We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arayaburi Boutique Resort
Ranked #144 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed July 4, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 152 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2008

Just got back from staying at the Arayaburi and depending on what you are looking for, it can be a very nice place. If you are looking for excitement and action, then it is not for you. If your looking for a peaceful and quiet vacation, then this is a good place to stay. I would suggest you rent a car or motorcycle so you can travel around as the resort is away from everything but still easy to get to with transportation.

The rooms are nice, a little dated, but still very nice. They are being slowly revamped. The beach is nice but there are rocks you must watch out for when you enter the water. The best thing to do is wait for low tide so you can see where the major rocks are located (not many). Once you walk past the rocks, first 25m, the swimming is good and you can enjoy the warm sea. Also very quiet.

The view is wonderful and having the huts/villas in a garden setting is very nice. I would recommend staying there and would go again myself.

If you go there, make sure you go and eat at a small outdoor restaraunt at the top of the hill. It does not look like much but the Thai food is great, the price is reasonable and the owners are wonderful people. They will also take special dinner orders for the next evening. They will go to the market and buy the fish, meat, shrimps during the day so it is fresh for you at dinner. The owner and his father also have a long tail boat. They will take you fishing or site seeing during the day, at a reasonable price. He can also arrange for a motorecycle or car rental. They are very nice people and that is what makes Thailand such a nice place to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pherse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

We booked this hotel on the internet without seeing it, wich was our first mistake....Rooms are smelling, mildew in the bathrooms, we had two rooms and they were both the same standard. And service is something that is unheard of... Thailand is for us a very serviceminded country but this hotel and especially the restaurant with it's manager in front crashed that picture. It's the first time we've bin insaulted and werbaly attact by a manager for a 4 star??? hotel. We don't recomend anyone to go even close, not even with a lastminute discount....Our advise to all, look at the hotel before you make the reservation, pictures almost allways lie!

Stayed: March 2008
4  Thank petrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2008

I have just returned from the Arayaburi Hotel in Koh Samui where I was for xmas with my family.
The hotel was beautiful and the beach was lovely. The hotel is situated in the quiet part of the island but they run a bus into the town - which was really cheap so you can easily go out at night if you wanted.
The hotel staff were really friendly and would help you with anything - you can organise any of the trips from the hotel and they will pick you up and drop you back to the door.
All in all it was a brilliant trip, and I would have no problems in recommending this hotel or coming back to the Arayburi.

Stayed: December 2007
4  Thank BeckyShaftesbury_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

The pictures are deceiving. We stayed at the Arayaburi for one night. I do not recommend this hotel in any way. Why?

1) The rooms are awful - old, poorly lit, terrible and hard bed. We had to switch rooms because of a smell, so we saw two rooms; equally bad.

2) The beach is full of rocks and you can't swim.

3) It's not possible to get a drink after 9 PM.

There must be 100+ better hotels on Samui. DO NOT Stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J_Lebowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

I had this holiday booked through Qtours (Absolute). The hotel itself is older. The bungalows are older,beds are hard, and they run out of hot water in the mornings. The resort itself is on Lamai beach. The sand is sharp, and the pool has way too much chlorine!! The breakfast is very basic, and the dinners are too expensive. Since the hotel is far from the main beach, food choice and activity are limited. They have canoes jet skies and thai massage all at a premium rental fee.
I had stayed their for a week in which Club Absolute / Qtours invited me to hear their high pressure sales pitch. Well comes out I did not purchase their time share so they fraudently charged my credit card and said I was in breach of their contract! They are trying to defraud me. People , STAY AWAY FROM QTOURS.NET/ CLUB ABSOLUTE !! They should be audited and criminal charges brought up against them!! You have been warned!!
P.S. if anybody eles has had this terrible experience please respond.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank JAckJOnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2007

It was difficult to select a hotel in Koh Samui without having visited the island. Chaweng is the main down town spot, but it is noisy and very crowded. Arayaburi was listed as Bophut, but really is not near Bophut.

This is a lovely hotel, consisting of lots of little villas or huts set on a hillside with lovely vegetation. The huts have everything, are spotlessly clean with good air con. However, the beach was a disappoinment because it was ocean rather than a bay or lagoon style.

Also the hotel is located so far away from everything, that you can only get anywhere if you hire a motorbike or jeep. We did this otherwise we would have gone mad from boredom.

I would not recommend staying at this location. I would recommend staying at Cheong Mon, a beautiful location, with a lovely beach and many restaurants on the beach, and hotels nearby. It had a lovely atmosphere.

Stayed: January 2007
3  Thank Bhati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
11.2 mi away
Rajapruek Samui Resort
Rajapruek Samui Resort
#8 of 8 in Lipa Noi
217 reviews
1.6 mi away
Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Samui Mermaid Resort
Samui Mermaid Resort
#108 of 185 in Bophut
271 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aspira Samui
Aspira Samui
#116 of 185 in Bophut
77 reviews
1.4 mi away
White House Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arayaburi Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arayaburi Boutique Resort

Address: 6/14 Moo 5, Plailam Soi 7 | Samrong Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#52 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#88 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $29 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arayaburi Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arayaburi Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arayaburi Boutique Hotel Bophut
Arayaburi Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing