We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet and Safe”
Review of Lawana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lawana Resort
Ranked #71 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
British Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet and Safe”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

My wife and I were first time visitors to Koh Samui and spent 13 nights at the resort. The premier garden bungalow that we stayed in was very quiet, clean and safe (#117). The resort staff were very friendly and were able to assist us with all our local needs during our stay. After traveling to other parts of the island we were glad that we stayed in the Boh Phut area. We dined in the restaurant several times as well as exploring other dining opportunities in the area. The location is convenient with restaurants, grocery markets, bank, etc. within easy walking distance. The pool is kept very clean, there were ample poolside/beach loungers and there were excellent massage services both poolside and right on the beach. A couple of down sides to Koh Samui is a lack of cross walks (often the gate staff of the larger hotels in the area would assist visitors in crossing the often busy roadway) and the disproportionate cost of taxis. We wound up taking the local "truck buses" with the locals, both for the experience and the more reasonable costs. We would recommend the Lawana for a trouble free relaxing stay.

Room Tip: We booked early and ask for a quiet location within the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MacBritishColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
March 7, 2013

Taxi service is still a problem in Ko Samui. The taxi shows 'meter' sign on the roof but it is never turned on. You will need to negotiate a price before you jump in.
God only knows what the appropriate charge is, when you are just a new visitors. The hotel staff will assist you to get a taxi.
The cheap small bus is an alternative. Here again the hotel staff can guide you whenever you need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    148
    36
    14
    18
See reviews for
96
127
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I was surprised when this hotel was in our price range and delighted with the bungalow that we were given. The pool is lovely as are the setting and staff that work there. The beach was a little disapointing and I didn't really feel the urge to dive in to the sea.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
March 7

Thanks for your kind comments.
It had been an honour to have serviced you, We do not have a sales agent in the UK and your review will certainly help people in the UK to decide to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ED
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed in a Garden Premier Room here as it wasn't much more expensive than the basic room. We only paid about 25 UK pounds a night for the room as it was low season. The room was spacious and had a nice balcony out the front and a big bathroom. The staff were friendly, the pool was great with loungers on the beach as well as by the pool. They have a Happy Hour for cheap cocktails in the evening and the food in the restaurant was great. There is also a covered area offering massages on the beach which I would recommend. The bungalows are surrounded by gardens and are well looked after every day, just remember mosquito repellent. I would definitely recommend a stay here as it is worth the money and unlike the larger resorts isn't over crowded.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
March 7,

Thank you very much for your kind comments.
You will need to close the door behind you every time you get in and out of the room. This is very crucial wherever you travel to in Thailand, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam and Burma. We are tropical and the mosquitoes are there. The old repelant helps but it is NOT enough. When you go out for dinner, please consider this advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed in one of the Garden Bungalows which was spacious and nicely decorated with a decent bathroom, efficient AC and cable TV. More than adequate for our requirements. The pool is awesome - located right next to the beach and the restaurant. The staff are all very friendly - and more importantly, genuine (as opposed to many places we've been) - and only too happy to help. Breakfast was also good - a decent buffet selection: eggs as you want them, bacon etc and the usual continental/fruit etc.

Would totally recommend this place for flashpackers - you totally get value for your money.

Room Tip: The Garden Bungalows are set the furtherest away from the beach - so its perhaps a 100m walk and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NISKandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
March 7
Retired people seem to enjoy our property more than younger people. Please remember we offer two room categories. The right one is Premier Garden Bungalow where quality is high. Deluxe Garden Rooms are much small and cheaper and furthermost away from the beach and the pool and it is for guests who need to watch the budget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I used to see the pictures of Lawana Resort and invariably dream of staying there. I hav a chance to stay at Lawana Resort over a long weekend and all I can say is my stay over there is unforgettable. The resort is very beautiful. The decoration is excellent. My room is a Deluxe Private Pool Bungalow. The room no. 122 was lovely, spacious, airy, and the décor was modern & contemporary.

The service from there is superb. They give me the excellent service. All serve with smile and sincerity. The breakfast is simple but very delicious.
The room service ladies were amazing, always friendly and smiley and very efficient. The Staff altogether were ALL very professional, amazingly friendly and so helpful. They made our stay so special and the level of service we received was equal to none. The service was always very efficient & attentive and yet again totally unobtrusive.

Lastly , I would like to thank you Khun Samniang, the Lawana Resort Manager for your best care. I am considerably happy for my stay there.

Room Tip: Room with private pool is worth to try and very reasonable price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhLanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
March 9, 2013

THank you very much for your comments. You have said it and made us very proud. We were not sure if our local set up would meet your HiSo expectations. Please come back so we can do more for you. Here are what new since your visit. New beanbags on the beach, hand drawn local map, duck down topper to go on top of the mattress. As return guest please email us for rates reduction and free airport transfer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

A welcome relief after dirty Bangkok! Garden deluxe room for first night which was basic with no safe or slippers and dressing gown (which were advertised with the room) and there was an outside bathroom (with a small shelter). It didnt feel very private and was worried about mosquitos. The room was very pretty though- although slightly dirty sheets (blood stains).
Food was overpriced but the pizza was good. The happy hours were very good though and nice cocktails.
Ugraded room for rest of the trip which was in beautiful bungalows. There was very pretty cushions and all the extras- such as dressing gown, slippers, safe and an inside bathroom which was very nice.
Pool was nice and very clean with good beach area too.
We were annoyed about false advertsing on the garden deluxe rooms and hotel staff would not update the website or refund our money. They were unhelpful and rude at some points which really put a damper on the stay.
Short walk to fisherman's village with good bars and restaurants but they all close about 11 except one beach bar with beanbags at the end.
Overall lovely pretty clean hotel but it is a shame they rip people off with false advertising.

Avoid the travel agent within the hotel and go down the road near the Kodak shop.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pearl2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
March 8.
My apologies for this late response. I have just been able to learn how to do it.
As you had found out we offer two categories. Our top standard is Premier Garden Bungalow. The Deluxe Garden rooms are cheap, price only concern, and small room for people tight on budget, but yet at the cheap rate we offer swimming pool and beach. Also the "false ad" was done by the web agents who always over blow everything they sell. One website even had published that the Deluxe Garden rooms (USD40 per night) are bigger than our Premier Garden rooms(USD95 per night). I wish the public could have seen it in the difference in the rates.

I hope you will return to Lawana. You can book direct to our email and get a special treatment for a return guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

From check in to check out, my stay was very pleasant.[3 days]
Pretty gardens surround the rooms.
The rooms are big and with every comfort..a/c tv etc, even complimentary water in the fridge everyday.Staff very pleasant and rooms spotless..quirkey colour schemes most attractive !
Try to get one close to the beach/pool.
Pool area comfortable as well as the restaurant.Very good breakfast.
Unfortunately,as seems to be the case in most resorts, the food and drinks prices are expensive,Pity..
The beach is clean and most enjoyable for swimming.
A great stop over for catching the ferry to the other islands.

Room Tip: Get a room close to sea/pool, and one that does not have the huge windows opening onto the pathways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigsouthafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
March 8

Thank you very much for the precise comments of your stay with us. The best rooms for your purpose will be 102, 103, 104 and 105. They are close to the pool and the beach and with seaview with no extra charge.

Please come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.0 mi away
Free House Bungalow
Free House Bungalow
#110 of 186 in Bophut
155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#51 of 186 in Bophut
304 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#17 of 186 in Bophut
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eden Beach Bungalows
Eden Beach Bungalows
#6 of 219 in Bophut
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smile House Resort
Smile House Resort
#42 of 186 in Bophut
616 reviews
0.7 mi away
Enjoy Beach Hotel
Enjoy Beach Hotel
#5 of 151 in Bophut
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawana Resort

Property: Lawana Resort
Address: 180/11 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#37 Family Hotel in Bophut
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lawana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lawana is located directly on the middle of the quiet Boput Beach. This is a perfect resort to relax on your holiday. Our garden is so rich and green that you will expect of a tropical garden. Our rooms are modernly furnished with all the necessary amenities like any 5 * hotels but we only charge you 3*. There is a supermarket next door, a pharmacy across the street, bank and ATM is 100 meters to walk, the Fisherman Village with 100 local restaurants are 300 meters to walk on the beach. Our restaurant offers full seaview with full American buffet breakfast with fresh eggs cooked to your order each morning.We offer free WIFI in all public areas. We offer free parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lawana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing