We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and lush” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #15 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
206 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Peaceful and lush”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel, although some of the fittings were a bit dated ( soon to be refurbished) had an idyllic setting in beautiful surroundings tended with loving care by several dedicated gardeners. Service was excellent with staff taking a genuine interest in your wellbeing. Choice of a lovely, dreamy infinity pool or the beach just a few steps away. I hope the refurbishment does not take away any of the beautiful gardens. Our only (small) criticism would be that we could hear our neighbours on one side very clearly through the wall, so extra soundproofing would be in order (thankfully they settled quietly at night). Breakfast was of high quality and dinner was also. Prices for evening meals were reasonable (considering the hotel has to add 17% service and VAT charge).

Room Tip: Terrace rooms were superb but a room higher up may have had a bit more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholidays8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for your feedback, and do not worry!!, we will not touch the gardens / public areas during the renovation.
It will mainly concern the rooms (reorganization of the space, upgrade of the facilities), the lobby as well as the breakfast restaurant and the Eclipse Bar.
Please do come & visit us after November to discover the “new” Anantara Bophut!

Best regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,309
    450
    160
    51
    24
See reviews for
515
1,088
49
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and son and I enjoyed our third stay at Anantara in January this year. Once again we booked a suite and spent seven wonderful nights enjoying all the resort had to offer. From the moment we arrived we were treated to that fantastic Thai hospitality. It's so nice to be rembered by name after previous trips and we immediately felt at home.

The staff are exceptional always making sure your needs are met with a minimum of fuss and a maximum of satisfaction.

We are looking forward to seeing the new renovations on our next visit. We tell everyone what a wonderful place Anantara is to stay.

Congratulations to the management and staff. You demonstrate the true meaning of excellence.

Peter Davis
Sydney

Room Tip: The suites are brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience, and thank you for your kind words towards the team.
This is such a great recognition of the long hours and hard work!
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to our “new” Anantara Bophut!

Warm regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent 11 nights here and loved it. We were here for rest and recuperation so spent most days on the beach. Great location on a sandy beach (course sand), with lovely outlook. Plenty of comfortable sunbeds and large towels. Within easy walking distance of bars and restaurants.

Pluses; smiley friendly helpful staff, beautiful lush tropical gardens, attractive Thai style buildings, lovely rooms, good quality bed linen and queen size beds, generally a peaceful,relaxing ambience. Happy hour by the pool (buy one get another the same free). Great choice of food at breakfast.

Minuses; not much really. Food and drink expensive, so we ate out mostly. Our safe failed to open on two occasions and was actually replaced. When I told the staff I did not want to wait in my room for this to be done they arranged for a manager to be with the 2 engineers for security purposes, so no hassle really.
My one complaint was that we had asked for an early morning call on our day of departure, but never got it. Fortunately my alarm clock worked, so we didn't miss the plane.

Overall, a lovely hotel which I would recommend and would return to if we ever returned to Ko Samui.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zippyzappyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.
We are glad to read you have enjoyed your time with us, and want to apologize once more for the inconveniences encountered.

Please do drop us a mail when planning your next trip to Samui, we would be delighted to welcome you in our “new” Anantara Bophut!

Warm regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Beautiful hotel, fantastic location and the most helpful staff ever, went to great trouble to find my sandals which I left by the pool! I particularly liked the fact the a poolside staff moved towels to prevent sunbed blockers - there were plenty so no need for it. I am glad to see they are doing away with the platform beds though, as they were difficult to negotiate in the dark! But this is just nitpicking, I look forward to returning when the refit is completed!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued guests,

Thank you very much for your feedback, this is very important for us to help improving our services.
And after taking into consideration all the guests comments received, it has been decided that the wooden platforms will definitely disappear during the renovation, to be replaced by regular beds! 

Do let us know when you are planning your next holidays to Samui, we would be delighted to have you back!

Warm regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Most things are already reviewed here, so I would like to keep it short and add the following points:
+ nice pool with great view to the see
+ excellent staff
+ excellent restaurant
+ great spa
- the fitness club needs a new concept. Big minus for that!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FS_2012_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued guests,

Thank you for your comments, and please do accept our sincere apologies if the fitness room was not up to your expectations.
We are glad you enjoyed everything else, and would like to welcome you in our newly refurbished Anantara Bophut once we re-open (mid- November!! ).

Best regards,
manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed only for 2 nights in February, but wish we could have stayed longer.
My husband and I arrived and we were told they had upgraded us to an executive suite. It was enormous. It had two bedrooms, living area, kitchen, 2 bathrooms, laundry and huge balcony.
The ensuite and bath were to die for!
The service at the resort was of a very high quality.
The pools were gorgeous, and so were the surroundings of the hotel. You really feel like you are in paradise.
Huge selection for breakfast.
We spent the day at the beach which was lovely and the beach is very clean.
If you stay here, definitely go to the fishermans village. Loads of restaurants there. And if you happen to be there on a friday night they close the roads down and have the best markets. And you MUST try coconut ice cream....so yummy.

I would certainly recommend staying at the Anantara. Very relaxing, peaceful, great rooms, service and friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you can, try and stay in an executive suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
THANK YOU!!
We are delighted to read you had such a great time in our property!
Thank you for recommending it, this is the best feedback we can receive.

Please do keep us updated when planning your next trip to Samui, we would be delighted to show you our “new” resort!!

Best regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Loved anantara...friendly helpful team working there and great facilitites...we stayed in 305...room was amazing so don't understand some of the other review comments about them being outdated...great food...recommend the cooking class, all restaurants are great food and the beach or courtyard evening buffet barbeques are delicious and well organised... If anything i felt the resort was overstaffed but this works to its favour...and being in Bophut it is still handy to everything, walking distance to fishermans village (great resturants and friday night markets, be sure to go see Liam at Bhoput Diving School if in to scuba, and away from the floods of backpackers in chaweng)...

Room Tip: If spending the money to stay at anantara at least go for a suite room...top floors are good if back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanAllen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.
We are glad you enjoyed yourself away from the kids and are looking forward to welcoming you back! Next time, bring them along: we do have a great kids club to keep them busy whilst you relax by the pool!!

Warm regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
3.5 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
3.7 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
0.1 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
3.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
7.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort

Property: Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Address: 99 / 9 Bophut Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bophut
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#11 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#11 Family Hotel in Bophut
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a tranquil stretch of sand, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa offers guests inimitable luxury comforts coupled with world renowned Thai hospitality. Enjoy water sports on the Gulf of Thailand's placid warm waters whilst residing at our elegant Samui resort. Soak in the sun by Anantara's elegant beachfront pool with stunning sea views or on Bophut's peaceful beach. Unwind with one of our specially developed Anantara spa packages. Dine on fiery Thai curries and handmade Italian pastas overlooking the ocean. Anantara Bophut presents a Koh Samui resort lifestyle that is quite unlike any other, from Bill Bensley designed tropical gardens which complement the charms of Fisherman's Cove on Bophut Beach, to southern Thai architecture which reflects our local cultural heritage, and world class amenities enhanced by Anantara's unique design touches. A wealth of leisure facilities and experiences from windsurfing and sailing to spa, beach yoga, tennis, cooking classes and area excursions help you to make the most of Koh Samui's stunning natural and cultural attractions. While complimentary Wi-Fi Internet at our Lobby and Library, in the Eclipse Bar, High Tide and Full Moon restaurants, as well as poolside, allows you to keep up to date with the world. In short, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa brings you all of the island's riches with Anantara's distinctive gracefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Bophut Hotel Bophut
Anantara Bophut Resort And Spa
Anantara Koh Samui Hotel
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing