We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here to really enjoy the beauty of Thailand”
Review of Six Senses Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Six Senses Samui
Ranked #22 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Going to Thailand, although so many parts of it are beautiful, it is important that you pick the right hotel in the right location and Six Senses is one of them for Koh Samui. Six Senses is set amongst stunning landscapes with spectacular sea views where all guest residences are villas, with a large proportion of them with their own private swimming pools. There is an infinity swimming pool and two wonderfully located restaurants - Dining on the Hill and Dinning on the Rocks.

Every attention has truly been given to respect and operate this hotel in harmony with the environment so it was very eco-friendly and maintained high end yet minimal luxury which works well. The hotel and spa are in the north of the Island which I’d recommend staying in (or Lamai Beach) as areas like Chweng have become very commercialised by an open, sordid and growing sex industry with more seedy strip clubs opening. The Six Senses is for those who want to relax and totally enjoy a hotel as it offers much of what you need which can be complimented by trips to other islands like Koh Tao. Everyone is given their own butler also to assist with any requirements you may have which is a nice touch.

I used the spa which was beautiful and the views outstanding during the massage.

My areas for improvement would be:

1. Better English speaking or English Language for ALL staff – there is a need to ensure all levels of staff have a basic and good command of English particularly at junior levels as these are often the people that interact most and directly with guests
2. I would have appreciated flowers and flower/garden landscaping around the property and some placed in the villa to add colour
3. Food quality was 7/10 and there is room for improvement (Dining on the Hill), unfortunately I didn’t get time to sample Dining on the Rocks

It is an excellent venue for a honeymoon, total luxury relaxation that is focused around the hotel and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a pool villa once in Thailand - it will be worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Kanizak,
Thank you for your feedback on a recent stay at Six Senses Samui. We are delighted to see that you had a wonderful time, and especially enjoyed the ambiance of the resort. I have also shared your constructive feedback with my Gardener, and Executive Chef. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not to distant future. Should you require any further information on a future stay, please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com.
Sincerely,
David Ashworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 934 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

We just returned from honeymoon where we had spent 9 nights at Six Senses. Fantastic service from check-in to check-out.

The villa (sea view with private pool) was everything we expected and concierge/butler service delivered everything you would need (and I mean everything - ice for your drink or fresh aloe Vera for any sunburn).

Breakfast always was great and the signature restaurant (Dining On The Rocks) was exceptional; it is worthy of its accolades.

We found the all-day dining (Dining on the hill) to be highly variable though - menus taken away before ordering, having to top-up our wine myself, food being delivered not as requested etc. This aside however, Dining on the hill also delivered some fantastic food during our stay.

I can safely say it was an amazing experience and we will definitely be back

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank d4ve_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear d4ve_c,
Thank you for your remarks on a recent stay at six senses samui, so nice to see that you had a wonderful stay, especially your in villa experience, and the good food and wine at all of our restaurants. I do hope you can visit us again in the future and if there is anything that I can help you with on your next stay please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Look forward to welcoming back
Sincerely,
David Ashworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel, villas, toilets, staff where one of the best hotels ever. You have your own butler you name it they will do it. The toilet can open the windows and take a shower and enjoy one of the best views ever. Or you can take a shower in the your private garden.You have your own swimming pool. You have your own terrace. Get a massage at your room or spa. You want a dinner for 2 they will arrange it where ever you want it.Get ready to be treated like a king.

Room Tip: Any villa is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear MuntherJ,
Thank you for your candid feedback on a recent visit to Six Senses Samui, the team is happy to hear that you had a wonderful time and enjoyed our facilities. I hope that you can visit us again in the future and if there is anything that I can help you with on your next stay either in Samui or at one of our other properties, please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely,
David Ashworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My partner and i stayed at Six senses Koh Samui for 5 nights 7-12 May. The resort sits amid lush tropical forest and has the most amazing views of the sea. We opted for an ocean view pool villa which proved to be a really indulgent experience. The resort ids very rustic but that sits perfectly with its location and really adds to that barefoot luxury experience.

Everything about the resort is geared to help you to relax and time passed very slowly indeed. Our typical day would consist of the incredible buffet breakfast - so much choice! We would then spend a few hours by the big infinity pool with its breathtaking views out over the ocean. We would then head to the spa followed by an afternoon in our own private Villa pool.

The resort is near to both Fisherman's Village and to Chaweng and theresort runs a nightly shuttle bus. There is a charge for this and my only negative comment would be that i think that this service should be free because without it you would be stuck at the resort all of the time.

Our Butler Fai was friendly and helpful and indeed all the staff at the resort made us feel very welcome indeed.

I am not sure i would return to the island of Koh Samui but i will definately be checking out some of the other Six Senses Spas!

Room Tip: We had Villa 26 which had its own pool and a great view to the ocean. It was also very private and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeilPByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear NeilPByrne,
Thank you for your comments on a recent stay with us, I have shared these with K Fai your butler and my team, we are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. In regards to the shuttle bus transfer, we are considering to remove the charge in future. Should you wish to visit another Six Senses Resort, do not hesitate to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com for further information on a stay at one of our special locations.
Sincerely,
David Ashworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A good four star hotel. As such not fundamentally bad but in our experience lacked the service consistentency and polish that the brand aspires to. Maybe our expectations were too high from previous six senses stay at phuket?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom8088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Tom8088,
Thank you for your feedback on a recent visit to Six Senses Samui, would it be possible in a direct email to clarify a little more the service inconsistencies and lack of polish, as it would really help the team if we were to understand the flaws in more detail, and have the necessary training put in place to ensure we exceed our guests expectations
Please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely,
David Ashworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The views are great, the food is good and the restaurants are beautiful...
Unfortunately, the comfort level is not in line with the price you pay.
An airco which makes a lot of noise, etc etc
The people who work at the hotel are nice but are not trained as it should be in such a hotel. Some people hardly understand English and the service sometimes remembers scenes from Fawlty Towers.
The location of the hotel is far away from evereything but ideal for people who are looking for absolute rest.
Last but not least, the hotel beach is really disappointing and is not nicer then a nice beach in France or in Spain.
Conclusion : I would not recommend this hotel for stays longer thank 2-3 days and price><quality is not ok!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davydemuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear DDeMuyer,
Thank you for your candid feedback on a recent stay at Six Senses Samui, we are happy to see that you and your family enjoyed the great views, and selection of food served in the restaurants. However your comments on our service standards we have noted. During your stay we had a number of trainees working in the restaurants as part of a government program. At first glance this would give the impression that things are a little hurried and messy, plus we had a full resort, our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectation in this case. With regards to the beach, Koh Samui does not have the fine white powder sands like the Maldives and some Indian Ocean locations, its more rocky in some respects and the sand tend to be course. Again thank you for your remarks, should you wish to elaborate further on any of them, please feel free to reach me on gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely,
David Ashworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

After 4 days in Banyan tree we went in this hotel. Built in raw material in respect of the nature you could have the feeling to arrive in a property where they have ti refurbished some of the space.
But the reality is completely different ! As soon you arrive in your villa with pool in front of the ocean you feel like in a lodge in Namibia our South Africa. Great comfort, quiet, beautiful view and an amazing swimming pool where you could stay hours to look after the sunset after having observe the sunrise on the beach.
There is no AC in the restaurant but what a view with all the lights on the Bophut Bay and on Mae Nang.
I will definitely come back in a six senses resort.
May be a less aseptisized environment than in a luxury chain hotel but you feel so well in this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool villa (43 is a very good one)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christophepingard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Christophepingard,
Thank you for your kind remarks on a recent experience at Six Senses Samui. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed the ambiance of the villa and the great views from the restaurants. I hope that you can visit us again and if there is anything that I can help you with on your stay at aonther Six Senses Resort, please feel free to reach me at gm-samui@sixsenses.com
Sincerely,
David Ashworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
8.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,424 reviews
10.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
6.0 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
W Retreat Koh Samui
W Retreat Koh Samui
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,097 reviews
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
7.4 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Samui

Address: 9/10 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#16 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#43 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $366 - $964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six Senses Samui is set on a headland; with glorious panoramas out to the Gulf of Thailand. The 66-villa resort, many with private pools, is 45 minutes south of the Bangkok. The resort serves some of the best food on the island, offering regional and international cuisine and a wine cellar. A Six Senses Spa delivers a comprehensive menu of treatments together with spectacular views across a rock-fringed bay. However one gets around Samui, by foot, elephant or with wheels, a wealth of natural beauty is to be found. Boat trips also show you this most beautiful island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Six Senses Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six Senses Samui Hotel Bophut
6 Senses Samui
Six Senses Hideaway Samui
Six Senses Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing