We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, instruction, attitude and equipment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Dive Centre

Discovery Dive Centre
Ranked #1 of 68 Tours in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discovery Divers is the premier 5-star PADI dive center in Koh Samui offering the highest quality of service for reasonable prices. We are one of the longest running dive shops on the island as having been in business for over 14 years and have the most experienced and respected full time dive staff in the Gulf of Thailand. Discovery is also one of the only diver centers who runs our own speedboats. We offer a full range of PADI courses from Bubblemaker, Discover Scuba diving and open water diver up to professional level divemaster training. We have full-time dive staff that speaks fluent English, German, French, Chinese, Cantonese, Japanese, Italian and Spanish. At Discovery Divers we are committed to fun and safety. We believe that the customers needs come first. This is why we have access to the widest selection of boats on the island including our own Discovery Divers speedboats and run numerous daily trips to all of the beautiful dives sites in the gulf of Thailand. We realize that it is YOUR vacation and usually can accommodate any request for courses or certified divers to go to the location you want to go on the day you want to go, with the type of boat (tour boat or speedboat)that you want to go on. We also offer photography services and rentals using top of the line Canon cameras and have console and wrist computers for use with courses or certified divers. This along with our stock of exceptional and modern dive equipment from Aqua Lung, Mares and Scubapro will make your dives safe, fun and worry free. Come by and see our dive shop, meet our staff, and see our onsite training pools, equipment room, washing area and classroom in front of the Amari Hotel in Chaweng Beach.
kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, instruction, attitude and equipment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Got recommended to this dive centre by a friend who used to work as a dive instructor in Koh Samui until a few years ago. I have a teenage son who isn't qualified yet, so could only do a discovery dive but I wanted him to be on the same boat as us so he wouldn't be with strangers all day. Eric, the boss, went out of his way to accommodate us. He put my son on the same boat as the qualified divers and gave him his own dive instructor to stay with him. We were with him for lunch and on the 2nd dive they started off with us and went the other way when it got too deep, so he didn't feel isolated at all, and it was wonderful being able to dive part of it together.
My friend and I had asked Eric for advice on which dive we should do and he recommended Sail Rock or Chumporn Pinnacle. He described them to us, and we chose Chumporn because there was a possibilty of seeing a shark. The dive was amazing. The water was really warm and clear and the visibilty was great.. and not only that, we had the company of a 15 ft leopard whale shark for half of the dive. I hadn't dived in years and was a bit nervous if I could remember everything, but our dive master Em was superb and he also took hundreds of amazing pictures of us with the shark, as well as loads with the colourful coral, which he then emailed to us for free. My son's instructor had taken lots of him too, which came in the email. It was the 3rd discovery dive my son had done, all in different locations and he said the instructor and location he had with Discovery Divers were far superior to the others.
Diving in Koh Samui's not cheap if you want to go to the best sites because they're about 1 1/2 hours away on the speedboat, but it was worth every penny... was every bit as good, if not better than the many dives I've done in the Bahamas.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pumble21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric V, Owner at Discovery Dive Centre, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that your whole group had a good time with us. The reason that we have so many full-time instructors is so we can accomadate situations like yours where we have different needs of people or children in a group. This way we can keep a family or group together on the same speedboat and still be able to tailor the dives to each individuals needs. I'm also happy that you enjoyed the pictures we were able to send you. Hope to see you back here soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    36
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Excellent dive company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I dove three days with Discovery Dive Centre in September, two days in Sailors Rock and one in Koh Tao. As I have been diving for 18 years I have experience from many dive companies around the world and Discovery Dive Center stands out as an excellent company. The staff is experienced and friendly and they have a good organization for everything such as pick up from the hotel, bringing/checking the gear, information on the boat etc. The boats are fast, which is an advantage, they dive with small groups, the divemasters are very professional and you get excellent service on the boat. And not the least, the thai lunch was great! I appreciated diving with Discovery and look forward to dive with them again. / Linda

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric V, Owner at Discovery Dive Centre, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Jo, thanks for the great review. We never tire of hearing about our great dive staff and their skill at taking pictures. I'm glad you pointed out that we do not limit ourselves to just the dives, but try as well as we can to help with everyone's whole experience in Koh Samui. Whether it is helping with finding a hotel, giving advice on how to take better pictures with your cameras or arranging a whale shark to be on your dive (wish we could do that).
We had a lot of fun with you and Geoffrey and hope to see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service beyond anybody's expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband n I have been diving ard the world and when we decided to give Koh Samui sites a try, my husband did his usual intensive research on dive centres. He picked Discovery Divers and after our dives...I must say my husband made the best choice ever. Eric, was so professional and prompt with our queries, he always made us feel that no question was too silly. He assisted us in booking our hotels, transfers, etc. Everything was done so promptly and professionally. The boat In which we travelled in was so new, the suits and equipment...world class. The staff were very well organised and friendly. Everything was packed for us in individual diving bags and the best part was that we did not have to carry them. Jumping into the water was a breeze and the well maintained boat made it so easy for us to get back onto it. The dive itself was great...these guys know what they are doing...planning for us the locations so that we can get the best chances to see what we went there for, ie. Whale sharks. Yes! We saw one at least 4 metres long whale shark! After our 1st dive, we had lunch. Delicious diving meal...comparing to other dive boats, we seemed to be the only ones with huge fried tasty drumsticks and perfectly stirred fried mix veg. Yummy! One more reason why you should def. dive with them is that their dive instructors take fantastic pics and even taught us how to ultilise our Canon Powershot underwater. Eric and team's overall service is def. world class and we really need to thank Eric for making this diving trip so memorable. You going the many extra miles to make this diving trip so memorable for us is something tht we will talk about for may years to come. Well done guys! We plan to come back to Koh Samui and no doubt you will be our only choice for diving in Koh Samui.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's not just about under the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having already done my diving courses I returned to Thailand for more fun dives. This time I wanted to visit sail rock dive site.

Having read reviews for discovery on trip advisor I emailed a number of queries, Eric was always great at replying (even with all the annoying question I had) and very informative.

The day I wanted to dive they'd run out of space on their own boat. But it was no problem to book me on to a smaller boat which other dive operators use.

I was picked up from my guesthouse in the morning and taken to pick up some quick breakfast and meet my dive instructor (Joel).

He noticed straight away I didn't need baby sitting, but also was good at explaining stuff and was professional.

The two dives we did were awesome and had a great day. It was great that Joel also had a (under water) camera and took plenty of photos. Which have now been shared with me on drop box.

Cheers again to both Eric and Joel.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tregidgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric V, Owner at Discovery Dive Centre, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. As we only take a limited amount of people on our boats, we are lucky that we have access to other great speedboats on the island when our boats are full. That way we can accomodate the many people who want to dive with Discovery, without having to use overcrowded boats or the slower boats. And of course as we have a large full-time staff who have been together for years, we are able to keep the very small dive groups or accomodate a request for a 1 on 1 as you asked for. Hope to see you again visiting us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicheno, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic diving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Thanks to Discovery Diving for a great day out. From our prompt pick up to every thing else throughout the day. All was tailored for a great day diving. The site we dived was Sail Rock and if you are a diver this is a must dive if in Koh Samui. Thank you to all who looked after us on the day and in particular Nicola.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Dive Centre also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Discovery Dive Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing