We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #39 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a huge complex.... We chose to stay in a Villa which was overlooking pool, ocean, and next to restaurant, room and bathroom were spacious although the bed was too firm for my liking, airconditioning worked fine., could have upgraded to beach front villa but for extra $100 a night not worth it.. beach front villa's exactly same inside
.Nice breakfast.
Only had dinner at restaurant on our arrival.....better choices around, Kingfisher rest. across the road and plenty to choose from at Fishermans Village about a 20 min. walk or 200bht in a taxi or tuk tuk. Hotel charged 500bht for private pickup..taxi would be cheaper 300.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beegeerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 613 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

We booked a trip to Koh Samui with Expedia back in May 2012 for a stay in Sept of the same year. At the time we booked the Samui Palm Beach Resort, the reviews of the hotel on Tripadvisor were fairly mixed, but we thought that it would probably we ok. We also read on a number of booking sites that the hotel would be undergoing renovations over the summer, but that these would be finished by the end of June. Interestingly though there was no mention of these renovations on the hotel's own website.

However from mid-August, as the date of our trip to Koh Samui approached, we became increasingly concerned as we read a series of terrible reviews on Tripadvisor which mentioned that renovations were still taking place, including building work around the hotel, pools shut, restaurants shut etc. We e-mailed the hotel to ask what was happening, and they replied back saying that all the renovations were now finished and everything was back to normal. However, the poor reviews on Tripadvisor continued, so finally we got in touch with Expedia, who in turn contacted the hotel. The hotel told Expedia that the renovations were *not* in fact complete, so the hotel had lied to us.

Anyway when we got to Koh Samui we went to have a look at the Samui Palm Beach resort. It didn't take us long to decide to book somewhere else. Although the building work looked like it was just about complete, the whole hotel was just like a ghost town. The Samui Palm Beach is a big development, but it seemed like there were only about a dozen people staying there and the whole place just looked run down and grubby.

It is also at the far end of Bophut, so if you wanted to get down to Fisherman's village its either a 15 minute walk down the beach or along the main road.

We ended up paying extra to stay at a different hotel - best decision we made and we ended up having a great holiday. I don't think we would have felt the same if we had stayed at the Samui Palm Beach.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Headington_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

What a fabulous experience, highly recommend this resort for family, lovers, couples, singles everyone! Treated like royalty, even tho the service at the pool bar was a little slow. Breakfast was the best during our 25 day Thailand holiday. Swimming pools were so relaxing and refreshing from the heat. Beach was wonderful, sitting under the palms or wandering along the beautiful sand or swimming in the ocean. Restaurant was a little expensive but we wandered most nights out to the local cafes for delicious and very cheap food and cold beers. The staff were so friendly happy and helpful, fresh beach towels and water offered every afternoon. Room attended twice daily with nothing too much trouble at any time, especially when we needed to print out a voucher for next hotel, very helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Royal Suite which had a balcony over looking the pool, I wouldn't want one near...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bellajune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We booked this hotel because we were excited by its location near Fisherman's Village and being oceanside plus having 3 great pools and 3 restaurants. When we arrived we discovered that the main pool was closed due to construction and there was only 1 restaurant open. We were upgraded to a higher level room however overall the rooms were dated. Limited TV and hot water. The real problems started on our 4th night with power outages that lasted for hours. After the second one on our 5th night, we checked out and found a charming hotel right in Fisherman's Village. Check out my review of that gem. By the way, it seems that this hotel is owned by Bangkok Airways, which also owns the airport and has a monopoly on flights to and from the island. Bangkok Airways clearly doesn't care about customer service at this hotel and nor did the Manager who refused to apologize to outraged guests over the power outages and not take any responsibility. Clearly a jerk.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here. There are so many other great places to stay on Koh Samui
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed here with my mother in August 2012. We found the hotel on Expedia, we liked the the descriptions, pictures and seemingly attractive price.
On arrival it was quite different. The room was not at all what we saw on the pictures, older furniture, ground floor, no balcony, old TV, generally dark room. The pictures for this particular type of room advertised flat LCD TV, balcony with a garden view, modern furniture, light interiors, etc. Free Wi-Fi in the room was also supposed to be included. Well, the hotel does not have public Wi-Fi at all, only cards at very high price.
Breakfast was outrageously priced, and not at all of any quality. Dirty beach, too few sun umbrellas, and very few sunbeds with covers. Quite different from the ads and pictures.
Then, the main pool was under renovation and closed. No massage and no bar at the pool.
In general, the hotel gives a very poor impression, the operator is trying to save on everything, even bath supplies, etc.
The reception staff was not at all friendly. In fact, a receptionist actually shouted at us and was ignoring us when we tried to complain about the room.
After much arguing, we managed to find the manager, and 5 days after, they actually gave us different room better fitting the description. The receptionists were still ignoring us even then.
Quite an incredible experience. We will never stay there again, and not recommend anyone staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our first impression was old and worn out.When we got into our room(R425) it was nothing like they describe.The room looked like it needed a good make over,the bathroom tiles were dirty and there was a black ring around the toilet bowl.The couch was old and the amount of stains on it was amazing,the TV was by the look of it bought in the 90's,after the first night I couldn't stop scratching.Don't even bother with their food as the quality was at best 2 star.
The view from the room was absolutely amazing,we got to stair at a shade canopy(what the) even though the resort was half empty.Stay out their to long and the insects will get you.
They provide wifi but if you want it in your room you must pay but they fail to tell you that it can only be used on 1 computer even though you pay for unlimited use for 7 days.
Do Not Stay Here,can't wait to leave

Room Tip: Go some where else
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arlyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatchawat w, General Manager at Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for share you experience on trip advisor, we highly to apologize for inconvenience during stay. Actually we allocated all guest to room followed that what category they booked and also tried to fix it out if the guest feel uncomfortable with our service. I also believed that if we know the point of guest expect we will source out and look alternative solution to offer, i guess you did not let us know during stay to find out solution as review.

We have 2 areas to provided free internet are in the restaurant with free Wi-Fi and near the lobby with internet connection and if you buy it normal 1 pc for 1 user on the same time but it can swop. Anyway we will have plan to improve all these in future plan as well.

The over all comment we pleased to accept and prompt to improve in soonest but it normal any unexpect case can happen in some times

Thank you for comment

Chatchawat W.

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived we bought a voucher for the mini bus to the various hotels. The driver had a problem finding ours and we got a free tour of the island but finally made it. On arrival, the staff we met could only speak minimal English. After a bit of negotiation we discovered via a third party an Indian tour guide working their that we had been given "compensation" because there were no services due to renovations. The main pool had a bar but it never opened or had any waiter service. The place was basically deserted, staff in the dinig room were slow and were constantly hovering to snatch your plate when they thought you were finished. The food was okay but the breakfast was boring with the same menus all week. Beds were rock hard and the lift on the 3rd floor where we were only worked on occasion.

After 4 days of this we upgraded to a beach hut..em...the only nice thing about this was the view. The bed was hard, the air conditioning sounded like a MAC truck in the room and the shower was hard to get into. The place was poor value, tired and run down but it has potential and is undergoing some pool and bar renovations. Access to the beach is available but not easy. We took this on a Spreets deal and it looks nothing like the pictures. Owned by Bangkok Airways it is used for their air crews to stay over and they get the better rooms. If you stay and want a taxi, walk outside and ask for Joe, he gives good service and is reliable.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatchawat w, General Manager at Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you for your comment on this stage. We will collect all your points and improve as we have on future plan. We also would like to take this time to clarify some points is effect with our normal operation and service.

As i understand that the voucher bus is brought from your side not concern with the property and we can much control if you made own decision to have this service, actually we have our transportation service and am sure all should well organize.

The accommodation we have many channel for guest they can choose with difference way but we have our structure as well to offer.

The renovation is the main issue that we highly to say sorry for any inconvenience, but now anything are on place and start normal service and nicer from last 3 months.

The breakfast is standard in every where around the world depend how much you pay but in my opinion here very good option for breakfast...We can not change daily operation without standard.

The main thing, the resort open for every one and tried to offer a good service and guest comfortable what we can but not for who or specify group or segment.

However, we prompt and accept any comment as you mentioned and will be meet with our team and find out how to improve in very soonest.


Thank you very much

Chatchawat W.

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#18 of 184 in Bophut
990 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#45 of 184 in Bophut
1,599 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#36 of 184 in Bophut
1,576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lawana Resort
Lawana Resort
#76 of 184 in Bophut
341 reviews
2.7 mi away
Saboey Resort and Villas
Saboey Resort and Villas
#42 of 184 in Bophut
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: 175/3 Thaveerat-Pakdee Road | Suratthani, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#30 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#45 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $64 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Palm Beach Resort is located just 15 minutes from the airport on Bophut beach on the north of the island. With stunning views of Koh Phangan Island our beach is one of the most beautiful settings you will ever encounter. At 270 meters, it is the longest beach-front of any resort on the island. There are a total of 127 rooms, separated to 2 zones. Deluxe has 90 Rooms and Deluxe Triple 12 Rooms with own terrace and balcony. Villas 24 Rooms and 1 Royal Villas with Garden & Sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Palm Beach Hotel Bophut
Samui Palm Beach Resort And Hotel
Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing