We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average service, dated accommodation and pool - damaging to the SLH brand!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Below average service, dated accommodation and pool - damaging to the SLH brand!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Positives - the airport transfer. The fine dining restaurants food. Reasonable lunch menu.

Negatives - the welcome - reception staff not at all interested. No air conditioning in 40 degree heat with 85% humidity.
Terribly dated rooms and pool area. Stray dogs and street sellers can sell to you on the property making it very uncomfortable.
Breakfast - small selection and very uncomfortable as a lack of air conditioning or even fans to circulate the air.
Having stayed in numerous Small Luxury Hotels this is a long, long way below standard in both amenity and friendliness.
Spa - novice and more expensive than the independant spa directly opposite the hotel (we had the same treatments in both)

Conclusion - dont expect much and you'll be reasonably happy. I suspect there are better choices on Koh Samui

Room Tip: Deluxe jacuzzi room - very dated. Garden villa marginally better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ms-ClareD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,290
    221
    42
    13
    9
See reviews for
224
1,102
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I very much enjoyed our visit to the Bo Phut Resort & Spa Hotel. The decor is quite breath taking, as is the atrium that greets new guests upon their arrival.

As with all Thai service staff, the hotel staff were excellent and very attentive. Our room was very comfortable, although the air conditioning did keep me awake for the first couple of nights. Also, its best to be "gentle" with the toilet. That said, the room was very well kept and the staff regularly ensured a high level of cleanliness.

The hotel was also within easy reach of the Fisherman's village, although the beach wasn't quite as easy to walk along as we had hoped and the main road was somewhat hectic, fine to walk next to, but I wouldn't have wanted to drive.

The food was very good in the hotel, albeit markedly more expensive than eating out, although the price of beer wasn't too bad.

The pool was also very pleasant, although my main cause of irritation was that many of the other guests were in the habit of securing a sun-lounger at breakfast, with various bags and belongings, only to disappear for hours at a time. There were periods during our stay when the pool area resembled an abandoned Bedouin encampment. I appreciate its not easy to police this type of behaviour, but it did make casual use of the pool somewhat problematic and only serves to promote duplicitous behaviour in other guests. That said, our honeymoon stay on Ko Samui was very enjoyable indeed, made all the more so thanks to the care and consideration we received at the Bo Phut Resort & Spa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iannockolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hotel décor was tired and in need of updating.
The pool area was a real let down, sunbeds are very cramped.
Beach was disappointing, sand very coarse and the sea was dirty.
Breakfast was standard and uninspiring.
Spa treatments were overpriced and not in a nice setting, not what you expect from a "spa resort". We had various treatments at the Happy Thai Spa across the road from the resort, great treatments, great price and lovely staff.
We had a garden room with our balcony facing a wall so hardly used the outdoor space during our stay. The room itself was very spacious and clean and complimentary monkey was a nice touch.
The gardens in the hotel were very well maintained and probably the nicest feature of the hotel.
Reception staff were very good and helpful during our stay, however we would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a great stay at BoPhut Resort & Spa.
Rooms are excellent, clean, huge king size bed and a strong and efficient aircon.
Sunbeds are always enough there, great view to the sea. Breakfast is very tasty, different fresh fruits and always cooled down with ice. There some nice smoothies and other juices available.

Not too far away from Fisherman's village - maybe 15 Minutes walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hundnaseSchweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

It was going to be our first time to Thailand, so my wife did a lot of research on resorts and hotels, it certainly paid off. Our stay at the Bo Phut Resort and Spa was memorable and we shall be returning. The manager, Nick and all of his staff did everything they possibly could to ensure our comfort and happiness. We have never known a team so committed to their work, a big thank you to everyone one of you.

For those of you who have not been before, the reception is located in an open ended colonnade beyond which there is a path that leads you down to the swimming pool, breakfast restaurant and beach, off of this path are various other meandering paths that lead you to the numerous garden villas which are secluded by rich tropical planting. To get to the beach from anywhere in the hotel is no more than 2 minutes.

The pool boys are very attentive, if you try to move your sun umbrella they are at your side in an instant to move it for you. Happy hour around the pool and beach is from 4.00 pm to 6.00 pm, during which time the drinks are half price, so it is a good time to work your way through the extensive cocktail menu or enjoy a cold beer.

The pool is not vast but large enough for the numbers of guests, during our stay it was never that busy to deter us from going in. At about mid day at the pool they bring around fragrant cold face towels and fresh cut melon. There are kayaks and a wind surfer that you can use free of charge, if like me you have never tried windsurfing the boys will gladly give you a lesson. It is not as easy as it looks.

Whilst you are there the hotel provide you with a nice raffia beach bag to carry your sun tan lotion, magazines etc., but please note you are not meant to take it home. Just in case you are wondering, as you would expect, the hotel do provide beach towels so there is no need to take your own.

Breakfast is taken in the restaurant right by the beach and there is an excellent choice. How anyone can criticise the choice is beyond us. Indulge and enjoy!!

Fisherman’s Village is a short walk to the East of the hotel, you can either walk along the main road and then turn left or you can walk along the beach. There is a good choice of restaurants serving various styles of food. We ate twice at Nirvarna which is in the heart of the village, it is certainly worth a visit. The spare ribs that I had were lovely and although I have a very good appetite I could not finish.

The Friday night street market in Fisherman’s Village is worth visiting. There are innumerable stalls selling fake designer sunglasses, jewellery, cocktails and street food. (Try the sticky rice and mango if you like sweet desserts),

On the main road just outside the Hotel there are numerous local shops and supermarkets etc where you can get your laundry done (about 100 baht a kilo) or pick up those bits and pieces you forgot to pack. Rather than take mosquito repellent spray we brought a large can in the shops of about 60 baht. There are quite a few massage parlours on the main road just outside the hotel where you can get a good pedicure, manicure or massage at very reasonable prices. We had a number of massages each costing about 400-600 baht.

At regular intervals along the beach you will find locals selling cold beer, fresh fruit or cooking barbecue food that you can buy at a reasonable price. Do try the barbecued chicken or corn on the cob. The fresh cut mango was delicious and far better than we have ever tasted here in England.

We have read reviews that say the sand on the beach is not very nice. It is not fine sand but rather more gritty, we took beach shoes but did not need them as it was not unpleasant to walk on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank exotica324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

A wedding reception at the Bo Phut Resort & Spa is a perfect setting, from arrival, through reception, the walk through the lush gardens opening to the pool area and the beach, planning the reception and menu with the assistance and supervision of Ms Toy (food & beverage manager) who couldn't have been more helpfull, with recommendations and assistance to personalise the place settings.
The tables were set out U shape on the beach facing the ocean, with the kitchen and bar set up also on the beach, lighting, decor, food, staff all absolutely superb right down to the chinese lanterns finale .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcwhsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from a 7 night stay at the Bo Phut resort. Our transfer took approx. 15 minutes from Koh Samui's airport and check in was relaxed and prompt.

We were lucky enough to be given a free upgrade to a Garden Villa and it was an amazing room. Very spacious with separate seating area and coffee table, four poster bed, huge bathroom with his and hers sinks and separate shower and bath. Amenities included kettle, TV with DVD player (reception have a library of DVDs for use) and a high tech air con/lighting system. The decor was beautifully done and cleanliness was A*.

The hotel itself, albeit small in room capacity, was quite spread out and I can understand those saying that staying in deluxe rooms is a little far out from the beach and main hub of the hotel. If booking, I would most definitely consider going for the villas rather than standard rooms.

The pool was lovely, well maintained and next to the beach. I was perturbed to find out on the first morning that the sunbeds around the pool have to be booked (no fee involved). There was no mention of this at check in and we were rather confused when our stuff had been moved off two sunbeds by the pool attendant because someone had already booked out those sunbeds. Not something I have ever come across before and when speaking with other guests, they too found this an odd custom. What happened to first come, first served?

The beach certainly isn't the pristine white sand beach that you expect when visiting Koh Samui, however, it does the job! The sand is coarse and gets extremely hot but flip flops cure that little problem and the water, albeit cloudy was great for swimming.

The location is a 10 minute stroll down the beach to Fishermans village which has a whole range of restaurants and bars. The Friday night walking street market is a must. Outside the front of the hotel is the main road, again with restaurants, supermarkets and a pharmacy. Nothing is out of reach of the hotel.

My biggest gripe with the hotel is the restaurant and service, hence the 3 stars.

Breakfast was fine, everything you could ask for and nothing to complain about. However, the restaurant / bar itself needs to address the heat issue. Eating whilst sweating is not nice! I understand that it is outside and you can't have aircon but to have stand alone fans around the place doesn't look the part. Ceiling fans would help enormously and may encourage some guests to have a drink in the bar at least.

Our first night we attended the management drinks and decided to try the buffet meal. We were one of 4 couples dining, the rest of the restaurant was empty, along with the bar. We each had two cocktails and our bill was nearly 3000 baht and not worth it at all. Upon further investigation, we found the the prices throughout the resort for food and drink were quite simply astronomical. This in turn has made the bar and restaurant an ghost town at night, guests opting to eat out at other venues for a lot less, leaving the hotel with zero atmosphere and clientele passing like ships in the night.

There are two lovely ladies with a food stall on the beach which we visited daily for our lunch, around 300 baht for both of us consisting of a scrummy papaya salad, spring rolls, bbq chicken and corn. The hotel should take note of their prices.

And lastly, service. Front of Desk was excellent. However, service around the rest of the resort I found to be robotic. Not one person all week asked how we were, where we were from or our names. It was simply and meet and greet with a wide grin. Don't get me wrong, this is not bad service but when on holiday in a small boutique hotel, I would prefer to feel like a person, rather than just a number.

All in all, this hotel has the making to be simply fabulous but a little more personality is required along with their prices being reviewed. You won't have a bad holiday here, it will be lovely but it could be better.

Room Tip: Go for a villa as they are better located within the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vic1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
3.9 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
6.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 186 in Bophut
2,298 reviews
4.0 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 186 in Bophut
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bo Phut Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bo Phut Resort & Spa

Property: Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Address: 12/12 Moo 1 | Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#3 Business Hotel in Bophut
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#3 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#6 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bo Phut Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bo Phut Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bo Phut Resort And Spa
Bo Phut Hotel Bophut
Hotel Bo Phut
Bo Phut Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing