We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bandara Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed at the Bandara Resort as part of a group attending a friends wedding.
We were greeted by very attentive and polite staff and shown to our very tidy and clean room. Over the next 10 days we relaxed by one of the three pools or down at the beach. Spent a little time in the onsite fitness room. This was basic but adequate.
Breakfast was buffet style and was awesome. Huge variety of all different food types. I can strongly recommend the omlets :-)
It was a short walk to Fishermans Village where we spent many an evening wandering through the stalls and resturants.
We ended up staying on a few extra days as we were having such a nice time.
Only real down side was while catering for a very large crowd on new years eve they may have failed to properly cook all of the seafood, resulting in some of our party being ill the following day.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Kate S,

I'm very sorry for your experience with a seafood,but its happen not a first time with us and we investigate this case already.
Problem with a stomach everyone had because seafood its very sensitive food and some of them are row. Body can reject it.

Overall we thank you for your comment about tasty omelet. We are happy to hear that you enjoy your holiday in Bandara.

We looking forward to see you again

Best Regards,

Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

991 - 997 of 1,790 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

We've just returned from a lovely week at the Bandara , after having a few days in Chiang Mai initially.
The whole establishment is modern, clean and well managed. As in most of Thailand...the staff are extremely welcoming and friendly and give excellent service throughout.
The jewel-in-the crown is the FANTASTIC gardens ...which are stunning and a pleasure to idly walk through ! Excellent swimming pools and loungers/towels/pergolas , etc.
Breakfasts offer a wide variety of excellent foods in the main building . We only had one lunch at the Beach Restaurant (while they were extremely busy getting ready for the weekly evening BBQ) ; the staff were extremely pleasant and the food lovely.
We had one minor blip with their housekeeping, which, after some language translation difficulties, resulted in a successful clean replacement duvet at 11pm at night !
We paid a little extra for a Deluxe room (419) which had a wonderful position in the complex . It had two king-size beds . We did, however , notice that the wardrobes were a bit "unique" (only about 8" deep !) as we were on the end of the ground floor "run"...just a design fault really and in no way spoilt our holiday.
We feel that the complex as a whole is excellent. It could do with a little redecorating in places, but nothing to put anyone off. Generally very good and excellent value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikeandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Mike and Pete ,
I was very pleased to read that your nice feedback about the hotel

I note that you mentioned several staff members as fantastic and it will be my pleasure to let them know about your positive comment. I am sure the staff will highly appreciate it

We looking forward to welcome you back in Bandara Resort and Spa Koh Samui for your holiday in Thailand
Thank you so much!

Best Regards,
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Bandara, the staff was amazing. very helpful and willing to accommodate our 2 little ones. They even managed to remove the day bed so that we could fit 2 baby cots in the room.
This was our second visit to Bandara and loved it even more. We had a great time in the main pool with the kids.
The beef and bacon burger was surprisingly great for hotel food.
Fantastic resort and we would definitely be back.

Room Tip: superior rooms face the road and can be noisy. Deluxe rooms are to the side, but choose higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear jgirl2005,
Halo from Hot Thailand and Beautiful Bandara!

It's impossible to forget your sweet family with your 2 little twins. I am in love with them! :)
Hope you are ok and thanks for your comments.

We looking forward to see you again In Bandara Resort and Spa Samui.

Best Regards,
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I were staying on the island of Koh Samui to hop over to Koh Phangan for the NYE 2013 Full Moon Party. I actually booked this hotel using points for 2 nights, and I was happy that I did because it allowed us to get around the compulsory new years eve gala dinner cost.

The hotel was very accommodating, and even though the room was booked under my name, they allowed my friend to check into the room before I arrived. Arrival to the hotel was first class -- we received a hot towel and a really nice ginger tea beverage. The room was clean and a comfy size and the grounds were spectacular. The pools and access to the beach were hugely convenient and despite on/off rain showers, guests seemed to be enjoying the outdoor amenities. I also loved that the room had umbrellas in them. Just made it easy to explore the outdoors without getting too wet.

We visited the spa a couple of times and received some really relaxing treatments. They were a bit pricey, but definitely in line with what you'd see at a fancier hotel. My friend and I both booked massages and when we got to the spa we were asked if we could have the treatments in one room (a la couples massage). We were not a couple, but we really didn't mind being in one room... that is until my massage started to become intense. My massage therapist was using a technique where she was chopping/slapping my skin and cupping it as well. It was perfectly effective for me, but I couldn't help but feel uncomfortable for my friend who had to sit through her relaxing treatments hearing these startling noises from my massage table. It was LOUD. It just would have been ideal if we had known that the treatment would be noisy.

The only excursion/tour that we did during our time in Koh Samui was the full moon party, and on the day of the party we asked the front desk for information about the speedboat going to koh phangan/haad rin. Maybe it was just lost in translation, but everyone that we asked looked at us as if we were speaking jibberish. Finally someone at the tour desk told us that we need to purchase tickets at a travel agency. This confused us because we had just met two fellow travelers at the hotel who got their tickets through the front desk. Since it was so difficult to communicate this, we just decided to walk across the street to buy our tickets from a travel agency. There are 2 across the street, and the 1st one we visited was actually SOLD OUT of tickets. We started to panic, but then walked a couple steps over to Alisa Travel and Alisa (I'm going to assume her name was Alisa) was able to get us on a speedboat over to the FMP at our ideal time (6pm pickup). If you're staying at Bandara, I highly recommend booking tours through Alisa Travel.

Later in the evening we were gearing up for our pickup and it was POURING outside. I'm talking torrential downpour. When we went down to the lobby for pickup we met a handful of people who were also planning to go to the FMP and were awaiting their pickup. There were delays across the board, so we bought some beers and started mingling in the lobby. All of us opted to stay on Samui, knowing very well that we would need to take a speedboat to get to Phangan for the FMP. What we didn't expect was the possibility of some of the pickups getting CANCELLED because of the weather conditions. And while that didn't happen to myself and my friend (I want to say that it's because we booked through Alisa Travel), it happened to several people that very night. Our pickup was late, but at least we got on a boat. The speedboat over to Koh Phangan/Haad Rin, however, was quite an adventure. It was a very scary 30 minute ride over. I'm not so sure if it was even safe to be on a boat with the waters as choppy as they were. I wouldn't be surprised if the boat we were on was the last one allowed to leave Koh Samui. The conditions were that bad.

Overall, the hotel proved to be very nice and a great value for New Years. I certainly recommend it, but for those planning to attend the FMP... make sure you plan accordingly!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeslieTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Sawasdee Ka!
Warm greetings from Koh Samui and thank you for having chosen Bandara Resort & Spa, Koh Samui as your accommodation of choice for your recent stay in Thailand.

It was such a pleasure to hear that you felt comfortably relaxed, pampered and rejuvenated with our sumptuous offerings, including spas, excursion trip, preferential treatment and attentive services during your visit with our resort and that you have had such a wonderful time in Thailand. Bandara is committed and strive to create memorable journeys and holiday experiences for all of our guests, it is been a pleasure for us to hear that our guests are being well taken care of with the aspect of Bandara service excellence we have delivered to you, simply beyond your expectation.

We deeply appreciate and delighted to see your positive review of our resort and we would like to thank you once again for sharing your very wonderful experiences on Tripadvisor. We are looking forward and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at Bandara Resoert & Spa, Koh Samui.

Sawasdee Ka and Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager and Bandara Team

Pure Bandara Pure Asian - At your service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We arrived in November for my birthday , what can i say the service is impeccable couldnt ask for nicer staff at the Bandara , we just opted for the normal standard room which was facing the pool -really big bed also a day bed in the room and one out on the balcony ,really lovely bathroom spotless couldnt fault it , house keeping were fab cleaned the room every day to a very high standard , we headed out the the beach bar after we unpacked , and found out was happy hour all day every day at the moment while they were doing some woodwork on the beach (but never seen or had any disruption to our holiday because of it ) bar staff were great think we went through the whole cocktail list while we were there for 10 nights , my birthday dinner in the hotel resturant was i had a whole sea bass which was cooked to perfection which really enjoyed , then had a walk through the fantastic gardens where are kept to pristine condition , (which my other half then got down on one knee and propsed to me within the arch way from the garden to the pool ) fantastic place , when then had a few drinks and sat on the beach , although the sand is not the very best its a bit coarse its still really clean and cant fault it. We went down to breakfast the next day and its vast they got everything you could think of , we got a seat straight away even though it was really busy but again the service is great , we booked a trip to the tigers with the hotel it was a little on the expensive side but worth every penny , the rest of the holiday was amazing loved every minute of it it was my firt time in thailand and cant wait to go back would definatley be back to the bandara .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vicky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Vicky W,
You made my day!
I really enjoy to read your feedback
Thank you for everything

Hope to see you again

Best Regards,
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is undoubtedly a very good hotel, but just a little short of excellent.

We stayed for just over two weeks over Christmas and New Year Dec/Jan 2013. We ha a Deluxe room with a private balcony, a nice bathroom and comfortable beds. The air conditioning is also very good, albeit that you can't seem to adjust the temperature in the room. Rooms are cleaned each day, to a high standard. There is a good range of complimentary toiletries and the like, including bath robes, slippers and flip-flops.

Breakfast is excellent. Really good selection of buffet foods and staff are more than attentive. There is an 'egg' station where omelettes and other goodies are cooked. Plenty of fresh fruits too. However the hotel doesn't provide- caffeinated coffee. If you need this, bring your own.

The hotel has a very good 40m pool. Really great to swim in, but occasionally crowded out with people who really don't want to swim. If, like me, you see big pools like this as a bonus, it gets frustrating. The hotel also lets a local diving school use the pool and again these can get in the way if you're intent on serious swimming. Aside to this there is a bar at the pool where you can order refreshments and light snacks.

There is also a gym. This is OK, slightly poorly maintained and in need of TLC. All the aerobic equipment works but some of the weight machines need attention.

The beach restaurant (Chom Dao) is OK but portions are too small. However the hotel is less than 10 minutes walk away from Fisherman's Village so, unless you're feeling a bit lazy, don't let this put you off.

The hotel Spa is very good. A great range of treatments which includes a discount package in bundle of 10k Baht. This can be split between room occupants and gives you an additional 5K of treatments. If, like me, you have a partner addicted to these things you will recognise the value in it. If you want to skimp you can always use the various places on the beach. Not as luxurious but much, much cheaper at about 250 baht for an hours massage.

There are three bars in the hotel. 1 at the beach, 1 at the pool and 1 near to reception (Ling Lounge). The latter is dead but all have generous happy hours. Plus, again, there are plenty of alternative options including cocktails on the beach at various low cost bars within two or three minutes walk.

Finally, the staff. To an individual they are excellent, always trying their best to make your stay a happy one. Somebody, somewhere, has got the staff training spot on and the culture of being willing to help is excellent.

So, in conclusion, this is a very good hotel. Most people will really like it, as we did. Last time we were here we were at the neighbouring Anantara, by comparison Bandara is a better hotel, less pretentious and much better value. We would definitely come back though, because in the end the minor foibles are outweighed by Bandara's undoubted charms

Room Tip: Go Deluxe if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonDavidS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear London David S,
Thank you for taking the time and write beautiful comments about swimming pool,breakfast, our staff etc.

I note your comments about Chom Dao restaurant and the Gym. I pass your feedback to our Resident Manager. We will take action immediately.!

Thank you one more time for your honest Comment :)
We looking forward to see you again in Bandara Resort and Spa Samui.

Best Regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed at Bandara in May 2012 in a Pool Villa. Very much like the Pool villa, great bathroom amenities and loved the outdoor shower and tub (great for rinsing scuba gear off and swimsuits) as well as taking a nice relaxing bath. The villa also had a dip pool and two lounge chair covered patio. After a long day of scuba diving I sat out on the lounge chairs once or twice. It was very nice till the bugs pestered me. The dip pool water was surprisingly warm, but we didn't use it much. The villa had a great amount of privacy. Three of us stayed in the villa, it was a tad bit crammed with a roll away bed. Staff was very accommodating and decorated our room and gave us complimentary wine on our honeymoon. Breakfast buffet was very tasty. Food was always warm and fresh. My husband and brother really liked the two min pancake maker because we were always strapped on time in the morning because of scuba diving travels. Great location. In walking distance to fisherman's wharf. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pool Villa has great privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taweeporn K, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Sawasdee Ka!
Warm greetings from Koh Samui and thank you for having chosen Bandara Resort & Spa, Koh Samui as your accommodation of choice for your recent stay in Thailand.

It was such a pleasure to hear that you felt comfortably relaxed, pampered and rejuvenated with our sumptuous offerings, including your very own Private Pool Villa, preferential treatment and attentive services during your visit at our resort and that you have had such a wonderful time in Thailand.

When it comes to exclusivity and prestige, Bandara Villa stands in a class of its own and as its Villa's guests - Supreme, contemporary and private luxury amid nature's tropical magic of Koh Samui is what Bandara Villa stands for.

Bandara is committed and strive to create memorable journeys and holiday experiences for all of our guests, it is been a pleasure for us to hear that our guests are being well taken care of with the aspect of Bandara service excellence we have delivered to you, simply beyond your expectation.

We deeply appreciate and delighted to see your positive review of our resort and we would like to thank you once again for sharing your very wonderful experiences on Tripadvisor. We are looking forward and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at Bandara Resoert & Spa, Koh Samui.

Sawasdee Ka and Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager and Bandara Team

Pure Bandara Pure Asian - At your service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 185 in Bophut
2,409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#4 of 185 in Bophut
1,647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#34 of 185 in Bophut
1,612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Samui Resort
Mantra Samui Resort
#16 of 185 in Bophut
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandara Resort & Spa

Address: 178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#14 Family Hotel in Bophut
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#18 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $91 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bandara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Bandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandara Hotel Bophut
Bandara Resort And Spa
Bandara Resort Koh Samui
Bandara Hotel Koh Samui
Bandara Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing