We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed feelings although we had a lovely room ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #17 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“mixed feelings although we had a lovely room ...”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Ill start from the beginning of our stay at this hotel we had landed at 9am and were picked up from the airport with no problems,. Upon arrival of the hotel we went through the checking in process unfortunately as we were so early our room would not be available until 2pm. Which to be fair wasn't really the main issue the fact that no one had shown us around the hotel meant that we were aimlessly walking around looking for some where to sit and have a cold drink or even to just sit in an area with AC. The only place in the hotel that had AC was the library which is quite small and the hotel doesnt have a bar area for you to sit at. As soon as it was 2pm we were shown to our room to be honest which exceed my expectations it was lovely and big with our own private pool :)
We also experienced issues upon checking out ... As our flight wasn't until later in the day we are unable to obtain a late check out which again in all honest wasn't a big issue as we we had things to do to keep us entertained and were told that we would be able to use the gym shower to freshen up before our flight. The real problem arrived when we were waiting for our airport transfer which we booked through the hotel and had reconfirmed with them on two occasions. At 530pm our transfer hadn't arrived which resulted in us asking the reception staff about three times what had happened .... Finally 40 mins later a car arrived for us, to race us to the airport to get us on our flight to which we had very limited time to check in. The staff didn't even apologise for making us so late.

Room Tip: Pool rooms are great and fantastic access to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serenakaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences encountered during your stay with us.
As a valued guest, your observations and suggestions are greatly appreciated and attentively considered so that we may continue to strive to improve the services and facilities of the resort.
Your comments have been shared with the team for immediate review to ensure that the corrective action is taken and an improvement is made.
I gladly appreciate that you have brought this to our attention.
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally should you decide to come and visit us in our “new” Anantara Bophut, and I will ensure you have the most memorable and enjoyable stay with us.

Best regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,439
    499
    178
    54
    24
See reviews for
589
1,183
53
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying at the Anantara and writing this pool side. I have had a fab time here so far.

Pool and view is the best asset of this hotel aside from its staff. The view from the pool out to sea and the neighboring islands is spectacular.

Ok is room I had was basic but it had everything you needed for a stay to be honest. Only downside was the mozzie attack one night - not the hotels fault and they provide an electric device to ward off mozzies in the air.

I've eaten at the full moon restaurant and the eclipse bar. Good food and well presented. I've also had room service and this was delivered promptly.

Hotel isn't full I think at moment so would be concerned about Sunbeds when full. But staff monitor and remove things if people block sunbeds out and are not around.

All staff have been so helpful and attentive. Always with a smile and an enquire if they can help or how are you.

Hotel is due for a refurb closure shortly. I can only imagine what the resort is like post refurb.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solo_girl_hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Glad to read you are having a good time with us!! 
Sorry to read about the mosquito-attack! Do let us know should you need extra mosquito coils / plugs in your room.
We have placed a board in the lobby where you can see what the public areas will look like after the renovation, and we also have pictures of the mock-up room if you are interested. Feel free to contact the front desk at anytime!

Do enjoy the remaining of your stay with us,

Best regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Old property, well maintained, good hospitality, ideal for honey mooners or old couples who want seclusion. No clubs or road side entertainment. Sometimes boring

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank SumitBanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We came to koh samui and stayed at the Anantarra for 5 nights. We had the suite, which was a great size and could fit all of us comfortably. Our kids are all 5 years and under. The pool was great, but could use some more shallow areas for the kids. Cocktail hour was fabulous, 2 for the price of 1, the piña colada is awesome!! We came with a large group for my mothers birthday party, which was on the beach at the hotel! It was fantastic!!! Can't speak more highly of the service, the decorations, food etc!! Would definitely recommend this hotel. With one exception, my elderly grandparents stayed here and the rooms (at this time) do not cater for the elderly who have difficulty with steps( the beds are on platforms). My poor grandfather had a fall an ended up with 20+ stitches!! So a trip to the hospital was in order, great hospital and service there. So we gave them the suite, as it is the only room with all flat surfaces ( no steps). We ended up with adjoining rooms. The hotel staff said that the refurbished rooms won't have the platform for the beds, so hopefully this addresses this issue?
Easy to get snacks from the beach too. Yummy papaya salads, satay sticks, corn and spring rolls. They normally set up from 12 noon ish onwards and are there till the late arvo. A cheap way to eat lunch and have snacks.each item was about 50 baht.
Fishermans village is nice and close, and out the front of the hotel on the main road is a 24hour shop, that sells chips, drinks etc....so can fill up the fridge cheaper and have snacks for the kids!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor if you want to avoid steps. Room 105, which is the suite, is great an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessC575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Thank you so much for your great review.
We are delighted to read you had a great time despite the incident with your grandfather at the beginning of the stay!
Yes, you are right: during the renovation, the wooden platforms will disappear to be replaced with “traditional” beds, and all the rooms will have separate showers (instead of the combined bathtub-shower we have currently).
Do not hesitate to contact us at anytime should you decide to come and visit us once we re-open!

Warm regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Me and my husband went there for easter holiday. We chose this resort as we had received a package deal from a bank (cuz my husband owned a credit card of that bank) and thought of trying it. Since it was easter the resort was fully booked. Check in is at 2pm and Check out is at 12noon. We had arranged for a pick and drop by hotel. We were well received at the airport. It is 20 mins from the airport and we reached at 9:30am. Since the check in was at 2pm we had to wait at the lobby which was already packed as there were many who had reached early and were waiting for there check in. There was no arrangement made either for breakfast or any separate area for visitors except a drink. The heat was unbearable and air con didn't work in the lobby. We were given our room number but not allowed to charge breakfast bill to our room since it was not 2pm yet !! WiFi remains active only for 30mins and you have take new password and login every time after that. We have never seen this happening in any resort or hotel before. Too weird! Finally at 2pm we got our room and luckily got upgraded to a suite. Which was the only good thing about this trip.
Resort is beautiful. Well decorated and lay out is very nice. Impressive pool and view from rooms with balconies give a rich feeling. There are only 2 restaurants in the resort. Full moon restaurant which serves Italian cuisine was good with normal vegetarian options. Main restaurant which also served breakfast offered good variety though only 2 vegetarian options everyday. One was Sautéed' potatoes !There should definitely be more vegetarian options considering there are no other cuisines! only thai and italian for 4 days in a resort like this can really put you off. No elevators in the resort and our room was on the 3rd floor which is also annoying.

Now coming to the main point !! As part of the package deal we were required to attend a 90mins sales presentation strictly from 10am on one particular day decided by the management. We were okay to do that. Soon we realized it was a presentation for resort membership which is also okay ! BUT it was not merely to make you aware of the membership benefits but a serious attempt to compel you to buy it. Time given to decide - 4 hours for an amount exceeding min 5000USD for a period of 27years ! If you decide to take it you have to pay immediately or else no way you can ever become a member unless you get an invitation. STRANGE!! Different statements by sales people and so many questions. It was a waste of time and extremely boring. We were only made aware of "90mins presentation" on one day and no further information or literature given prior to it.
Staff at the resort be it in restaurants, reception, pool side or room service were extremely helpful, always smiling and friendly. Few fireworks at night and 5 mins walk to the local market was helpful in uplifting our mood.
Check out was smooth. We checked out at 8:30 and people had already started pouring in by then for check-in and lobby was getting full. Wonder if all of them had to wait till 2pm!!!!!

Room Tip: Suite with sea view but all suites are on 3rd floor and there are no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zipza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for posting such a detailed review.
Our top priority is our guests satisfaction and we feel very bad having left you down.
Yes, Easter week-end was very busy and the hotel was fully booked but that is not an excuse!
The internet policy of our resort is to provide 30 minutes complimentary per room per day, in the room, but the usage of internet is complimentary in all our public areas.
Also, on another note, we will extend the air conditioning area of our Eclipse Bar during the renovation.
Thank you also for your feedback regarding our vegetarian menu, it will be taken into consideration when working on our new menus for the re-opening!

As far as the presentation is concerned, I have forwarded it to the persons in charge of Anantara Vacation Club.

Do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next trip to Samui, I will be delighted to assist you and will ensure you have the most relaxing stay with us.

Best regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

we only spent unfortunately one night in Anantara.
The resort looks amazing, like garden Eden. Everything is green and perfectly harmonized with nature.
Service was perfect. All staff was friendly and helpful always with that nice Thai smile.
Room was clean and nice furnished with a great bed and a huge TV. All SPA creams, shampoos, lotions and so on, were free to use.
Only WiFi was limited to a free 30 minutes a day, what I think is a bit disappointing for such a resort!
The pool is big clean with a nice pool bar but as the whole resort are the prices same high as in western europe.
I never saw such a big breakfast buffet. I was speechless as I saw it. Fresh juices, tea, patisserie, grill, many fruits, thai foods, western foods.. just everything you can imagine.
What I missed was a shuttle service to airport or pier, because taxi costs around 400THB what is absolutely CRAZY!

All in all the quite high price for that resort absolutely worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudito-Basel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review even after such a short stay.
We are glad you had a great time with us and hope to welcome you back in our “new” Anantara Bophut once the renovation is over.

Do drop us a mail while planning your next trip to the island.

Best regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was arranging a special birthday holiday for my wife and our two children (3 and 2). We wanted a hotel which offered adjoining rooms and booked the Anantara as they were able to guarantee this would be the case. I had contacted Manish (the manager) before our arrival to ensure my wife would have a special holiday and he and his staff went all out to deliver.
When we arrived after about 20 hours travelling we were greeted with cold towels and drinks whilst they checked us in quickly, we were then shown to our rooms were we received a wonderful surprise upgrade to a two bedroom suite on the third floor in the newer buildings. The rooms were immaculate! Beautifully finished, huge and comfortable with a kitchen and washing machine which was brilliant when travelling with children. When we woke the next morning and opened the curtains on a sea view we couldn't have wished for a better start to our holiday. The rest of the hotel is similarly good, the restaurants have great food, the kids club is excellent (and free), the pool is beautiful and overlooks the beach and the gardens are wonderful at night with the torches lit.

And then there is the best bit.... the staff. They are without exception friendly, welcoming, helpful, loved our children and made the holiday so easy and relaxing. On my wifes actual birthday the restaurant staff laid a special table for us, brought out a cake and sang happy birthday, housekeeping decorated our room with towel animals, flowers and balloons and I booked a special spa package (with Tammy in the spa) so she had 4 hours of pampering in the afternoon. I also tried the spa and it is brilliant, expensive but then you expect that in a hotel, but I did love the ginger tea they serve you.
It's hard to see what can be improved in the coming facelift, maybe the pool tiling needs touching up and regrouting as there were the odd sharp edges but other than that we all had a fantastic time at the Anantara and would recommend it to anyone, couples, families or groups.
Location wise it is also excellent. A very short walk from the restaurants and bars of Fishermans Village but set apart enough that there is no disruption. Convenient shops just out the front for any supplies. Right on the beach and only a short hop to the Big Buddha or to Chaweng for a night out and the aiport transfer is 20 mins so really can't fault it.

Room Tip: Two bed suites are excellent when travelling with children but there is no lift to get to upper floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Derby_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.
Our 1st priority is to ensure that our guests have a wonderful, relaxing holidays. We want them to leave us with Happy memories!
We are glad you and your family had a great time with us, and your wife enjoyed the birthday treats!
The renovation is concerning the resort itself (U shape building surrounding the main garden): the hotel rooms will be revamped as well as the breakfast restaurant, bar and lobby area.
Do not hesitate to contact us at anytime should you need any assistance in planning your next trip!

Warm regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,591 reviews
3.7 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
0.1 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 186 in Bophut
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
3.7 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#19 of 186 in Bophut
920 reviews
3.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort

Property: Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Address: 99 / 9 Bophut Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bophut
#11 Family Hotel in Bophut
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#12 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a tranquil stretch of sand, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa offers guests inimitable luxury comforts coupled with world renowned Thai hospitality. Enjoy water sports on the Gulf of Thailand's placid warm waters whilst residing at our elegant Samui resort. Soak in the sun by Anantara's elegant beachfront pool with stunning sea views or on Bophut's peaceful beach. Unwind with one of our specially developed Anantara spa packages. Dine on fiery Thai curries and handmade Italian pastas overlooking the ocean. Anantara Bophut presents a Koh Samui resort lifestyle that is quite unlike any other, from Bill Bensley designed tropical gardens which complement the charms of Fisherman's Cove on Bophut Beach, to southern Thai architecture which reflects our local cultural heritage, and world class amenities enhanced by Anantara's unique design touches. A wealth of leisure facilities and experiences from windsurfing and sailing to spa, beach yoga, tennis, cooking classes and area excursions help you to make the most of Koh Samui's stunning natural and cultural attractions. While complimentary Wi-Fi Internet at our Lobby and Library, in the Eclipse Bar, High Tide and Full Moon restaurants, as well as poolside, allows you to keep up to date with the world. In short, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa brings you all of the island's riches with Anantara's distinctive gracefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Bophut Hotel Bophut
Anantara Bophut Resort And Spa
Anantara Koh Samui Hotel
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing