We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beach cottage good choice, hotel OK.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #42 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location, beach cottage good choice, hotel OK.”
Reviewed November 22, 2009

This missus and I stayed here with our 20 month-old toddler. We choose a beach front cottage which was a great choice - from the bed or the porch we could view the sea and neighboring island. There were 7 cottages and only 4 were in use when we arrived, and only 2 in use when we left. The hotel itself was probably about 10% occupancy, which I think was in part due to the off-season as I saw other hotels seemingly similarly quiet. The beach in front of the hotel was apparantly for hotel guests only, as it was mostly empty with only a few sunbathers which was nice. The grounds were large, and breakfast standard resort buffet fair. The main pool was standard, and mostly we had it to ourselves. The staff was very friendly and helpful, whether with information or attention to our child.

If you want excitement or are by yourself, this hotel and Bhoput beach are not for you. If you want relaxation and a quiet beach, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigCitiesBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    233
    82
    34
    27
See reviews for
122
248
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

My friend and I decided to take 5 day vacation on Koh Samui and wanted to have the chance to really relax. Usually, I am trying to find mid-priced hotels and Samui Palm Beach Resort really is mid-priced if you calculate with Euros.
We arrived at Samui Airport and were picked up by the driver who was already waiting for us at the exit. Check in time is usually 2pm, but even though we arrived in the morning, they sent us to our room/villa directly. We booked a villa, which was located directly at the pool and within 1 minute walking from the hotel's beach, which is not a white sand beach, but other than Chaweng beach, nice and quiet!

The villa was spacious. The bathroom was a dream for us two woman (shower plus an extra bathtub) and the decoration of the room was very neat, in every single detail.
The hotel has 3 different pools. 2 small pools, which are nice, but could be modernized (not a must though) and a very new big pool that even allows you to swim to the bar in order to have a drink there or a small bite of pizza while you are sitting in the water.

Breakfast was served until 10.30 am and was very good. There was a choice of European/American breakfast, along with Thai breakfast, and of course fresh fruit. We only missed fresh-squezzed orange juice, since this was really something we were expecting. However, we enjoyed cooked-to-order scrambled eggs, pan cakes, and omelettes.
We also had dinner in the hotel twice and were very impressed by the service and taste of the food. I can recommend the burger in the pizzeria a lot!!!
The staff was always friendly, helpful and thoughtful. I had an infection, due to an insect bite and was driven to a pharmacy right away, without any charge. It was offered by the staff since I just asked where I could find a pharmacy.

Every night at 9.30 pm there is a free shuttle to Chaweng beach, which we used 3 times. Being in our mid 20's made us curious about the way of partying at Chaweng. The pick up is at 0.30 am. We just used the pick-up once and took a taxi back to the hotel - the cost for taxis is pretty high on Samui (not comparable to Bangkok at all) and a trip from Chaweng to the hotel costs around 300 Baht (we managed it to get it for 200 Baht).

If someone is interested in enjoying the silent side of life, Samui Palm Beach Resort, will be the ideal place to stay. I recommend it a lot to couples and will certainly come back! I will have to try the gym!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelsun_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPSHIRE
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We stayed at the Samui Palm Beach resort for 6 nights in February and based our stay partly on reviews on this site. We stayed here prior to moving to Koh Phanghan. We were met at the airport by staff after we emailed them to notify them of our flight arrival time. A member of staff was there with our names on a sign and assisted us to the resort. This cost 200 Baht per person and cheaper than the local taxis from the aiport.

The resot is set within great garden surrounds. The rooms were large and the bed was the largest bed I have ever stayed in in any hotel or resort. Clean and tidy, TV with a number of channels, safe and free water every day. The resort offered us a buffet style breakfast each morning. We did not eat in the resort restaurants for lunch and dinner as we travelled to Chaweng or walked to nearby Bhoput.

The resort is right on Bhoput beach which is clean spacious and very attractive. The beach does attract the sellers but I have found that all beaches on Koh Samui attract them. There are three swimming pools within the resort, all are large and clean. Plenty of sunloungers - always a huge selection so nobody went without.

Free internet in the resort and helpful, friendly staff everywhere we went.

All in all, an excellent resort to stay in Koh Samui. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFTREW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

We would not usually post reviews, even after a not so good experience, but after all the positive remarks that prompted us to stay here for 10 nights, we felt the need to. We didn’t want anything luxury as we usually stay in luxury propeties all year round for business, so we just wanted something nice, clean and simple.

After a long 12 months living in Bangkok (from Australia) we needed a break and wanted to go somewhere that didn’t involve a long flight. We took the Bangkok airways flight to Samui and arrived at the Samui Palm Beach Resort. We booked this place over others as it did not have a compulsory new years eve dinner like most other places, we wanted to select our own venue for new years.

Upon check in, we were asked for 10,000THB for the compulsay new years event, we of course said this was not advised when we booked, however they said they would bill us regardless. We asked could be see the event program for new years and menu and they said no as it was not ready and they were not sure what they were doing, just that is was 10,000THB for 2.

We then went to our room which was next to the pool, advertised as the largest pool on samui, it was long, but very narrow and away from the beach. At the end of the pool was the pizzeria (see notes on this further on). We ordered room service which was club sandwhich, we should have stopped at the 7 eleven as their food would have been tastier. The crockery had Bangkok airways logos on it and the same napkins we were served on the flight, it was clear that the property was owned by Bangkok airways.

Xmas eve night we decided to go to the set xmas eve dinner, we went for the ‘spectaluar 5 course’ meal, with live band and singing duo. This turned out to be one singer with a lap top controlling the music, he also had a guitar.

When we checked in we were advised that all the restaurants we open,, which was not the case at the beach pub, even though everyday the sign said open, it was closed and looked like it was last opened in the 1980’s. The china gate bar was open, they played no music and the atmosphere and staff (1 only) made us avoid this venue.

As it was raining quite a bit I asked reception if they had a weather forecast for the day as we were thinking about doing a tour. They told me to look on the internet as they didn’t know what the weather was going to be like.

We went to a cabaret on one evening, reception said they had booked our table, hotel car to Chaweng Beach. When we arrived at reception there was no car and they were calling a cab (the same member of staff that said he had booked it) we then got to the venue and there was no reservation. We ended up finding our own cab otherwise we would have been late.

One morning at breakfast we asked the staff if the gentleman sitting over there was the GM of the property and they advised yes. Every day as we laid by the pool we watch the GM and his friends go in and out of the restaurant, oblivious to other guests who were not having the experience that expected.

We ended up attending the new years eve event, and despite everything else, the staff we excited and pleased to be putting on the event. However, hardly any of the 350 guests turned up which made the atmosphere flat. The next morning at breakfast, on the buffet there was every imaginable left over from the NYE dinner you could imagine, Chinese pepper beef, pasta, turkey, chicken in sauce, pate and many other items, these things we on the buffet breakfast buffet for 3 days after NYE. Not very safe eating! We were sent a letter from reception say there was a special event on Jan 2 in the restaurant, a special salad buffet with fish selection; again, these were ALL on the NYE menu. Not only did the resort get 5000THB pp for the event, they re used all the food for days after.

The food in the restaurant was like hospital food, the stroganoff was actually just beef with gravy and the pork chop would have weighed 50 grams and was cold and tasteless. The food is great, if you don’t have taste buds or teeth.

We had turn down service for the first two night, then never again and even though we stayed for 10 nights and occupancy was only 50% they advised us that late checkout would cost us 800THB.

We had drinks in our room one night and asked for some lime juice, a small 100ml glass arrived full of lime juice, we asked for the check and were advised that they needed to do a special docket as it was not on the menu and it was 400THB. We sent it back as tesco lotus sell the same juice for 26THB for a 500mls.

A few bullet points from our stay:

Pool side dining – we asked for a cheese burger with extra bacon, it arrived with no bacon and the meat was raw and had small bones in it. It arrived again, no bacon and even less cooked, and third time all fine, except it was burnt and had a hair on the cheese.

The pizzeria could have been amazing, but again no music playing and we did not see anyone whatsoever in the place our whole stay. It was depressing to look at.

No assistance in taking lounges down to the beach

The beach its self was not nice, quite dirty outside the resort, other resorts made their frontage nice.

The thai restaurant was closed, but on check in we were told it was open

Absolutely no activities planned for guest, no music in any venue at the resort.

Some great places to go along the same beach for dinner would have to be Zazen, Sea Wrap & the Pier (fisherman’s village) they were all beautiful and amazing.

As we had pre paid we could not leave the property, and actually what we were paying per night was the equivelant to the price they were offering beach front villas due to the high season being quiet.

A Positive of this place is the beautiful gardens, most maintenance staff and some restaurant staff were friendly but reception was unhelpful. We will never stay here again as from what I can see it is just a base for Bangkok airways to host their staff.

If you want a holiday and dont mind eating out of the property everyday, dont mind feeling like your part of an airline crew then you would probably enjoy this property.

We also thought that the staff may have been a little down as it should have been busy, but due to the bangkok airport political disaster there were a lot of cancellations. With this in mind, it was probably a good thing they did cancel, as Samui Palm beach resort was not prepare for any number of guest.

  • Disliked — see review
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

My husband & i stayed at palm beach for our 25th wedding anniversary. It was perfect. we stayed in a garden villa, which are semi-detached, have a small patio with a table & 2 chairs leading from patio doors & is shaded & partially secluded with beautiful lush garden areas. We had been offered a bungalow, but certainly glad we pushed for a villa. Bungalows are away from everything and look glum. Next time i would treat myself & book a beach villa. Prime position. Pool was fantastic & wonderful massages in the pavillion over-looking the beach. The staff were so lovely & always helpfull. A massive choice at breakfast and Tradewinds restaurant was lovely for an evening meal. There were 2 singers [ Ron & Coke ? ] who were beautiful people and made our anniversary feel special. A perfect beach front location & always a sun bed. We are so glad we were in Bophut, and we would walk most evenings along the transformed beach choosing a beach retaurant for evening meal or waklking to fishermans village. Where there are shops, stalls & restaurants. Chaweng was simply a NO, NO,. Not what a holiday is about. But do get a taxi & take a look. It took us 2 hours

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#13 of 187 in Bophut
965 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#49 of 187 in Bophut
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#46 of 187 in Bophut
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lawana Resort
Lawana Resort
#71 of 187 in Bophut
329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smile House Resort
Smile House Resort
#43 of 187 in Bophut
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: 175/3 Thaveerat-Pakdee Road | Suratthani, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#32 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#45 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Palm Beach Resort is located just 15 minutes from the airport on Bophut beach on the north of the island. With stunning views of Koh Phangan Island our beach is one of the most beautiful settings you will ever encounter. At 270 meters, it is the longest beach-front of any resort on the island. There are a total of 127 rooms, separated to 2 zones. Deluxe has 90 Rooms and Deluxe Triple 12 Rooms with own terrace and balcony. Villas 24 Rooms and 1 Royal Villas with Garden & Sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Palm Beach Hotel Bophut
Samui Palm Beach Resort And Hotel
Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing