We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have to stay in Koh Samui, do stay here....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Koh Samui is not my favourite place in Thailand..... if you find yourself in this part of the world however do book a few days into this sublime magnificence. Attention to detail, service and luxurious soft furnishings and decor make Zazen a place of relaxation and serenity.

Sadly, I was not to enjoy the fullness of Zazen as I had contracted Dengue Fever in the jungle. Once I appeared with a fever the staff stepped in and got me to a hospital instantly. I received beautiful flowers the next day and a surprise visit from Michael which was totally unexpected! - they truly went out of their way to ensure that I was taken care of. My friend, who was on her own whilst I was in hospital was also taken care of by the staff - once again not necessary, but a lovely touch!

I hope to return, under better circumstances, as this is "proper boutique" in every sense.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaLeibowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Fiona,

Thank you do much for your great review!
We sincerely hope that you have recovered form Dengue Fever.
We are always a bit sad when this situation happen and we do understand the disappointment of our guests, who have health issues during their holiday.

Furthermore, we believe that it is our role to assist our guests in every possible ways as their family would do under such circumstances. We do appreciate that you are recognising our efforts, which we already showcased to our team.

We do hope to welcome you again under better circumstances in order to fully appreciate our Resort features.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at Zazen for 3 nights in June this year. It is a nice resort in Bophut region, about 5 min taxi ride away from Fisherman's market. Have found staff to be quite helpful in arranging speedboat tours and provide recommendations for local restaurants. The management are quite interested in getting guest feedbacks on how to improve their service. Hotel restaurant is nice, although the main chef was away during our stay. The main negative is that bathroom is located outdoors, so will get mosquito bites. Based on overall experience and price, well worth a visit.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Jack,

Thank you for your great feedback!
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our Resort and Restaurant.
We are sorry that you did not appreciate our tropical open bathrooms, which are often praised by guests. Although insects are inevitable in a tropical setting, we take every possible measures to reduce their nuisance and again, we are sorry that it has affected your experience.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Zazen.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

wonderful and quiet place, secluded, nice hotel, very friendly staff, delicious dinner, beautiful beach... absolutely the place to go on holiday or to spend your honeymoon :o) convince yourself, you wouldn't regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJFB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for spending your holiday in Zazen.
We are delighted to read your great feedback, which has been shared with the team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Zazen.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My fiancé and I selected Zazen for our wedding venue after looking at a number of other very good resorts on Samui. Rio organised everything we wanted for our day perfectly and the team at Zazen could not have done more for us. We had the most amazing day and a fantastic stay at the resort. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 18, 2013

Dear James,

We were delighted to host your wedding.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a good review. Rio is indeed doing an amazing job and she takes pride in offering couples a memorable day!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Zazen.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The zazen boutique resort & spa in koh Samui Thailand is the best place I have stayed in on holiday all of the staff are courteous and welcome you onto the resort with open arms the hotels entrance is situated on a main road but whilst being at the hotel you cannot hear the traffic it is a very quite and peaceful place it's complex is very stylish and up to date all the rooms are looked after by an attendant day and night. It is great for getting married there! The wedding planner helps you all the way to make sure you have all that you would need for the day. The restaurant is very good offering many different types of food. I would recommend the zazen boutique & spa resort

Room Tip: All the rooms in the zazen boutique & spa resort are beautiful they have all what is needed for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Chantel,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We are very proud to read that Zazen is the best hotel you have ever stayed in.

We were delighted to host your mum's wedding and to welcome your family in our Resort.

We hope to see you again very soon!

Sunny regards,

Zazen Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Having selected this hotel based on its stunning TripAdvisor reviews we had obviously read a lot about the place before arriving. However, nothing can prepare you for the experience of actually being there!

Where to start? Arrival. Our flight landed at 9am and we were picked up by a private car from the resort. A luxury drive in an air conditioned, leather seated 4x4 accompanied by soothing music was a great start into relaxing into our holiday. The short journey takes just 10-15 minutes. We pulled into a luscious green driveway and the stunningly attractive reception. After a cold towel and refreshing drink we we told that our room would not be ready until 2pm. Not a problem though as their is a separate building next to the reception that has luxurious showers and changing rooms. After a refreshing clean we were shown around the resort and headed to the beach.

The room is amazing. We were in room 9, a Garden Deluxe, air con, the comfiest bed I have ever slept in, socket adapters, hair dryer, robes, slippers, flip-flops (and our special honeymoon welcome) this place is definitely very well equipped. The outside bathroom was great, I love a rain fall shower! We had read complaints about mosquitos, frankly if you are heading to the tropics you have to expect bugs, quite why anyone complains about this is beyond me. The bathroom and porch have insect coils that are replaced at about 6pm every day. On top of this there is a can of mosquito spray in the wardrobe. This is HIGHLY effective. Due to these measures there really is no issue.

OMG the food. Wow. Prepare to be wowed by innovative cooking and portions that will blow you away (well it did us anyway). Every dish is prepared with care and looks stunning. From the pad thai to the desert everything has a special little touch to it. The taste absolutely matches the looks. Simply wonderful. Breakfast is included in the room price and you would not believe the range that is on offer, from fruit, to continental, to cold meats and cheese, champagne and the breakfast kitchen menu. This is comprehensive and has sweet treats like waffles, crepes and cinnamon toast, western favourites (eggs anyway you like) and more traditional thai breakfasts.

The spa is something else. Yes you can go down the beach and get a massage on the cheap but I well believe that the experience at Zazan Spa is worth every baht. The whole experience makes you feel very cared for and is the ultimate in pampering (particular favourite was the foot massage which included arms, neck and head!). From choosing your oils to the refreshing tea at the end the soothing surroundings make each treatment a truly wonderful experience.

The beach. The guys on the beach are brilliant, so kind and helpful and very attentive. If you pop for a swim in the sea they will dust the sand off your towel and remake your sun lounger. If you want a drink they will fetch it for you. Need your bed moving? Not a problem. I had also missed the part where it was stated that there are free paddle boards and kayaks for guests, this was good fun too. There is a lovely regime each day that included a cold face towel at 12, fruit skewers at 2 and peach iced tea around 3. A simple but lovely touch. Oh and don't forget the odd mini massage!

Night time. I could not spoil the surprise of the beauty of the resort as it is simply indescribable. So many plants and flowers that are kept in such wonderful condition by an almost unseen army of gardeners. This looks so lovely during the day, but in the evening...wow. Lighting and candles transform it into another world. We would walk around at night just to take in how great everything looked.

The staff are just perfect. Attentive, polite and always their when you need them. They really go above and beyond for all guests.

10 days of absolute bliss. Could not have asked for anything better.

We also felt that the location of the resort was perfect. It is at the end of Bophut beach, so no passing traffic on the beach, but at the same time it is close enough to wander down and sample the delights the fishing village has to offer (a walk on the beach takes about 25 minutes and is worth it).

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to look fairly similar from the outside. Room 9, a Graden Deluxe, was perfect for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexpett85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Alex,

Thank you for choosing Zazen for your honeymoon.

Thank you as well for the amazing review that you wrote. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our property and the various services that we offer.

Your feedback have been shared with the team who was thrilled about your compliments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Zazen.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just back from a ten day stay and would recommend this resort without any hesitation. We had a beach villa which was in the most fabulous position and the beach attendants were so friendly and helpful. The food quality and service throughout the resort was excellent and every member of staff we met was a credit to the hotel. The pool and beach area is lovely and never crowded, unlike some resorts where you can never get a sun lounger.
Yes there are bugs but this is to be expected in a tropical climate and certainly didn't spoil our stay in any way. We used a local taxi / minibus which only cost 100 baht from outside the hotel. We will be returning without a doubt.

Room Tip: Beach rooms are literally a footstep away from the sand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Tom,

Thank you for your choosing our Resort and for taking the time to write such a good review.
Your comments have been shared with the team, who is delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in Zazen.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.5 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#4 of 185 in Bophut
1,633 reviews
4.4 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 51 in Lamai Beach
2,074 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#3 of 185 in Bophut
512 reviews
0.8 mi away
SENSIMAR Koh Samui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Address: 177 Moo 1, Bophut Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bophut
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#9 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $103 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zazen is a stylish true Boutique Resort located on the beautiful Bophut Beach. Perfect for a relaxing holiday and a romantic honeymoon. Zazen offers 26 stylish villas, and 2 of the most popular restaurants on the island with traditional Thai cuisine and fine French / Mediterranean dining. Le Spa Zen will help you find the deepest levels of relaxation. Welcome to Zazen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zazen Boutique Hotel Bophut
Zazen Boutique Resort And Spa
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing