We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good, but not perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good, but not perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We visited Zazen in July 2014 and enjoyed our stay. However, for more than THB 8000 per night we expected perfection, but there is definitely room for improvement.

We enjoyed
- the very friendly management
- the great restaurant (bit expensive though)
- great breakfast
- beautifull roomy garden villa, with a great bed
- great dvd collection, which you can borrow for free (and a great tv and lounge area in the garden villa)
- perfect free wifi and computer access

What could be improved
- (part of) restaurant / breakfast staff was not that friendly (sometimes even a bit arrogant) and often forget our order and just brought out something else (which ended up in a discussion 'no we did not order that...')
- the bathroom was in an 'outdoor setting', which may be a nice idea in winter, but in July it got uncomfortable hot and let mosquitos in
- bathroom was not that clean (eg. fungus on the shower head, even after making a remark to housekeeping)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gottgens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor! We are happy to read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. It has been a real pleasure for us to be at your service and we are glad that you appreciated our team as well as our restaurant!

However, sadly, we apologize for the inconvenience regarding the cleanliness and mosquitoes in your bathroom as well as the service at the breakfast. In fact we have taken actions to improve the breakfast experience already and are working the bathrooms now.

The team and I look forward welcoming you again soon!

Best regards,

Claudio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    207
    48
    14
    8
See reviews for
194
818
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Zazen at the weekend and could not have improved the hotel in any way. The staff are friendly, informative and attentive. The resort is so clean, peaceful and beautifully decorated and landscaped. We arrived at night and were delighted when the car pulled off the road into the candle lit and fairy light entrance to Zazen.
The food is quite simply the best hotel restaurant dining we have experienced. The location is beachfront with stunning views out to sea. It was so peaceful to sit in the hotel bar and look out at the views. The sea is calm and shallow, with no rocks, a sandy beach with big sun loungers.
We used the hotels' mountain bike and kayaks which are complimentary; a lovely touch.
Its a 15 minute walk along the beach to reach Fishermans Village for the bars and restaurants, or a short taxi ride. However there are places to eat and drink next to the hotel if you do not want to eat onsite.
Zazen is the perfect hotel for relaxing, romantic breaks or for families. A real gem.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katielm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Katie,

The team and I would like to thank you for giving this nice feedback of your stay at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa. It’s always pleasant to read that our guest enjoyed the peaceful surrounding, the service and our restaurant.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future,

Kindest Regards,

Claudio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Had 6 days at Zazen and loved our stay here. It is boutique style accommodation and such a relaxing setting. The food was fantastic. Breakfast was perfect with nice tea, coffee, fresh buffet and a cooked option. Dinner is great too. Its of a very high standard with excellent staff to match. We had a room in the gardens. Not as good a view as the beach huts but more privacy and very peaceful. I read several reviews complaining about the outdoor bathrooms but I thought it added to the whole experience but agree some nets might be worthwhile at higher level to keep out the majority of mosquitoes and any larger bugs. They do however do their best to keep them at bay with weekly fumigations, complementary spray and plugs etc..
Zazen is located at the end of the beach which is quieter but not far if you want to wander to fisherman's village. They have their own spa which is more expensive than most but then again far superior. All the staff are extremely friendly and there are plenty of staff which seem to keep the entire place immaculate and ticking over without you noticing. There were lots of nice additional touches that are so often charged for at other places such bottles of water replenished every day, occasional complementary fruit and drinks when on the extremely comfortable sun loungers, free use of the kayaks etc. Also they had a free cocktail and canapé night on
Monday which was nice to again sample some of the chefs cooking but also meet some of the management staff who seem to care about what they are doing. I went into some of the other hotels along the beach and this confirmed that Zazen was definitely the right choice for us.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mcberni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

The team and I would like to thank you very much for the great feedback about Zazen Boutique Hotel Resort & Spa.

It’s a pleasure to read that you appreciated our Resort and the quality of our service. Indeed we always do our best to enable our guests to enjoy their stay and relax while they are in Zazen. It was a real pleasure to have you with us.

We hope we will see you back soon!

Kindest Regards,

Claudio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Me and my partner stayed for one night, rooms are lovely and big with everything you would need, open air bathroom was lovely. Hotel is tastefully decorated and very clean. Breakfast was great loads of choice and all tasted wonderful. We ate lunch and dinner and both were excellent. Staff are attentive and helpful. We also had afternoon tea which was the best afternoon tea Ive ever had, if your there you must go and have Tea.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback about our Resort. It is with a great pleasure that we read you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to see the surroundings as well as the service of Zazen fulfilled your expectations!

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again,

Warm Regards,

Claudio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Thank you Zazen for making our day so special. Rio, Guillieme and all the staff, what a wonderful job. The organising, the food, the wine, the venue, was just truly magnificent. We will be back and will be making it an extended stay. Koh Samui is certainly one of the best places, we have ever been and Zazen is certainly one of the best places we have dined and partied.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gcs1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Rio, Guillaume and all the Zazen Wedding Team would like to thank you for taking the time to let this great feedback about our Resort. It was a real pleasure to welcome you in Zazen and to help you organizing this special day!

We look forward to welcoming you another time here in Samui!

Kindest Regards,

Claudio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great choice for honeymoon: So quiet, clean and pure. If you don’t like crowd and noise this is just for you. Landscape of the hotel is breathtaking, room details are pleasurable, stuff is kind, it has a private beach and a lovely (small) swimming pool with a beautiful tree along with it. You are welcomed by Zazen stuff at the airport and a private car takes you to the hotel; refreshing towels and welcome drinks are waiting for you;)

We stayed in garden deluxe bungalow, just a few steps away from the beach. It has more privacy than beachfront deluxe bungalows. There was a bird nest just in front of our window, so cute! It has an open-air bathroom, at first I was nervous about it but no matter, you get used to. Just keep your door closed ‘cus there are so many lizards and mosquitos. By the way, rooms have fly-repellents but you should get extra with you. We used both and had no problem;)

The only disappointment about Zazen is the sea (not beach) It has a wonderful beach, you can spend hours but sea was muddy.. We didn’t like so we went to Chaweng beach, it’s really good. Except sea, eveything is perfect. Enjoy it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khattam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

First, the team and I would like to thank you for your great feedback and the lovely photos you shared on our tripadvisor page!

We were really glad to read we managed to make your honeymoon pleasant and enjoyable and we hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in a near future.

Sunny Regards,

Claudio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was a great resort with a welcoming feel. The staff were friendly, our room was inviting and the spa/food were excellent. There were only two (slight) issues that stopped me from giving this an excellent rating: 1. our air conditioner leaked constantly soaking our curtain and leaving a pool of water on our bedroom floor (the Zazen staff attempted to fix this twice but were unable to do so in the week we were there); 2. the outdoor bathroom was quaint but less than ideal during mosquito season (while the mosquito coil helped, some mosquito netting to seal off the gaps near the roof would have made for less adventurous bathroom visits). These were just little things, which didn't impact substantially on what was a really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Daniel,

Greetings from Zazen!

Thank you for your nice feedback about our Resort! We are pleased to read you enjoyed your overall experience in Zazen despite the engineering issue you faced for which I would like to apologize again.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Samui!

Kind Regards,

Claudio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
3.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#12 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sensimar Koh Samui (Adults Only Resort)
4.3 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: 177 Moo 1, Bophut Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bophut
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#7 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zazen is a stylish true Boutique Resort located on the beautiful Bophut Beach. Perfect for a relaxing holiday and a romantic honeymoon. Zazen offers 26 stylish villas, and 2 of the most popular restaurants on the island with traditional Thai cuisine and fine French / Mediterranean dining. Le Spa Zen will help you find the deepest levels of relaxation. Welcome to Zazen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zazen Boutique Hotel Bophut
Zazen Boutique Resort And Spa
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing