We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon on Koh Samui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Honeymoon on Koh Samui”
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed here for the second leg of our honeymoon. Unfortunately we had the first leg at the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok, so Bo Phut had a lot to compare too...

We think its a very nice place, but I would definitely class it on the smaller, quieter, boutique side. So if you are looking for huge and fancy and lots of activity, dont stay here. If you are happy with a quite and intimate stay - then its just fine. The place is lovely and the staff are great. My husband STILL talks about the delicious welcome drink we were offered on arrival.

Pool is nice, although a bit small. Beach is ok...I think there are nicer ones on the island though. It was nice to be able to walk down the beach to the small town nearby for dinner - which we did almost every night.

We also went next door to the Peace resort a lot for lunch, as its WAY cheaper and just as good in my opinion. Peace resort also has a cheaper spa, although its not air conditioned. Peace resort also has a beach hut where you can get a full body massage for peanuts - sadly we discovered this on our last day. Otherwise I would have been over there like EVERY day.

Now about that air conditioning. We went in June and it was MEGA hot and humid. One day it was so hot and humid that we didnt even feel like we could leave our rooms. The rooms and the business centre and the spa are the only places in the resort that have air conditioning, so you can see how you can feel a bit trapped if this is something that is going to affect you.

But thats pretty typical of all the resorts on the island, so not a criticism of this hotel.

We did enjoy our stay, although got a bit bored by the mellow and quiet by the end of the week. City people, what can I say?

But if you are looking for peace and quiet, a high standard of service, and a beautiful little boutique resort - yes I would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetteNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    215
    40
    13
    9
See reviews for
216
1,078
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

From the gentle breeze lifting the air in the open- sided, Teak House pavilion that serves as reception. Along the leafy path winding through the accommodation area. Pass the tinkling waterfalls & the lily pond fronting the Thai restaurant to the beautifully clean & attentitively- staffed pool area. Bo Phut Resort is total relaxation.

Don't expect party party & karoaoke, everyone's in bed by midnight.

The staff are great, so friendly, respectful & helpful. From the boys on the door & transport, through the beautiful reception girls, to the chambermaids, waitresses, chefs & the guys at the pool... 5 star service all the way.

Breakfast is great overlooking the beach. As you might expect for a resort owned by the Singha Beer company, beer & wine is reasonably - priced, especially in the rather oddly- timed "Happy Hours" of 4.30pm to 5,30pm & 6,30pm to 7,30pm.

The Spa & Restaurants look great but we didn't partake as there was so much choice locally at very reasonable prices. The Laundry service is expensive when you can get it done for almost nothing 50 yards from the hotel but taking all into account, no complaints at all.

The rooms are spacious, very clean, great showers & bathrooms, bed & lovely little touches with flowers, lemon incense & anti- mosquito machines all included with the turn- down.

As part of the same Group, 25% off green fees at Santiburi Golf with free transport & good rental clubs at 2000 baht,

The "Fisherman's Village" is 5 mins walk by beach or road & is now quite big with 20-30 restaurants as well as many shops & the ubiquitous hassling sales guys for the Indian Tailor's Shops. Chaweng Beach is 15 mins by taxi or hotel car, both 300 Baht. Chaweng is madness but all done with the lovely Thai style.

There is a rush to get towells out on the first 2 rows of sunbeds, fronting the beach, but for beach- lovers plenty of room actually on the sand. Sand is clean if rather coarse & hard work to walk on. Don't buy from the beach hawkers & masseurs until you have done your homework on prices in the village. They are all friendly &, once you get your haggling hat on, perform a useful service without hassle. They are far less aggressive than in other parts of the world!

Like everywhere, you get what you pay for, & Bo Phut represents value for money. A total rest in beautiful surroundings with great service but check out the Italian restaurant at the Anantara hotel next door.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocky2358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We have just returned from two weeks staying at the Bophut Resort and Spa and can say that it is the best hotel we have stayed at. From the moment you arrive at the hotel reception, the staff are exceptional and the service is second to none.

We were first in Koh Samui two years ago and stayed at the Bandara which is next door to the Bophut. When we decided to go back, we remembered that the Bophut appeared to be a really nice hotel and booked up. It was a very good choice!! we were upgraded on arrival to one of the villas which was very well decorated and finished. We were staying on a B+B basis and the breakfasts are fantastic- served overlooking the beach with a wide choice of every type of breakfast.

There is a wide choice of dining available within walking distance from the hotel- Fishermans village is a very laid back strip about 400 yards along the beach with a variety of restaurants available. our favourite was the starfish and coffee which provided excellent food at very reasonable prices. numerous bars available as well but the atmosphere was very laid back and low key- if you are looking for discos and late nights then Bophut is probably not for you. another highlight for us was the massages on the beach- an hour costs about £5!!

We spent one night in Chaweng which is a bit like Tenerife to be honest- it is much louder, busier and hectic to be honest and we found one night to be enough. the beach at Chaweng is fantastic however with beautiful sand and shallow water.

The pool at the hotel was never overly busy- i think there are only 60 rooms in hotel so there is plenty space and the sun loungers are very comfortable. Happy hour was always very popular at 4.30 with a cocktail by the pool a very relaxing way to end another hard days sunbathing.

The hotel deserves to be a member of the leading small hotels in the world. The one or two times we phoned reception with minor issues they were very quickly resolved and evry member of staff was friendly approachable and seemed very keen to help wherever possible. So a very big thumbs up for the Bophut Resort and Spa and we will definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chicofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Just returned from 8 nights at the Bo Phut following a 3 night stay in Bangkok. What a complete contrast to the noise and smog of Bangkok, the Bo Phut is a peacefuul haven set in the most beautiful gardens.

We found the Bo Phut to be a small but very charming hotel, with the most genuinely friendly and helpful staff. Wondering through the resort you get hellos and welcoming smiles from all the staff, any of whom would go out of their way to help you. Our room was a garden view room rather than one of the villas/bungalows, but we found it to be of good size with good amenities. I loved the fresh flowers in the room and the special touches such as the fruit which is replenished daily (you can request pariticular types of fruit if you have favourites) and the evening turn down with the oil burner lit and more fresh orchids. Free newspaper everyday was also a nice touch, as was the shoe shine.

Everywhere you go in the Bo Phut there are lovely fresh flowers and although the grounds are not large they are immaculately kept and were a pleasure to walk through to reach the pool or beach. The beach is a little coarse under foot, but has lovely views of the islands and although there are a few beach vendors we found them to be polite and friendly unlike some of the hawkers you get in places such as Spain and Turkey.

The breakfasts are really good, with a great selection and quality of food. So lovely to sit overlooking the sea eating such gorgeous food in the morning sun. Missing it lots already!!

We had a few good meals at the hotel, in particular enjoying the Thai night on the beach. Fisherman's Village has some good restaurants to give you extra choice. We really liked the Shack which does great steak and burgers. Also ventured over to Chaweng Beach, but found it to be far too busy and loved coming back to the peace of Bo Phut (although the restaurants and bars did seem a little cheaper than Fisherman's Village, which was one plus point). Agree with some of the other reviews that Fisherman's Village is a little scruffy and is not quite as charming as I had hoped, however it does have some nice shops and good bars. Great pancake vendor as you walk out of Fisherman's Village back towards the hotel and the Coconut icecream is really good in the beach bar near Shades Restaurant (our Rep told us to avoid Shades itself though). Had lunch at Coco Calm Beach to the left of Bo Phut, but wouldn't recommed it.

Would recommend the laundry on the opposite side of the road to the Bo Phut £1 per kg for wash and iron. Hotel gift shop has a nice range of items and found it to be really competitive in price, which is a refreshing change from other hotels I have stayed at. Fitness Centre good, although on the small side it is quiet. Free internet room, book, CD and DVD library all really good touches.

Overall we rated the Bo Phut very, very highly. If you are looking for a large ultra trendy hotel then this might not be for you, but as a tranquil resort with first class service, then you will love it. We are really fussy, but could find no fault with the hotel or service other than finding a couple of dead flower heads on a path one morning!!! Would definately return one day.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LBrownCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We have just returned from 8 days at the Bo Phut. We cannot praise the staff enough for their friendliness and attentiveness. It will be so difficult to go back to moving our own sunshades and laying out our own towels on future holidays! The hotel and grounds are not big, but everything is so well laid out that each room and villa has a lot of privacy, mainly due to the wonderful greenery and flowers everywhere. The gardeners do a wonderful job and whoever arranges the flowers must have a full time job. There are little stone statues of frogs, rabbits and other animals along the pathways, each holding a fresh flower everyday, even the toilets in the public areas have fresh arrangements everyday, with each petal and leaf laid out individually in patterns - incredible detail.

The food in both restaurants is beautifully cooked and presented, although it is slightly more expensive than the restaurants in the village. Breakfast is excellent and there is so much choice. Plenty of places to eat just a short walk along the beach. Starfish and Coffee is interesting, Smile House has excellent Thai food at a very good price and Krao Bo Phut is slightly more upmarket, but just as well priced and is owned by the people who own the hotel, so the presentation is really good. We can also recommend the corn cobs grilled by the beach vendors for lunch - and the hotel does not object to people bringing these back to eat by the pool - unlike some less relaxed places. the happy hour cocktails are good and extremely strong - great after an afternoon massage.

We had a free one hour Thai massage lesson in the hotel spa, which was excellent. However, we didn't indulge in any treatments at the spa as we had several wonderful massages in the cabins along the beach for £6 an hour - bliss.

I cannot really add to the fantastic comments already made about this hotel other than to say that this is most definitely one place we would love to go back to again and again if only that were possible. It is the little touches that make it special - the beach bag in every room, free daily newspapers, a jug of fresh milk in the fridge if you say you don't really like creamer in your tea and the fact that the staff remember your room number even if you have only spoken to them once. For anyone just wanting to totally relax and chill out, this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alikat32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

My mum and I returned to the Bo Phut following our previous visit two years ago. We were not disappointed as the level of service and attention to detail was as superb as ever.. I just have to talk about the service, I have never stayed anywhere where the staff are so attentive and polite. The guys managing the pool area are simply superb and will literally run at "break neck" speed to your aid if you need your sunshade to be moved even an inch. The rooms are well appointed and create a relaxing/feng shui atmosphere however they could do a little better on the lighting front as they are really quite dark in the evening which can prove challenging when trying to apply that all important mascara in the evening..
The food as always was excellent, providing a wide variety of breakfast options. The Sala Thai restaurant was excellent although a little pricey compared to other restaurants in the area, but the atmosphere and food quality more than make up for it.
The Fisherman's village is OK but lacking in any kind of atmosphere and was extremely quiet in the evenings. There are a few good restaurants but you may find that you are the only people dining in them which we found a little disappointing. The Pancake vendors on the street are fab and it's worth the walk to get a banana and nutella pancake. We always tend to do this on the last day of the holiday as they are rather addictive and could easily develop into a regular late afternoon habit if you're not careful..
In conclusion, we had a great time and the Bo Phut did not disappont. We may return in a few years but the lack of atmosphere in the fishing village will probably result in us visiting a different resort/island, in the coming years. If you are looking for a peaceful resort with great service and food then you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunaBerksire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Spent 3 glorius nights at the Bo Phut Resort... a Jem of a Hotel... every aspect / detail was carefully chosen & taken care of... from the moment one arrives until the moment you depart one is pampered..definitely fits the bill of falling into the category of the " Leading Small Hotels of the World " !!!

  • Liked — Peace & Quiet... away from any Hustle & Bustle...
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank boyinjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
3.9 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
7.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
4.0 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#6 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bo Phut Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bo Phut Resort & Spa

Property: Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Address: 12/12 Moo 1 | Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#2 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#3 Business Hotel in Bophut
#6 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bo Phut Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Bo Phut Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bo Phut Hotel Bophut
Bo Phut Resort And Spa
Hotel Bo Phut
Bo Phut Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing