We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional service and an awesome day!”

Discovery Dive Centre
Ranked #1 of 68 Tours in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discovery Divers is the premier 5-star PADI dive center in Koh Samui offering the highest quality of service for reasonable prices. We are one of the longest running dive shops on the island as having been in business for over 14 years and have the most experienced and respected full time dive staff in the Gulf of Thailand. Discovery is also one of the only diver centers who runs our own speedboats. We offer a full range of PADI courses from Bubblemaker, Discover Scuba diving and open water diver up to professional level divemaster training. We have full-time dive staff that speaks fluent English, German, French, Chinese, Cantonese, Japanese, Italian and Spanish. At Discovery Divers we are committed to fun and safety. We believe that the customers needs come first. This is why we have access to the widest selection of boats on the island including our own Discovery Divers speedboats and run numerous daily trips to all of the beautiful dives sites in the gulf of Thailand. We realize that it is YOUR vacation and usually can accommodate any request for courses or certified divers to go to the location you want to go on the day you want to go, with the type of boat (tour boat or speedboat)that you want to go on. We also offer photography services and rentals using top of the line Canon cameras and have console and wrist computers for use with courses or certified divers. This along with our stock of exceptional and modern dive equipment from Aqua Lung, Mares and Scubapro will make your dives safe, fun and worry free. Come by and see our dive shop, meet our staff, and see our onsite training pools, equipment room, washing area and classroom in front of the Amari Hotel in Chaweng Beach.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Exceptional service and an awesome day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I were on our honeymoon when another dive company suggested we contact the Discovery Dive team for a Sunday trip out to Koh Tao- we couldn't have been happier we chose them, our experience was awesome!

Rhys, with his open water ticket, and me, with no ticket, were able to enjoy a scuba dive together - what an incredible thing these discovery dives are! My instructor Joe was patient and supportive and I felt so relaxed and calm through out the whole experience. The speed boat was by far the best way to travel out there and was well worth the money. The best part for us, apart from the delicious lunch and Chang beers on the way home, was the inclusion of the underwater photos - the effort Joe went to to make sure we got heaps of great shots, and Eric for helping us through all of our technical issues towards the end, was over and above.

Thanks for making us feel so special and for helping to make sure we had the experience of a lifetime - Well done, we did!

We would highly recommend the Discovery Dive Centre to anyone that's looking for that extra something - for us that attention to detail and high standard was priceless.

You guys rock!!!!!! Can't wait to see you again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    721
    38
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Discovery Dives # 1 in my book”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband & I dived the first time with Discovery Dives in 2010, went out to Mango Bay and Sail Rock. We returned last year to finish our "Open Water" which we started in 2010. Diving was fantastic and the speedboat makes it nice and quick to get to the dive sites. Eric (the owner) could not do more to make us feel welcome. We returned a few weeks ago and dived at Sail Rock. It does not matter how may times you dive at Sail Rock it is so beautiful & there is so many fish! After our dives we went to the new store and ended up booking another days diving... Joe was our instructor and he was/is very professional, but has a great sense of humour. All the crew and instructors are very friendly and love to have a laugh. I have no hesitation in recommending Discovery Dives. Actually, I would not dive with anyone else in Samui. Thanks to Eric and his staff, and we will be back same time in 2015! Craig & Sharon

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric V, Owner at Discovery Dive Centre, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Always great to see you Craig and Sharon. You guys are a lot of fun and now we get to hang out with you a little bit more that we have our new shop right across from you favorite hangout. Thanks for the review and see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Professional well run and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Not the cheapest option but very good value. The staff are friendy and happy. We were collected from the hotel and welcomed at the boat pier by the team. Quick refreshment while our belongings were loaded on board.
A very pleasant boat trip on a powerful speedboat to the small islands to the north
Water was pristine with interesting terrain and currents
Lots to see
Nice pleasant relaxed but proffesionall guide
Recommended

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric V, Owner at Discovery Dive Centre, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thanks for the review Colin. We had a great time with you and Mas. Yes, we do realize that there are cheaper services out there, but as you realized, when you compare our service level to the others the $5-10 more you may pay for us is well worth it. We hope to see both of you back diving with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great dive @ Sail Rock off Koh Sanui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Went out to Sail Rock with the crew from Discovery. As it had been many years since I qualified I was allocated my own instructor, Nicola. She was great and took me through refresher. Dive at Sail Rock was truly amazing and highly recommended. Nicola and all the crew were brilliant. No hesitation in recommending.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BDCAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric V, Owner at Discovery Dive Centre, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thanks for the nice review and for joining us on one of our trips to Sail Rock. We have quite a few divers such as yourself who have not dove in a while for whatever reason and we are happy to be able to offer 1 on 1 service so that you can get comfortable in the water again and with the equipment. We're glad that you had a great experience with Nicola and hope you keep up with the diving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Discover Discovery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Visiting Ko Samui on our final few days in Thailand, my 13 year old daughter and I were hoping to get a dive before heading home. Discovery Dive Center made it happen. Just a simple phone call and we were set to go. They came by to pick up the deposit that afternoon and were there again in the morning to give us a ride to the dock.

Their rental gear was in fine condition - not really beat up like some other shops I've used. The boat got a little crowded but not to the point of being a problem. Great guide to diver ratio. Decent briefing and fun dive sites (Sail Rock - between Ko Panai and Ko Tao). Put that together with a tasty Thai lunch and a cooler of beers (available only after the last dive) and this was a winner.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric V, Owner at Discovery Dive Centre, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
David, I'm glad you and Minny were able to find some time to spend with us diving. We strive to make a great experience for everyone and that includes replacing our equipment often and daily washing and maintenance. In fact all of our customers can see the equipment washed after the dive right as it comes off the boat. We also like to keep the staff to diver ratio very small to offer the best experience possible. And of course we never tire of hearing praises about our food. Our chef Chay loves to see these also. Hope we get to see you on your next trip back to Koh Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Dive Centre also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Discovery Dive Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing