We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special hotel with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Six Senses Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Six Senses Samui
Ranked #15 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A special hotel with great service”
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We stayed here for four days before moving on to The Peninsular in Bangkok and we wished that we had spent more time at the Six Senses.

The hotel is really professionally run and it shows in every aspect. The staff are really helpful and friendly without coming across as too "over trained". The resort is immaculately kept and the villas are large and comfortable - all in a stunning location.

The breakfasts are really good - wonderful juice bar and every option from cooked meals, through salads, to pancakes or sushi - far better than the Peninsular!

We tried out the fine dining on the Rocks and whilst this was a wonderful location, we were rather underwhelmed with the very pricey food which was pretentious rather than special.

We didn't use the Spa and afterwards rather wished we had. Maybe the hotel could do a little more to promote it??

Overall, it was a fabulous start to a holiday and we wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    152
    56
    37
    21
See reviews for
107
596
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Have never subbed a review on here before, but was moved to after reading a couple of negative ones on this place prior to traveling. Criticism seems to revolve around mosquitos, costs of incidental items and taxis. Mosquitos-no better or worse than anywhere else I have been in Asia-take the usual precaustions after dark. The resort is a way from either Chaweng or Bophut and a taxi costs around 500 baht. We just hired a jeep or car for a couple of days which can be only 1500 baht, so for a return trip with a couple of stops that's break even and you have it for 24 hours..Costs once in the hotel are what I would expect for a hotel of this standard-I don't get the review moaning that a beer is cheaper in town-well obviously, but hey theres an Ibis downtown as well!
We went to switch off for 10 days, with the intention of staying around the hotel for most of the days, so went the whole hog and got a Pool Villa Suite (Villa 38). Not cheap, but fantastic. Loads of space inside and out, with an absolutely stunning view out over the sea. Personal infinity pool, sunded and shaded deck outside, and these were well shielded from Villas to each side, so it felt completely our own and private. Our only company was a pair of Mynah birds who turned up for a bath and some peanuts at regular intervals!
The main restaurant is either buffet or Thai a la carte in the evening and is very good on either count. The On The Rocks restaurant is worth one night, but as mixed reviews have noted here, it is not cheap and for us didnt quite hit the spot.
Eating out of the hotel, would especially recommend an Italian on the hotel side of Chaweng-Prego. Very good. Plenty to choose from In Fishermans Village Bophut also.
There isnt that much to do on the island, so for us the 2 hire car days worked perfectly in between the laying in the sun. Don't believe the little tourist freebie maps that show roads going up the mountains-they quickly turn to steep single track dirt tracks, which whilst fun in a jeep,never seem to lead to where you think they did! There are better maps in the hotel library which give you more of a chance.
Staff are all very good-will not name names as that would be unfair.

So, had a great time. Would go back without hesitation. Nuff said.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkKingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
139 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

We were fortunate enough to stay in the beautifull resort in January.
Wow, this place is world class and very special, we stayed in a pool villa and were very impressed.
We can not say enough good things about this resort other than the fact that every thing is on offer here, if you can not relax and have a good time here then you basicaly need therapy!
We agree with some of the other reviews about the breakfasts, simply the best. Their restaurant Dining on the Hill is amazing for Thai food with a different themed night each and every night. Even the breakfasts included a daily special!
We tried the Dining on the Rocks restaurant but this was not us, or maybe it should be said that the food was not us. Although the service was excellent, infact the service the whole time we were there was superb, i mean really superb. The best I have ever experienced anywhere in the world....They are all so friendly but unobtrusive, very professional. Even the General manager came to intruduse himself and was very friendly and no doubt a genually nice person.
Look, if you want Peace, World class quallity, the best private beach, an amazing infinity edge pool, The best food and service, come here, you will not regret a single penny spent....The only down side is leaving.....Thank you Six senses Koh Samui....

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rigboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

stayed over New Year. great villas, great staff. Not cheap but quiet. I would not recommended for young children or infirm people as most villas have steps (some quite steep) to access and the lighting at night is not bright. Dining at the Rocks is interesting but a little overpriced. also very dark. Dining on the Hill has good Thai food and amzing buffets. The hotel pool has the most awesome views.

A very relaxing place. We are returning later this year.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 5StarHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

My boyfriend and I spent a long time wondering whether to take the plunge and book up - it was quite expensive and had been recommended personally to me by a friend who stayed there during her honeymoon. We were looking for privacy, to wake up to the sound of nothing but the ocean and to have a bit of pampering. From the moment we arrived we knew we had come to the right place. We were in a pool villa. Nobody was able to look over us so we were able to swim naked in our pool - very liberating, especially when all you can see around you are the trees and the ocean! The villa itself was wonderful - tastefully decorated - all in keeping with a rustic feel. The food - oh the food! Now, my boyfriend and I know our food and this, in all the places I have ever eaten, beats any breakfast I have ever experienced. Succulent mango carved to perfection, noodles made to order, fruits of all varieties but prepared with such care, sushi, pancakes, waffles, coconuts, juices of all types, honey on the honeycomb, the list is endless. All exquisite. And then there's the pastries! We only ate on the resort one night (because we love sampling the local restaurants) and could hardly move after. It was so good that we just kept eating more.
Service - just unbelievable. The staff are so sincere and wonderful. It was this that actually made our holiday.
Useful tips - hire a car from day 1 to pick up at the airport and drop off at the airport. We messed around the first few days with taxis here, there and everywhere and it would have been cheaper and more convenient to have hired a car from the beginning. Taxis are quite pricey on Samui. Wear your mosquito spray at dusk. I got bitten alive but we went at the end of the monsoon season. Note the mosquitoes are all over Koh Samui - the staff at the resort take great care to avoid them biting you - they prepare the mosquito nets every evening when they prepare your room, they burn sticks throughout your villa and at dinner in the evening there are plenty of ceiling fans (rustic ones!) which keep them away from you. I actually got most of my bites at the waterfalls, not on the resort. The Spa- I didn't even go to the spa- next time I will - but you can just relax on the beach and have a foot massage for one hour for the equivalent of 5 or 6 pounds. Trips - thoroughly recommend that you do the trip to Koh Tao that they can organise for you - amazing snorkelling in turquoise waters.

All in all, although we are not the type of people to go back the same place twice, we plan to return here as it is just so special -and we hope to bring our parents next time. If you are looking for something cheap you should look elsewhere, but if you are prepared and able to pay for a taste of quality, paradise, elegance and beauty, this is the place for you. It is worth every penny and will be very hard act to follow for any hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SonrisaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

The people who own and run these resorts know what they are doing. They take hospitality very seriously and now that I've seen what's possible, I'm pretty much disappointed in every other place I've vacationed.
From the second we arrived to the second we left, we were treated graciously and lavished with attention. The staff here anticipates every need before you have it. It's actually hard to get used to the generosity at first, but then it's really nice. Our butler, Gig, was sweet and would've done anything for us. We felt constantly pampered and taken care of. This place is quiet enough so that if you want to hide away and not talk to anyone you can, but if you want to socialize you can do that, too.
The views, the accommodations, and the food are spectacular. They have spared no expense and put a lot of thought into how to make this a place people will remember. I've never seen such exceptional and consistent hospitality. Their breakfast is a feast -the best resort breakfast offerings there is. I looked forward to it every morning.
Every time we were seen walking, a member of the staff offered to take us to where we were going. When we went to the resort beach, we were immediately given towels and water. Same thing at the pool. When we got up to leave, they asked us if we wanted a ride. They constantly tried to make us comfortable and relaxed. They did our laundry, they made dinner reservations for us. The staff greeted us every time they passed us walking around.
I will say that booking activities through them is costly. You can do it for less money, but Six Sense will take good care of you. We did Mr. Ung's safari thing and it was terrible. We should have booked through the resort.
The fitness facility isn't very good, but this is not really why you go to a place like this. If I was to offer any criticisms at all, I would say they should update their weight equipment and make the fitness space a little more luxurious like the rest of the resort.
The spa was lovely.
The resort beach is very rocky and unpleasant to walk on. It's shallow water, though, which was nice. If you want to go to a beach for the day, I'd go elsewhere just so you can walk on nicer sand. Their beach was better for reading and relaxing.
All in all, I can't wait to go back to a Six Senses resort.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddinerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiba
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2009

We stayed for the second honeymoon. The service is great and we could have an excellent holiday there. We especially loves the breakfast. We could have the breakfast with the nice view of ocean every morning. We recomment the spa too!

Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nije326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
10.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
8.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,313 reviews
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,516 reviews
6.0 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
5.4 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Samui

Property: Six Senses Samui
Address: 9/10 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#43 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six Senses Samui is set on a headland; with glorious panoramas out to the Gulf of Thailand. The 66-villa resort, many with private pools, is 45 minutes south of the Bangkok. The resort serves some of the best food on the island, offering regional and international cuisine and a wine cellar. A Six Senses Spa delivers a comprehensive menu of treatments together with spectacular views across a rock-fringed bay. However one gets around Samui, by foot, elephant or with wheels, a wealth of natural beauty is to be found. Boat trips also show you this most beautiful island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Six Senses Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six Senses Samui Hotel Bophut
6 Senses Samui
Six Senses Hideaway Samui
Six Senses Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing