We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding resort and Spa!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #15 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding resort and Spa!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is the best place you could ever imagine staying in. We had a beachfront room which was unbelievable. It was spacious, clean, had lovely furniture, was we'll laid out and simply put it was luxury at its best!
The service was impeccable. The staff were always smiling and friendly and keen to please our every whim. We couldn't stress how amazing this place was. The restaurants and facilities are second to none. Fantastic food, large and beautiful pool with swim up bar, daily breakfast was awesome with a huge variety of food. Pool service, a gym and every day a different activity was offered for all. To top it off its in a prime position facing the sea!! I'll be back!!

Room Tip: Beach front room was great with own plunge pool and very private. Any room in this resort has a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for your great and detailed feedback!
The whole team is delighted having made such an impression on you and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,309
    450
    160
    51
    24
See reviews for
515
1,088
49
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Reached Koh Samui in morning flight and checked in to hotel at 10 AM. We will be given early check-in and check-in was fast and efficient.

The room is very clean, quite spacious with the unique design of bathroom with the huge bath tub. There is a terrace in front of the room as we stayed on the ground floor.

Having dinner buffet in the hotel with plent of choices of Thai food. Food is delicious, but the chef has customized it to the westerners as it is not so spicy. To us from South East Asia, we prefer spicy food. Breakfast was great, with variety of choics of food and fresh juices. Plenty of choices whether are Thai Local food or Western Breakfast.

The hotel location is near the fisherman village, just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It is a good spot to visit, as there are many restaurants, hawkers, souvenirs shops and also massages.

The hotel is surrounded by tropical garden, with lot of trees which give lot of shade from the sun. The beach is just behind the hotel and water sports are available there.

Just one of the comment of the hotel is that, as there are lot of trees, there are lot of mosquitos in the hotel area. You are advised to bring mosquitoes repellant when staying in this hotel. The rooms are ok, just do not leave the door open during evening time.

Overall the hotel has an excellent services staffs and great surrounding areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 88Teddy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Valued guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review!
We are very proud of our resort, its facilities and surroundings, and we want all our guests to go back home full of great memories!
On behalf of the team, thank you for your kind words,
We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

On arrival the hotel appears a medium sized boutique hotel, which was a nice surprise but nothing like the grandness of the Bangkok Anantara.
We received a warm welcome with drinks and a towel. On arrival to the room, I liked it but my partner feels it was a little tired. There are nice touches to the room such as candle lantern to take on the balcony, oil burner which is lit by the room cleaner every day, mosquiti repellent plug in, shampoo etc in little bottles as opposed to the usual plastic containers, petals and even a fish. We like a nice balcony and unfortunately were a little disappointed with the design. Although roomy with chair, table, clothes dryer and seat which goes out over the side of the balcony, the arrangement was not at all practical for the unpredictable rain you get soaked due to the lack of cover. There were also a lot of Mosquitos therefore we rarely sat on the balcony.
In the centre of the complex there is a lush garden and large water feature which is very tranquil and well kept. Breakfast I thought was good but not the choice of the one offered in Bangkok but then it's a smaller hotel and I'm not complaining.
The pool is lovely with jacuzzis, infinity pool and various places to sit and relax in the pool. The sunbeds are monitored, towels await and items are removed if you disappear for 30 min which I think is a great idea. There's a nice little beach for sunbathing and evening dinner too.
The food we felt was excellent we had a complimentary meal in the high tide restaurant which was divine. Lunch times we spent in full moon or by the pool. There is only the 2 restaurants, they do have BBQs on the beach too.
The hotel is good quality, looked after and has very helpful, friendly staff which were very accommodating.
One thing to mention is you most likely will get approached by a member of staff enticing you with bahts to learn about the vacation club which I remember someone on trip advisor mentioning. We declined as it appears to be a glorified timeshare, but if you want to learn more and get paid go for it, it did sniff of a hard pushy sell.
The hotel is minutes from the fishermans village which is worth a visit, on a Friday evening there is a market too.
We stayed here for 10nights, thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Firestarter78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Valued guests,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments and great recommendation!
Our top priority is to ensure that our guests have a memorable and enjoyable time with us, and great stories to tell to their families and friends!
We are delighted you enjoyed your Anantara experiences both in Bangkok and Samui!
Feel free to contact me at anytime when planning your next Anantara stay (either with us or any Anantara property).

Best regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

My partner and I stayed here in September 2012 for six nights and I cannot say enough good things about it.

Pulling up to the hotel it was truly magical, a drawbridge over water pulling into a secluded drive. The reception was lit with low hanging lanterns and we were met with cool towels and welcome drinks.

Slight downside was that on checking in they tried to charge us an 8000 baht deposit in case we broke or accidentally took anything. It seemed unecessary since they take our card details at this point anyway and it left a bit of a taste in the mouth. I refused to pay this though and they were fine with that, but I'd recommend to the hotel that they remove this as a compulsory element as it doesnt make a good first impression.

The most impressive part by far was the pool that ran down the centre of the hotel, the jungle like plants and private pagodas for afternoon reading. It was truly stunning and lush and green. It felt like a real oasis.

We were shown to our room which on first sight was beautiful, gently lit with a large balcony and a bathroom that opened into the room. The bath had a bowl of rose petals and it was all very romantic.

The breakfast was really good, a nice variety and it changed daily which was good as I bore easily. Although the breakfast area wasn't massive, it was nicely laid out and it was great to be able to sit outside for breakfast.

The hotel backs onto the beach and it's a really nice quiet beach area with loungers and large beanbag cushions. What was great was you could get to the fishermans village by wandering down the beach a little way from the back of the hotel. It was one of the closest of the large luxury hotels but still far enough away to not have any noise etc.

The best thing by far was the staff. There was a woman withh short hair (I apologise I dont' know her name!) who took the time to speak to each individual guest. On our holiday my partner proposed and we mentioned this to her while we had cocktails in the pool at happy hour. She showed a geniune interest in us and gave us information on locations on the island to visit that may not be in the guides.

That evening we returned to our room to find rose petal hearts, orchids all over the place, a bubble bath full of rose petals run and waiting for us and those towel swans in a heart shape. It was so thoughtful and not necessary and we really appreciated it.

On our final day after we checked out we were sitll offered use of a shower room and the staff were helpful. The same woman with the short hair even grabbed us as we were about to leave and asked whether, as she happened to personally have a very good camera, we would like a impromptu engagement photo-shoot. She genuinely wanted to do it and we appreciated it. She took my email address to send the photos over to us.

Yes the rooms aren't the lightest in the world, but that's not the style. They're gently, carefully, magically lit and are a cool haven away from the beach.

One thing though- the bathroom is a glass walled area with sliding walls to open the bath out to the room. Which is lovely for romantic moments, but when you need the toilet at 2am it's not great as the glass walls let the light out into the room and it's not exactly sound proof. For new couples it might be a little too close!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I was very impressed and it ranks among the best hotels I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h_bav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Valued guests,

Once again, on behalf of the whole team “CONGRATULATIONS!!!”.
We are very proud being linked to this magical and memorable moment in your life!
As you mentioned, these are all the little touches, little attentions that make a stay extra special, thank you for noticing that!

Do get in touch with us when planning your next holidays in Samui,
Warm regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Αθήνα
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

It is the worst hotel that we have stayed in Thailand. Forced to do upgrade , pay double because the rooms were awful. The stuff was slow , the cleanliness incomplete , food and breakfast medium. Value for money is simply not there was...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ArsiGiannelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us.
Please accept our sincere apologies if the room allocated according to your reservation was not up to your standards.
August being the high season in Samui, our resort was also running a high occupancy, limiting the options of changing rooms. You were looking for free upgrade which was not possible as the resort was running 100%. I have sent you a separate note on your email to get more feedback. Service is our 1st priority and seems that you did not enjoy our hospitality. Apology once again on behalf of the team.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahrain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The resort was nicely done. Good location. Rooms were small compared to other Anantara properties. Spa facilities were very impressive. Less variety of breakfast for vegetarians. The staff was not very co-operative. Not a very friendly hotel. Leakage from AC's.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jaskarani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
I am surprised by your comments regarding breakfast. Our Executive Chef is very flexible and always goes the extra mile to surprise the guests with their favorite food, even if not available on the menu. We do have seperate menu for vegetarina guests. You must have missed our chef as I am sure he would have been delighted to assist you!
Please do pay us a visit whenever you are back to the island, and we will make sure you have a fantastic time with us!

Best regards,
Mnaish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The resort was wonderful, placed in a breathtaking location. The rooms were decorated in a way what revealed Thailand's spirit. Food in restaurants excellent, a true exrerience. Try definately some kind of massage / spa!!!
But the counting room and employers in that specific sector, absolutely need to have some quidance and education from the authority, because meny payment problems occured during our last hours in the hotel. These hours were an unpleasant experience. I hope there is an improvement in this sector, by now.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VICKY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments.
Please do accept our sincere apologies on the billing issue, we surely do not want a guest to leave the resort with an “unpleasant” feeling. This has been discussed with the team, and trainings have been organized to avoid a similar situation.
Do contact us directly when preparing your next trip to Samui, and we will make sure that you have a memorable and enjoyable time with us, which is our top priority for every guest!

Warm regards,
Manish Jha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
3.5 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
3.7 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
0.1 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
3.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
7.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort

Property: Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Address: 99 / 9 Bophut Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bophut
#11 Family Hotel in Bophut
#11 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a tranquil stretch of sand, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa offers guests inimitable luxury comforts coupled with world renowned Thai hospitality. Enjoy water sports on the Gulf of Thailand's placid warm waters whilst residing at our elegant Samui resort. Soak in the sun by Anantara's elegant beachfront pool with stunning sea views or on Bophut's peaceful beach. Unwind with one of our specially developed Anantara spa packages. Dine on fiery Thai curries and handmade Italian pastas overlooking the ocean. Anantara Bophut presents a Koh Samui resort lifestyle that is quite unlike any other, from Bill Bensley designed tropical gardens which complement the charms of Fisherman's Cove on Bophut Beach, to southern Thai architecture which reflects our local cultural heritage, and world class amenities enhanced by Anantara's unique design touches. A wealth of leisure facilities and experiences from windsurfing and sailing to spa, beach yoga, tennis, cooking classes and area excursions help you to make the most of Koh Samui's stunning natural and cultural attractions. While complimentary Wi-Fi Internet at our Lobby and Library, in the Eclipse Bar, High Tide and Full Moon restaurants, as well as poolside, allows you to keep up to date with the world. In short, Anantara Bophut Resort & Spa brings you all of the island's riches with Anantara's distinctive gracefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Bophut Hotel Bophut
Anantara Bophut Resort And Spa
Anantara Koh Samui Hotel
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing