journeys and holiday experiences for all of our guests, it is been a pleasure for us to hear that our guests are being well taken care of with the aspect of service excellence we have delivered to you.

We deeply appreciate your positive review of our resort and we would like to thank you once again for sharing your very wonderful experiences on Tripadvisor We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at Bandara Resoert & Spa, Koh Samui.

Sawasdee Ka and Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager and Bandara Team

Pure Bandara Pure Asian - At your service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Negatives:
I tied the knot at this resort on the
10/05/13 & 30 guests attended the wedding. Once I paid the deposit, the lack of communication from Bandara was disappointing. I sent emails & didn't hear back, nothing was confirmed/finalized till I arrived on the 5th & requested to see a Manager to get my day
organized. 3 couples who booked pool villas months in advance were told they werent available once they arrived to check in! 2 couples had to go to another resort whilst the 3rd couple were given a delux room & then issued a villa for their last 3 nights. The reception manager couldn't understand why I was upset?! maybe because of the double booking issues & inconveniencing guests. A taxi from the airport to the resort cost 200TB for 2 people yet when reception organized transport at checkout it was 560TB & another guest in the same vehicle also paid 560TB. I would suggest arranging
your own. The staff at reception often got frustrated when assistance was needed or guests had questions. Very poor customer service. The videographer was hired for 4hrs & captured an hour worth of recording, majority of the footage was of me & hubby. Would of been nice to have the guests included, aswell as the bridal party & to have sound for the ceremony/reception songs & speeches.

Positives:
After the stressful lead up to the wedding day, everything turned out better then expected. The flowers & table arrangement looked great, the reception food was amazing, our cake was delicious, the DJ played good music & our guests were looked after. Most commented that it was the best wedding they had been too.

I am very grateful to Frose
& Ait for making our day a memorable one. The two of them showed so much kindness & support throughout the whole day & night. The resort is very fortunate to have these two as staff members.

Tim in the beauty salon did a great job with our hair & make up

The whole experience ended on a high but I would be reluctant to stay here again. Other resorts on the island have been better

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you very much for very valuable comment. We will take your pin points to improve what we have missed. I am also glad that your memorable weddling was wonderfun because it was in a hand of our sophiciated team especially Forse and AIT. Thank you again for your feedback.
James Taywakone
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a beautiful resort. The pools are huge and lovely. The water is warm and inviting and the beach area very pretty with lots of lounge chairs. The staff were friendly. We ate at the hotel a few times and yes the food/drinks are expensive but very good. We travelled as 3 adults and 2 young children and stayed in rooms overlooking the pool. The rooms are nicely kept and spacious with a large balcony area. We had a great time. However, for the price I felt that there were a few areas that the hotel needs to improve on. This was by far the most expensive hotel we stayed in on our trip and it is not a five star hotel in comparison to others we stayed in. The air conditioning in the room seemed to have great difficulty cooling the room down. It took overnight the first night to actually do this. To solve this problem we needed to leave one key in the slot in the room at all times to keep the air con running. Unfortunate, as this is not great for the environment. The wifi in one room only worked on the balcony and then very, very slowly. It was also very difficult to get our balcony door to actually lock. It would close easily but getting the lock to catch was difficult and one night I couldn't get it to catch at all so we had to sleep without locking the door which I did not like. Also there was about a 10 minute walk from the room to the beach. Just something to be aware of if you have mobility issues or have small children.

My main concern was around the additional costs for children. When we arrived they asked us to pay an additional $30/night for our 6 year old. This is the only hotel we stayed in on our entire trip that asked for this. And it was for an extra bed, which is the day bed that is already located in your room!!!!!! We declined the need for an extra bed but were still told we had to pay $50 for 5 days for our 6 year old to eat breakfast. Our kids don't really eat much in the morning so this was a huge waste for us. I suspect most 6 year olds couldn't eat $50 worth of breakfast in a week. Though later in the week they did give the children free buffet dinner so I guess that helped mitigate the cost a bit. I think is hotel really needs to rethink its policy on children. It's too bad really because this hotel has absolutely huge potential.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NormanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Sawasdee Ka!
Warm greetings from Koh Samui and thank you for having chosen Bandara Resort & Spa, Koh Samui as the preferred accommodation of choice for your recent stay in Thailand. And thank you for taking time to share your feedback in Tripadvisor relating to your stay with us.

We thank you for your suggestions and comments, which will help us in our quest to constantly improve so that all our valued guests will experience the best possible standards of product and service at our hotel.

Bandara is committed and strive to create memorable journeys and holiday experiences for all of our guests. We do hope to see you return as we look forward to welcoming you back at which time we look forward to serving you in the manner you have rightfully come to expect.

Sawasdee Ka and Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager and Bandara Team

Pure Bandara Pure Asian - At your service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 185 in Bophut
2,405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#4 of 185 in Bophut
1,641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#34 of 185 in Bophut
1,610 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Samui Resort
Mantra Samui Resort
#16 of 185 in Bophut
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandara Resort & Spa

Address: 178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#17 Family Hotel in Bophut
#18 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $93 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bandara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Bandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandara Hotel Bophut
Bandara Resort And Spa
Bandara Resort Koh Samui
Bandara Hotel Koh Samui
Bandara Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing