We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort in a quiet area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #17 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We spent the X-Mas holidays 2009 in Anantara Koh Samui, all in all a great hotel in a nice quiet part of the island. The welcome at the reception was very nice and comfortable, and the front desk staff were very friendly, offering refreshing towels and complementary drinks. The room was nice and clean and pretty large. The only area of improvement would be the a la carte breakfast, which doesn't offer a large variety of choices, and what is being offered was wrongly prepared twice. Then again the buffet is good and has all you can wish for, so no worries. The beach is a bit small and the salesmen and -women are sometimes a bit persistant, but always with a friendly Thai smile. The hotel staff had prepapred a X-Mas carrol singing on X-Mas eve with complementary drinks in the garden, very nice. The resort is located in the more quiet part of the island, if you want to party all night long it's only a 20m taxi ride to Chaweng, where it's all happening. The resort's spa is not cheap (actually it's pretty expensive) but it lives up to the expectation. All in all a very pleasant stay, and via asiatravel.com I got some very nice rates.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toetjesfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,602 - 1,608 of 2,266 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2010

This is a lovely resort/hotel. Good rooms, lovely gardens and a good beach position. You can pretty much get anything you want from their excellent breakfast buffet and the room service burgers we got were also very good. The staff are all helpful and things appear to run very smoothly. The only big disappointment was the Full Moon restaurant which is aiming for 'fine dining' (including the prices) without the quality of food and/or preparation/cooking skill. We stopped after two disappointing courses so I can't comment on the deserts. My starter, was mozarello and my partner's seared tuna. Both were wrong in taste and texture; both drowned in salad dressing. I had lobster for my main, which was their signature dish. It was served on a sort of gloopy risotto; my partner had sea bream (may have been sea bass) served on some lumpy mashed potato. It was a very small portion, aiming for high end fine dining but again, without any quality or invention. All in all a waste of £80 (which is a lot of money to waste). No need to spend this money either, there's plenty of choice down the road in the 'village'. My only other slightly negative comment is that there were no prices on the spa menu in the rooms. This meant having to hunt down the one copy of the spa price list in reception. I would absolutely recomend this hotel though for everything else though.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaylaTW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We just returned home last night after ten days in this lovely hotel and are already planning our next trip. This was our first time in Thailand and we were amazed at how wonderful the people are. Everyone in and outside of the hotel was excellent. Our original room was comfortable but we upgraded to a suite with plunge pool and the most wonderful view imaginable. We went across to the Anantara Lawana - amazing hotel but less intimate. The new rooms they are building in Bophut will be similar to Lawana and I would highly recommend based on what we saw.
Although the selection at breakfast was a little disappointing for a hotel of this calibre, this was made up for by the wonderful staff. The Full Moon was good for Italian and we also tried the personal dining experience. Get out and about whilst you are here. Places to eat that we would highly recommend outside the hotel are ZaZen's (Bophut), The Library (Chaweng), Ad Hoc (Bophut), Skyhug (Anantara Lawana). The hotel are happy to book a table for you. Take a walk into Fisherman's Village (onto the beach, turn right and up some steps about 20m along) for some great bars, restaurants and local shopping. Take a taxi to Chaweng for about 300 baht and you can do some serious shopping! There are a mix of roadside stalls and more upmarket shops with some excellent clothes, shoes etc at amazing prices.
If you want some dental work done we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Baan Fun Luck (out of the hotel, turn left, less than 5 minutes walk). Cleaning, whitening, veneers all significantly cheaper than UK, very high quality equipment and dental care; I was a little cautious at first but take my word for it, there is no need to be. You will come back with a new smile!
Also, for tailoring pop across the road to see Kool at Modern Tailors. My partner had 2 bespoke suits, shirts and trousers made for less than the price of one suit in the UK and I had 2 silk dresses and 3 work dresses for a fraction of the price over here. If you have a photo or picture from a magazine take it in and they can make it for you.

All in all we came back to the UK really relaxed, with some wonderful memories and have already been checking flights to go back to the Anantara in just a few months.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mousse1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

we spent twelve nights at this hotel and what a stay . the staff just go all the way to make you happy the rooms just great and wow what a bath if you cant relax here you will never relax anywhere the food is very good just a bit pricey but eat at the fishermans village the happy elephant is a good start we have been all round the world and this resort is can stand against anywhere

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronaldoDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

If you like to chill in the hotel, this is a great choice !!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KijoMaMaSito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

My husband & I have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Anantara & can't wait to go back again !!
Everything about our stay was amazing...the staff are so friendly & very very professional. Nothing is too much trouble for them & everything is done with a wonderful smile.
Anyone worried about noise from the building works...well there is'nt any.
There was a wedding ceremony on the beach while we were there & it was beautiful.
We would recommend this hotel 100%

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Me19491943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

My wife and me, we spent 10 days in Anantara- Bophut, in the beginning of January 2010 and it was our first time in this resort. In the beginning we had some problems with the check in as the room was not ready and we had to wait like 3 hours. The good news was that we were compensated with bottle of good French champagne. First they wanted to give us a “garden terrace deluxe” room in the right wing. Don’t go in the right wing as there is ongoing construction works in the newly build hotel which is like 5 meters away from Anantara and they are not likely to finish any time soon. That produces constant noise during the day and if you are about to relax in the room you will be not able to. The staff was friendly enough and they found for us the same class room in the left wing which was quiet. Rooms are nice and cosy and the only disadvantage I sow was the lack of nice LCD or plasma tv. You have to definitely try the restaurant at the front beach situated right at the sand and especially the “lobster night”. The other thing you need to try is the spa and more specifically the “Thai Massage”. The pool is also looking very nice and the service was superb as well. The only thing I didn’t like about the pool was the constant fights for lounges at the pool as every morning you have to go as early as possible and throw your towels at the desired places otherwise you are facing the risk of not having lounges at all if you go later then 10AM. In general I would say that we spent 10 unforgettable days in Anantara and this is the right place for people who loves green, flowers and gardens as they are everywhere in this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hrusev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#4 of 185 in Bophut
1,622 reviews
3.7 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
0.1 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 185 in Bophut
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
3.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,525 reviews
6.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort

Address: 99 / 9 Bophut Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bophut
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#11 Family Hotel in Bophut
#13 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $161 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a tranquil stretch of sand, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa offers guests inimitable luxury comforts coupled with world renowned Thai hospitality. Enjoy water sports on the Gulf of Thailand's placid warm waters whilst residing at our elegant Samui resort. Soak in the sun by Anantara's elegant beachfront pool with stunning sea views or on Bophut's peaceful beach. Unwind with one of our specially developed Anantara spa packages. Dine on fiery Thai curries and handmade Italian pastas overlooking the ocean. Anantara Bophut presents a Koh Samui resort lifestyle that is quite unlike any other, from Bill Bensley designed tropical gardens which complement the charms of Fisherman's Cove on Bophut Beach, to southern Thai architecture which reflects our local cultural heritage, and world class amenities enhanced by Anantara's unique design touches. A wealth of leisure facilities and experiences from windsurfing and sailing to spa, beach yoga, tennis, cooking classes and area excursions help you to make the most of Koh Samui's stunning natural and cultural attractions. While complimentary Wi-Fi Internet at our Lobby and Library, in the Eclipse Bar, High Tide and Full Moon restaurants, as well as poolside, allows you to keep up to date with the world. In short, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa brings you all of the island's riches with Anantara's distinctive gracefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Bophut Hotel Bophut
Anantara Bophut Resort And Spa
Anantara Koh Samui Hotel
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing