We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveler rating
166
174
45
17
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
166
174
45
17
22
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 424 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Traveled from California with our 3 year old son and enjoyed our stay. Although Samui is not what she used to be this hotel is trying hard to stick with their old Samui charm. Our rooms were VERY clean and the staff was extremely friendly. Nice pool and beach front access made this place a Resort without feeling over the top.

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaliforniaChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

March 6, 2013

Thank you very much for the clear review. We are a small property and have good opportunities to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us. It has been an honour that you were all the way from Houston and chosen us for your long long long haul holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Spent 6 nights at Lawana resort over the new year period. I really enjoyed the place. Very relaxing. The staff were all friendly and helpfull. The bungalow I stayed in was very comfortable and clean. The AC was a bit noisy but it worked well. The food in the restaurant was good and they have a good choice on the menu. Check out the happy hour, its worth it. The ground are well maintained. I will definatley stay at Lawana Resort again next time I'm in Koh Samui.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

March 6, 2013

Thanks so much for the clear review. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are always ready for families. Supermarket is next door. Pharmacy is just across the street. Bank and ATM is 200 meters away. Forty local restaurants at the Fisherman's village are 400 meters walk on the beach which we highly recommend for a relaxing evening. Yet we really enjoy very quiet location on the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Overall we enjoyed it here. We stayed for just three nights to adjust for time difference from our flights.

GOOD
Bungalows are clean and well taken care of.
Bed was comfortable.
Resort grounds are well manicured.
Pool is refreshing and well maintained.
Lots of deck chairs around pool and on beach.
Massage options are cheaper than most places.
Restaurant has menu options as well as breakfast buffet.
Food vendors on beach make some tasty items.

AVG
Walk to Fishermans village is about 20 mins along the beach or a bit longer along the highway. Not a big deal as the walk is nice and cabs are everywhere.
I think the place is a bit pricey but it is on the beach and it is comfortable, most people would like it here.

BAD
None.

Highly recommended for couples, families and groups; this is not a party resort/hotel.

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikesEpicLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

March 6, 2013

It is a real honour to service you from all the way from Canada. You must be of a personality because the Mexican beaches are closer to you and yet you had chosen Ko Samui , and and and Lawana Resort.

Please come back.

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Loved Bophut, lots of character. hotel is within walking distance to the village but we hired a bike to go in and out to Fishermans village, loved the village. There are a lot of eating places on the beach both sides of Lawana. Breakfast was adequate but not tons of choices like some other Thailand hotels. Our room was nice but a lot of the little touches that you see on the website were not there i.e. canopy over bed etc but the rooms had nice little thai touches. The only complaint I really have about the hotel is the beds, rock hard and we had to buy sleeping tablets and have quite a few massages!! Nice pool and beach in front of resort. Staff at the hotel were exceptional, so friendly and helpful, special mention to Toni at the bar. Would visit again.

Room tip: Get a room at the front of resort closest to beach and pool.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

March 6, 2013

Thank you very much for taking time to offer this clear review.

Re the hard bedding. We now offer 2 inch thick down topper to go on the mattress upon request at no extra charge for those who would prefer softer bed.

One very personal thing. We do not recommend that guests rent a motorbike because of the numerous road accidents. Remember most guests are from Europe and they are used to ride on the opposite side of the road, and people can make mistakes even more so when so many of the young tourists are drunk and riding. The rest of the story, you can guess.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed at Lawana for 6 nights beginning of December. We were 4 couples travelling together and was able to get bungalows all close together. A wonderful relaxing time was had by all. The bungalows were excellent, large, very well maintained and clean. Lot's of outside space for "happy hour". They keep the resort spotless. Our bungalows were a short walk to the restuarant, beach etc. As it was the end of low season the beach and resort were very quiet which was great. The staff was very friendly, always smiling. The only issue was the loss of power for the last 2 1/2 days we were there. No fault of the resort however went down the beach one night for dinner and into fisherman's village the other night as they both had a generator. They still managed to put on a hearty breakfast. A huge thanks to the massage ladies. We would definately stay at the Lawana if we ever make it back to Koh Samui.

Date of stay: December 2012
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank letsgoonatripCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review.

You really mean Calgary, Canada? It is such an honour that your have chosen to spend your holiday with us, a very small and simple resort, so far away from you. We surely offer all the services and overall quality compatable to the 5 star properties without the extended costs to you as guests, nor to ourselves as owners.

Please come back and enjoy more. As return guests, you may contact the resort directly for special deals and treatment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews