We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lovely, nice resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #41 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very lovely, nice resort.”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My partner and I arrived to find we had two single beds, even though we had specifically requested and it was confirmed we'd have a double.. An over lay foam was put on the two singles the next day but didn't really make much difference.
However the breakfast is very lovely. One of the waiters needs an attitude adjustment though.
The pool is great and the 4 poster loungers are just lovely.
I like the location, getting around on scooter is so easy for 250THB a day.
I would recommend this resort to friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgib876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear mgib876
Thank you very much for your nice personal comment about your resent stay with us at Palm Beach Resort.
I am glad to see that you like our hotel as well as location.
Indeed driving around the Island by scooter is great and gives the possibility to see more of beautiful Samui.
Apologies for the bed issue...we have been fully booked over the past weeks and are therefore sometimes not able to meet all requests...:-(
Seems out staff has done all they could but this will not help much in this case:-)

Once again thank you very much for staying with us and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you and/or some of your friends back to Palm Beach Resort in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    237
    82
    34
    27
See reviews for
126
250
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2014

For the price this place is t to bad. It is dated and in need of a spring clean and a lick of paint. Our room was however always kept tidy, our beach towels were changed every day and the location. Was great. Pools and beach, there is a large pool out the back away from the beach which was generally very quiet and a nice place to relax and have a swim, a smaller pool a
Out the front which was often busy, due to being close to the beach. Breakfast generally had a good array of food from pancakes, fresh fruit to cold meats etc. We ate dinner in the restaurant one night and the food was good. The internet access wasn't great we paid 100baht to have a 24hr access code and the internet signal wasn't strong g enough to ope.pn anything. The staff lacked motivation and weren't very friendly. The beach was great and the location and being close to The Fishermans Village was wonderful. We wouldn't return to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Georgia Jackson
Thank you very much for you personal feedback about your stay at Samui Palm Beach Resort.
I am pleased to see that in general you had a good experience about your visit with us.
We do plan some soft renovation in parts of the resort after this high season.
A full house and current low number of staff as hard to find new ones may have given you this negative feeling regarding motivation and friendliness what I do apologies for.
Indeed the location near Fisherman's is great...
I would like to thank you for staying with us and hope you will find the way back to Samui soon again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for a week between Christmas and New Year but sadly were left feeling underwhelmed and keen to move on.
The staff seemed a little sad and the complex was tired and in need of some TLC. The rooms were kept clean (despite being dark and in need of painting) and the location is good, but the resort was quiet and rundown. Wifi in rooms would have been good too.
On one occasion we were asked to call for our own taxi on our international mobile.
If they renovated here, it could be fantastic, but currently there are superior resorts nearby that are better value for money with better service. We know as we had lots of friends staying nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KO80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear KO80
Greetings from Samui Palm Beach and thank you very much for your personal comment about your experience with us.
I am pleased to see that in general you had a good experience with us except your comment about the call for the taxi to what I can only apologies and the feeling that our staff has been a bit sad.
During your visit the hotel has been fully booked (quiet???) and our staff has been concentrating on the job and the upcoming event for new year. This may have given you this impression.
Palm Beach Resort is a elder hotel and I am pleased to inform you that we currently do some upgrades. Over the past months we have done some soft renovation in rooms but as the hotel is open all year and well visited even in low season we did not have the chance to finish all. More is planned and will go as soon we can work in rooms again (we are still almost fully booked)
WIFI is operated by CyberPoint and therefore free at our lobby lounge and restaurant only. However it is under consideration to change this with the ending commitment that all our guests can enjoy free access.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and hope you had a great start into 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here with my 25 year old son, loved the hotel, loved the location, excellent pools and excellent beach. The room was lovely, not a great view from the balcony but the room made up for it, had a lovely large bath which was a great surprise. house keeping was excellent, free water and changed beach towels every day, great location for walking to fishemans village at night, and the beach offers excellent massage facilities. We took advantage of the night bus down to Chaweng and had fantastic seafood down there so its a must, all in all would recommend this hotel 100%

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindacookson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Linda Cookson
Thank you very much for your personal nice comment about your stay with us this past December.
We are glad to see that you and your son did like our Hotel and that you fully enjoyed our services and location.
There are a lot of nice places to visit and good to see that you had this nice experience at Chaweng too.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Palm Beach in the near future and i would like to thank you once again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Its a good property if your doing a family vacation and choose not to leave the resort. The beach is very small and ordinary, there is lots of weeds in the water and its a sharp incline, so not very friendly to swim in. Everything around the hotel shuts by 9.30pm. The pool is excellent and they have 2. The room are dated and could do with some refurbishing and definitely should offer free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NachiketShetye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear NachiketShetye
Thank you very much for your personal comment about your recent stay at Palm Beach Resort.
Great to see that you consider us as a good family resort.
As you have been visiting Samui during its rainy season (Nov-Dec) you did not have the chance to fully enjoy our nice beach. At this time of the year the sea level can be high and wind direction as well as a waves are bringing this weeds to our shores. Best season to travel are the first 9 months of the year where the sea is clear and beaches clean as expected.
The same counts for the small businesses around the hotel. Some are closed or close earlier as they have less business and use this time of the year to relax a bit before the season starts again.
As you may remember our WIFI is operated and owned by Cyberpoint. therefore we are only able to offer free access at our Lobby Lounge and Restaurant area. May be able to change this in the near future...
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future during a time you can fully enjoy Samui's great beaches.
Once again thank you very much for visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the location. Walking distance to Fishermans village and right on the beach. Expectations were high.

The cons:
Sadly these expectations came crashing to earth the minute we entered the room. We stayed in the older part of the hotel which is in drastic need of up updating. The rooms are large but very tired and outdated. The drapes seem to date back to the 70's as does the square box tv. The shower/bath area is also old and worn down.
The most unpleasant issues are the dozens of squashed Mozzies that previous guests have killed over all the tiles and mirrors and the moldy paint work on the walls ( and resulting smell). Hotel management 101 really!
Most of the hotel staff can not communicate in English (not a major issue) which can be a little frustrating when trying to explain the mold etc.
The bar staff (by the pool) are by far a major problem. The service industry relies on friendly interaction but sadly, these guys make the whole bar service really dire. No thanks, no smiles and just plainly uninterested.

The hotel does offer wifi but they have a strange system where the free wifi is in the lobby area but if in room wifi is wanted then a plan needs to be purchased. However this plan only works on one device at a time so if two people want to surf then it's 2 plans that need to be bought...come on guys, this is 2013!!

Mosquitos ! Sadly my wife was once affected by dengue and ever since we have researched the ways to prevent this. This hotel NEEDS to address this . There is water laying around in the (public) bathrooms that is clearly breeding Mozzies. We mentioned this several times but no actions were taken. Fogging is carried out but not in a manner that is addressing the problem. Trust me, you DO NOT want dengue
We also haven't had out room cleaned for 4 days- when I asked why, I was told that the sheets and towels were "finished" :/

The Pros:
Famous saying of location, location, location! Ideally situated right on the beach and 20 mins walk to fishermans.
Fantastic pool area with numerous beds and space (just a shame to towel brigade "claim" chairs at the crack of dawn)
Good sized pools (2)
The breakfast buffet has a good selection and a different Thai option daily.
We ate in the evening in the main restaurant and the food was outstanding! Try the chicken with basil and chilli but put the loo paper in the fridge for the next morning :) it's spicy

Based on my stay (I'm still there as I write this) , I think this place could be excellent! A few tweaks are needed plus some room upgrades and the location will do the rest.
It's a shame to see such a fabulous exterior go to waste.

Room Tip: stay away from the older wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetlagged3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear jetlagged3
Thank you very much for your personal comment about your stay at Samui Palm Beach.
We do understand and are aware about your negative comments you mentioned.
We are actively working on more staff training in language and service improvements.

It is correct that we offering free internet access at our Lobby Lounge and Restaurant area only. The system used does belong to an outside company who provided all settings. As the system is not manages by ourselves we have to follow their guidelines and are not able to change the access for more devices.
It is a known problem that during this period of the year more mosquitoes are around. Staff is advised to spray in rooms to keep it under control as good as possible.
I am not pleased to see that there has been an issue with linen but am aware of this and necessary action has been taken.
I am glad to see that you did like the location, pool area and quality of our offers at the restaurant!
We are currently working on an up-grade program for the full resort to offer higher standards. Some has been done over the past few months and more will come soon.

However I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Samui Palm Beach for your holiday and we all would be pleased to welcome you back...

Happy New Year...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Been here less than 24 hours and really wish I had booked elsewhere. The place is so dated and with the fading paint the staff morale has faded too. Check in was below average. Staff look like they are bored senseless and have somewhere better to be. Service is terrible. I've been sitting at the outdoor restaurant for 20 minutes and still had to ask for a menu. Not a smile in sight. How sad

Room Tip: The best rooms will be those found in other establishments
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GJinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear GJinHK
Thank you very much for your personal comments about your stay at Palm Beach Resort!
We regret to see that you could not post any positive comment but hope that you enjoyed your stay on Samui.
However we would like to thank you for staying with us during this full period and wish you all the best in 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#19 of 186 in Bophut
972 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#54 of 186 in Bophut
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#45 of 186 in Bophut
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lawana Resort
Lawana Resort
#70 of 186 in Bophut
331 reviews
2.7 mi away
Saboey Resort and Villas
Saboey Resort and Villas
#42 of 186 in Bophut
479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smile House Resort
Smile House Resort
#44 of 186 in Bophut
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: 175/3 Thaveerat-Pakdee Road | Suratthani, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#32 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#45 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Palm Beach Resort is located just 15 minutes from the airport on Bophut beach on the north of the island. With stunning views of Koh Phangan Island our beach is one of the most beautiful settings you will ever encounter. At 270 meters, it is the longest beach-front of any resort on the island. There are a total of 127 rooms, separated to 2 zones. Deluxe has 90 Rooms and Deluxe Triple 12 Rooms with own terrace and balcony. Villas 24 Rooms and 1 Royal Villas with Garden & Sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Palm Beach Hotel Bophut
Samui Palm Beach Resort And Hotel
Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing