We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hideaway hotel to discover that sixth sense” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Six Senses Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Six Senses Samui
Ranked #14 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome hideaway hotel to discover that sixth sense”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Apparently the extra sense refers to 'experience', which nicely sums up this excellent hotel. The food, the service and the attention to detail made it a memorable stay. Indeed as we were savoring each experience in turn, we had unwittingly been lulled into a slower more natural pace. I found myself content to lounge by the pool, and soak up the impressive ocean views.

This hotel prides itself for its personalized service - and they do not disappoint - you'll get a butler who is very attentive to your needs. The bungalows are modern and comfortable with extra touches which make it special. Breakfast is also very good, with Western, Thai and Japanese options, although the Western food is the best provisioned with freshly squeezed/blended fruit juice the most popular.

This really is a great hotel to relax and get away from it all... more so, because it is quite a long way to the town. Nevertheless we were able to hire a motorbike and make the 5km trip on bumpy roads each day to the shopping and restaurants.

Activities on offer within the hotel include kids/cultural activities, sailing and spa treatments. The catamaran was a highlight, as I am a novice sailor, and navigating the reefs at low tide was exciting. Despite the dangers we managed to get about halfway to Koh Phangan before we were forced back by high winds and a large swell. The Spa was outstanding, and the massage was one of the few I have had in Thailand where the therapist was well-trained and got the pressure just right.

Overall, this is a wonderful for a secluded holiday retreat, however it IS very isolated and you will need to rent either a car or a motorbike after a few days. Highly recommended if you are looking for a romantic getaway with great ocean views, attentive service and a truly sensual experience for all 5 senses, plus that extra sense which you didn't know you had.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    150
    55
    37
    21
See reviews for
103
591
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We went here to round off our honeymoon with a relaxing break. This was the ideal place for us. It's built on the edge of a peninsula at the top of Koh Samui so each villa has its own sea view. The great thing is that there are individual villas rather than a hotel, which keeps it much more intimate, and each villa has its own little sun area. We opted to upgrade to the pool villa which was well worth it. Each day we would have breakfast and spend the morning by the large pool or on the beach, where your ice water is topped up every few minutes, un a non-intrusive way. In the afternoon we'd head back to the pool at our villa in the shade. This place was nothing short of epic and I'd recommend it to anyone, except for those who might have issues with a few steps to the villa (people with mobility issues might be better looking elsewhere). Absolutely world class venue.

Room Tip: Depending on your mood ask for sunrise or suset side, I woke up to the sunrise each morning, then cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, Resort Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from Sunny Samui

Thank you sharing a lovely feedback about your recent stay at Six Senses Samui,It was pleasure indeed to host you at the resort, rightly said we are on the pinnacle of Samui Map which really makes it very serene away from all hustle bustle and tucked in a corner, our guests have always been mesmerized by the stunning views around and nature compliments the same, delighted iam to learn that you had a great holiday at the resort , yes indeed we do have lot of steps in the resort and that might make it difficult for guests who are not looking forward to it.
Once again thank you for choosing Six Senses Samui as a destination for your honeymoon .

Best Regards,
Abhijit Ghosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

1. Stunning design - sumptuous attention to detail with every aspect of the villa design and approach to customer service - my wife was particularly thrilled with the pillow menu and night-time essential oil selection!
2. Butler service - we really missed this at the other places we stayed - one person just one button away on your villa telephone who can answer any question. Great!
3. Breakfast - unbelievable selection providing huge variety throughout our stay
4. Incredible customer service - from the politeness of the men sweeping leaves every morning on our walk to breakfast, to the towels and glasses of chilled water brought to you instantaneously on your arrival at the pool or beach
5. Dining on the Rocks - sensational view of the sea on three sides - we watched an incredible lightening storm as our delicious and contemporary three courses arrived
6. Privacy - our villa, and it seemed every villa, had a fantastic sea view, and felt amazingly private and relaxing, which was absolutely perfect for the first destination on our honeymoon.

WE WILL RETURN and hope to win the lottery so it's next week :)

Also now very interested in saving up to visit other Six Senses resorts in other parts of the world - great concept

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, Resort Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from Sunny Samui

Thank you for your wonderful feedback shared accross about your recent stay at Six senses Samui, delighted i am to learn that you had a memorable stay at the resort, which the team at six senses samui aims for on a regular basis, it was wondeful to hear that we were able to show case the Six Senses philosophy and create a remarkable expereince to have you as a Fan of Six Senses.
Please be rest assured that almost all the six senses resorts would be on the same lines with the best serene environment around.
Me and and my team would once again thank you for being a guest at Six Senses Samui and would look forward to an oppurtinity to welcome you back again at the little paradise.

Best Regards,
Abhijit Ghosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed there september 2010, a bit late writing the review but as they did such a great job of making our holiday memorable I feel I should. The service is fantastic, our butler was great. They even confirmed our flight reservation and printed of our boarding passes without us having to ask!. The pool villa lived up to our expectations. Private but easily accessible. The views were idyllic and the food and restaurants are definately worth a mention. Would definately stay there again

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrVivienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Six Senses exceeded our expectations in every regard from our superb pool villa, the breathtaking views, the delicious and varied food (On The Hill, Dining on the Rocks and in-villa dining, the latter is such a brilliant idea especially after a relaxing evening massage), the tranquil atmosphere, the friendly and welcoming service/staff, the variety of activities/trips available, the spa treatments – the list is endless. The whole place is successfully designed to ensure peacefulness, relaxation and serenity – just what we needed after our wedding.

Our massages were incredible and added something extra special to our experience, helping us truly get into the swing of relaxing after the busy build up to our wedding. The quality of the treatments we received were the best we have experienced which is testament to the spa staff.

The opportunity to participate in Thai yoga, yoga and Pilates was fantastic and these classes could not have been located in a more appropriate setting. The view, the sound and the pleasant breeze of the ocean was amazing. We felt fully relaxed, well and energized after these sessions, another great bonus to our experience. We have to say Dr Serge is excellent and we would love to have a yoga teacher like him at home – we learnt a lot in both yoga and Pilates.

We have never experienced butler service before - it was excellent. Our butler made us feel looked after and gave us good advice and recommendations. Preparing us a candle lit bubble bath on our return from Dining on the Rocks was a wonderful and thoughtful surprise.

Having fruit, water and complimentary toiletries to our desired fragrance in the villa added an extra touch of pampering for us.

We could not have picked a more ideal, wonderful and serene place for our honeymoon
We would undoubtedly recommend staying with Six Senses and would definitely wish and love to stay again with Six Senses if we are able too in the future. It was an unbeatable experience that has given us many unforgettable memories. Our entire experience from being welcomed at the airport was absolutely top quality. I feel that every element of the resort and the experience on the resort was so well thought about and excuted.

We send our heart felt thanks to all the staff on the resort that made our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We got married at the Six Senses in Koh Samui 5 years ago and its still worth a mention. The resort itself is very impressive and surprisingly intimate as the place is landscaped around the natural contours of the land (not a bulldozed like most resorts). Service was excellent and the food was equally good. Best of all was the villa which was split into levels and extremely well furnished, just a great place to be. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocco_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, Resort Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank You for posting a wonderful review about your stay at Six Senses Samui, as rightly said the resort offers a very serene natural environment and tends to be a great gateaway for guests, delighted i am that you had a memorable holiday at the resort and would look forward to welcome you back again at Six senses samui, Let me assure you that the resort tends to be more green than before and it has still got the same serene ambience as earlier.Once again i would be delighted to meet you back again Six Senses samui.

Best Regards,
Abhijit Ghosh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

we had a fantastic short vacation at six senses and everything was just perfect. loved the view, the villa {38}, the smiling and courteous staff, the sea, the food, the spa. will highly recommend this place for a relaxing break for those who seek serenity. absolute gem. will definitely go back for a longer stay. special thanks to Mr.Abhijit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nandini30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesSamui, Resort Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank You for sharing a lovely feedback about your recent stay at Six Senses Samui, i am glad that we at Six Senses Samui were able to offer you a memorable holiday . The Pool Villa Suite which you stayed in probabaly has some spectacular views of ocean around,Once again me and my team would look forward to your next visit to Six Senses Samui in near future and hopefully we would have the same villa again allocated for your stay.

Best Regards,
Abhijit Ghosh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
10.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
8.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
3.6 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
6.0 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
5.4 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Samui

Property: Six Senses Samui
Address: 9/10 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#43 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six Senses Samui is set on a headland; with glorious panoramas out to the Gulf of Thailand. The 66-villa resort, many with private pools, is 45 minutes south of the Bangkok. The resort serves some of the best food on the island, offering regional and international cuisine and a wine cellar. A Six Senses Spa delivers a comprehensive menu of treatments together with spectacular views across a rock-fringed bay. However one gets around Samui, by foot, elephant or with wheels, a wealth of natural beauty is to be found. Boat trips also show you this most beautiful island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Six Senses Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six Senses Samui Hotel Bophut
6 Senses Samui
Six Senses Hideaway Samui
Six Senses Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing