We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect balance of great service and easy living”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“perfect balance of great service and easy living”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

nothing to complain, beautiful bungalows with fantanstic outdoorbath, very well trained service team under french/belgium management, excellent food, from check in to check out everything is perfect. small resort with all you expext from a big resort, quiet location, only short walk to fisherman island, we will come back!
r&d thiel

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flamingo183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Flamingo,

We wish to express our sincerest appreciation for choosing Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa for spending your holiday.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.

Many thanks for the positive feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon in Samui!

With best regards,

The Zazen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    216
    49
    14
    8
See reviews for
201
853
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gb
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We came to the restaurant last year while we were staying in Chaweng Noi.
We loved the breath taking beauty of this stunning little resort, we booked to stay straight away for this year.
We are now on our last day of our ten day holiday, and how wonderful it has been.
We are staying in a garden villa, number 23, which is huge, quiet and very peaceful.
This is an adult resort and very sophisticated and while there a few, ( very well behaved) children here, it is not really a resort for kids, which if you are here as a couple is a great bonus !!
Thank you Zazen for a fantastic relaxing holiday, with a great location for walking down the beach to Fisherman's village at night .....we thoroughly recommend this lovely, good value for money resort.

Room Tip: Choose the garden villas, beach villas have no privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissy061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Chrissy,

We wish to express our sincerest appreciation for choosing Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa for spending your holiday.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.

Many thanks for the positive feedback and we hope to see you soon in Samui!

With best regards,

The Zazen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Staying at Zazen was one of the most amazing experiences we could have ever asked for. I don't know what other way to describe it than an experience. First and foremost was the service. If you're looking for attentive, sincere and "above and beyond service," this is your place. We were picked up from the airport in the AC, comfortable and clean Zazen van. We were greeted warmly upon arrival, by the manager Adrien, and Dream at the front desk. Hats off to both of them for the service they provide. There were a number of other front desk staff who were also wonderful. We were given cool cloths and a sweet beverage, and after 29hours of travel, this was very welcome. We were taken to our room promptly and the rooms were lovely. Clean and well decorated, which is exactly what we were looking for. If you're looking for Four Seasons or Ritz room amenities you won't find it, but nothing compares to the service, scenery and grounds. And having stayed at both of the above hotels I did not miss anything. They are open air bathrooms so no AC in there, but the Mosquito coils are lit in the bathroom and on the porch every night, so we were not bothered by pests. We did see one lizard in the bedroom, probably because we left the bathroom door open, but we didn't mind!

We ate and drank on the resort most days. Cocktails were around 300baht and meals from 200-500 baht, which was a little more expensive than off the resort, but convenience and quality were worth it!!!! The beach was beautiful, and the resort was on the smaller boutique size so no scrounging to loungers, which we loved. We were on our honeymoon, and it was very couples friendly. The pool was very nice and we either sat there or on the beach. The beach was not crowded and the view is spectacular.

The grounds were gorgeous, with greenery, streams, koi and water everywhere. We also had the best massage of our lives at the spa. It's a must. We also rented bikes for free from front desk and took them to the Fisherman's Market, which is a must. It's only a 5 min bike or 15min walk by beach or road. Zazen is in Bo Phut and it is very safe. I never felt nervous walking around even at night.

We rented a truck from the Fisherman's Market for around 1000baht for the whole day to drive around the island. It only took us a few hours with stops included. It's very easy to navigate. This was one of our favourite trips! We saw all the other areas including Chaweng Beach which was like Miami, with tons to see, do, eat, stay etc. However, with all that said, we couldn't have been happier to be staying in Bo Phut. It was quieter, clean, still things to do in the Fisherman's Village. We wanted some quiet since we were on our honeymoon, and Zazen is a slice of heaven. Even though the main road is busy, all you can hear is the sea and birds. A lot of the other hotels were right on the main road (Zazen is too, but it is set quite a ways back so you see and hear nothing from the city!)

We also did the snorkelling trip through Zazen and it was great. You're on a smaller boat of 20ish people for snorkelling on Koh Tao and the public beaches of Koh Nang Juan! The sand is white and waters so clear! After seeing the two islands we're glad we stayed on Koh Samui mainly because there was so much to do and beaches are amazing. Koh Tao is very rocky and amazing for snorkelling; we would have loved to stay there for a day or two.

We can't wait to come back!!!!!!

Room Tip: The garden rooms were very private (great for having coffee outside in the morning and is what we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Rachel,

We wish to express our sincerest appreciation for choosing Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa for spending your holiday.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.

Many thanks for the positive feedback and we hope to see you soon in Samui!

With best regards,

The Zazen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Zazen is built with tremendous imagination. Almost as if someone concepted the most eye-popping tropical fantasy. Then built that concept to the letter. Flagstone roads under Bamboo archways. Twisty paths flanked by sparkling streams. Planters stuffed with fat marigold heads. Birds with loud, tropical voices. Planked wooden pathways criss-crossing over ponds of massive Koi. Gorgeous Thai women in slinky silk dresses. Zazen has a beautiful slug of Bophut beach to call it's own. Plenty of cushioned chaises and ample umbrellas. The restaurant is unmatched. We spent the rest of our stay trying to find a menu as sublime or tasty. (We got close at "The Page" in Chaweng.) Beachfront villas are preferable. But garden villas do not disappoint. If you are a person who has built up this romantic and impossible vision of a vacation in Koh Samui, you belong at Zazen.

Room Tip: Garden Villas are fine. Beach front villas afford a quick appraisal of chaise availability. And are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markkoelfgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Markkoelfgen,

We wish to express our sincerest appreciation for choosing Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa for spending your holiday.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team. It is such a beautiful description of our Resort!

Many thanks for the positive feedback and we hope to see you soon in Samui!

With best regards,


The Zazen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My Husband and I spent a blissful 7 night's at Zazen. We chose to stay at Zazen based on all of the great reviews and we were not disappointed. The reception staff were very welcoming
on our arrival with ice cold towels and thirst quenching cocktails. We chose to stay in one of the Garden Villas which is one of their larger rooms. The room was beautiful and we had a lot of privacy. We didn't mind the open bathroom but found it to be quite enjoyable. I am glad we didn't stay in one of the beach villas as they seemed to lack privacy. The breakfast selection was great and we especially enjoyed the Belgium waffle and blueberry pancakes. It was great to start every day with a glass of sparking wine. We ate lunch either on the beach or by the pool and all of the food was delicious. We had dinner at the restaurant on our first night and on our last night. The service and food was of an equally high standard. Try to keep space for
dresset, you will not be disappointed.

The spa a Zazen is truly magical. We went for 3 treatments and each was fantastic! We really loved the packages that they have on offer. We went for 'le spa zen bliss' which iended off with a glass of sparkling wine in their outdoor jazuzzi. Try and make some time for the spa, you will not be sorry. Thank you to Oil and all of the ladies at the spa for making our time with them so enjoyable.

I have only one negative thing to say about Zazen and that is the fact that they are not a couple's only resort. I really don't think they are geared towards children and the children that were staying at Zazen seemed unable to enjoy themselves fully due to the nature of the resort and the couple's including myself got irritated by the screaming children by the poolside. Zazen is an idyllic, romantic place and unfortunately not the place for young children.

As I write this review i am taken back to the beauty of Zazen. I cannot wait to return!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear ReneSol,

We wish to express our sincerest appreciation for choosing Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa for spending your holiday.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.

Many thanks for the positive feedback and we hope to see you soon in Samui!

With best regards,


The Zazen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongkong
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The resort managers are very friendly and attentive to guests' needs. The rooms are clean and very few mosquitoes. It has a very good restaurant and my daughter loved their ice-cream as the containers were beautifully made of syrup and shapes varied every time. They offer many delicious breakfast choices. Not all the waitresses were pleasant though. Some didn't even smile. They have nice spas too. But as another reviewer said, it's not a resort for families with small kids. Mine are 9 and 10 years old respectively so it's ok. The beach is small and water was muddled probably due to last week's typhoon. Join the snorkeling trips if you want clear water and to see beautiful fish. The condition of snorkelling equipment they provide here is much better than those in Langkawi. The island is nice, not too big nor too busy. People are very friendly and the price performance of merchandise here is excellent. The pros of coming in December is less crowded and not so hot. But it has the risk of bad weather because December is still rainy season. March to May have very good weather but very hot (35 degree celcius) and I believe it's more crowded.

Room Tip: Garden villa good for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdaLiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear IdaLiu,

Greetings from Koh Samui

We wish to express our sincerest appreciation for choosing Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa for spending your holiday.

We also greatly appreciate your time invested to share your concern with us as such constructive feedback enables us to monitor and improve our quality service standards.

Further to your comment regarding our restaurant staff friendliness, I sincerely apologize if not all of our waitresses were pleasant. Please note that we will re-enforce our training to ensure our staff keeps smiling and deliver a friendly service.

Once again our appreciation for your constructive comments and we look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely

Adrien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We traveled to Thailand with two other families for Thanksgiving. The resort is beautiful but was not a great place to go as a family. The pool is very small and is right next to the main dining area which meant our kids were hushed by management more than once while playing in the pool. It is very much a location for a romantic holiday which was the case with several couples that were very affectionate with each other in the pool and sea resulting in some interesting conversation with the kids. We stayed in the larger villas which were wonderful and very comfortable. One other thing to note....we booked the zipline experience through the hotel and when we arrived at the location the employees there noted that we were charged more by the hotel than what was posted. The Zazen did reimburse us the difference but it makes you wonder about pricing inconsistencies. Again, perfect for a romantic holiday but not ideal for families.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrien G, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear TeamJenkins,

Greetings from Koh Samui

We wish to express our sincerest appreciation for choosing Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa for spending your holiday.

We also greatly appreciate your time invested to share your concern with us as such constructive feedback enables us to monitor and improve our quality service standards.

Further to your concerns about kids coming to the Resort, it is true that Zazen is more suited to couples than families. We however are glad to welcome children as we are a family ran business. I am sorry to read that your children may have been shocked by affectionate couples, which we can't control as long as they keep their clothes on. More seriously, we have never noticed or had any comments regarding this issue as our guests are usually educated and respectful about others.

Regarding your comment about the Canopy Adventure pricing, I have investigated and found out that there was a difference of approximately 80 Baht with our pricing. I apologize about this issue, thanks to your feedback we have adjusted our selling price.

Once again our appreciation for your constructive comments and we look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely

Adrien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.5 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 185 in Bophut
1,592 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#14 of 185 in Bophut
2,327 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
728 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 185 in Bophut
485 reviews
8.1 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: 177 Moo 1, Bophut Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bophut
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#8 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zazen is a stylish true Boutique Resort located on the beautiful Bophut Beach. Perfect for a relaxing holiday and a romantic honeymoon. Zazen offers 26 stylish villas, and 2 of the most popular restaurants on the island with traditional Thai cuisine and fine French / Mediterranean dining. Le Spa Zen will help you find the deepest levels of relaxation. Welcome to Zazen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zazen Boutique Hotel Bophut
Zazen Boutique Resort And Spa
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing