We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, not so keen on the area...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #16 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Anantara Bophut for two weeks in September 2012.

It is probably best if I break down this review...

Rooms; We stayed in a standard room which was very pleasant. The rooms are unfussy, but spacious and tastefully decorated, as well as being very clean and comfortable. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept far too well! You are provided with two bottles of drinking water per day, but if you ever need more just call down to reception and more will be delivered surprisingly quickly.

Dining; We ate almost exclusively at The Eclipse Bar (same menu as High Tide) as the setting was very attractive, especially if you sit outside with all of the greenery around you. The Thai food was excellent and always presented well. Cost is about average for a 4/5 star hotel... as far as I am concerned definitely not over priced. The service here was superb, Janet and Panida in the bar were always delightful. They really made us feel at home!!!

Pool area; Never too busy, with plenty of staff wandering around taking drinks and food orders.Service was always efficient and non-intrusive. The pool itself was gorgeous, if perhaps slightly small.

Spa; I highly recommend trying the spa, the whole experience was a joy from beginning to end. The staff were excellent and the area itself was of outstanding beauty. A real treat. It is fairly expensive, but you get what you pay for and it is well worth it!!!

The little touches are what really made our stay complete at this hotel (forgetting briefly the beautiful rooms, and perfectly decorated communal areas). Every day housekeeping would leave a hand written note which was very sweet and always put a smile on our faces. Sun cream and fruit being offered around the pool was also a nice touch as well as insect repellent offered in the evenings.

All in all, I would definitely recommend the Anantara Bophut, in its own right a wonderful hotel. We were very happy there!!!

There is, however, a drawback. This was my first trip to Koh Samui and I was fully aware that it was likely to be touristy... however I was a little shocked by just how touristy Bophut was. From other reviews, I had expected Bophut to be small, with shops and Thai street food. It definitely was not like this! Full of French and Italian restaurants (which I avoided like the plague - I cannot understand why anyone would go to Thailand and eat pasta when the local food is so incredible!!!) and full of souvenir tat shops.

That said, Bophut is however probably the best beach area in Koh Samui. We visited Chaweng and found that to be a painful experience because it was even more touristy.

My advice is to travel more inland as once you get away from the beaches, there are fantastic local restaurants and shops. Arrange with a taxi a fixed cost for them to take you around to some key areas and ask them where to eat. Just remember to agree a price up front!!!

Room Tip: Go for the standard rooms. The beach view rooms would be less private and noisier, and the garden te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tomormrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for the detailed review of your stay with us, covering the whole resort, and recommendations!!!
Janet & Panida feel very proud having been mentionned by name: they are definately our "Super-stars"!!
Thank you also for noticing all the small touches spread around the resort to make the stay more comfortable, and unique.
Do not hesitate to contact us at anytime when planning your next holidays in Samui, or any other Anantara properties.

Best regards,
Manish Jha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,395 - 1,401 of 2,382 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

hotel was excellent all you could ask for on a tropical island staff /service perfection would definately go back to this hotel couldnt find a fault nice restaurants 2 minutes walk to fishermans village where there are plenty bars restaurants tried several never a bad meal in any

Room Tip: extra for beach view if you want it but all other rooms were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our resort.
Our top priority is our guests satisfaction, and we are delighted to read that you already plan to come back!!!
Please do drop us a mail should you need any assistance in organizing your next trip.
The entire team will ensure that your stay is even more enjoyable & memorable! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Manish Jha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is the best place you could ever imagine staying in. We had a beachfront room which was unbelievable. It was spacious, clean, had lovely furniture, was we'll laid out and simply put it was luxury at its best!
The service was impeccable. The staff were always smiling and friendly and keen to please our every whim. We couldn't stress how amazing this place was. The restaurants and facilities are second to none. Fantastic food, large and beautiful pool with swim up bar, daily breakfast was awesome with a huge variety of food. Pool service, a gym and every day a different activity was offered for all. To top it off its in a prime position facing the sea!! I'll be back!!

Room Tip: Beach front room was great with own plunge pool and very private. Any room in this resort has a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for your great and detailed feedback!
The whole team is delighted having made such an impression on you and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Manish Jha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Reached Koh Samui in morning flight and checked in to hotel at 10 AM. We will be given early check-in and check-in was fast and efficient.

The room is very clean, quite spacious with the unique design of bathroom with the huge bath tub. There is a terrace in front of the room as we stayed on the ground floor.

Having dinner buffet in the hotel with plent of choices of Thai food. Food is delicious, but the chef has customized it to the westerners as it is not so spicy. To us from South East Asia, we prefer spicy food. Breakfast was great, with variety of choics of food and fresh juices. Plenty of choices whether are Thai Local food or Western Breakfast.

The hotel location is near the fisherman village, just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It is a good spot to visit, as there are many restaurants, hawkers, souvenirs shops and also massages.

The hotel is surrounded by tropical garden, with lot of trees which give lot of shade from the sun. The beach is just behind the hotel and water sports are available there.

Just one of the comment of the hotel is that, as there are lot of trees, there are lot of mosquitos in the hotel area. You are advised to bring mosquitoes repellant when staying in this hotel. The rooms are ok, just do not leave the door open during evening time.

Overall the hotel has an excellent services staffs and great surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 88Teddy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Valued guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review!
We are very proud of our resort, its facilities and surroundings, and we want all our guests to go back home full of great memories!
On behalf of the team, thank you for your kind words,
We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Manish Jha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

On arrival the hotel appears a medium sized boutique hotel, which was a nice surprise but nothing like the grandness of the Bangkok Anantara.
We received a warm welcome with drinks and a towel. On arrival to the room, I liked it but my partner feels it was a little tired. There are nice touches to the room such as candle lantern to take on the balcony, oil burner which is lit by the room cleaner every day, mosquiti repellent plug in, shampoo etc in little bottles as opposed to the usual plastic containers, petals and even a fish. We like a nice balcony and unfortunately were a little disappointed with the design. Although roomy with chair, table, clothes dryer and seat which goes out over the side of the balcony, the arrangement was not at all practical for the unpredictable rain you get soaked due to the lack of cover. There were also a lot of Mosquitos therefore we rarely sat on the balcony.
In the centre of the complex there is a lush garden and large water feature which is very tranquil and well kept. Breakfast I thought was good but not the choice of the one offered in Bangkok but then it's a smaller hotel and I'm not complaining.
The pool is lovely with jacuzzis, infinity pool and various places to sit and relax in the pool. The sunbeds are monitored, towels await and items are removed if you disappear for 30 min which I think is a great idea. There's a nice little beach for sunbathing and evening dinner too.
The food we felt was excellent we had a complimentary meal in the high tide restaurant which was divine. Lunch times we spent in full moon or by the pool. There is only the 2 restaurants, they do have BBQs on the beach too.
The hotel is good quality, looked after and has very helpful, friendly staff which were very accommodating.
One thing to mention is you most likely will get approached by a member of staff enticing you with bahts to learn about the vacation club which I remember someone on trip advisor mentioning. We declined as it appears to be a glorified timeshare, but if you want to learn more and get paid go for it, it did sniff of a hard pushy sell.
The hotel is minutes from the fishermans village which is worth a visit, on a Friday evening there is a market too.
We stayed here for 10nights, thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firestarter78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Valued guests,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments and great recommendation!
Our top priority is to ensure that our guests have a memorable and enjoyable time with us, and great stories to tell to their families and friends!
We are delighted you enjoyed your Anantara experiences both in Bangkok and Samui!
Feel free to contact me at anytime when planning your next Anantara stay (either with us or any Anantara property).

Best regards,
Manish Jha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My partner and I stayed here in September 2012 for six nights and I cannot say enough good things about it.

Pulling up to the hotel it was truly magical, a drawbridge over water pulling into a secluded drive. The reception was lit with low hanging lanterns and we were met with cool towels and welcome drinks.

Slight downside was that on checking in they tried to charge us an 8000 baht deposit in case we broke or accidentally took anything. It seemed unecessary since they take our card details at this point anyway and it left a bit of a taste in the mouth. I refused to pay this though and they were fine with that, but I'd recommend to the hotel that they remove this as a compulsory element as it doesnt make a good first impression.

The most impressive part by far was the pool that ran down the centre of the hotel, the jungle like plants and private pagodas for afternoon reading. It was truly stunning and lush and green. It felt like a real oasis.

We were shown to our room which on first sight was beautiful, gently lit with a large balcony and a bathroom that opened into the room. The bath had a bowl of rose petals and it was all very romantic.

The breakfast was really good, a nice variety and it changed daily which was good as I bore easily. Although the breakfast area wasn't massive, it was nicely laid out and it was great to be able to sit outside for breakfast.

The hotel backs onto the beach and it's a really nice quiet beach area with loungers and large beanbag cushions. What was great was you could get to the fishermans village by wandering down the beach a little way from the back of the hotel. It was one of the closest of the large luxury hotels but still far enough away to not have any noise etc.

The best thing by far was the staff. There was a woman withh short hair (I apologise I dont' know her name!) who took the time to speak to each individual guest. On our holiday my partner proposed and we mentioned this to her while we had cocktails in the pool at happy hour. She showed a geniune interest in us and gave us information on locations on the island to visit that may not be in the guides.

That evening we returned to our room to find rose petal hearts, orchids all over the place, a bubble bath full of rose petals run and waiting for us and those towel swans in a heart shape. It was so thoughtful and not necessary and we really appreciated it.

On our final day after we checked out we were sitll offered use of a shower room and the staff were helpful. The same woman with the short hair even grabbed us as we were about to leave and asked whether, as she happened to personally have a very good camera, we would like a impromptu engagement photo-shoot. She genuinely wanted to do it and we appreciated it. She took my email address to send the photos over to us.

Yes the rooms aren't the lightest in the world, but that's not the style. They're gently, carefully, magically lit and are a cool haven away from the beach.

One thing though- the bathroom is a glass walled area with sliding walls to open the bath out to the room. Which is lovely for romantic moments, but when you need the toilet at 2am it's not great as the glass walls let the light out into the room and it's not exactly sound proof. For new couples it might be a little too close!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I was very impressed and it ranks among the best hotels I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank h_bav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Valued guests,

Once again, on behalf of the whole team “CONGRATULATIONS!!!”.
We are very proud being linked to this magical and memorable moment in your life!
As you mentioned, these are all the little touches, little attentions that make a stay extra special, thank you for noticing that!

Do get in touch with us when planning your next holidays in Samui,
Warm regards,
Manish Jha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

It is the worst hotel that we have stayed in Thailand. Forced to do upgrade , pay double because the rooms were awful. The stuff was slow , the cleanliness incomplete , food and breakfast medium. Value for money is simply not there was...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ArsiGiannelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us.
Please accept our sincere apologies if the room allocated according to your reservation was not up to your standards.
August being the high season in Samui, our resort was also running a high occupancy, limiting the options of changing rooms. You were looking for free upgrade which was not possible as the resort was running 100%. I have sent you a separate note on your email to get more feedback. Service is our 1st priority and seems that you did not enjoy our hospitality. Apology once again on behalf of the team.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Manish Jha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 184 in Bophut
1,688 reviews
3.7 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
0.1 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 184 in Bophut
2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#12 of 103 in Chaweng
2,639 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
7.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort

Address: 99 / 9 Bophut Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bophut
#8 Family Hotel in Bophut
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#13 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $190 - $604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a tranquil stretch of sand, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa offers guests inimitable luxury comforts coupled with world renowned Thai hospitality. Enjoy water sports on the Gulf of Thailand's placid warm waters whilst residing at our elegant Samui resort. Soak in the sun by Anantara's elegant beachfront pool with stunning sea views or on Bophut's peaceful beach. Unwind with one of our specially developed Anantara spa packages. Dine on fiery Thai curries and handmade Italian pastas overlooking the ocean. Anantara Bophut presents a Koh Samui resort lifestyle that is quite unlike any other, from Bill Bensley designed tropical gardens which complement the charms of Fisherman's Cove on Bophut Beach, to southern Thai architecture which reflects our local cultural heritage, and world class amenities enhanced by Anantara's unique design touches. A wealth of leisure facilities and experiences from windsurfing and sailing to spa, beach yoga, tennis, cooking classes and area excursions help you to make the most of Koh Samui's stunning natural and cultural attractions. While complimentary Wi-Fi Internet at our Lobby and Library, in the Eclipse Bar, High Tide and Full Moon restaurants, as well as poolside, allows you to keep up to date with the world. In short, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa brings you all of the island's riches with Anantara's distinctive gracefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Bophut Hotel Bophut
Anantara Bophut Resort And Spa
Anantara Koh Samui Hotel
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing