We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect escape from urban lifestyle”
Review of Six Senses Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Six Senses Samui
Ranked #17 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Its a place from the best dreams - perfect combination of modern and natural !Villas are huge and luxury, but still done in the simple stylish way, what is incredible nice. Honey moon couples will definitely not make mistake enjoying their own pool and garden bath, leaving everything else far away. Beautiful infinity swimming pool or peaceful library, really not easy to decide. Anyway, indulge your body with massage, yoga or thai chi class.
If you know to enjoy in fancy details same as in big green, don't hesitate, visit Six Senses resort !

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5starhotelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, Front Office Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2010

Dear 5starhotelreviews

Thank you so much for taking the time to upload your comments on TripAdvisor. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your private pool villa, the spa and the infinity pool. Thanks to our unique SLOWLIFE concept (sustainable, local, organic, wholesome, learning, inspiring, fun experiences), we are indeed the ultimate combination of modern style and natural luxury! Thank you very much for your review.

Kind Regards
Tessa Williams
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
There are newer reviews for Six Senses Samui
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 930 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2010

Sadly, it rained 9 days out of the 10 we were there. Badly bitten by mosquitoes especially in the plunge pool area and in the bedroom and bathroom. Outdoor shower was crawling with millipedes, snails and worms. No aircon in bathroom. Burners going all day and night to kill mosquitoes hence all clothes stank of smoke. Staff excellent. Food excellent. Wine totally overpriced. Spa excellent but pricey. Absolutely nothing to do in bad weather. No comfortable lounge areas - seating in bar area was damp.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, Front Office Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2010

Dear Grinda

Thank you very much for your comments - it is unfortunate that your stay coincided with some very bad weather, in particular heavy rainfall. The rainfall can indeed make the mosquitoes worse at times and we do mosquito fogging using natural methods three times daily around the resort in order to minimise the problem as much as possible. As I'm sure you are aware after your stay, Six Senses is differentiated by its unique environmental policies, as such we do have a natural look and feel and we do not use harsh chemicals to get rid of harmless insects because of the damage it will do to the environment around the resort.

I'm sorry to read that you feel we had nothing to offer during the bad weather. We do offer a programme of activities in our LIFE department such as Thai culture classes, handicraft activities and language lessons which are all designed to take place come rain or shine. We also offer complimentary afternoon tea when the weather is bad, as well as offering cooking classes or wine-tasting. Our award-winning spa is one of the best on the island and in addition to a full range of wonderful spa treatments, we also offer a daily complimentary holistic activity such as tai chi, yoga or Thai stretching.

I'm also sorry to read that you felt our wine was overpriced - wine is subjected to huge taxes in Thailand over which we have no control and after careful checking, our wine prices are very much in line with the other 5* luxury hotels on the island.

It is indeed a very great shame that the weather prevented you from enjoying your stay. We were very pleased to read that you found our staff and our spa excellent and we hope to welcome you back in our dry season so that you may experience the best that Six Senses Samui has to offer.

Kind Regards
Tessa Williams
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

My brand new husband and I stayed at Six Senses Samui on our honeymoon for 9 nights in July 2010. After the crazy city of Bangkok it was a welcome relief to come to this resort. From the moment we were welcomed when arriving at the hotel until when we left, the service was second to none. All of the staff that we came into contact with were so friendly and helpful. Every time you pass a member of staff, they say hello (sawadeka) to you, everyone was so friendly. Our butler Po was absolutely lovely, she couldn't do enough for us and had lots of advice on where to go and what to do outside of the hotel. The management were also really friendly and gave us plenty of advice during their cocktail hours.

We did a few excursions while we were in Koh Sumai but to be honest preferred staying in the resort as the facilities there were amazing. A fantastic pool and private beach. They were having work done at the beach but that didn't bothered us, the time we spent there was lovely and it was nice having a private beach as we only saw one other couple on the beach while we were there, fantastic.

We ate at the main hotel restaurant a lot, the food was fantastic, plenty of choice and helpful staff to recommend new food to us. We also ate at Dining on the Rocks which was interesting, definitely worth giving a go but I did enjoy the food at Dining on the Hill more.

The villas are fantastic, we stayed in a Hideaway Villa, it was the nicest hotel room I've ever been in, absolutely fantastic. We also loved the added extras you found in the villa to use during your stay, a shopping bag, umbrellas (it rained nearly every day we were there but normally for half an hour at a time) and macs. Those little touches are what make Six Senses so special.

I couldn't recommend this resort enough though you do need to be happy to be at one with nature as all the communal areas are outdoors, the only enclosed space is your villa. The mossies did love me a lot but it really didn't affect my stay, the resort is much too special for that.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NThomson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, Front Office Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2010

Dear NThomson2

Warmest greetings from Six Senses Samui and thank you very much for your positive review of our property. We were very pleased not only to welcome you both on your honeymoon, but also to learn that we helped to make this very special trip a memorable and fantastic experience. Thank you for your kind comments about your butler, your villa and the cuisine on offer at our resort.

I am pleased to confirm that the upgrading of our beach facilities is now complete - we now have a fantastic beach restaurant and a relaxed beach bar, along with a lounging area and chill out music. We have also improved the condition of the beach itself as well as offering complimentary non-motorised watersports. We do hope that you will be able to return to our property in the near future so that you may experience these improvements to our beautiful beach.

Kind Regards
Tessa Williams
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Our first family holiday with our one-year-old. We just needed a break to re-charge and enjoy our family unit. Six Senses Samui was just the ticket. We were a little unsure how it would be for an infant but we need not have worried. The staff were simply fantastic with our daughter and she loved them. And I have never been anywhere with such an extensive infant & toddler menu at the restaurants that is also complimentary!!! Our daughter has food allergies and the resort staff were well aware of them and catered as they could which was very re-assuring for us. The butler service is a luxury and helpful without being intrusive. Our villa was fantastic- perfect ocean views to literally wake up with from our bed and comfortable day beds downstairs to enjoy the peacefulness of the location. The outdoor shower was divine. The nicest thing about this resort is that you still feel like you are in Thailand and amongst nature. We loved the greenery and the pathways around the resort..... and the infinity pool is sensational. We would have lived in it had it not rained a little too much (to be expected at this time of year). We found the food fantastic, particularly the variety included in breakfast, and the staff were amazingly helpful. We felt like we wanted to go around and thank each of them before we left. They were just wonderful. And yes- the spa was fabulous. It was the little touches that made the stay special- like the mini-bathrobe in the closet for our daughter, the fresh coffee delivered to the room, and the car seat put in the transport car for our trip to the airport. Service was always with a smile and we were smiling as we left. Thanks!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KCassidy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, Front Office Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2010

Dear KCassidy_10

Many thanks for taking the time to upload your experience at Six Senses Samui to TripAdvisor! We are very pleased to read your positive comments and it was our very great pleasure to welcome you and your family during your recent visit to Koh Samui. We do take great pleasure in welcoming children to our resort and always do our utmost to provide a unique experience for children as well as for adults! We hope to welcome you back soon in the future.

Kind Regards
Tessa Williams
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

great hotel with fantasic views of the ocean. The rooms were first class and we loved the outdoor shower. Our butler 'Teep' was also excellent and nothing was too much trouble for him to organise. The food/drink is excellent although very expensive compared to local prices. The only disappointing thing is that the hotel charges guests to use their taxi and shuttle bus services. This should be complimentary as the hotel is located in a remote area. Staff all very friendly and we would recommend this hotel to all of our friends. We also stayed in the Six Senses Hua Hin but this place is leagues ahead of Hua Hin.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandMac49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, Front Office Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2010

Dear IrelandMac49

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, we are very grateful for your effort and for your kind comments. We do believe that we offer good value for money at our food and beverage outlets, due to the high quality of ingredients and presentation. We also believe we are in line with the other 5* luxury hotels on the island. We have however noted your comments regarding the possibility of offering a complimentary shuttle bus which we will consider for the future. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your experience with us here at Six Senses Samui so much and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Tessa Williams
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

I spend my honeymoon in Six Sense Samui.
Staff: 10 Stars they were always pleasant always with a smile for the guest.
Food: Fantastic Thai food really great and also the snacks for lunch
Villa: I stayed in a pool villa I must confess that in 7 nights I used twice specially because the main pool from the hotel is simply a dream came true.
Once we went to have dinner outside from the hotel and after 1 hour of being outside we want to return to the Hotel because we miss the quality, the friendship and everything good that one of the best hotels I will stay in my life.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedrovb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2010

Dear Pedrovb

It was our pleasure to welcome both you and your wife for your honeymoon stay at Six Senses Samui. Thank you very much for posting your positive comments and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us so much.

Kind Regards
Tessa Williams
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We loved six senses hideaway. we stayed for a week as part of our honeymoon and literally cried when we had to leave. The setting is gorgeous. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food good. There was an amazing amount of choice for breakfast and all really fresh. We felt totally relaxed during our stay, we even both managed to fall asleep during our spar treatments in a room overlooking the sea. with the private pools and outside space at the villas there is no need to go anywhere. Dinner on the Rocks was a special experience, table 99 is worth booking into as a romatic private dinning experience and the food is really special. Nowhere else we stayed in Thialand really compared.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, Front Office Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2010

Dear Mr & Mrs Kelly

Sincere thanks for taking the time to upload your comments to TripAdvisor. We are very grateful for the valuable feedback and we are so very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast, Dining On The Rocks and the relaxing spa treatments! We look forward to welcoming you back to Six Senses Hideaway Samui in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tessa Williams
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
10.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
8.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,405 reviews
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
3.8 mi away
W Retreat Koh Samui
W Retreat Koh Samui
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,073 reviews
1.6 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Samui

Address: 9/10 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#43 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $356 - $967 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six Senses Samui is set on a headland; with glorious panoramas out to the Gulf of Thailand. The 66-villa resort, many with private pools, is 45 minutes south of the Bangkok. The resort serves some of the best food on the island, offering regional and international cuisine and a wine cellar. A Six Senses Spa delivers a comprehensive menu of treatments together with spectacular views across a rock-fringed bay. However one gets around Samui, by foot, elephant or with wheels, a wealth of natural beauty is to be found. Boat trips also show you this most beautiful island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Six Senses Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui Hotel Bophut
Six Senses Hideaway Samui
Six Senses Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing