We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday after a poor start” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lawana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lawana Resort
Ranked #72 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great holiday after a poor start”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Booked a De-luxe bungalow for 16 nights. On arrival we were so disappointed with this room it was in a dingy courtyard, 'A' block is at the start of the resort far away from the beach. worst aspect for us was the bathroom which seemed to be comunal because of the open aspect at the roof level.Conversations by the guests on either side were easily heard. When we disputed the de-luxe description of these bungalows we were told that de-luxe was the basic in Thailand and we should have booked Premier. We could not upgrade for 5 days due to the hotel being full. After 5 days we moved to one of the Premier bungalows '221', this was much more to our standard and I would warn anyone who comes here to avoid the De-luxe Garden Bungalows unless you are on a tight budget. There were at least 3 other couples that shared our opinion and upgraded like us. Other than this room problem we found the staff absolutely first class, the manager Sam is a lovely person and she went out of her way to make sure the rest of our stay was trouble free. Breakfast was very good and quite varied. Ample sunbeds both around the pool and on the beach. Gardens are a a joy to walk through, well cared for, orchids abound . When on the beach the passing traders and the fruit and food sellers make for a very enjoyable experience. We will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: As said in the review do not book a de-luxe garden room unless you are on a tight budget or on a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brentony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
March 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to give the public your personal review. The key to your holidays at Lawana is with the Premier rooms. The Deluxe rooms are the smaller ones and cheaper and located up at the top of the resort for people on tight budget.
I am proud of your positive statement for our staff and the resort in general. It will be great honour for us to see you back to Lawana.
I sincerely thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    142
    34
    14
    18
See reviews for
92
121
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

i stayed here for 2 nights. This hotel located on wonderful beach all staffs are very nice , friendly and helpful. Love to do morning swim in the pool with sea view and lay down on white sand beach all the afternoon
i cant' wait to go back again :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SumanaBanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
March 7

Thank you very much.

We offer a peaceful holiday without the high cost. We are glad you love it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Friendly service, nice bungalows, clean environment, directly on the beach with pool and small restaurant. Overall a nice stay. 15 minutes walking distance from the fisherman's village. The breakfast is ok.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank caplee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
March 6, 2013

Thank you very much for the kind comments. We are a small resort so we can take care of all our guests very well.

Hope you will come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City of San Marino, San Marino
Level Contributor
554 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I'm sorry to give only one point to this hotel, because it has a good quality / price ratio and the staff is very friendly and willing to help, but the excursion desk in them is absolutely unreliable. We understand that the owners are not the same, so the fault is not due directly to the hotel's owners, but before entering someone to organize the excursion within itself must ensure that it is serious and reliable, otherwise it is also the hotel's good name. Hopefully this review will make him understand this. In fact, since there we trust them in this excursion desk we booked a transfer from Ko Samui to Trang presenting the morning (by the way very soon) at the time agreed upon, but no one came to pick us up if not 40 minutes after making us miss the ferry and many hours coming much later in Trang. Unforgivable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Photostravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
March 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments.
We have taken your concern re the tour desk. We have screened the tenant before we let them in. They are now allowed to over charge guests. They are not allowed to steal guoests from the tour operators. This is not enough, and we will need to take this matter further.
By the way, Trang is very far from Ko Samui and we did not know that there was a bus service for this destination. I have once tried the transit from the island to Phuket and it took 4 hours more than the schedules said. So they are not very reliable. All guests should note.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had booked to stay at lawana resort in June 2012 as I was attending a wedding in Samui. Three days before I was due to arrive I recieved an email from to hotel stating they had no electricity. As my booking was over new year this made it very difficult to find a similar priced hotel in the same location. After finally finding another hotel, not in the same area, and many emails back and forth bgetween booking.com and lawana I then recieved an email on the day before my arrival to say that somehow some of the rooms had electricity and that they would upgrade me to a room with electricity. This was very frustrating as I had spent three days looking for another hotel only to be told my origianl booking would bwe okay. When i arrived it appeared that all rooms had electricity and no part of the hotel seemed to be affected by no electricity. Whilst my accommodation and the overall hotel was fine and okay value for money I was unimpressed by the annoyance this issue caused three days out before arrival. I also am not sure that no electricity was entirely true and this may have just been an excuse for trying to get me to cancel my booking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sootstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
March 6, 2013

I sincerely apologize for this late reply as I have just been able to learn how to respond.

This is from the corporate office of Lawana Resort. We are in Bangkok.

Ko Samui suffers electrical black out all the time. We are a 3-star property and cannot afford a standby electrical generator. We had suffered very badly and had caused a lot of confusion to our guests and even to ourselves during the total blackout in December last year where the government had made empty promises for the return of the electricity. The central government has stepped in after the serious incedences of blackiut in December to build up additional electrical supply from the mainland by35% to fo be available in April 2013 to solve the problem altogerther.

I must thank my staff that at the end they had been able to extend proper services to you and all the guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I reserved a room online through the hotel's website. However, when I got to the hotel to check in, they said that even though I had made a reservation online, they had given our room away. Management said that they got us a room at their sister hotel, the Natural Samui. This hotel was a 15 minute drive away and nowhere near the beach. Management said that they would have a free shuttle to bring us back on forth between the two hotels so we could spend time at the beach at the Lawana. They drove us other to their sister hotel and once we get there, the Natural Samui claimed that there was no free shuttle! We had to pay for a taxi to get between the two hotels, which costs over $10 USD each way. We also paid for breakfast when I made my online reservation but the Natural Samui did not provide any breakfast.

I am so disappointed in this hotel and would highly recommend that travelers do not stay here, as they screwed us over every way they could.

Room Tip: Do not reserve a room at this hotel because they simply will not honor your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
March 11, 2013

Thank you very much for airing your review.
It offers no consequence to apologize to you this late.
We have made investigation into the issue. There was a confusion after we had no electricity for three and a half days and when it came back and our computer was back working again only to see so many over bookings. Poor language problem had made the situation worse. We had tried to accommodate guests at the nearest property, and actually paid them more than what we charged you, and left the word that any time you would like to go to Lawana Resort you could call and we would send a car. That never happened.

At this point the management in Bangkok will offer you a free stay for the same number of nights that you have missed, plus we will pick you up at the Samui airport for free, if you will ever return to Ko Samui.

We regret that this has happened to you, especially someone far away from Texas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Traveled from California with our 3 year old son and enjoyed our stay. Although Samui is not what she used to be this hotel is trying hard to stick with their old Samui charm. Our rooms were VERY clean and the staff was extremely friendly. Nice pool and beach front access made this place a Resort without feeling over the top.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
March 6, 2013

Thank you very much for the clear review. We are a small property and have good opportunities to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us. It has been an honour that you were all the way from Houston and chosen us for your long long long haul holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#25 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#53 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#79 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#88 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smile House Resort
Smile House Resort
#37 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.7 mi away
Saboey Resort and Villas
Saboey Resort and Villas
#44 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawana Resort

Property: Lawana Resort
Address: 180/11 moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#37 Family Hotel in Bophut
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lawana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lawana is located directly on the middle of the quiet Boput Beach. This is a perfect resort to relax on your holiday. Our garden is so rich and green that you will expect of a tropical garden. Our rooms are modernly furnished with all the necessary amenities like any 5 * hotels but we only charge you 3*. There is a supermarket next door, a pharmacy across the street, bank and ATM is 100 meters to walk, the Fisherman Village with 100 local restaurants are 300 meters to walk on the beach. Our restaurant offers full seaview with full American buffet breakfast with fresh eggs cooked to your order each morning.We offer free WIFI in all public areas. We offer free parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lawana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing