We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Bucarest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

The hotel is up to the expectation. Little things on the not so positive side: one would be the beach, which is not that great, second would be the mosquitos. Restaurant was also wonderful, food, atmosphere are up to the price one pays (not cheap for Thailand, by the way). Service very good, spa excellent also. Highly recommended, indeed a zen experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calator77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    207
    48
    14
    8
See reviews for
193
818
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

From our first impression when we entered the resort late evening and saw the beauty of the gardens and lighting we knew we had the right place. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful (and well presented), the menu - both food and drink were excellen wine list bigger than war and peace (though a little pricey). Beach a little smaller than we expected, though as we did not get the best weather, this was not important! Definately reccommended for a luxurious getaway - probably best for couples than singles/groups though.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Revilo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

My wife, daughter (2 years old) and my wife's parents have just returned from a christmas and NY trip to Samui and I wanted to say a big thank you to all the staff at Zazen. The word boutique is used so often by many but Zazen fully deserve to include this in their name. A boutique needs to provide a very high touch, personal and memorable experience. It needs to have staff that remember that every encounter is an opportunity to create a big impression and one where people will refer them to others. Full marks in all areas!

From the moment we arrived and were given scented cool towels, tropical juice and warm smiles we began to start to relax into what turned out to be a wonderful holiday. All week we experienced a consistent effort by all staff from the front reception, gardeners, waitresses, daily cleaners and spa staff to make our stay a very special one.

We also had the advantage of arriving at the hotel at night which was a magical experience. Burning lantern's line the pathways through Zazen whilst tropical flowers, palm trees and relaxing waterfalls adorned with thai statues are doted throughout the grounds of the hotel.

This isn't a big place with probably circa 20-30 deluxe bungalows (big raised double beds, flat screen TV's, free wi-fi, well stocked mini bar and all beautifully decorated in typical thai design) but this is what is great about Zazen as you feel you can still enjoy your own space.

The restaurant is also truly wonderful with fantastic food available from breakfast through to late dinner which is when the very talented Head Chef comes into his own and a number of people come from outside of the hotel to eat here in the evening. To top this off they have a wonderful wine cellar which one can see through the glass floor in part of the restaurant.

Having arrived in Thailand after a busy few months at work I took myself straight to the spa and booked in for a signature massage. It was so good and relaxing and the staff were so wonderful,attentive and discreet that I came back every day! Batteries fully recharged!!

To top his all off whilst I was in Samui I purchased some thai arts and crafts and had these sent back to Hong Kong. These were supposed to arrive a few days later but didn't arrive and FedEX had no records of these being picked up. I couldn't reach the store that I had bought them from so my last thought was to ask the hotel for help and dropped them an email. I didn't even have the name of the shop but just simply a location.

The following day I had the full contact details of the manager and store as the very kind hotel driver had gone to where I described and had spoken to the owner. The issues were resolved due to an address being taken down incorrectly and all arrived 2 days later. Bravo Zazen!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattandjess99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostfildern
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

Rooms are beautifully designed, beds very comfortable, the hotel grounds are delightfully and tastefully laid out, the restaurant is excellent if pricey (the Thai dishes are more reasonably priced than the European ones and were without fail exquisitely presented and delicious), and the staff welcoming and thoroughly friendly. The only disappointment was the beach; Bophut itself isn't much of a beach, just a narrow strip of very coarse sand, and Zazen has one of the worst parts of it; at times there wasn't much more than an area the size of a tennis court. On the positive side the hotel obviously puts a lot of effort into making the most of what beach they have. Otherwise Zazen is a thoroughly charming establishment, and worth paying that bit extra for.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AssyntJonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from our trip to Koh Samui and stayed at the Zazen Hotel which was very well kept from the grounds to the rooms. Plenty of staff who were all very pleasant. Gardens as you enter hotel are amazing and because it was christmas they looked even more amazing with all the lights and decorations. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean5308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
totnes
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

Zazen is a masterpiece of service, beauty and great food. the staff are impeccable and the rooms stunning. The restaurant menu is creative and reasonably priced. Lots of extras - free use of internet, beautiful bathrooms and helpful restaurant managers

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolmuk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

I was gifted this hotel for one night by a fellow traveller and it was a beautiful experience. The room was stunning, the gardens beautiful, and the whole thing infused with the characteristic France-meets-Thailand style in this area of Bo Phut. I didn't manage to avail myself of all the facilities, but the two dinners I had were beautiful (see separate review of the restaurant). The little beach at the hotel is the best along this less-than-beautiful stretch of Samui, but I loved sitting there on a comfy lounger, popping into the sea now and then.
I was surprised to find that the hotel is popular with French families (esp given the price of around 12k baht per night over the Xmas period) and being surrounded by kids wouldn't be my first choice. However, the place is big enough to absorb everyone and I loved my short stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshwonderLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
3.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
4.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
4.3 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: 177 Moo 1, Bophut Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bophut
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#7 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zazen is a stylish true Boutique Resort located on the beautiful Bophut Beach. Perfect for a relaxing holiday and a romantic honeymoon. Zazen offers 26 stylish villas, and 2 of the most popular restaurants on the island with traditional Thai cuisine and fine French / Mediterranean dining. Le Spa Zen will help you find the deepest levels of relaxation. Welcome to Zazen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zazen Boutique Hotel Bophut
Zazen Boutique Resort And Spa
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing