We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui
Ranked #136 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Romantic hotel”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Lovely views, nice big beds. Gorgeous pool (I don't normally go to pools in Thailand but this was too hard to resist) and quite cheap if booked on the Internet. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Samui. The bathroom is great as well.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mullen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    31
    20
    5
    12
See reviews for
8
30
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Holy moly - the stairs could actually do someone in, especially in the heat! When you leave your room double check you have everything you need because you will NOT want make that trip more than you need to. We were in room 120 - it was so far up the hillside that you could't actually see the top of the stairs until you were about 2/3 of the way up them.

The pool closes at 6 pm and then they put a chemical cleaning paste in it so an evening dip is out of the question.

The poll table is an adventure... The wonkiest table ever! Don't even think about trying a serious game on it

Pretty basic and probably would spend a bit more and go elsewhere next time but wouldn't say I'd never go back.

Room Tip: Try and get a room close to the pool or reception NOT up the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 83JoFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here a couple of times in the past 2 years and can't really fault the hotel itself.
The location is a bit of a walk about 10 mins from the centre of Chaweng but it's nice to get away from it all and have some quiet.
The rooms are clean and reasonably big and the beds comfortable.
The pool area is great, it's what sells the place for me.
Now for the only bad thing... The receptionist on the front desk is possibly the most unhappy and rude person I have ever met, tried to raise a smile out of her a few times but eventually gave up.
If it wasn't for her I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubbabubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 weeks at the nova samui resort, it was clean and comfortable with a good pool area. Though it's fair to say the hotel is a little dated. It may not suit all as the rooms are all up steps, and the farther away from reception the more steps you have to climb. Before you consider a holiday at chewing, it's worth pointing out it's going through a change. Five years ago it was typical Thailand, but now there is a shopping centre, with new shop fronts going up in the Main Street. The beach has a party bar that blasts out music from 2pm, often we were kept awake by music till well into the early hours of the morning by music from bars that were not even close to the hotel.
But if this is not a problem for you then you will still find great food and hospitality from the Thai people. A good restaurant being the onion and also the orchid. You can get a good breakfast at tropical murphys.
If you wish to do a trip then shop around. We did a trip to an island with kayaking for the day for 1200 baths each, the original price being 1850 baths. Also if you require a taxi from the hotel to town then only pay 100 baht. Before you have a drink in a bar, just check there is no service charge, the Aussie bar will add this to the price of your drink. Good value bars are legends and tropical murphys. If you are a beach goer then be carful about laying on sun beds, the price can vary greatly, we only paid 100baht per sunbed, some will try to charge 300 baht each.
Take English money with you and change a little at the airport, then change money as you require at money exchange kiosks in town, you will get a far better rate. All in all it was a good stay at chewing beach, but don't think we will return due to the pace of change taking place, this has to coincide with the Russian and Chinese tourist now flocking to the resort.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodwick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

For the price this place is great compared with similar priced resorts in Chaweng. 10 min walk to the beach if you know the short cut, so location is fine. Rooms are awesome for the price - heaps of steps though... don't be lazy exercise is good for you! Burn off the Changs. Really relaxed vibe away from the party area and defo recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pete89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, NC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We are on a 2 month winter holiday traveling all over Thailand. This is one of our stays.

If you are looking for a luxury resort, look elsewhere. This appears to have been a very nice resort years ago, but was never maintained. Everything is dated, old, and worn. If that and the fact that it is located on the side of a mountain 139 steps from car park to our room, then it is a nice place with a nice pool.

Staff service was just ok, as was everything else.

They have a pool table behind the reception desk, I have never played on a table that was so crappy, every ball rolled until it lie next to the rail because the center of the table was high.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rocco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

This resort is a very good quality/price. Very well located, away from the noise of the Main Street but close enough to walk to the beach and main attractions.
Quiet and clean, perfect place to stay for great relaxing holidays.
A lot of stairs yes but the friendly personal (and they speak English well) will Cary the baggages for you.
Me and my mum stayed there 5 nights, we have nothing to complain about, in fact If I come back at koh Samui I will be back here! Beautiful and big swimming pool!
The food is very basic, we had breakfast included and it was ok but nothing Thai and limited.. I would advise to eat for lunch and dinner and one if the many restaurant/markets around.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.7 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#29 of 104 in Chaweng
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Kao Hua Jook Villas & Apartments
1.1 mi away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#64 of 104 in Chaweng
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#39 of 104 in Chaweng
205 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maryoo Hotel
Maryoo Hotel
#88 of 187 in Bophut
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nora Lakeview Hotel
Nora Lakeview Hotel
#70 of 104 in Chaweng
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui

Property: NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui
Address: 147/3 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novasamui Resort Koh Samui Hotel Bophut
Novasamui Hotel Bophut
Novasamui Hotel Koh Samui
NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing