We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bandara Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Good value, good facilities. Not the most luxurious, but good setting, good food and no complaints - aircond works, fridge works and both are silent, good LCD - see photos. Only hotel in Bhoput to have windsurfing, hobie cat and kayaks (I think - did not see any on the others).

Room Tip: Rooms away from the busy 4169 front of the hotel are better. If you want a patio from which you can...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Litesleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Writer,

First of all, we would like to thank you for staying at Bandara Resort and Spa while visiting Samui and for your positive feedback. We are very pleased that you have found our water sports the best one on the beach.

Thank you again. I hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the future.

Best Wishes.,
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,753)
There are newer reviews for Bandara Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here in one of the villas for 10 days. Overall this is a well run resort with charming staff giving excellent service. Wide choice of food at Breakfast again served by attentive staff. Had lunch twice at the beachside restaurant where the food wasn't great but it wasn't awful either. Again the staff here were lovely. Worth catching happy hour at the bar down there for 241 drinks and the welcome party on Mondays is also well done with free drinks and canapés. Finally, fab location for walking along the beach (10 mins max although sand very rough texture so need footwear) to fishermans village where there's plenty to do.

Room Tip: Villas are very private and in good location in the gardens
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrantB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Grand B,

Thank you to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us. This type of thoughtful feedback is extremely helpful and important to us in delivering the highest levels of quality and service to our valuable customers.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards.,
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Bandara we were made to feel welcome and relaxed! The perfect getaway from cold city life.

The staff here are fantastic and the 3 pools and beach area are perfectly clean, each with their own bar, and when the weather is good it's bliss!
The breakfasts are excellent an worth setting time aside for each morning (especially the pancake machine!) and the reception staff are quick to help out with booking taxis, and local advice if needed.

We found only a few things which we feel could making this a 5 star resort rather than a 4 star - attention to detail in making sure that everything stated in the room welcome pack is available (e.g. board games for rainy days, recreation room open for the entire stated times, shuttle bus info easily available) and a few aesthetic touch ups to areas of disrepair (ceiling hole in corridor some loungers broken).

We would recommend Bandara in a heartbeat and our suggestions are very very small thoughts in what was an amazing stay. The gardens are worth the trip alone...!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L0nd0n_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Writer,

Thank you for sharing with us your impressions. You are right, the pancake machine is amazing! everyone love it as much as you do. :)

As well i note your comment about our small shortcomings.Right now a lot of changes are happening in Bandara Resort and I hope you will get the chance to see all improvements in the future

Thank you again, and look forward to welcoming you back again,

Best Regards.,
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We came here to relax and it was the best time of our life. Other people didnt like it but we loved it. Maybe not everything is perfect due to the humidity but besides that it was awesome! The people were so polite to us, we got spoiled with everything! Breakfast we didnt even know where to start because there was so much and everything was so good. We were treated like queens ever since we arrived at the hotel. I do not know anything bad to say about the hotel! And our christmas eve there was also very nice! We will be back and maybe it will be our honeymoon one day.

Room Tip: Pool side room or a own bungalow
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misssonniloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear misssonni02,

The Bandara Resort tries to pay a lot of attention in keeping the resort in a very relaxing and calm atmosphere, I am happy you enjoyed this fact and might come back to visit us in your Honey Moon time.!

Thank you very much for your lovely comments.

We do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and thank you again for choosing Bandara Resort and Spa Koh Samui for your holiday in Thailand.

Best regards,
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just returned for a week-long stint at Bandara and have nothing but good things to report.

The grounds themselves are maintained beautifully - small details like the flower arrangements in pots are changed daily and are just lovely and you always see the ground staff painstakingly ensuring there are no stray leaves or any other natural debris on the grounds. Attention to detail is quite amazing.

The beach at Bophut itself isn't by far the most beautiful in Thailand but Bandara's loungers and bean bags are super comfy and towel service is great. The choice of 3 pool-sides at which to sit is also fantastic and the big pool is huge - perfect for trying to work off all those green Thai curries!

The breakfast food is great - loads and loads of choice from Western faves to Thai noodles. I loved the pancake maker and you can choose whatever eggs you want. We ate too at the restaurant at lunch - was tasty but naturally pricier being the resort.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and the maids leave you wee toffees after turning your room down - those little touches were lovely. We had a deluxe room by the pool - perfect for our needs. Shower pressure wasn't great but hey - can't have everything!

Free wi-fi is good at times and not-so-good at others.

Location is good - 5-10 mins stroll to Fisherman's Village for some tourist shops and decent restaurants (try the Friendly Frog) either on the beach or on the main road. Also right across from a Family Mart and Pharmacy and Thai massage places. Very central in Bophut beach so also easy stroll to other resorts and all amenities of Bophut.

Last but not least, I cannot fault the staff - they are always friendly, helpful and there is always service with a smile - from the breakfast room to the maids and to the beach. At the end of the holiday, my partner became very ill and had to be taken to hospital. In this regard, the hotel went above and beyond, shuttling us to and from the hospital on numerous occasions and at no charge, making a very stressful time that bit easier. They also let us have the room hours later than check-out to accommodate for the time we needed to pack and rest after the hospital trauma.

There is also a really useful security service outside the resort to stop traffic and to help those leaving the resort to cross the road (at busy periods, it is nigh on impossible!)

Thank you Bandara for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yumyum22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear yumyum22,

Thank you for sharing with us with your lovely experience in Bandara Resort and Spa Samui.

I note that you enjoyed the service from our staff, at breakfast and the Security who are on hand to assist our guests in crossing the road. I was also pleased that your Mail Pool,towels as well Wi-Fi experience was very pleasant.

Thank you again, and look forward to welcoming you back again

P.S We hope that your partner is feeling well.

Regards,
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just returned from an 11 day stay at Bandara and in the main had a good time - But !!!
As with all things, "you cannot please all of the people, all of the time" so my comments are to be taken as constructive points, which hopefully will help you make an informed choice as to staying here.
We had Villa (704) as there were 3 Adults in our party (with my Wife & Son) - the 3rd bed for our Son was perfect, not just a normal Sofabed. The standard of the Villa was pretty good & very clean, although it could have done with a refurbishment, as did the whole of the Hotel as it is looking a bit tired now. The Pools are stunning and are kept very clean, the big issue here is that a lot of the sunbeds are broken and/or very worn - no issue with getting a bed,although the towel brigade are out in full for all the prime spots. Staff - 1 word "brilliant". Food - Breakfast, quality and choice pretty good, Beach Restauarant - again pretty good, cost - ok. They offer a once a week beach BBQ @ 1100bhts PP, we did not go to this as we thought it was a little expensive, especially as drinks are on top of that. They offer a Happy Hour 2-4-1, although the terms are a little strange - only on Cocktails, Beer & Friut Juices, & the 2nd drinks must be the same as the 1st drink??? The best bet for food at night is a short walk on the beach to Fishermans Walk - loads of restaurants, you eat here cheap or expensive as you like. You can also take a Taxi to Chaweng 400bhts each way - make sure you agree the cost before you get in the taxi - we ended up using the same guy all the time and they never let us down. The biggest probelm for us (5 in our group) was that there was not enough to do around the hotel with very little activity's offered - if you went up the beach a bit there were the normal things. like Jet Skis etc etc. Also, at night we found the bar areas lacking in atmosphere, very quiet. If I had to sum up the Bandara, I would say OK - But the owners need to instigate a programme of refurbishment for the whole complex to bring it up to the standards of other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the front of the hotel as the road is very busy and the noise could cause yo...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stantheliftman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Mrs. Stantheliftman,

I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with sun beds and reserving towels. We are training our staff on being more strict and explaining the guest the rules and regulations of the hotel.

I have forwarded your comments to the managers concerning the sun loungers. I am sure they will take immediate action and appreciate your helpful comment

I would like to thank you for your helpful and honest feedback, it's very important for us.

We hope to see you again soon,
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at Bandara resort for 6 nights from the 4th of Feb 2013, and I cannot wait to get back here. The staff were friendly and helpful all of the time. Our room was simple but clean, who wants to spend time in their room anyway when you have a beautiful resort to explore!
The pool and pool bar is amazing. Lots of room with places to get some shade if you have kiddies or have seen too much sun yourself. Walk down a little further and you hit beautiful gardens, then the beach bar, beach and restaurant.

All of the staff, whether they were on reception, the tour desk, the restaurant, or the bars are all friendly and lovely and very welcoming! And if they didn’t understand what you were after/wanted they would call someone over that could understand a little more English.

Bandara made my trip to Thailand absolutely amazing and unforgettable and when I say I can’t wait to go back I really cant. My mums pretty fussy even when travelling and I am begging her to go and stay here!

The buffet breakfast has an amazing selection – seriously something for everyone. They had your typical bacon, eggs, tomato, hash browns, baked beans, all the breads you could think of, doughnuts and fresh bread, fruit platters and salads, cheese platters, cold meats, pancakes…. SO MUCH FOOD!

The restaurant on the beach front is so so incredibly cheap! And the food is fantastic as well as the service. They had 2 men singing and you can request a song for them to sing, its great entertainment!

The TV remote in the room didn’t work at first but I called room service and after about 5 minutes they were there sorting out the problem, which they fixed quickly for me.

The hotel is located about 10 minute drive from the party scene which i loved because when you were over the party you just get into a taxi and go home to bliss and quiet!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel_108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Ms. Mel_108,

I was very pleased to read that your overall impression of the hotel was satisfactory and that you enjoyed your stay in Bandara Resort.

Thank you for taking the time and share with us your impressions.
I will pass on your positive feedback to all departments and I am sure everyone will highly appreciate your comments and improve their skills.

We hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back in near future and thank you again for choosing Bandara Resort and Spa Koh Samui for your holiday in Thailand

Best Regards,
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 184 in Bophut
2,356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 184 in Bophut
1,605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#36 of 184 in Bophut
1,576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#4 of 184 in Bophut
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandara Resort & Spa

Address: 178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#17 Family Hotel in Bophut
#20 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $100 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bandara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Bandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandara Hotel Bophut
Bandara Resort And Spa
Bandara Resort Koh Samui
Bandara Hotel Koh Samui
Bandara Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing