We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value Beach Front Resort, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arayaburi Boutique Resort
Ranked #126 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Value Beach Front Resort, but....”
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I travelled to Koh Samui with a group of 6 friends and stayed at the Arayaburi. The resort was nice enough (not 5 star, but close) and the staff in general were very friendly and helpful. However, the location is away from any main streets so you're stuck at the resort for dinner unless you hire a moped or arrange a taxi to and from town. That said, the dinners at the resort are well priced and reasonable and it's very pleasant sitting beachside eating your dinner.
The beach itself, while very picturesque, is incredibly rocky and you need to wear shoes out into the water (a couple friends cut their feet on the rocks walking out).
We also had an unpleasant experience dealing with the head chef and hotel management regarding a special dinner that had been arranged for a friend's 30th. The chef completely stuffed up the menu (which had been written down and provided to him), food arrived cold or prepared incorrectly and the courses were served in the wrong order. The management then gave us the run-around when we tried to sort out the issues.
Despite all this, I enjoyed my stay at the Arayaburi and would recommend it for a good, cheap resort style holiday.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weetbix75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    51
    24
    14
    15
See reviews for
22
63
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Arayaburi is located on the northeast point of koh samui. The accomodation is adequate and the service and staff all very friendly. We spent quiet relaxing days by the pool reading and using jet ski's. Getting out and about was easy, we hired scooters and explored the island, as long as you're careful it's safe. There is a small local family run garden bar just outside arayaburi resort owned by Jah. His wife makes the most amazing Thai food. The prices within the resort are high and the more you explore the better deals you get. Chewang beach has the most amazing waves and nice places to eat. Jah took us on his boat to Koh Som - a small tropical island - STUNNING!!! Arayaburi offers a quiet and tranquill resort away from the party scene, ideal for romantic getaways. The private beach can be a little rocky underfoot when in the water particularly when the waves are larger - just pack coral shoes.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BerkshireLolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kat01
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Just returned from a stay in Arayaburi. Had a fantastic time. Rooms were good and staff very friendly and accomodating. Resteraunt and bar in hotel very expensive howver Coutry Bar resteraunt at the top of the road was great. Delecious food and very reasonably priced..!! Need to hire scooters or car to get the best out of the island.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

There was hardly anyone there hence the nickname. I think it's the main spot for the vacation group we were 'invited' to join. We got the stay for free - and even then we considered moving. I honestly wouldn't pay a cent to stay here, the breakfast was average at best and we usually had to wait over an hour for it, we were pretty much continuosly hounded by the vacation people but could never make an appt that suited so we ended up not having to go (think the rep realised we were not going to purchase anyway) and thank goodness we didn't get charged for it at all! Please only stay here if you like a really out of the way location, too high prices, rocky jellyfishy beach - and about 5mins walk to the pool (which was pretty nice incidentally).
We would have much prefered to pay the money to stay at our first resort Impiana.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johunt007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Stayed as result of free week won with Club Absolute. Very Nervous due to poor review. Took our 2 Grandchildren 7 & 4. Staff could not have been more helpful. Checked in early and entertained children and cool drink while we waited. Yes it is isolated but that is its charm, quite, picturesque and delightful. Did not try restaurant as overpriced for us but with hire car easy to get about and little Thai open air restaurant on corner very cheap approx. $16 aussie for all 4 of us with drinks. Pool was perfect although beach had lot of seaweed. Room average by Thai standards but everything we needed with plenty of room for 4 and lovely gardens and verander. I would def. recommend for families with small children and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolg2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
1.6 mi away
Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Samui Mermaid Resort
Samui Mermaid Resort
#117 of 187 in Bophut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
#5 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Idyllic Samui Oceanfront Resort & Villas
2.1 mi away
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
#68 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.4 mi away
White House Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arayaburi Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arayaburi Boutique Resort

Property: Arayaburi Boutique Resort
Address: 6/14 Moo 5, Plailam Soi 7 | Samrong Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#87 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arayaburi Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arayaburi Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arayaburi Boutique Hotel Bophut
Arayaburi Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing