We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels like our second home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Feels like our second home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellent, Excellent EXCELLENT!!!! This is the second time we have stayed at Bo Phut Resort and Spa and we love it. It was so lovely to be back.

The location is brilliant - right next to fishermans village, with its parade of shops and restaurants. The rooms are lovely, we stayed in one with a sea view and it was so amazing to wake up, open the curtains and the beautiful blue ski, and sea greet you.

Would highly recommend the Sala Thai restaurant in the resort, it has authentic Thai food - not westernised which is great!!

We can't wait too go back next year - all ready planning our next holiday to Thailand and this hotel will be on our list.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    211
    39
    13
    9
See reviews for
215
1,064
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I'm not sure why people didn't like their stay. We absolutely loved ours. We had a private pool villa. Daily fresh fruit! The airport service, check in- all very lovely! They made our room very welcoming. We had an espresso maker in the room, which we used. The toiletries smelled wonderful! The shower and tub were very relaxing. Breakfast was fine. We did enjoy 1/2 off drinks at the pool. HIGHLY recommend eating dinner at the restaurant. It was fabulous. We still talk about it. The spa is a little pricey but very relaxing and I enjoyed it. Close to a pharmacy and familymart for cheap beer and snacks. Stay. You'll be glad you did

Room Tip: Private pool. You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkap_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We booked this hotel thru a Luxury Hotel club so expected it to be a little bit better. The welcome and staff were very friendly and that does make a difference so well done there. The breakfast was just average, it wasn't a bad breakfast, it just wasn't special. The Thai Sala restaurant was lovely, set by a beautiful pond and garden and brilliant food.

The spa was fantastic, I really enjoyed the massage.

We stayed for a week and when we arrived we noticed that the pool had a dirty ring around the edge from sunscreen. It was not cleaned once during our stay although we were assured that it was cleaned every night and morning , this simply wasn't true.

Apart from the pool, we had a lovely holiday. The Fisherman's Village is a short walk along the beach with loads of shopping and restaurants and well worth exploring.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Haven’t been back in Koh samui in years, I decided to stay with my parents in Boh Put during their visit, having heard that Chaweng area has developed so much I decided to take them to a quieter area yet with amenities and entertainment around.

I chose Bo Phut resort because of the reviews. I have to agree with other reviewers after our return, airport pick up was excellent. We did have a great reception at the time of arrival. Being the first time for my parents in Thailand I wanted the trip and hotel to be special, I’m far more spoiled than them living in Asia for some time, so the resort didn’t kill me (rooms nice but outdated-pool a bit old fashion style-breakfast restaurant same)-, but they were “very happy” with our choice. Not sure I’ll be back for a couples retreat though. The crowd at the time of our stay were mostly retirees and the problem with everybody securing a chair is annoying.

Here is a hint, people from specific countries (will be politically incorrect to name them ;-) are well known from that kind of behavior. I’m familiar with that custom so what I did was explaining to my parents how things work when you are in a hotel full with them. They were so amused that decided to take the whole situation as a big game. So my mom will be in charged of getting up before 7am…yes you read right before 7am to be able to secure the chairs for us. So imagine how irritating is for young couples who have no clue about “this custom” and they get up a bit late just to find out there is no more space by the pool. What kind of holidays are those??!…Luckily my mom decided to get into the towel game.

Beach, another downside. The sand is so coarse there is no way you can enjoy walks by the beach. We didn’t manage once!

The resort is close to Fisherman village, I found it was more charming than what I was expecting, you can’t walk by the beach though, the walk on the main road is not pleasant. But once you are there you have plenty of choices of restaurants with sea view. A cold beer and yummy food will make you forget about it and have a good time until you realize you need to walk back to the hotel.

Service, the girls were very attentive. The reception staff always welcome you with a smile. A suggestion to the management, please provide your female staff with more comfortable shoes, the poor girls run around looking so uncomfortable, the shoes are all worn out, but they always show you a smile. It’s a beach resort, having your staff running around in horrible high heel shoes doesn’t make the service any better. Also on the last day when we wanted to get the courtesy massage, we were informed that it was only on date of arrival. Please be specific about those details to avoid customers getting upset.

Unfortunately even though my parents enjoyed the whole “Thai experience” I won’t be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsTravelbug76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Positives - the airport transfer. The fine dining restaurants food. Reasonable lunch menu.

Negatives - the welcome - reception staff not at all interested. No air conditioning in 40 degree heat with 85% humidity.
Terribly dated rooms and pool area. Stray dogs and street sellers can sell to you on the property making it very uncomfortable.
Breakfast - small selection and very uncomfortable as a lack of air conditioning or even fans to circulate the air.
Having stayed in numerous Small Luxury Hotels this is a long, long way below standard in both amenity and friendliness.
Spa - novice and more expensive than the independant spa directly opposite the hotel (we had the same treatments in both)

Conclusion - dont expect much and you'll be reasonably happy. I suspect there are better choices on Koh Samui

Room Tip: Deluxe jacuzzi room - very dated. Garden villa marginally better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HEXTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I very much enjoyed our visit to the Bo Phut Resort & Spa Hotel. The decor is quite breath taking, as is the atrium that greets new guests upon their arrival.

As with all Thai service staff, the hotel staff were excellent and very attentive. Our room was very comfortable, although the air conditioning did keep me awake for the first couple of nights. Also, its best to be "gentle" with the toilet. That said, the room was very well kept and the staff regularly ensured a high level of cleanliness.

The hotel was also within easy reach of the Fisherman's village, although the beach wasn't quite as easy to walk along as we had hoped and the main road was somewhat hectic, fine to walk next to, but I wouldn't have wanted to drive.

The food was very good in the hotel, albeit markedly more expensive than eating out, although the price of beer wasn't too bad.

The pool was also very pleasant, although my main cause of irritation was that many of the other guests were in the habit of securing a sun-lounger at breakfast, with various bags and belongings, only to disappear for hours at a time. There were periods during our stay when the pool area resembled an abandoned Bedouin encampment. I appreciate its not easy to police this type of behaviour, but it did make casual use of the pool somewhat problematic and only serves to promote duplicitous behaviour in other guests. That said, our honeymoon stay on Ko Samui was very enjoyable indeed, made all the more so thanks to the care and consideration we received at the Bo Phut Resort & Spa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iannockolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hotel décor was tired and in need of updating.
The pool area was a real let down, sunbeds are very cramped.
Beach was disappointing, sand very coarse and the sea was dirty.
Breakfast was standard and uninspiring.
Spa treatments were overpriced and not in a nice setting, not what you expect from a "spa resort". We had various treatments at the Happy Thai Spa across the road from the resort, great treatments, great price and lovely staff.
We had a garden room with our balcony facing a wall so hardly used the outdoor space during our stay. The room itself was very spacious and clean and complimentary monkey was a nice touch.
The gardens in the hotel were very well maintained and probably the nicest feature of the hotel.
Reception staff were very good and helpful during our stay, however we would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
3.9 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
7.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
4.0 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#6 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bo Phut Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bo Phut Resort & Spa

Property: Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Address: 12/12 Moo 1 | Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#2 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#3 Business Hotel in Bophut
#6 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bo Phut Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bo Phut Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bo Phut Hotel Bophut
Bo Phut Resort And Spa
Hotel Bo Phut
Bo Phut Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing