We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mixed Feelings...”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

There is a lot of good to be said about Zazen. The grounds are beautifully kept and the pool and beach area are charming. The staff was polite and accommodating, often circulating the pool and beach area with samples of snacks and drinks, even a 5 minute shoulder massage. The resort is located in a quieter part of the island. You could probably spend a few days relaxing here without leaving the grounds, but Fisherman's Village is only a 15 minute walk and convenience stores, pharmacies and restaurants are even closer. It's easy to get a taxi to other parts of the island, or the resort offers a driving service that's comparable in price.

The Zazen restaurant was exceptional. We had a beautiful seafood dinner there one night, and we ended most of our evenings with a drink in the lounge area. We also took advantage of the wonderful complimentary breakfast each morning - which included a buffet, hot made-to-order items (both Thai and western), even bubbles to start your day.

Now for the things I didn't love...

The bed. It's a mattress on the floor without a box spring, which I found to be tremendously uncomfortable. Our mattress also had giant dents in it and was probably due to be replaced. We requested an extra duvet, which we put underneath us to provide an extra layer of cushion. This helped somewhat, but I still had a lot of difficulty sleeping.

The mosquitos. I don't think there's much to be done about this, as Zazen is located in a little tropical haven. A service sprayed the grounds several times while we were there, and Zazen provided us with spray in our room. We spent a lot of time spraying down the inside of our bungalow as well as ourselves, but there were always bugs inside the bungalow and bites all over our bodies. I think that might just be a part of bungalow living, and the semi-enclosed bathroom.

The semi-enclosed bathroom. Just as pretty in person as in the pictures, but I didn't really think through the worst-case-scenario logistics. When I got food poisoning and spent an entire day sick, I hated being exposed to the elements. I could hear people running around poolside and assumed they could also hear me. It was an extra layer of awful on top of a horrible experience.

The children. We went for our delayed honeymoon (just before Christmas) and selected the hotel based on reviews as a romantic getaway. There were SO many (really poorly behaved) children. Again, not Zazen's fault but if you're looking for something more couple-centric, you might want to look elsewhere.

We had a couple's massage at the spa. It was just ok, and fairly expensive compared to other amenities on the island. We were in a tent in the middle of the grounds, and the "quiet area" signs were not enforced. It was difficult to relax with people having an in depth conversation 15 feet away.

At the end of the day, most of this is just personal preference and is not Zazen's fault. I don't think I would stay in another bungalow, period. I prefer a hotel room with a fully indoor bathroom and a traditional bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Hannah,

Greetings from Zazen Boutique Resort and Spa! Thank you for taking the time of sharing your experience with the online travelers’ community.

Your compliments regarding our restaurant have been shared and thanked by the staff. We are sorry to hear that the room style did not match your expectations. However, we are glad to note that you found our Resort relaxing and that you enjoyed the personalized service at the beach.

We would be happy to welcome you again here at Zazen.

Best Regards,

The Zazen Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    212
    49
    14
    8
See reviews for
198
843
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here in December 2013. This resort is very nice and beautiful. It feels like you are living in the jungle just by the beach.
We had a garden deluxe bungalow (no 15) which was perfect for us. Due to the windy conditions we would not had much use for a beach side bungalow. This particular bungalow is probably the most privately located one, so make sure to ask for this one.
The restaurant is a bit pricy by Thai standards, but cheap by European standards. Both the Thai food an the European food is excellent and therefore makes it worth the extra cost.
The spa is excellent and me and my husband got one of the best treatments we ever had. Especially the anti-jet lag treatment is highly recommended. The prices are much higher than you will find on the beach, but the nice environment makes it worth the difference.
If you book at Christmas or new year there is a mandatory dinner which is fairly expensive, so have this in mind when booking.
We did not use the beach so much as it was windy all week. Note that November to February is not the best season to visit this part of Thailand from a weather point of view. If you are interested in diving, the visibility is very poor this time of year.
All in all an excellent resort where you can really relax.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2014
Dear Johan,

On behalf of the whole Zazen team, we’re very grateful for your recommendation of our Resort. Indeed all praise go to the staff who have made your stay memorable.

We look forward to having you with us again soon!

Kind regards,

Claudio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

we stayed here for 4-5 days and I'd have to say it was a great experience. What really stood out was the friendly and helpful staff members.

All of the staff members were very friendly and helpful whenever we had questions or needed advice on the local area. They definitely made our stay a trouble free and enjoyable one.

location wise, it is in a quieter area and beach so if you want to go and visit/ eat at the main tourist area for bophut beach, it will be a short taxi ride (5 mins) or a 15 min walk. You can also borrow a push bike for the day to ride to these areas which is pretty cool.

The room was really nice and comfortable and the facilities of the resort provide more of a forest vibe that really makes it feel like a get away.

Room Tip: best suited to those looking for a quiet beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Eric,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Zazen.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The service here was the standout and couldn't have asked for anything more - in fact we didn't have to ask for anything at all.
The real attraction of this hotel is that it's a beautiful little hotel away from the madness of chaweng and central BoPhut, but still easily within a 200 Baht taxi to fishermans village where other bars/clubs/restaurants await. The grounds are excellent and really give a serene feeling to the place.
We attended over the NYE period and given the size of the hotel (at capacity) it didn't feel at all like the place was busy. There were always adequate sun-beds on the beach or by the pool, making it a great place to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: Room 7 is a great option - to be 10 meters from the beach without being a beachfront bungalow, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you for your great feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our Resort and more specifically the quality of our service.
Indeed, our team takes pride in delivering a great experience and they are delighted to read that appreciated it.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon in Zazen, in the meantime we wish you a very Happy New Year.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

With only a 3 week timeframe, the Events Co-Ordinator Rio Rose and Ame, brought together the most wonderful day for my now husband and I. Have visited Zazen since 2011 and find their food and service impeccable. The Rooms are beautiful and always unique to any other place I've travelled in Thailand. Even on such a large and populated island, Zazen has the environmental, atmospherical and professional touches to make you feel like you are in private paradise. Never disappointed by the menu, food and service at Zazen and insist on visiting, even if just for a cocktail, every time I'm on Samui.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Jean and Dom,

Thank you for choosing Zazen to host such a special day in your life.
We are delighted that you liked our Resort and our Wedding planning services.

All the team joins me in wishing you all the best for your life together.
We hope to see you next year for your anniversary!

Sunny regards

Adrien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

If you are looking for that little island getaway that is very private, has beach front or garden situated rooms & a world class restaurant, Zazen is the place for you!
Having stayed in 3 types of rooms that Zazen have to offer, I would recommend the Garden suites as they offer more privacy than the beach front rooms.
The service here is second to none & the meals at the restaurant are to die for.
Match this with a classic spa area and people that really know how to help you get all that you can from a holiday & really, you need no more.
The resort is better suited to couples rather than families with kids and is within walking distance to shops & other eateries (if required).
Had a great time here & will be back later this year.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms & hammocks etc are exposed to everybody-Garden villas re much more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for staying with us and for the amazing review you left on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your holiday at Zazen. Thank you as well for your wonderful comments about our service and Restaurant.

We are looking forward to welcoming you next year!

Sunny regards and Happy New Year.

Zazen Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights and enjoyed every minute of it! Zazen has got to be one of my favourite hotels! It's so atmospheric, romantic and full of interesting artefacts to discover around the grounds.

We spent the first night in a garden deluxe room and the rest of the time in a garden villa, both were fantastic, but I preferred the garden villa as it was larger and more private. The decor and furnishings in the rooms were opulent and tasteful. The bathrooms were unique, didn't really suffer from a mossie problem, just remember to keep the bathroom doors closed!

The breakfasts were excellent, lots of choice and lovely food. In the evening the bar and restaurant had a fantastic ambience. Dined there several times and the food and service were very good. The wine list was extremely pricey, but this seems to be an issue in Koh Samui generally.

I highly recommend the Zazen cookery course, I was lucky enough to have a class to myself, learned a lot from the chef and got to eat the food I had cooked!

The hotel has a lovely Spa & gift boutique. The swimming pool is very nice although rather small. Guests were periodically offered complimentary fruit or a soft drink on the beach and around the poolside which was a nice touch.

I loved Zazen and would love to return, but unfortunately I wasn't that impressed with Koh Samui, it's been spoiled by tourism and there are so many more beautiful places to visit.

Room Tip: The garden villas are fabulous, I would prefer this to a beachfront villa as it is more private and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear valued Guests,

Thank you so much for the amazing review on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us.

Our Thai cooking classes is indeed appreciated by our guests, as Chef Pla and Chef Ju take pride in sharing their knowledge and love for Thai food.

We are sad that you did not like Samui in general, although it is true that it gets very crowded in August and over New Year.

Again, thank you for your feeback, hoping you will visit us again.

Sunny regards and Happy New Year.

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.5 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#14 of 187 in Bophut
2,277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 187 in Bophut
472 reviews
8.1 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,968 reviews
4.3 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: 177 Moo 1, Bophut Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bophut
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#8 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zazen is a stylish true Boutique Resort located on the beautiful Bophut Beach. Perfect for a relaxing holiday and a romantic honeymoon. Zazen offers 26 stylish villas, and 2 of the most popular restaurants on the island with traditional Thai cuisine and fine French / Mediterranean dining. Le Spa Zen will help you find the deepest levels of relaxation. Welcome to Zazen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zazen Boutique Hotel Bophut
Zazen Boutique Resort And Spa
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing