We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50/50 - could do with alot of improvements!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bandara Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“50/50 - could do with alot of improvements!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

Stayed in a garden Villa at the Bandara Spa Resort as part of our Honeymoon Package booked with Kuoni. ( the Kuoni Rep for this Resort never got back to us with answers to our questions ).
Villa is beautiful nice and its very private with its own sun area , table and chairs and plunge pool however the day we arrived and checked in, they must have taken 2 mins to clean our room. The mugs were dirty , bathroom floor wasnt clean and the curtains had stain marks/blood/squashed mosquitos . Called Reception and this was hard work communicating . ( no one ever came ) . Waited until we went for dinner to ask reception to send someone.
Please be aware if you decide to take a Villa , you need to expect cochroches pass through under your door, bugs , mosquitos in your room and in your bath tub outside. I would run the bath and wash them all away before I sat in it but if you dont like bugs for your own sake DONT STAY IN A VILLA. I also got bitten by mosquitos every night however my husband only got biten once .
Asked for an ironing board and an Iron and they brought me a board with holes in and an Iron that was just useless !
The Gardens are lovely and well kept. The main pool is also nice clean and well kept . we didnt use the pool by the beach. Plently of sunbeds but you get the ones who put their towels out early in the morning and disapear for hours ! ( find that unfair )
Hotel food was nice however expensive and seriously over priced ! Try the chocolate cononut brownie for a treat was LOVELY ! ( again , over priced )
The restaurant by the beach offers burgers and pizzas. There is a little mart across the road which is good , a pharmacy and more restaurants. If you walk out of the hotel and turn right there is a restaurant called the Garden . about 3mins walk and we were impressed with the food and price . They have everything on the menu from english food chinese thai and american. I personally found places to be so unhygienic so we were very careful where we ate.
Do visit Chaweng its worth going at night to see whats going on, much busier and nightlife there is crazy. We took taxis first 2 days until we realised that we were getting ripped off so we got the 'songtaw' downtown or to Tesco for 50baht before 6pm one way or 100bnaht after 6pm one way person. Just hold on tight and you will be fine. Its very safe just tell the driver where you want to go , agree a price first and jump on! he will then tell you when you arrive . There is a big tesco Lotus not far from hotel if you want to buy souvenirs here ( found things here to be the cheapest in koh samui ) . Chaweng market is good but they all sell the same things every 2/3 shops and they dont bargain much .
There is a Subway , Mc donalds , Pizza Hut > Mexican all in Chaweng . Try Kresens Icecream Parlour its yum !!
We booked our excursions via the Hotel . Any leaflets you see just ask reception to book them for you . We went to the nature reserve ( 40 little islands) i cannot remember what it was called but its an all day trip and it was beautiful. You will be amazed at the difference in water . The beaches are beautiful and water is crystal clear. I would recommend this to all as a must do trip . Also when you book please confirm the price includes your entrance fee as they can try being cheeky and ask for it ontop of what you paid. ( get in in wrtiting on your receipt)
Irina ( russian lady) was all smiles all the time and she was helpful and we always saw her helping others on the hotel grounds.
If you go with the mindset that this hotel is 3 star you will be fine !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    540
    153
    33
    14
See reviews for
326
900
52
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

Stayed at Bandara for 2 weeks during May had a lovely relaxing time so peasefull. Rooms adequate, bed very comfortable. Mini bar very expensive didn't use anything from it bought everything in supermarket across the road.
Not many children during our stay hotel very quiet. No problem getting a lounger or umbrella. Always plenty of beach towels available

Would recommend eating in K-Siri turn right when you come out of hotel, doesn't look that good but food always nice and very reasonable. For something nicer you must try Churrasco Steak House next to Antara as you turn into lane for Fishermans Village, never very busy when were there but great food, big portions excellent service and really clean, you won't be sorry you went there - we went 4 times during our stay. Indian also very good in Fisherman's Village. Would recommend this hotel and would stay there again if we went back to Koh Samui.
Our flight was with Thai Airways excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for a upper floor room much more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lolo028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

My partner and I stayed in a Pool Villa for 5 nights toward the end of April as we got a good rate. I have to agree with some of the other reviews that the resort could use an upgrade/facelift. The main pool is a large rectangle which we did not use as we had no need. The pool was filled with kids while we were there so glad we had the pool villa. Our villa was very nice but bland. It had very little colour or excitement. The villa pool was lovely and plenty big for the two of us and could have easily fit 4. The daybed on the veranda had ants so we were not able to use it but we took advantage of the table and two chairs. The villa had high walls so privacy was not an issue. The bathroom had indoor and outdoor shower and large outdoor tub. The bathroom is quite large which we enjoyed with double sinks. The wardrobe could open from the bathroom or the bedroom and had plenty of room. The entrance was beautiful with lots of overgrown plants and vines. The rooms in the main building overlook the main pool and the first floor rooms don't have much privacy as there is a walkway that goes past. The pool next to the beach seemed more inviting but smaller. The lobby staff were very helpful and accommodating and we had room service a couple of nights and it was delivered rather quickly. Nice to have free internet service in the room. The breakfast was more than adequate with an egg station that also served the bacon. Not much different than other 4 star resorts where we have stayed. We did not eat dinner at the restaurants at the resort but went to Fisherman's Village and into Chaweng. We must recommend Gringos Mexican Restaurant in Chaweng with Pina Coladas made with Coconut ice cream. They have them by the litre or glass. Fisherman's Village is a short walk from the resort. with many affordable restaurants. Chaweng is a taxi drive. I would stay again at Bandara but only if I got a great rate on a pool villa.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkcPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

We stayed in this resort for 6 days, as part of a Kuoni UK holiday. First impressions are not great, reception is hot (open air, no air-con) and tired looking. Staff friendliness variable.
Plus Points:
• 3 beautiful pools, including a large 45m main pool.
• Large very comfortable King bed.
• Lovely gardens and grounds.
• Free wifi, but signal can be variable
• Free internet room
Minus Points:
• None of the rooms have a sea view, as the main buildings are too far away from the sea. It is about a 50m walk to the beach, through the resort gardens. Some other resorts do have great sea views from their rooms, e.g. Hansar, or Anantara.
• Ground floor rooms have little privacy on the balcony. Request an upper floor room.
• Rooms rather tired, could do with being refurbished.
• Breakfast mediocre for an international resort – in range and quality. Silly system of having to order even your hard boiled egg at the egg station could mean a considerable wait just for a boiled egg.
• Beach BBQ on Tuesdays not recommended – far too hot and dark – no portable fans or lighting. Food mediocre, again in range and quality. Service not great – no finger bowls (essential for a seafood BBQ!), or wet towels.

Overall an ok resort, as long as you do not have too high expectations. The two restaurants within the resort are deathly quiet most nights. There does not seem to be any effort made to incentivise residents to use the restaurants. I believe most walk across the road, or to Fishermen’s Village nearby where there are numerous good quality restaurants charging much less than the Bandara.
Good customer relations manager (Irina) deserves mention.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mabok O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

This was our third stay in the Bandara and even though the location and staff are great we found that the resort is in serious need of an upgrade. The beach chairs were falling apart and it was hard to find a working beach umbrella. There was minimal staff around and the resort's restaurant was deserted on most nights which isn't surprising considering the prices they charge. With a large number of German guests most pool and beach chairs were reserved from 7AM. I would just remove the towels and deal with it should we be asked. All in all still a nice place but it needs a serious money injection to get things back up to scratch.

Room Tip: Rooms in the last block are the quitest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BangkokMidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

We checked into a pool villa for 6 nights. The resort was beautiful, our villa with plunge pool was amazing! The staff that greeted us were very polite and welcoming. The breakfast is nice with a large variety. The food was nice at the restaurants but tiny portions, cocktails were watered down (literally no alcohol!). Make sure you always check your receipt and compare to the menu as my husband almost got ripped off by the bartender at the welcome area of the resort, he was trying to charge him 300 baht for a cocktail but the menu said 120. Gym was good, spa very nice but a little overpriced. Overall a lovely stay but I would only stay here if I received a really good deal again as it is a bit too expensive for what you receive.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manthy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krasnodar, Russia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

The hotel is commendable in all respects. I would not say everything is fine, there is little comment on Superior rooms - they are quite noisy at night - near the road, as well as running the generator, so take this type of room I would not recommend it. Breakfasts are excellent, great choice, SPA deserves a good grade - staff helpful and courteous. Of the downsides as well - not deep pools - the water gets very hot for dinner, as well as the lack of umbrellas in all lounges on the beach and poolside.
Pluses of the hotel - it is beautiful and well appointed surroundings, friendly staff, just near the hotel numerous cafes and restaurants, which can be romantic to spend time on the beach (fishing village)

Room Tip: I do not advise to book Superior room - very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnevalexey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
3.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
3.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandara Resort & Spa

Property: Bandara Resort & Spa
Address: 178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#17 Family Hotel in Bophut
#19 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bandara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandara Hotel Bophut
Bandara Resort And Spa
Bandara Resort Koh Samui
Bandara Hotel Koh Samui
Bandara Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing