We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway if you like to be pampered for a reasonable price”
Review of Lawana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lawana Resort
Ranked #77 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Lawana resort is located on a beautiful part of Bo Phut beach. Being at the north means you can enjoy the sun from dusk to dawn. Have a massage at "Best Thai" on the beach just of Lawana.
We booked a Garden Deluxe room. These rooms are in a seperate part of the resort and are the most basic rooms they have. Nevertheless there's airco, sat-tv, a fridge and a safe deposit box. You can also use the free wifi. All other bungalows ae located in the main area surrounded by beautiful palm trees, orchids and other tropical plants.
Lawana has a nice breakfast buffet with some variations over the week. They prepare eggs to your liking. Also the lunch and dinner is excellent. We only had their Thai dishes, but it was all very tasty. In the evening the tables are set on the beach. Very romantic.
The staff is extremely friendly without being submissive or being too present.

Room Tip: The pool room is nice for families with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VictorAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

March 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay with us in May 2011.

We will stop servicing our Deluxe Garden room in May.

We will only service our standard Premier Garden Bungalow. This is our signature rooms which are much bigger, close the pool, close to the beach, close to the restaurant.

Please return to us and email us directly for free airport pick up and rate reduction for return guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 343 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2011

Stayed here during the severe flooding in march, so the review is probably not typical as we could not use the pool or the beach, we could only occasionally get taxis to go anywhere and the resort was running out of food by the time we were able to leave the island.

The rooms are separate bungalows and are furnished Thai style, very clean and comfortable and functional. (Don't stay in the garden bungalows though as the surroundings don't look as nice as the rest of the resort.) My daughter was staying at a 5* resort up the road and she felt that Lawana was a much nicer resort because of the separate bungalows and the small resort feel of it. It would be a lovely place for a family to stay, particularly if you got one of the rooms with the private pools.

There are a lot of restaurants on the beach nearby (the restaurant at Free House next door has superb food) and the Fishing Village is an easy walk either down the beach or along the road for a huge selection of restaurants. Also a cheap taxi ride gets you into Chaweng if you want the bright lights.

The staff were lovely and polite, and the breakfasts were good the surroundings are lovely with the plant lined paths meandering around the rooms.

The staff at reception whilst lovely people and very polite were not really able to help with much as their English was not very good (or my accent was bad !) and the circumstances were pretty horrific, but really I would have no complaints, a nice smile goes a long way :-)

We would definitely stay there again, and have recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review on your visit to our resort.
The kind comments on Lawana. It makes us proud. She is not the first person to comment in such fashion,tough. We are 3* and sell at 3* rates. Your daughter has experienced something else. If you will notice that we have successfully broken away from the traditional design:
Through the front door, the toilet is one one side and your cupboard on the other, then your bed against the wall and your work table and tv on the opposite wall, then some chairs, then the doors open to the balcony. We think it has been there for more 50 years everywhere in the world, new york, london, sydney, etc. The rooms look the same. Our Premier Garden Bungalow, and the Deluxe Private pool Bungalow as well, beat that old fashioned concept of a hotel room at no higher cost.
I sincerely appreciate it that you have already recommended us to your friends. Please note that we offer a policy for return guests who contact us directly on our email will gef a rate reduction. Plus when you visit us 10 times, we will treat you for a free stay for your 11 visit.

You have also well mentioned that our Deluxe Garden rooms are for the budget group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Referring to the Review on the 06th of September, we also had issues with the cancellation of the room we had booked. We had booked 5 nights of which we stayed four.

48 hours notice was given but we were still charged the full amount and when we complained we were given excuses about the "boss" in Bangkok etc, what also hindered this process is the staff spoke very little English.

We had booked the deluxe room of which was basic but what bothered me is that the back of the room was open so we were constantly bitten by mosquitoes.

I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlannahHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
The bathroom had been designed with half of the roof open to give guests the tropical outdoor feeling. Insects can come into this area but as long as you keep the door behind you to the bedroom, your sleep would not have been disturbed. However, we have other rooms that with the top totally closed up that you could have moved to. Perhaps, it was the language problem that had hindered proper services to you. I sincerely apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We had a really great time in Lawana. They gave us a special price, that's why we stayed there and it was definitely worth it. The room was very Thai (the only thing I don't get is the glass door to the bathroom/toilet....), clean and had one great facility - special "deck-chair", which our 3-year-old daughter loved and spent a lot of time on it. All bungalow have terraces which help relax. And surrounding is just beautiful. It has also a decent pool, and eating very diverse breakfast just by the sea is more than nice! I truly recommend the place. Just don't book the cheaper rooms - they aren't as nice and the surroundings of them are much, much worse!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madka_Moska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

March 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
You have said it all and have made us very proud. Please come back and we hope to do even more for you. The new t2hings we have are the bean bags on the beach for the sunset drinks, new hand drawn local map, the new duck down topper to go on top of the mattress.
As you have pointed out our Deluxe Garden rooms are located at the top of the resort, close two staff areaa, and only meant for budget travellers.
Please contact us on the email when you plan your next visit so we can give you a reduction and free pick up from airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Wonderful place..been before and will again...the ONLY drawback in Samui (not just the Lawana) is the unbelievably large amount of loud overweight Germans who smoke..everywhere..constantly..while eating..in front of their children..in my face.at breakfast..every restaurant...haven't seen that intensity and seriousness of smoking for many years....deeply unpleasant, old fashioned and particularly off putting when followed by the inevitable chesty cough and throat clearing...it was the only thing that would make me think twice about returning

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BritPol186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

March 8,2013
Thank you very much for your review of your visit to ko samui.
I can understand the frustration from the smoke. One would have two choices in Ko Samui,firstly, Lawana with many Germans and Scandinavians, and secondly, other locations where only russian menus are used.
We discourage smoking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We arrived hot and sweaty at noon Christmas day having been delayed by snow for 5 days and been travelling for 20 hours so feeling a little jaded to say the least. The entrance of the Lawana resort was less than palatial and only moderately inviting but we were greeted with a smile by the receptionist. We had some forms to fill in and then we followed the 'bus boy' to our room. The Lawana Resort is perpendicular to the main road of BhoPut and we walked for some minutes down a winding palm and shrub lined path past the various individual cabin bedrooms until we reached ours nearly at the pool side. The numbers start at 101 (a suite) so the lower the number of the room the nearer the beach and pool. Our room was pink (they take pride in the fact that the rooms are painted individual bright colours) and had a king size bed with a raised platform with recliner, there were two chairs, a dressing table with stool, a TV (which had three/four english speaking channels), a safe (large enough for even a laptop) and an ensuite large bathroom with bath and shower over, basin and WC. The room was spotlessly clean but smelt of damp and was stiflingly hot. Looking at the horror of my face the assistant put the air con on (no ceiling fan) and announced that it would cool down in about half an hour! Once we were left on our own we more closely inspected the room and found little extras like a couple of umberellas (very useful as it turned out), a 'beach basket' to carry personal possessions to the pool (particularly important if you are at the road end!), thick, large white bath sheets, pool towels and crisp cotton linen with a beautifully made bed. We hurridly changed and went to the pool. This was spotlessly clean (all holiday) and filled to the brim with crystal clear water. The restaurant placed by the side of the pool offered a range of food all day from breakfast, 7 - 10, until the close at 10.30pm. All the Thai food was of an excellent quality and we had our first dinner at a table on the sand and were able to choose fresh fish from a large selection on display (sadly this was the only time this was available as the weather did not permit later in the week). Breakfast was vast with a choice of cooked eggs, thai food, cereal, yoghurt, toast, danishes - the choice was endless. The Staff were without exception friendly and the Manageress was often around asking if all was well. Room service was available (although not tried), the laundry was efficient and cheap, the masseurs were reasonably cheap (250bht for 1 hour) and good. Happy hour for drinks from 1pm onwards. All in all the Lawana is a comfortable, clean and friendly place to stay. The major downside was the sand.. it was clean but very large grains and incredibly difficult to walk on; it sort of disappeared when you trid to 'push off'. This in itself is not an issue but we were advised to walk along the beach to the Fisherman's Village for shopping and a vast choice of restaurants; we tried this the second night and quickly gave up. It is possible to walk along the road but it is a long way round... we found it very easy to hail a taxi from outside the Hotel and for Bht150-200 got a lift in. The most important thing to us for our holiday was to have WiFi (to keep an eye on our business) and this was available however only by the pool, restaurant and on the beach in front of the hotel. We spoke to the Manageress and she told us that she had already arranged to have he WiFi connected to the rooms for next year which would be better considering the time difference between Thailand and the UK. I would definitely stay at the Lawana Resort again if we ever return to Koh Samui.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

March 8, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We now have the wi fi for all the rooms and the public areas including the beach, the pool, the restaurant anf thr front office.
We are really honoured by your clear review of your experiences.
Please return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

I made the mistake of reserving a three day accommodation directly from the hotel's web site. A couple of days later decided to cancel the reservation as we got a better deal with Anantara in Bophut. Cancellation was supposed to be 100% and I did receive a cancellation letter. Lawana's web site has a transalation program so the cancellation was partially in my native language (Finnish). As it happend, they didn't understand their own cancellation form! So I received a full payment of 11000 THB on my next credit card bill.

I sent the cancellation email back to hotel and demanded a refund to my cc account. Well, never got it. I even sent them my Bic and Iban code together with my bank account number. No action. Someone had already quit his job, a new general manager was hospitalized... blah, blah... excuse after excuse. I have NEVER come across such unprofessional management anywhere in any hotel.
Fortunately I have friends living in the island, so one them collected the amount in cash and brought it back to Finland. This all took four (4) months. And not even a proper apology from the hotel. No need to add whether I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Btw, the Anantara in Bophut was just great with superb location and wonderfully attentive five star service.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Ilona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwan p, Owner at Lawana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

March 18, 2013

We are sorry that you have bad experience with our reservation.

However, you have not been robbed. You reserved a room. You paid for the room. You cancelled your reservation. You asked for refund. You received your refund. What else can we do for you?

During your request for the refund, myself as the president of the company, had written to you directly and personally, to guarantee the refund that my people were trying to process.

We apologize if there was anything else that we should have done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.8 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#58 of 185 in Bophut
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Free House Bungalow
Free House Bungalow
#118 of 185 in Bophut
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#96 of 185 in Bophut
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#43 of 185 in Bophut
1,619 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#20 of 185 in Bophut
995 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#36 of 185 in Bophut
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawana Resort

Address: 180/11 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#37 Family Hotel in Bophut
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $29 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lawana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lawana is located directly on the middle of the quiet Boput Beach. This is a perfect resort to relax on your holiday. Our garden is so rich and green that you will expect of a tropical garden. Our rooms are modernly furnished with all the necessary amenities like any 5 * hotels but we only charge you 3*. There is a supermarket next door, a pharmacy across the street, bank and ATM is 100 meters to walk, the Fisherman Village with 100 local restaurants are 300 meters to walk on the beach. Our restaurant offers full seaview with full American buffet breakfast with fresh eggs cooked to your order each morning.We offer free WIFI in all public areas. We offer free parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lawana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing