We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just back from a ten day stay and would recommend this resort without any hesitation. We had a beach villa which was in the most fabulous position and the beach attendants were so friendly and helpful. The food quality and service throughout the resort was excellent and every member of staff we met was a credit to the hotel. The pool and beach area is lovely and never crowded, unlike some resorts where you can never get a sun lounger.
Yes there are bugs but this is to be expected in a tropical climate and certainly didn't spoil our stay in any way. We used a local taxi / minibus which only cost 100 baht from outside the hotel. We will be returning without a doubt.

Room Tip: Beach rooms are literally a footstep away from the sand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Tom,

Thank you for your choosing our Resort and for taking the time to write such a good review.
Your comments have been shared with the team, who is delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in Zazen.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    210
    48
    14
    8
See reviews for
194
828
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Zazen is beautiful. The service is excellent and all employees are wonderful and accomodating and pay attention to detail. We went to the hotel on our honeymoon trip and arrived to a complimentary bottle of chilled champagne: hooray!
The breakfast is literally the best you may ever eat. I mean it. SO. GOOD. An amazing spread of fruits and cheese and salads and fresh-baked breads (wonderful croissants) with fresh juices and sparkling wine. Don't mind if I do! In addition to this, you can order a hot entree from the kitchen: both the Thai and the Western meals were delicious.
The beachfront deluxe suite was great - not 5-star, but very nice! We stayed in room 3, which had a lovely view of the water and a nice covered patio.
The beach itself was nice but not pristine. It's a great asset that the hotel offers free kayaks and paddleboards: that's a fun activity we took advantage of and enjoyed these immensely. We also used the hotel's free bicycle rental and enjoyed exploring the island a bit that way.
I have to say: the hotel needs to get its bug problem under control. While there, we chocked it up to "this is just how it is in Thailand!" but then we stayed at another resort immediately afterward which was much more proactive with bug control (spraying the resort twice a week, having lanterns with a liquid in them in the rooms that worked better than the coils)...it made the whole stay more pleasant. The only reason I can't give Zazen the 5 star review is the bugs: it's tough to enjoy the restaurant, the beach, and your room when you're getting so many bug bites (in spite of spraying yourself with bug spray) - they're omnipresent.
Thank you, Zazen, for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmw2114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank for taking the time to write a review about our Resort.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities and service quality.

Thank you as well for suggesting solutions to control the insects better. We are indeed very concerned about this problem, inherent to tropical destinations. Rest assured that we conduct pest spraying on weekly basis by an external professional pest control company. We do as well display coils around the bungalows, in the bathrooms and on the terrace. We provide every room with mosquito repellant plugs and mosquito nets upon request. On the other hand, as our tropical garden is a great feature of Zazen, we strive to preserve the ecological balance between plants and insects, thus we only use treatments which are eco-friendly although some more efficient methods do exist. Nevertheless, we will look into your recommendations for Oil lamps and we will most certainly consider this solution if it complies with our environmental commitment.

Thanks a lot for your valuable remark, which will help us to improve and we hope to see you back soon and to showcase initiated changes.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The first impression is very nice, the design of the whole place is fantastic. We stayed in the beach side bungalow with nice sea view and direct access to the clean beach. The room was very clean, with a super comfy bed and large bathroom, we also enjoyed the private lounge area outside the bungalow for sunset drinks. The sea water was a bit murky so we swam mostly in the swimming pool which was nice but a bit tucked away out of sea view. The breakfast was outstanding with so many fresh choices and free flowing sparkling wine.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linnea83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back very soon in Samui.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I visited zazen for dinner whilst on a multi centred trip to Thailand in feb of this year. The setting is amazing and from the moment you enter the property you are transported from the hustle of thai street scene to a cross between French salon de the decor with traditional thai silk panels and orchids in your ice bucket. Quite breathtaking and a wonderful oasis for those hopeless romantics among us.

We stayed at six senses Samui and ate at their renowned dining on the rocks but I have to say that I much preferred zazen for our one evening meal there, which had a varied and exciting menu. The staff were attentive but unobtrusive and food presentation was theatrical and being foodies we both appreciated very much. Lovely intimate beachside after dinner drinks bar too - and it would have been rude not too!

I would go back to Samui in a heartbeat but will be staying Zazen next time round. Would be a fantastic venue for a wedding abroad. A real thai Samui gem. If like us you're not staying in the hotel don't hesitate to go for dinner but ensure you book in advance.

Room Tip: Didn't reside in hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tankerbelle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Thank you for your amazing review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal and the Resort's layout. We are honoured to be compared to such a renowned 5 start property and that you would choose our hotel for your next stay in Samui.

Please contact us directly for your next visit, we are looking forward to assisting you with your travel requests.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caringbah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We just had our wedding at Zazen - We had a small intimate ceremony on the beach just in front of our beachfront villa. It was so much more than I ever dreamed of. From my first contact with Ame (wedding planner) I was impressed and the whole experience from then was as mooth as silk. The Resort it self is magical and romantic. The staff are friendly and personal. The ceremony and food and drinks and little special touches were fantastic. Our few guests were all very impressed. The rooms are very comfortable and spotless. We will definatley be back!!!
Thank you to Ame and Rio especially - All your help on our day was wonderful. would highly recommend Zazen for a romantic stay for sure. I just had a wedding beyond my dreams - Thankyou again all at Zazen. Sherryn & Baz Ryan

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sherryn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Sherryn & Baz,

It was a great pleasure to host your wedding celebration.

Thank you for choosing Zazen to to organise your marriage. Thank you as well for taking the time to review our Resort on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our Resort, Food & Beverage and our Wedding planners Rio and Ame.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon!

Kindest regards

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Have booked our holiday again at Zazen for May next year, which will be our 3rd time. Absolutely love this place! Our son was married there and then we returned the following year. Have been raving about Zazen to friends for the last few years so next year they are coming too. The rooms are beautiful and the food is spectacular! The staff there are amazing and make you feel very special. Can't wait to get back to my favorite place!
Ros & Adrian

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Ros & Adrian,

Thank you for the great review you posted.
It is always a pleasure to welcome you in Zazen and we are glad to read that you will be returning in May next year!

Please let us know if we can be of any assistance for planning your trip.

Sunny regards

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We got married at Zazen on May 29th. It was the most perfect day of our lives, effortless and beautiful in every way. From organising the wedding itself with the lovely Ame to finalising the dining with Siegfried, it was all done to the highest standard we could have hoped for for our special day. The resort itself is a fantastic idyllic paradise a world away from anywhere with a perfect location right on the edge of Bohput beach. I would recommend Zazen to anyone looking to get married in Thailand or just needing a break away from the world. We can't wait to get back there. Lots of love and thanks, Ged and Sarah Duffey.

Room Tip: Beach front villa all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ged D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Sarah and Ged,

We are delighted to read your good review on tripadvisor.

It was a great honour to have the chance to host your wedding celebration and we are glad to know that we reached your expectation.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon... maybe for an anniversary or vows renewal !

Sunny regards

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.5 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
2,210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
634 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 187 in Bophut
453 reviews
4.3 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: 177 Moo 1, Bophut Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bophut
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#7 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zazen is a stylish true Boutique Resort located on the beautiful Bophut Beach. Perfect for a relaxing holiday and a romantic honeymoon. Zazen offers 26 stylish villas, and 2 of the most popular restaurants on the island with traditional Thai cuisine and fine French / Mediterranean dining. Le Spa Zen will help you find the deepest levels of relaxation. Welcome to Zazen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zazen Boutique Hotel Bophut
Zazen Boutique Resort And Spa
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing