We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon at Six Senses Samui”
Review of Six Senses Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Six Senses Samui
Ranked #20 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Honeymoon at Six Senses Samui”
Reviewed November 8, 2008

Reading the last couple of negative reviews on this resort before we left for our honeymoon left us a little concerned. Luckily there was nothing to worry about. This resort is top class and an excellent destination for a relaxing honeymoon.

In short the main points to note:

(1) We stayed in Villa 50 (pool villa) and were very happy with it. It was well located near the beach and short cut to dining area meant that we had 2 min uphill stroll to dining area. In any case the staff were always willing to provide buggy transport so no problems if you cannot be bothered walking. A small issue we had was with privacy whereby the location of the villa near the main path around the island meant that staff could see into our pool area from the road. In addition there was a staff storage area nearby so there was some traffic during the day to this. Nevertheless we did not feel like this majorly impacted on us. I could see though how some villas have less privacy than others so am receptive to why others would have a worse experience than us. For the record villa 50 is on the sunrise part of the island.

(2) Resort Location - in our opinion one of the biggest benefits of this for fresh honeymooners is its location relatively tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Chaweng. If couples are out there for a relaxing few days were they can lounge in their villas then six senses is the place to go. The offside though is that being tucked away means that transport to the main strip is "relatively" expensive. Taxi was 600 BAHT one way which is crazy and instead you could take shuttle bus from resort which was 200 Baht one way per person. Alternatively you can hire cars and bikes but again not that cheap as you have to go to resort as it is not practical from a pick up and drop off point of view to hire transport from other vendors ont he island. THAT SAID If you don't want lounging and relaxation and go stir crazy after 1 day then six senses is prob not for you for reasons mentioned above. You pay a fortune to stay there and then pay a fortune to travel out of there. Not much sense in that.

(3) Facilities - Amazing. We loved the thai/eco decor and our rooms were great. From the funky outdoor showerss to the spas, to the day beds, and personal lap pool we thought it was great. The dining facitlites were also great and one could not help but adore the view on the ocean from the reception area and from the dining on the hill. The beds were great and the fact that you can choose from 10 different pillows shows that these guys are serious about your relaxation. The library is also a good touch so no need to bring books. The library has lots of books/magazines/dvds/music cds/ipod adaptors. Sat TV in room is ok (not heaps of channels but key ones like sport / CNN / bloomberg etc are included). Rooms have Wifi access as well which is handy although one gripe was the speed was VERY slow (forget about uploading your photos on facebook). The beach is ok - as other travellers alluded it is far from the wide stretch of sand that is Chaweng beach but it is quiet so those that don't want to the hustle and bustle of Chaweng can still relax and go for a swim. One small point is that given resort is a little aged now it could use a coat of paint in some parts (but not a big deal really ...)

(4) Food - Food was good altough as other reviews have noted overpriced. We had breakkie included in our package and it was delicious and heaps of choice. By far the best breakfeast I have ever experienced in a hotel. Dinners are overpriced so best to head into town for a better deal. We also had one dinner and the dining on the rocks (we booked table 99 for the honeymooners but could not get it as it rained just before we went there so we ended up eating at another table). Dining on the rocks prides itself as the top culinary establishment in Samui and it did not dissapoint. Food was amazing (we had 5 course with matchinng wines) and wine was sublime too. That said be ready to pay up for it (we ended up dusting $500 AUD on our dinner that night so not cheap). One other point to mentioned is that room service is relatively inexpensive for those wanting to dine in the rooms (100 BHT pp) and we used this a number fo times for breakkie. The stuff do a great job of setting up for you as well.

(5) Staff / Service - Service was excellent. We had a buttler called Nick (recommend him) and we was very nice and accomodative to us. As other reviews mentioned English is definitely lacking for some staff however we found this in numerous places we stayed at in Thailand so not a huge deal. Plus the lack of English is MORE than offset by the hospitality of the Thai people and if you were to fill the resort with all non Thai workers I strongly doubt you would get same warmth of service as we received. One point to note is that we had a motorbike accident whilst at the resort and the staff were very very good in assisting us and ensuring we were ok.

(6) Prices - prob the only major gripe we have is that everyhting is very expensive as you would expect in this resort. We might be a little more sensitive with the AUD depreciating recently however it will be curious to see whether their prices hold up in the next few months with the global credit crunch. In any case the key point is that if you get a package with breakkie icldued then you should be fine it you don't want to spend too much more at the resort. For us money was a bit of an issue but i am sure other guests would have no qualms. The SPA for example was very nice and we had free 30 min massage but again it was 1000 Baht for another 30 mins compare to 200 bht for 1 hour at the beach in Chawen.

(7) Mosquitoes - ok so this seemed to be a gripe of numerous other travellers. Our view is Yes they are there, yes they do bite (even in shower) BUT if you burn the coils and put on you repellent (something we do as habit in Australia in Summer) then you won't get badly bitten. Also sensible closing of external doors as soon as posible also helps. In short our view is that those complaining about mosquitoes on this website are overdoing it (caveat being that seasonality may affecft how bad tbey are but this was our first trip to Samui so cannot comment on other seasons).


Okay this review is vyer long so I'll cut it there. In short a great resort for a relaxing honeymoon with classy facilities and the location and views to match. Be prepared to pay up but then if you are shopping for these kind of resorts you should be willing to. We had a great time there and have many memories to take back for our honeymoon. Five Stars from Us.

  • Liked — Facilities / Staff / Location / Relaxing Environment / Unique
  • Disliked — Price / Distance to main shopping strip / cost of transport.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Flopski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    157
    57
    37
    22
See reviews for
113
606
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2008

We chose the Six Senses as the place we wanted to get married at and if you want the most romantic wedding in the world, then this is the place to go.

There is not enough words to say how magical the whole experience was and that is purely down to the wonderful staff that are employed by the hotel management.

We spent three nights in the Pool Villa Room and pure luxury is all that can be used to describe this wonderful room. If I could live there, I would. The room was tastefully decorated and the outside shower room was to die for. So much space with wonderful amenities - no need to take your own toiletries. The infinty pool overlooking the bay was amazing and we spent a lot of time chilling in the pool area with the lovely loungers and million dollar views.

Now on to the wedding. Wow!!! We were married at Dining on the Rocks and had the reception up there too. Our guests were so overwhelmed by the beautiful setting and the flawless attention to detail.

Everything was perfectly organised by the wonderful Ebba, PK and Khun. How wonderful to have a holiday and wedding at the same time. There was nothing they couldn't do for us to ensure that our day was absolutely perfect. The 10 course degustation dinner with matching wines was the best meal we had ever eaten and it was all served with absolute care and professionalism. I don't think any of our guests had ever felt so important or taken care of. They are still raving about our wedding and the Six Senses.

Huge thanks to our lovely butler Nick and to all the wonderful staff at the Six Senses. How amazing to find such luxury, friendliness and professionalism all wrapped up in one beautiful resort.

Thank you so much for a wedding that we and our guests will never forget.

  • Liked — Everything but mostly the staff
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brent_kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Been meaning to write this review for ages but haven't got round to it until now.
We were looking forward to staying here and left very disappointed.
In no particular order our main issues were:

1) Accomodation
Shown very poor 1st villa - overlooked by other villas/restaurant and road - asked for alternatives and were shown 3 others - chose the least bad which OK but underwhelming.
Bathroom not air conditioned and very hot and humid and fulll of mosquitoes. Air conditioning couldn't cope with rest of living area - never fell below 26C which far too hot.

2) Staff
Generally pleasant and welll meaning but seemingly without the skills//training (which so common in the Far East) to do much other than the basics. Fell down on repsonses to complaints.

3) Food/drink
Food not bad although expensive (not unusual for a hotel of course) - worse was total lack of atmosphere - having dinner in same restaurant as lunch when you are the only ones there at 9pm is plain boring regardless of the company.
Drinks selection very good but as wine so heavily taxed massively expensive. Bar service slow despite few people being there. Don't bother eating here - loads of places elsewhere on the island which much cheaper.

4) General appearance
Pride themselves as being eco-friendly which means the cheapest finishes e.g old railway sleepers in poor condition at main reception. Nothing there of any architectural or design merit.

5) Mosquitoes
OK so it rained a lot when we were there even though it was the dry season but the place is infested with them. I believe they use "eco-friendly" sprays which do nothing to help with the problem. Never been bitten so much in my (or wife's) lives!

6) Beach
A (bad) joke - easily the worst beach I have ever been on in Asia - a scrappy, gritty, smalll strip shared with a downmarket hotel 100 yards away. Spent 10 minutes there in 12 nights.

Overall
Poor value, amateur service, infested with mosquitoes. If this doesn't put you off coming here, good luck! All they care about is being eco-friendly and extracting as much cash as possible.

  • Liked — Our own pool
  • Disliked — Mosquitoes/poor aiir con / cheap finish/so-so service
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Andrew2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We have been a big fan of Soneva/Evason, but this Samui Hideaway is the worst experience ever. It is because of 3 main reasons: 1.Bad location/Old propoerty, 2. Mismanagement, and 3. Under-trained staff.

1.Bad location/Old property
The property is located on the cliff, so it gives you a nice lookout. However, it's quite close to the airport. Therefore, you can hear a sound of taking-off planes from 6am and landing planes until late at night. The property itself is made from lots of bamboo. It may look nice when it's new but currently we felt like we were staying in an old bamboo fortress -- it's not worth for the money at this price tag.

2.Mismanagement
During our stay, there was absolutely no water for 3-4 hours. Electricity was on and off twice. We were extremely surprised to have such experience in a 5-star resort. The important thing is, the management didn't inform us that they were doing some maintenance work which cause a water to stop for 3-4 hours!!! The problem arised because it happend in late afternoon, and the guests were not informed. And, it's the time to get ready to go dine out. As for me, i didn't finish my shower and had some difficulty to clean myself up, and get ready for the dinner.


3.Under-trained staff
The resort provided a 'personal butler'. It sounds great, but it does make any different from not having one. When we made a reservation, the hotel requires us to fill a form, specifying our preference over the pillow choices, type of soap, and etc. We wasted our time to fill that form. We found nothing matched up with our preference as specified in the form.

Other comments had pointed out about the mosquitos problem, and a very hot bathroom. We totally agree on that.

Well, we have the conclusion that if you, by any chance, have to pay nothing to stay at this property then it's worth trying. However, if you have to pay at the current price tag, my suggestion is go find other hotels. It's not worth the price you pay.

  • Liked — Valet parking
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank mennemenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Geez... I couldn't believe the bad reviews that I read in some of the previous posting. I mean, I can totally understand about the rather spotty customer service, or the mosquitoes (this is after all, the tropics). But, to complain that Samui feels like Benidorm, or the poolside has no telephone, or the resort has too many steps, or the shower was outdoor, or the bathroom has no airconditioned(!)... well, those were just plain nitpicking. Maybe U guys should stick to stuck-up "Old Money" destination like the French Riviera, because Thailand, despite being hugely popular with tourist, is still in the 'learning curve', and therefore their level of hospitality is yet to match the sophistication and the polished service found within the say, Swiss or French hotel industry.

HAVING SAID THAT, I absolutely adore this resort. I love the "rustic chic" effect that the designer want to achieve (although this might not be everyone's cup of tea. The design was sympathetic to the site topography, and certainly non-offensive for a luxury resort (are you familiar with all those Dubai / Hawaii monstrosity? Well, this resort is totally opposite of that)

There are some rough edges, of course, but certainly not enough to ruin a holiday. The best part was my butler. She was sensational. For example, when I made known to her about my displeasure about the steep price for foods and spa service in the resort, she made honest recommendation of other alternatives around Samui. Her advice was spot on, and me and my partner had a good time doing "food safari" on our own, based on her reccommendation (including a very delicious non-touristy Thai restaurant)

To tell U the truth, this wasn't my best hotel experience, but again, it wasn't something that I regret either.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank lee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

How many senses does it take to realise that somewhere IS NOT a 5***** resort?
I guess it boils down to five things;

• Guest Previous Experience
• Guest Expectation
• Resort/Hotel Deliverance
• Guest Experience
• Feel Good Factor When Guest Departs

Having just spent 9 nights with my wife at Six Senses Hideaway Koh Samui I would respectfully suggest that this “resort” (one of many misnomas used in their marketing) falls way below the standards that most regular 5***** guests would either accept or tolerate.

At this point I should point out that I found certain members of the senior management team (I will deliberately not mention names in this instance) to be totally professional and dedicated to providing he best possible customer experience even though their hands are tied to a considerable degree by the Company Eco Culture.

The same cannot be said unfortunately about the resort manager, Andreas, German by berth, South Africaan by upringing,who was gloriously conspicuous by his absence in our presence despite raising serious concerns on many fronts and also despite us moving into the Presidential Villa after three nights there. ( I never did get the name of one president who stayed there funnily enough!).
Timing is obviously not one of Andreas’ strengths as it was a most uncomfortable experience for him when he found himself in the reception area at our checkout. He was obviously fresh out of “invisible dust” and so resorted to the obligatory “How was your stay with us?” platitude.

Here we had The Resort Manager acquainting himself with guests from their one and only (no advertising meant!) Presidential Villa, who had spent considerable amounts of time in dialogue with his Managers expressing their displeasure and disappointment with so many aspects of the “resort” and, where possible, suggesting solutions. My response to his throw away question was “so-so”. His response was to totally ignore our blatant indifference and talk about the fact that he’d had enough of Asia and, after a short spell in HQ in Bangkok, he was looking forward to opening a new Six senses in Mexico and/or South America. Well, Bravo for him!

Hotel and business standards cascade from the top down and it is little surprise that his total apathy and lack of verve (as opposed to Veuve, which I will come on to!), enthusiasm and empathy was mirrored in so many of his staff.

The answer to the big question…(”Why is this resort so soulless and lacking enthusiasm?) that had been bugging (yes, those pesky mozzies will get a paragraph later too!) my wife and I for nine days had been answered in the time it took his checkout staff to mess up our bill three times and try to deal with an extremely disgruntled Russian guest simultaneously. Needless to say Andreas had exited stage left by that time, or perhaps captured by aliens even…probably to check out the weather in Mexico I guess!

In order for Six Senses Hideaway to be the best it can be (in our opinion between a 3*** and 4**** resort) it desperately needs an inspirational Resort Manager who will instill the uncompromising standards into his well intentioned staff that the discerning guests will rightfully expect.

Ok, let’s move on to the actual Villa, Dining & Spa experiences;

We were initially allocated Pool Suite Villa 9 which we were assured was one of their “best” villas. After a short buggy ride from reception with our butler, Run, we had to negotiate no less than 175 steps (extremely dimly lit) through trees, shrubs, etc’ to our Villa. Our thoughts had already turned to the return trip UP those steps every time we wanted to go anywhere! Our thoughts also turned to the poor guys who were going to carry our rather heavy cases down (and eventually back up) those steps.

The Villa Suite was quite large and appeared quite reasonably well appointed at first glance. It was difficult to be certain because the lighting is quite “simply appalling in the villas”. These are not just my words, they are the words of a senior Manager who admitted many of the shortcomings of the resort. The wine fridge did not cool sufficiently, the dressing room/area was not air-conditioned, the plunge pool did not have any steps to get into it, there is not interior table to sit at and dine, the exterior areas are so dimly lit that it makes it impossible to dine outside either.

The external shower is visible from another villa, there is no master light switch at the bedside which means you have to locate all the switches in another part of the room, there is no bedside table to put either a book, drink or anything else on…….I really could go on and on and on. And to top it all…the least we thought we could expect was privacy….oh no! Wrong! Our neighbours were no more than seven feet away with a clear view from their veranda onto our terrace and pool area. Add to this the fact that my wife counted over 40 mozzie bites on just one of my legs after just two days and you will begin to get the picture in all its non-glory!

After two nights we were beginning to consider alternative resorts both on the island and also further afield. Dining On The Hill on the third night was the straw that broke the camels back. The wine wasn’t chilled, the service was slow and the food when it arrived was cold, poorly cooked and totally unappetizing.. We upped and left the dining area and made our way to the reception area where we asked to speak with the duty manager. Jerry Troy, Guest Services Manager, had also been dining at the same restaurant….as it seemed to double up as a staff canteen as well (how professional is that?). He was very courteous and polite and empathised with our concerns without being able to offer any quick fix solutions.

Back at the Villa I decided to visit the Four Seasons Resort in the morning having called them to check out room availability and specification. Morning came and Jerry called to offer us the Presidential Villa for the remainder of our stay. We appreciated the gesture but informed Jerry that I was going to the Four Seasons to meet with the manager and compare their accommodation and facilities. Well, Four Seasons, Samui is a high quality resort blessed with a truly beautiful location and the Villas are finished to a very high standard in a “less is more” kind of style. The BIG negative is that is extremely undulating and a buggy is required to get absolutely anywhere of significance unless you are an international hill walker, in which case this would probably be paradise on earth for you!

Returning to Six Senses we were shown around the Presidential Villa and after considering our options we decided to accept Jerry’s invitation to spend the remainder of our stay there. The decision was certainly not a “no-brainer” as the PV does not have a “wow” factor, nor is it totally private, nor is it significantly better appointed than the other Pool Villas. On the plus side, the pool was larger, there was a separate lounge chalet and also a separate second bedroom chalet which might be useful if you have children or friends staying with you. The dimly lit theme carried on both inside and outside the Villa. Internet connectivity is intermittent at best with extremely slow speeds so if you require any kind of Internet based platform to use while there…forget it.

There were other annoying lack of attention to detail cases such as no phone by the pool area (but there is one in each of the loos….hallelujah!!) which meant that you could not hear if anyone, the butler, reception, in-villa dining etc were calling you if you were taking in a few rays. No air-conditioning in the dressing room area meant my wife would get ready in temperatures over 30 degrees. No bedside master light switch. No insect net covering the external shower which meant that the pesky mozzies could feast away at shower time (they wear snorkels!) and then just zip into the main Villa when you opened the door. No fridge in the lounge area although there must have been over 20 wine, champagne and tumbler glasses stacked up there.

Whilst on the subject of wines/champagnes the Resort have quite an extensive (and extremely expensive) list on offer. Sadly what you see is not what you can actually get. We have a particular penchant for Burgundy white wines and were disappointed to find out that the resort literally had only two bottles each of our favoured wines. The majority of the staff have little or no idea about wine storage or the importance of temperature. Having said all of that, I would like to pay a compliment to the Fine Wine Manager, Monsieur Quentin, who belatedly returned from a course in Bangkok and enhanced our wine experience considerably.

Dining on The Rocks talks itself up BIG TIME. It claims to be THE dining experience on Samui. We dined there on two occasions, the second night and the penultimate night. The setting does lend itself to something quite special and although we found it quite difficult to actually find too many dishes to tempt our palates the quality of the food is good even if the menu copywriters have taken “pretentious” to a new level.

Somebody somewhere in the hotel/resort industry has decreed that diners want to eat in the dark! This epidemic has spread from the Maldives and now virtually all resorts in Asia believe this mantra! “Guests do not want to be able to read the menu without the aid of a torch, nor do they want to see what’s on their plate when it arrives”. Well, I’m here to suggest to the “all knowing” that guests DO want to read the menu without torches and they DO want to see what’s on their plate when it arrives. Controllable mood lighting at dining tables is not too much to ask. Let guests determine what they want as opposed to telling them what they WILL enjoy.

We also felt that Dining on The Rocks would benefit greatly from having a cocktail bar where guests could enjoy a pre or post dinner drink in a very pleasant environment. Currently you have a choice of Drinks on The Hill or Drinks on The Hill for these drinky poos! DOTH doubles up as an internet café for guests and staff and somewhere where that staff can use their mobile phones with impunity even though guests are kindly requested to refrain from using theirs!

There are few other dining options in the immediate vicinity of the resort although there are one or two hidden or less well publicised gems within a 15-20 minute taxi ride. A member of staff strongly recommended that we try a boutique hotel named “The Library” in Chaweng. For those of you unfamiliar with Chaweng…it is twinned with Blackpool, Benidorm and Beirut. That should give you some idea of what to expect!!

The Library is an oasis of quality is a sea of mediocrity and seediness. We met and chatted with Jirapa Akkaraj, the General Manager, and she was most attentive as were all the staff especially one of the chefs there, Martin, from the UK. We enjoyed a truly delicious meal washed down with a flavoursome Sancerre.

The rooms (or “pages” as they are referred to) are furnished in a very minimalist style but class and quality ooze everywhere. Each “page” comes complete with its own Apple Mac which is a very nice touch.

The Library is certainly worth a visit and the Kobe beef is to die for!

This review has turned into something akin to War & Peace 

In summary, Six Senses has, in our opinion, a long way to go before it can honestly consider itself a genuine 5 ***** resort. There are some very well intentioned staff members there who have their hands tied by Eva’s marketing philosophy. It was our first, and quite likely last, experience of Six Senses because the back to nature ethos is common throughout the group. For us it pales by comparison with One & Only, Four Seasons and others.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Carpe-DiemLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

This hotel is definitely not what we expected from the literature. It is far more eco friendly and "rustic" than the website would suggest. The villas are excellent however the air conditioning is not very effective - it is centrally contolled in an effort to be enviromentally friendly. Not only are the showers outside, but so effectively are the bathrooms which means no aircon and bugs! There is no proper seal between the bedroom and bathroom so bugs get in here too plus the aircon becomes even less efficient as it is fighting the warm bathroom air. Drying your hair means you need another shower!! The communal areas are comfortable but basic with very rustic furniture.
All that said, we grew to love the place. The pool villas are stunning as is the main pool ( the beach however is very disappointing). The Butler service was fantastic - we are experienced independant travellers and didnt see the need for one but made extensive use of her in the end! The Spa is delightful and I cannot speak highly enough of the staff and levels of service.Not a hotel for families. If you know what to expect, you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Service, pool, romance
  • Disliked — lack or aircon, beach
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda7164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
10.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
8.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,371 reviews
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,575 reviews
3.8 mi away
W Retreat Koh Samui
W Retreat Koh Samui
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,023 reviews
6.0 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Samui

Property: Six Senses Samui
Address: 9/10 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#15 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#43 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six Senses Samui is set on a headland; with glorious panoramas out to the Gulf of Thailand. The 66-villa resort, many with private pools, is 45 minutes south of the Bangkok. The resort serves some of the best food on the island, offering regional and international cuisine and a wine cellar. A Six Senses Spa delivers a comprehensive menu of treatments together with spectacular views across a rock-fringed bay. However one gets around Samui, by foot, elephant or with wheels, a wealth of natural beauty is to be found. Boat trips also show you this most beautiful island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Six Senses Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui Hotel Bophut
Six Senses Hideaway Samui
Six Senses Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing