We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$2,234
Go to your Happy Price
Trip.com
Agoda.com
$2,103
No booking fees
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
88Teddy88
singapore

Great Location Hotel with Tropical Garden

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 26, 2012
Reached Koh Samui in morning flight and checked in to hotel at 10 AM. We will be given early check-in and check-in was fast and efficient.

The room is very clean, quite spacious with the unique design of bathroom with the huge bath tub. There is a terrace in front of the room as we stayed on the ground floor.

Having dinner buffet in the hotel with plent of choices of Thai food. Food is delicious, but the chef has customized it to the westerners as it is not so spicy. To us from South East Asia, we prefer spicy food. Breakfast was great, with variety of choics of food and fresh juices. Plenty of choices whether are Thai Local food or Western Breakfast.

The hotel location is near the fisherman village, just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It is a good spot to visit, as there are many restaurants, hawkers, souvenirs shops and also massages.

The hotel is surrounded by tropical garden, with lot of trees which give lot of shade from the sun. The beach is just behind the hotel and water sports are available there.

Just one of the comment of the hotel is that, as there are lot of trees, there are lot of mosquitos in the hotel area. You are advised to bring mosquitoes repellant when staying in this hotel. The rooms are ok, just do not leave the door open during evening time.

Overall the hotel has an excellent services staffs and great surrounding areas.
Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review
Responded Sep 27, 2012
Dear Valued guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review!
We are very proud of our resort, its facilities and surroundings, and we want all our guests to go back home full of great memories!
On behalf of the team, thank you for your kind words,
We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Manish Jha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$131
  • Priceline
    $114
  • Agoda.com
    $107
  • Hotels.com
    $130
0.1 miles from Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
  • Priceline
    $159
  • Agoda.com
    $123
  • Hotels.com
    $159
0.1 miles from Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$233
  • Official Site
    $276
  • Agoda.com
    $205
  • Priceline
    $244
3.7 miles from Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$226
  • Priceline
    $235
  • Agoda.com
    $204
  • Expedia.com
    $235
3.5 miles from Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$184
  • Priceline
    $158
  • Agoda.com
    $148
  • Expedia.com
    $190
3.9 miles from Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$146
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $163
  • Vio.com
    $99
  • Expedia.com
    $124
3.4 miles from Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
$193
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $188
  • Priceline
    $193
4.1 miles from Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
$77
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $85
  • Agoda.com
    $72
  • Hotels.com
    $79
3.4 miles from Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
$110
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $105
  • Agoda.com
    $97
  • Vio.com
    $109
3.5 miles from Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
$63
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $47
  • Agoda.com
    $41
  • Vio.com
    $47
3.7 miles from Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bophut
Reviews (3,436)
Filter reviews
3,436 results
Traveler rating
2,374
698
245
73
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,374
698
245
73
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full moon fisherman's village lily pond koh samui garden view room kids club pool bar few minutes walk restaurants and bars our honeymoon bo phut beautiful resort happy hour night market thai food spent nights pool side
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,199 - 2,204 of 3,436 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

On arrival the hotel appears a medium sized boutique hotel, which was a nice surprise but nothing like the grandness of the Bangkok Anantara.
We received a warm welcome with drinks and a towel. On arrival to the room, I liked it but my partner feels it was a little tired. There are nice touches to the room such as candle lantern to take on the balcony, oil burner which is lit by the room cleaner every day, mosquiti repellent plug in, shampoo etc in little bottles as opposed to the usual plastic containers, petals and even a fish. We like a nice balcony and unfortunately were a little disappointed with the design. Although roomy with chair, table, clothes dryer and seat which goes out over the side of the balcony, the arrangement was not at all practical for the unpredictable rain you get soaked due to the lack of cover. There were also a lot of Mosquitos therefore we rarely sat on the balcony.
In the centre of the complex there is a lush garden and large water feature which is very tranquil and well kept. Breakfast I thought was good but not the choice of the one offered in Bangkok but then it's a smaller hotel and I'm not complaining.
The pool is lovely with jacuzzis, infinity pool and various places to sit and relax in the pool. The sunbeds are monitored, towels await and items are removed if you disappear for 30 min which I think is a great idea. There's a nice little beach for sunbathing and evening dinner too.
The food we felt was excellent we had a complimentary meal in the high tide restaurant which was divine. Lunch times we spent in full moon or by the pool. There is only the 2 restaurants, they do have BBQs on the beach too.
The hotel is good quality, looked after and has very helpful, friendly staff which were very accommodating.
One thing to mention is you most likely will get approached by a member of staff enticing you with bahts to learn about the vacation club which I remember someone on trip advisor mentioning. We declined as it appears to be a glorified timeshare, but if you want to learn more and get paid go for it, it did sniff of a hard pushy sell.
The hotel is minutes from the fishermans village which is worth a visit, on a Friday evening there is a market too.
We stayed here for 10nights, thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would recommend the hotel.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firestarter78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Valued guests,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments and great recommendation!
Our top priority is to ensure that our guests have a memorable and enjoyable time with us, and great stories to tell to their families and friends!
We are delighted you enjoyed your Anantara experiences both in Bangkok and Samui!
Feel free to contact me at anytime when planning your next Anantara stay (either with us or any Anantara property).

Best regards,
Manish Jha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My partner and I stayed here in September 2012 for six nights and I cannot say enough good things about it.

Pulling up to the hotel it was truly magical, a drawbridge over water pulling into a secluded drive. The reception was lit with low hanging lanterns and we were met with cool towels and welcome drinks.

Slight downside was that on checking in they tried to charge us an 8000 baht deposit in case we broke or accidentally took anything. It seemed unecessary since they take our card details at this point anyway and it left a bit of a taste in the mouth. I refused to pay this though and they were fine with that, but I'd recommend to the hotel that they remove this as a compulsory element as it doesnt make a good first impression.

The most impressive part by far was the pool that ran down the centre of the hotel, the jungle like plants and private pagodas for afternoon reading. It was truly stunning and lush and green. It felt like a real oasis.

We were shown to our room which on first sight was beautiful, gently lit with a large balcony and a bathroom that opened into the room. The bath had a bowl of rose petals and it was all very romantic.

The breakfast was really good, a nice variety and it changed daily which was good as I bore easily. Although the breakfast area wasn't massive, it was nicely laid out and it was great to be able to sit outside for breakfast.

The hotel backs onto the beach and it's a really nice quiet beach area with loungers and large beanbag cushions. What was great was you could get to the fishermans village by wandering down the beach a little way from the back of the hotel. It was one of the closest of the large luxury hotels but still far enough away to not have any noise etc.

The best thing by far was the staff. There was a woman withh short hair (I apologise I dont' know her name!) who took the time to speak to each individual guest. On our holiday my partner proposed and we mentioned this to her while we had cocktails in the pool at happy hour. She showed a geniune interest in us and gave us information on locations on the island to visit that may not be in the guides.

That evening we returned to our room to find rose petal hearts, orchids all over the place, a bubble bath full of rose petals run and waiting for us and those towel swans in a heart shape. It was so thoughtful and not necessary and we really appreciated it.

On our final day after we checked out we were sitll offered use of a shower room and the staff were helpful. The same woman with the short hair even grabbed us as we were about to leave and asked whether, as she happened to personally have a very good camera, we would like a impromptu engagement photo-shoot. She genuinely wanted to do it and we appreciated it. She took my email address to send the photos over to us.

Yes the rooms aren't the lightest in the world, but that's not the style. They're gently, carefully, magically lit and are a cool haven away from the beach.

One thing though- the bathroom is a glass walled area with sliding walls to open the bath out to the room. Which is lovely for romantic moments, but when you need the toilet at 2am it's not great as the glass walls let the light out into the room and it's not exactly sound proof. For new couples it might be a little too close!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I was very impressed and it ranks among the best hotels I've ever stayed in.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank h_bav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Valued guests,

Once again, on behalf of the whole team “CONGRATULATIONS!!!”.
We are very proud being linked to this magical and memorable moment in your life!
As you mentioned, these are all the little touches, little attentions that make a stay extra special, thank you for noticing that!

Do get in touch with us when planning your next holidays in Samui,
Warm regards,
Manish Jha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

It is the worst hotel that we have stayed in Thailand. Forced to do upgrade , pay double because the rooms were awful. The stuff was slow , the cleanliness incomplete , food and breakfast medium. Value for money is simply not there was...

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ArsiGiannelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us.
Please accept our sincere apologies if the room allocated according to your reservation was not up to your standards.
August being the high season in Samui, our resort was also running a high occupancy, limiting the options of changing rooms. You were looking for free upgrade which was not possible as the resort was running 100%. I have sent you a separate note on your email to get more feedback. Service is our 1st priority and seems that you did not enjoy our hospitality. Apology once again on behalf of the team.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Manish Jha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The resort was nicely done. Good location. Rooms were small compared to other Anantara properties. Spa facilities were very impressive. Less variety of breakfast for vegetarians. The staff was not very co-operative. Not a very friendly hotel. Leakage from AC's.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jaskarani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
I am surprised by your comments regarding breakfast. Our Executive Chef is very flexible and always goes the extra mile to surprise the guests with their favorite food, even if not available on the menu. We do have seperate menu for vegetarina guests. You must have missed our chef as I am sure he would have been delighted to assist you!
Please do pay us a visit whenever you are back to the island, and we will make sure you have a fantastic time with us!

Best regards,
Mnaish Jha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The resort was wonderful, placed in a breathtaking location. The rooms were decorated in a way what revealed Thailand's spirit. Food in restaurants excellent, a true exrerience. Try definately some kind of massage / spa!!!
But the counting room and employers in that specific sector, absolutely need to have some quidance and education from the authority, because meny payment problems occured during our last hours in the hotel. These hours were an unpleasant experience. I hope there is an improvement in this sector, by now.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VICKY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM_AnantaraBophut, General Manager at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments.
Please do accept our sincere apologies on the billing issue, we surely do not want a guest to leave the resort with an “unpleasant” feeling. This has been discussed with the team, and trainings have been organized to avoid a similar situation.
Do contact us directly when preparing your next trip to Samui, and we will make sure that you have a memorable and enjoyable time with us, which is our top priority for every guest!

Warm regards,
Manish Jha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews