We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise to relax”
Review of Six Senses Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Six Senses Samui
Ranked #30 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spent a two-weeks-stay in the six senses in April/May 2012. The hotel is located close to the airport which is absolutely no problem (noise).
The best is you are away from the busy beaches and the hotel offers views to the east and to the west for both sunrise and sunset.
We had a villa to the east which is a perfect start in the day.
The service was fatastic. Everybody welcomes you with a smile and your personal butler helps you with everything you want him/her to do.
At the beginning we were not sure about the prices. Yes the restaurants are not as cheep as the ones outside in Buphut, but you get water and fruits for free every day, the breaky is the best we ever had. And as many other things are complementary you spend all your money for amazing spa treatments.
The gym has very good equipment both cardio and weights.
All togehter I can say it is fantastic place with loveley people and abolutely recommendable for a honeymoon.
If you would like to be close to a crowdy beach, shops and restaurants, you better should choose a different accomodation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McNiklas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (940)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 940 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

25 days in 10 months

Having spent nearly 4 weeks at Six Senses Samui in the last 10 months, we feel quite able to give a qualified opinion.

Short version: HEAVEN ON EARTH!!!!

Long version:

• Staff and management: Thank you for understanding the guest! We miss and love your smiles, your professionalism and your heart-felt care. Cannot wait to come back!

• Airport pick-up: Friendly, discrete, competent by one of the butlers.

• Transfer: Excellent and considerate drivers, immediately being offered cold water und the signature Six Senses lemon grass towels to freshen-up. Makes one feel coddled and cared for right away.

• Arrival and check-in: Warm, personal and heart-felt – like coming home to a family. They make it blindingly clear that you can leave all your troubles at the check-in. You are introduced to your personal butler, who will be at your disposal during your entire stay.

• Butler: Personal assistant and single point of contact for any and all of your needs. Let them know your wishes and it is their pride to make it happen. It is our experience that they try to and manage to preempt many wishes and requests. We have experienced this with Bo, Joy, and Pui - so enjoy!

• Pu: We need to highlight our butler Pu: she is a magician!!! And one of the main reasons for us to keep coming back to this wonderful place. Be careful what you ask for – she will make it happen without a doubt. In our case, we jokingly asked for a gecko for our villa (a good luck sign in Thailand). Pu got in contact with all of her colleagues incl. pest-control to find one. In the end, she surprised us with an unbelievable solution to our request: She taped toy geckos to our villa walls, windows, and bed. We have called her a mother hen before – this is a blatant understatement.

• Villa: Robinson Crusoe with all the amenities you could possibly need. Highlights are: the double outdoor showers, enormous sunk-in bathtub, private pool and deck and of course… THE VIEW! Of course, the villas also offer the full range of modern technology (blue ray, wifi, surround sound….). They are currently upgrading the coffee machines – but we feel, the villa is already perfect as it is.

• Breakfast: Enjoy! The smiles, the service, the food, the venue, the view. If this does not tick all of your boxes, nothing will. Has to be experienced to be believed. It is a true highlight of the day and we spent at least 1,5 hours everyday at breakfast.

• Dining on the hill: A hidden gem in plain view (overshadowed by its famous brother Dining on the rocks). Do not let the menu deceive you: The cook is a genius and Michelangelo with food. The thai cuisine is great, but the international fusion cuisine is out of this world. We feel, all of the ingredients are there for this to become one of the most famous restaurants in Thailand. And the new restaurant manager Gayan is highly committed, extremely customer-oriented and visionary enough to make this happen. We are already dreaming about our next meal there. The friendly and service-oriented staff are another major reason to be there.

• Dining on the rocks: Is and remains the non-plus-ultra. Believe all that you have heard about it. Perfect food, staff and management at an surreal venue.

• Drinks on the hill: Great drinks, great swing sofas, beautiful view, enormous drinks list, complimentary use of laptop computers with internet (the whole resort has free wifi for its guests).

• Spa: Serene, tranquil, competent, friendly and professional service. Lots of small touches that make the experience and surroundings special. Separate men’s and women’s sauna and steam room, numerous complimentary classes to try out Yoga, Tai Chi, or Pilates etc. Fitness rooms are well-equipped (call 30 minutes before use to ensure the AC is turned on). During our last stay there unfortunately was not any candied ginger in the relaxation areas, which used to be a very special touch (however, we understand, that this is coming back).

• Infinity pool: In case your villa pool feels too small. See it, dive in, enjoy, never leave.

• The beach: Secluded bay with stunning view, a natural reserve, so watch out for coral. Drinks and food are excellent. Water sport equipment disappointing this last stay, but we understand, that new equipment is on the way. Staff is friendly and helpful, but we would suggest a more experienced equipment manager.

• LIFE center: Fantastic and underutilized resource. They even organize complimentary thai lessons, which are a lot of fun and very useful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UC-FvH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Fantastic 5 day stay, from the moment they pick u up from the airport to our trip back home. Impeccable friendly and helpful service, quiet surroundings, excellent food, wonderful views. Everything was perfect. Would highly recommend it without a doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChunYenOoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We just had 6 nights at Six Senss Samui and it is a beautiful resort with all the services you need for a chilled out holiday apart from having to clamber over the rocks to have a swim at low tide. The breakfast is one of the best we have ever had and the food and setting at Dining On The Rocks is sensational.
We Stayed at the Retreat which has 2 seperate villas for the bedrooms and another villa in the middle which is set up as a living room above your own 10m wet edge pool. The Retreat was a bit exposed to the prevailing winds at that time of the year and if we were to go again I would stay on the Eastern side of the resort over looking the beach as it would be more sheltered.
The Resort is only a short drive from Fishermans Village which has some nice shops and cute little restaurants on the beach which we ate at a few times and the food was very good and cheap.
All in all we had a wonderful experience and would recommend this Resort.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crackers1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Thank you so much to David (the G.M.) Pui (our Butler) and all the charming helpful staff of Six Senses Koh Samui for making our honeymoon so memorable. This really is a beautiful place to stay, our villa and pool were lovely and so peaceful it was the perfect place to unwind after our manic visit to Bangkok. In our opinion the use of natural materials and the lush tropical vegetation works beautifully It might not be to everyone's taste if they were set on big five star hotels but try it you will not be disappointed. If you do not want to stroll through the resort there is a buggy service The breakfasts are delicious with an amazing choice to please every palate We would love to come back here regularly to unwind and the staff all make it so special because nothing is too much trouble Korp koon krup

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skinsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guests
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences with us, I have passed these to Khun Pui your butler and all the team, its nice to hear that we made your honeymoon just that extra special, hope you will come back and join the Six Senses Family in the not distant future.
Take good Care of each other
Kind Regards
David Ashworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of our honeymoon. Especially after a busy 4 days in Singapore and the same in mentally busy Bangkok, Six Senses was like a bit of heaven from check in to check out.

There's so much to say about the service from the cleaning staff, restaurant, in villa dining and butler teams. They were all amazing and genuinely happy to help. Our butler, Bo, went over and above for us to help make our honeymoon so relaxed and enjoyable.

The villas are incredible with every need catered for (everything we needed anyway). In villa dining was so reasonably priced and such a treat. At no extra cost, we had our breakfast delivered to our villa one day instead of going to the restaurant. Which turned out to be a feast!!

The only issue is Mosquitos which Six Senses make no attempt to hide and every effort to combat. They provide lemon grass everything from shower gel to burners for the room. The night team will let down and tuck in the bed net and twice daily they spray the grounds which really sends them flying away.

The food is of an extremely good quality, especially breakfast.

We would definitely recommend it and would love to go back one year.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly-l-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Valued Guests,
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us, we are very happy to see that the resort lived up to your expectations, the nice villa, food at Dining on the Hill and of course our famous breakfast buffet, including the kind services of Khun Bo your butler.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to Six Senses and the beautiful Island of Koh Samui.

Kind Regards
David Ashworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Will leave the 6senses today with mixed feelings. Food and service were absolutely superb.Rooms were great and very comfortable except for the ferocious mosquitoes which must be a particular problem for this hotel as this is my 3rd trip to this area this year and mozzies have never been an issue.They have nets for the beds,mosquito coils, cream repellent and daily spraying of the property but they still get you. Also don't stay here if you dream tropical holiday includes swimming in clear salt water off a sandy beach. The beach is a bit depressing with shallow murky water and lots of rocks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cazza-f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, General Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking your time to write back to us with your constructive comments, I have shared these with my team, so nice to see that you enjoyed our food, service and rooms.

In regards to the beach, I would just like to share my comments for other readers, we have just been through 2 weeks of serious weather depression both prior and during your stay, with very high winds, heavy rain and big storms, this creates a very strong under current, creating poor visibility and the deposit of small rocks on all Samui beaches, its not a good time for divers or swimmers unfortunately, mother nature can spoil these areas from time to time, and turn what is normally very lovely water and a nice beach into the one you experienced.

Mosquitos, the very same problem arises from tropical storms and too much rain, mosquitos breed and in larger numbers than normal, we do take action against such issues, but constant rain and storms such as we have just experienced does make matters worse, hope that you will return to experience tranquil blue waters, and less of those mozzies.

Kind Regards
David Ashworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
3.8 mi away
W Koh Samui
W Koh Samui
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,131 reviews
6 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
10.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,445 reviews
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
7.4 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Samui

Address: 9/10, Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#22 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $388 - $1,286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six Senses Samui is set on a headland; with glorious panoramas out to the Gulf of Thailand. The 66-villa resort, many with private pools, is 45 minutes south of the Bangkok. The resort serves some of the best food on the island, offering regional and international cuisine and a wine cellar. A Six Senses Spa delivers a comprehensive menu of treatments together with spectacular views across a rock-fringed bay. However one gets around Samui, by foot, elephant or with wheels, a wealth of natural beauty is to be found. Boat trips also show you this most beautiful island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Six Senses Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui Hotel Bophut
Six Senses Hideaway Samui
Six Senses Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing