We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay and wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay and wedding venue”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our daughter and fiancé chose Zazen for their wedding venue and it was a great experience for all involved. The staff are very professional and accommodating of any requests, the venue is beautiful, the accommodation is luxurious Thai style. All meals were delicious and they were happy to cater to her gluten intolerance. We were there for four nights and look forward to going back in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in both Garden Deluxe and Garden Villa and both were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mousenous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your daughter chose us to host this very special day. Your comments have been shared with the team, which is obviously delighted.

Thank you for choosing Zazen as a place for your holidays and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With best regards,

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    993
    214
    49
    14
    8
See reviews for
201
847
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had six wonderful days in this tropical paradise after a busy time in Bangkok,Auyttha and Chiang Mai. We really did not want to leave and hope to return. We stayed in a garden villa on the advice of the Manager and were not disappointed.Our room was fabulous and beautifully appointed with some lovely decorative items. The bathroom,which was slightly open to the elements, was charming and a treat to be in. The restaurant was amazing and the food so good that we had all but one dinner there. The breakfast was a veritable banquet and the staff were beautiful,gracious and efficient. Bel, Pim,Nan and Nong were especially helpful. We loved the beach. Lying on the sun lounger watching the changing scene on the beach whiled away many an hour.Other people have mentioned the water was not clear but this did not detract from its charm It was always clean and the beach attendants were very attentive,especially Eak and Den, providing us with cold towels,iced tea and fruit kebabs and the occasional cocktail of course !
The service in the hotel was exemplary and it has been very difficult to adjust ourselves to the service in our country after being spoiled for six days. I did visit the spa and had a wonderful treatment which would have been out of this world had I been better able to communicate with the masseuse.
We will definitely return to this little paradise on earth.

Room Tip: Garden villas very quiet. Beach villas not very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jembear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.

Thank you for choosing Zazen as a place for your holidays and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With best regards,

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Zazen resort. The surroundings are beautiful, it is basically a tropical jungle. The bedroom is very comfortable, maybe a little small (but we had chosen the smallest size) and includes a little terrasse which is lovely to read in the early evening. The pool is usually quiet and not overcrowded.
The restaurant served excellent food and the service was very good. Breakfast is a real feast with plenty of choice for everyone.
The spa is an amazing treat, and I definitely recommend the signature massage - best I've every had!
It's clearly a hotel where they care about their guests.

We have a couple of negative points though: if you're after privacy, this isn't the ideal hotel for it as the bungalows are all very close together and other guests walk in front of your bedroom - so blinds have to be down when you're in. Not ideal on a honeymoon.
The bathroom is basically outside which means that you can't have air con and it can get very hot and doesn't feel very private.
We were also invaded by mosquitoes, which was a real pain point for me, as our room was very close to a swamp behind the hotel. The hotel has smoke coils and insecticide available in the room, which helped, but we still got bitten quite a bit.

Nonetheless, this was a good hotel with attentive staff and managers and we did very much enjoy our stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camille P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Camille,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.

In regards to your comment regarding the privacy, we recommend guests to book a Garden Villa which offers more privacy as all the villas are less close to each other than the deluxe Bungalow.

Your remark regarding the bathroom is understandable and we are currently planning to modify the layout in order to offer a better experience to our guests.

Finally, we are sorry that you have experience problems with mosquitoes. As you mentioned we are trying our utmost to reduce this nuisance. On the other hand, this issue is inevitable on a tropical island.

Thank you for choosing Zazen as a place for your holidays and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With best regards,

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We loved the Zazen, its atmosphere, the pool area, the beautiful rooms and AMAZING garden.
the beach is not as pretty as some other places (like koh phangan or koh tao) but it's quite good for koh samui.
you're a bit far from the fishermen's market and all its restaurants, but really, don't go anywhere else to eat : the Zazen restaurant might be the best in town! delicious and fine thai cuisine if you fancy local food, but also amazing french - fusion cuisine with great products, fine taste and excellent wines. It totally busted our budget, but it was so well worth it ! Staff is also perfect (no surprise, they were swiss hahaah!).
Would definitely recommend this resort for a romantic and gastronomic getaway in Koh Samui. Breakfast was the best we ever had in Thailand : pancakes, waffles, crêpes, eggs, everything is made on demand and so fresh and tasty (they even have some sparkling wine in the morning !!!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klaire78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.

Thank you for choosing Zazen as a place for your holidays and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With best regards,

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Such a fantastic resort. Small to be personal but large enough to offer great range of services.
Our garden villa was spacious and private. The open air bathroom did get a little hot at times and could do with a fan, but was a part of the charm.
The restaurant... Incredible!! Expensive by Thai standards, but half the price of the same Sydney-standard Michelin-star rated restaurants. Favourites would be the mixed-satay entree, chilli-basil beef and the lobster degustation.
Cocktail list was delicious. Appletini our most enjoyed!
The breakfast buffet is great! Wide selection and not wanting for anything. Fresh fruit juices, plunger coffee or latte to order, cold meats, cereals, and range of fresh eggs cooked as you like.
Beach service including ice tea, cold towels, fruit kebabs, all complimentary. The assistant even straightens your towel whilst you swim.
Host/sommelier Siegfried very knowledgable and helpful. Trainee Michael was very friendly and personable.
The whole Thai staff were also very willing to help and always with a smile.
Cannot recommend this highly enough!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.

Thank you for choosing Zazen as a place for your holidays and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With best regards,

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Wonderful and most beautiful hotel ! Very tasty food ! Indulgent spa treatments ! Beautiful beach and great location ! Excellent service , the staff are very polite and friendly ! Beautiful tropical hotel !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shhehhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.

Thank you for choosing Zazen as a place for your holidays and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With best regards,

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

It was great place to stay for our trip in Koh Samui as we wanted a quiet getaway. it was nestled away and the decorations and feel of the resort really sets out the relaxing and peaceful atmosphere to the whole place.

The staff was probably the most friendly and courteous of all the hotels I have stayed from my all my travels.

The rooms was spacious, well thought out, and decorated very nicely. Definitely value for money.

Overall, the ambience was perfect, the food was great and would definitely come back to stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteD88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Resident Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.

Thank you for choosing Zazen as a place for your holidays and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With best regards,

Zazen Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.5 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 186 in Bophut
2,298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 186 in Bophut
480 reviews
8.1 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,995 reviews
4.3 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: 177 Moo 1, Bophut Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bophut
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#8 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zazen is a stylish true Boutique Resort located on the beautiful Bophut Beach. Perfect for a relaxing holiday and a romantic honeymoon. Zazen offers 26 stylish villas, and 2 of the most popular restaurants on the island with traditional Thai cuisine and fine French / Mediterranean dining. Le Spa Zen will help you find the deepest levels of relaxation. Welcome to Zazen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zazen Boutique Hotel Bophut
Zazen Boutique Resort And Spa
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing